(2008/06) June 2008

ritzy
so far malay mums didn't mentioned abt the amk porridge but they told me there are some place like ayer rajah food centre, tampines and at JB Taman Sentosa....if at AMK can you let me know the place

not only i've eaten crabs, sambal mussels also i just ate on Monday

liew,

I cannot find the babymall at suntec. Which floor is it??

iamsnow,

Where is the crab shop at AMK? Me dunno where though i live there.

u all checking out so strollers already? i went kaki bukit baby hypermart over the weekend. when i saw all the strollers on display, i almost fainted. aiyo... so many selection. in the end never take a look at the strollers at all.... haha...

Zuen: Ya.. Have to test first.. see whether baby got golden butt or not..

Ellysia: Erm.. Dun think there got courts.. So should be diff shop from yours..

ZuEn,
nope, me not small size lor..tink considered average..hee

Babycupid,
I intend to go Ikea to get a set of drawers , tink it has 4drawers at $99, quite nice...then I can put bb items on the top of e cabinet.. =D...

Ellysia,
Me also intend to lor...

ellysia,
the amk crab been hoon is mellben seafood. blk 232, amk ave 3, st 22, #01-1222. tel 62856762. u can call to reserve seats.

in the same car park, there is another coffee shop selling the same food. i was told it's their bro. but not so nice.... so make sure u go to the correct one.

Cactus,
I live with my in-law last 3 years in Jurg. Nw living with my parents in Bedok until birth. Then if my hubby back for gd in S'pore cum June, we considering renting a place (maybe) until our new place cum. This is the headache part wh each time i think abt it, shang nou jing. Then again depend on hw much time baby really needs me due to his heart. If ok, i go back to work n maybe continue to stay in-law wif hubby around. If bb nt ok, then we rent a place n I wont b working, so far along these lines...

hey, ask u, u mentioned u attend pte gynae n KKH, for KKH gynae, is it the subsidize of pte way that make u stay wif KKH too? If pte KKH, wat's the diff from pte gynae in other hospital too? Due to facility that u r considering?

ellysia,
it's not at central. need to take a bus in from the interchange. if walk, i think will take very long. the bus ride prob 5-10 min only, depending on whether got jam....

Hi BabyCupid, I'm just planning to use the Ikea boxes to keep all the diapers, clothes, etc. Then from time to time, I will unpack from the boxes to put out on a shelve next to the mattress for use. Maybe once in 3 days or so. like that, neater also at the nursery corner. Cos disposable diapers, usually big packs. no point putting those packs in the nursery corner... take up space. that was what I was thinking.

Cactus
Ya, i love all the Ikea storage stuff. And the kids stool, etc..

Ellysia
I only knw how to get up there from the carrefour side of escalator. Usu, i will take the escalator from the carrefour to the highest floor (3rd), and start walking till the other end. Along, you will see lots of kids n maternity shops. I dun think the babymall there is big. I think the other end escalator could be the Sports Atrium side. So far I think the biggest kiddy palace or baby mall is the one at TPY central, above the NTUC or DBS in the mall

feifei,

I am considering but on the same day (night time) i am going for Jeff Chang Concert with my mum and bro. So dunno will be rushed or not.

TF,

OIC i tot it is big. I have been to the kids section last sunday, but cannot find babymall cos i tot it is as big as kiddy palace.

Kiddy palace i went to marina square and Toa Payoh, both are equally big. But they dun hve the stroller i like.

iamsnow,
You might have to think a little further. My friend's 10 months bb is starting to crawl and climb everywhere. The worse is that she is starting to reach for things, putting them to the floor. So study room might be hazardous when your bb gets a little older?

Ellysia,
How did the doc detect your higher blood sugar? Via urine test or blood test?
Btw, I dun find many things at IMM wor. Think it is about the same as kiddy palace in JP.

Cactus
Yap, i got the hospitalization rates n found it so much cheaper to stay in 1 bedder in KKH (wh is the px of 2 bedder in TMC) and for Deluxe in KKH is equi of 1 bedder px in TMC. I so tempted to stay in 1 bedder cos i wld love to have the exclusive bonding wif my child, my hubby to stay wif me wif no additional charge and also for my in-laws (cos they talk very loud naturally). I'm still monitoring the progress of the baby n nearer the delivery, if nt much complication as in baby do nt nd immediate surgery, then i go opt for exclusive gynae.
I dun understand this part that u mentioned, "I didn't attend pte gynae. INstead, I attended at KKH's Private Suite, which is supposed to be a premier service and I'm treated as a subsidized patient. the charges there are on par or more ex than private doctors.. " -- Private suite/service yet subsidized patient (how?)

Ellysia
What stroller u getting? Capella? Tot kiddy palace popular for stocking Capella. Or is it other brand u looking for?
For me, stroller was my initial shopping agenda when pregnant, then aft seeing all the models, either too heavy or bulky or too flimsy, i decide to put a hold until baby is after 6 mths.
I'm looking for one that can incline down n yet light. Usu the incline down for infants are for 0-6mths models, yet they r heavy. So if wnt to go for light, need those aft 6 mths, so finally decide to wait till aft 6mths then look for the preferred one wif the baby. I like MaClaren too. Combi, i like the weight n convenience, but flimsy. Of course Peg Prego is the premium look n price. Recently i saw people carry very small stoller like carrying a haversack. I forgot the brand.. so like n convenient esp during the CNY period in crowded places... let me recall the brand first.

wow! so many posts!
Just bak from my lunch buffet and surprised to see so many posts.

AMK crab: just today morning rec' email from my collegue on Melben seafood which just open new branch at TP. I had been persuading my hubby bring me to eat crab at AMK before preggie, but hubby not crab lover. So, till now hvnt got a chance to eat at there.

Cactus
Btw, any reason y u ask me if i changing my living arrangement? U got suggestion or lobang to help me abt my Shang Nou Jing..keke.. Ya, even when we tot of renting a place, the call for renting is horrible outside. The only regret is i shd hv bgt another resale 3 years back if i knw my new place really take so long. By nw, i could have profit from the appreciation n yet a place to stay.. nw hv to wait for the price to simmer down alittle. If u nd help in sourcing for property, let me knw, my sis in real estate. Just tat maybe your in-law will have regular agent for u too

I saw got mummy mentioned about thermometer, rite? I brought a digital thermometer, (cant remember the brand )for my girl. I think digital thermometer is better for young children coz they wont co-operate or will struggle if you use those oral thermometer as it took longer times to take measurement.

Zuen/Ellysia
I agree, i dun find many things in IMM kids mall too. Nthg much on sale there. For example, the cot mattress offer px that i quote, tho they put USUAL px n OfFER Px, i dun think the offer px is real offer px, maybe long term offer px. And they have a small section on Spring maternity tat is 20% disc n some blouse at 2 for $49. Other than tat nthg much, almost wat u see in shopping centers.

Felicia: Its me! I asked about the digital thermometer. Ya.. i would think digital is better than the normal oral one.

But is it necessary to get branded digital thermo? Or any brand will do?

Paiseh, never hear from, me i sudden quite. But nw, sudden msg all out. :p
RE: Themometer
An alternative place to look at is at Chinatown People's Park Center (the one opp Chinatwn Point wif lots of travel agent on 1st floor). There's a big TCM boutique, SIN CHONG MEHECO LTD, that is on #02-77 that sells variety of medical instruments from thermometer, blood pressure equipmt, etc.. to consumables. Very standard n reasonable px i find n yet various models to choose from.

angel,

I had 4 digital thermometer at home. (3 normal type, one is branded, those scan at ear type), 1 oral thermometer plus 1 forehead strip thermometer. Bit 'kua zhang', rite! hehe...
Each member in family had own thermo. And my girl use the branded one, easier for me to use on her.
I had been changing my normal digital thermo from time to time as it was easily spoilt. But that branded one till now, 2 yrs oledi still ok. But of course the price is oso more ex and it came with one year warranty.
So, it depend on individual preferance.

Angel
Smtx we can get thermometer at $1 or $2 even at, n u will be surprise tat they nt only make in China, but also in some European countries. But like Felicia mentioned, it spoils easily too lah. Of course the branded ones are a worth and usu betw $7 to $15 range.

have been bz since morn..now then got time to login..anyway..it's such a sway day for me..juz now drove to go out for lunch with my colleague and my car got banged by a stupid taxi driver..sian..sian..sian leh..

Hey TinyFeet,

Re: I dun understand this part that u mentioned, "I didn't attend pte gynae. INstead, I attended at KKH's Private Suite, which is supposed to be a premier service and I'm treated as a subsidized patient. the charges there are on par or more ex than private doctors.. " -- Private suite/service yet subsidized patient (how?)

Sorry!! Typo error. I'm treated as a private patient.

TinyFeet, regarding stroller, I got Capella S228. At $234 from Kiddy Palace. It is antibacterial treated. all 4 wheels can swivel. not too heavy (unlike peg) and not light/flimsy (like Combi). Can monitor bb both ways due to the handle which can flip both sides. also can recline all the way down (about 170 degrees for new born).

re:crab @ amk
i ate there b4..i find it ok lah..quite nice..but a bit oily lor..n not worth the wait n price..hehe.. n hor..my mum told me dat preggie woman cant eat crabs leh..cos got an old saying dat eat crabs hor..ur baby will be very itchy hand 1..will anyhow touch things..hehe..like "duo shou duo jiao"..

TF & Zu En,

Since IMM dun have, then where can find more stroller choices besides Kaki bukit? I find kaki bukit v hard to go.

angel,

Pre-natal class which i attend recommend to get digital thermometer. After bb turn 4 mths, can get the ear scan one.

TF,

I am looking for a stroller that is not too big, reasonable weight (too light i scare topple), easy maneover (wheels can turn), seat can adjust to let bb lie down, and comfortable seat. Comfortable seat is impt bec' if seat not comfy enuff, bb will not like to sit inside stroller for long.

Thanks for the info regarding IKEA, Tinyfeet! I don't think I'll be going to IKEA anytime soon though cos just went there last weekend and my Ikea friends card is expiring March 08. My new card hasn't arrived yet.. I want to earn points on my new card since the points on the old card cannot be carried foward to the new card. plan to go Ikea after new card comes. :p

Ellysia, Baby Avenue has alot of strollers too. it is at Balastier.

Ellysia, it's important to choose a comfy seat but no need to choose the most padded, cos bb is naturally padded with alot of fat. the discomfort is apparent only if bones rub against object/surface. most seats are okay. Also, bb will be wearing diapers which provides additional padding too.
I find the mid-range to high end Capella good. Combi too light. Peg is very stylish but very heavy.

Yest i received 3 parcels on my recent spree orders. Got so many tops that i tink i overbuy liao. But some tops i order frm overseas are quite small, i tink can only use for newborn and provided bb is not big. I guess if my bb cannot wear, then i will sell them off at this forum lor.

Cactus
I will go n take a look at the Capella S228 whn i'm out. Ya, i prefer to be able to monitor my baby while strolling in case he has difficulty breathing i wld knw too. Ha, this time your turn on his work overseas.. tat was exactly wat i experience 3 years back .. duno to get apartmt or nt since he overseas. Nw regret when he cuming back. My advice is if the property px does dip this year, go for it. U can always rent it out while away. And when u r back, u got a place to stay still. Also, in abt 3-4 years time, S'pore property shd be doing alright if u hv it at gd location, since the Olympic 2010, IR, etc. cuming. By then u can sell if u dun feel like renting.

cactus,

I seen capella mostly are quite ok. But will prefer maclaren.

The capella models i saw at Kiddy palace at TPY doesn't attract my attention.

Me and hb saw some graco ones at Robinsons, look so nice.

ellysia,
actually last weekend when i went to baby kingdom n baby hyperstore..i saw a few parents bring along their babies let them test the strollers see if they like to sit in it or not then buy leh..which i think is a gd idea lor..maybe we can wait also lor..wait till bb born then go n buy..

Zuen,
baby avenue not tat huge but they stock up quite alot of strollers. few tiers across the store. tink est got more than 60. car seats they seems to support maxi cosi. got other brands of carseats aso, not alot. i alittle tempted to buy. cos i went robinson, their pre perego same px w/o discount. but baby avenue offer pre perego infant car seat at attractive px wif discount aso. tink robinson wun be able to match e px even during their 20% sale n 5% rebate. if sway sway buy liao then taka or rob sales r much worth, then i aso L-L, buy other stuff to compensate. heehee.

babycupid,
i aso tinkin of buying a proper chest of drawer. most prob frm ikea bah. nice n cheap, spoil liao wun heart pain. cos my current study room wil convert to bb n maid rm, cos employin maid ard apr or may. drawer wil look betta n neater for my case cos e rm is glass wall, need to be neat n presentable. *headache to buy furniture nw*