(2008/06) June 2008

Veniz,

I'm so...... 'angry'! muahahaha.....
In fact later on during lunch, we had buffet style free lunch from company. Just hope i ctrl myself. Actually from the last check up, i only gained 2 kgs from my pre-preggie weight as i oso lost weight in 1st trimester. But recently my craving is stronger and stronger especially fast food, so afraid if this go on, sure my weight will bounced very fast.
When just married, me and my hubby almost every weekend sure go to eat nice food especially those buffet style. Then we stop all this 'fatty' activity aft i delivered my #1 coz my hubby n i oledi overweight.

Zu En,

I believe got growth spurts.. 1mth ago i encounter one. Sudd appetite increase and have to eat a lot or else feel hungry. Then tummy suddenly grow also, initally will feel bloated then tummy tight then tummy itchy and it grow liao.

hi angel,

On the backache prob, u can do some stretching exercises when wake up. Also, avoid sleeping too much on yr back bec' the weight of the bb will add strain to yr back.

mrswrx,

For strollers, i be looking out for maclaren, Capella, Graco.

liew,

Kiddy palace got sell electric yao lan? I tink i saw it.

Ya the AMK shop got sell.

Ellysia
But when sleep side ways to my left or right....bb will keep kicking mayb bb not comfortable...n i have to change position....till bb no response.

Felicia, ok lar, you get to eat buffet lunch later leh, i dun, and my porridge buffet lunch tomorrow can't compare with yours leh. Where you going for the buffet? Caterer or at the Penang Restaurant? Try not to eat fast food lor. If want, eat proper western food, healthier.

Does anyone know any recommended pillows for newborn babies? I rem when my son was born, we couldnt find a good pillow thus fold a handtowel type of towel to support his head when he sleeps. I am now looking for a good pillow to suit my very small baby.

Dan,

I crave for crabs! But since preggy no one mention eating leh then MIL also didn't eat so i dun have the chance too.

Maybe after preggy i get hb and mum to go with me haaa. I like to go Longbeach to eat.

Dan,

U can get those pregnancy pillows for side, from mum & babes. Cost $20plus but worth it. Since i got the pillow, bb no kick me when i sleep on left side. Cos the pillow will stop me from squeezing my stomach.

Sleeping on side really helps to relieve backache, i have experienced it.

Veniz,
ya lor, yummy... =)..

Danryan,
wow, so good leh...

Felicia,
hehe..actually hor, i find eating the food we want is the most heavenly thing to do leh..keke

u all can eat all the food u all want..

sigh.. i find tat since pregnant i have to control certain food which i used to like.. so not so enjoyable for me too.

but the most food which i craving at my early stage of preggy was Teochew Porridge....till now still thinking of that....

actually hor...i no pantang....watever i feel like eating i just eat....but didn't really force myself to search the food....if don't have, don't have lor

Re: intestines and egg

Luckily i dun really take Kway Zhap cos i dun like intestines.. so not so hard to control the urge now.

As for egg, actually i dislike egg, i only can accept eating half-boil egg but since cannot eat now, i also didn't eat.. so not much an urge for me to control.

For me the hardest to control is soft drinks such as coke. Coke is my favourite, i even dream of coke! Then i cannot eat curry, i also like curry. Also cannot eat Indian food. Now even worst, i have to cut down on fast food and fries. So no more food enjoyment for me.

And i dun really like fish, been forcing myself to eat more fish than usual.. i dun like veg.. so also force myself to eat more veg.. coming to appreciate veg now though.

Dan,

I also tink like u.. my colleague told me want to eat what then go eat wat.. dun control..

but sad to say my sugar content is high liao.. no choice but to cut down on sinful food..

then on reviewing my food diet, i realise my food diet is really inbalanced.

ellysia,
thanks. i will go down this 2 place for shop later. no choice, my mum insist want elec yao lan for bb she said is very important for bb head shape.
regard abt crab, those Caesarean mummy after birth bb ard 3 mths try not eat crab.

liew, actually yao lan can make baby head round round, very nice, but the nega point is that dun bounce bb too hard when he/she sleeping lor. no good for brain and this may also lead to dependancy on bouncing while he/she sleeps away the whole session (imagine you got to be there all the time, tugging the swing to bounce if you use manual type).

Best is to let baby sleep after first mth coz they are still very small and soft.

Morning Ladies

Heard someone mentioned Combi Miracle Turn: months back, the came across Combi stroller at these prices
Model TJC-300 (4.2kg) - $405.55 (Lightest weight)
Model TJT-350 (5.8kg) - $489 (Miracle Turn)

Y'day at Kids Mall, the cot mattress (in inches) are:
27 X 52 X 4 = $49
27.5 X 48 x 3 = $43
23.5 x 48 x 4 = $45
28 x 41 x 3 = $29.5
23 x 43 x 3 = $27

Hope abv reference for your shopping comparison

Veniz,

Is from caterer. I started to feel bit hungry now. Everytime passed by fast food, i always had the desire to go in and 'ta pau', tats why i try to avoid fast food place now.

For bb pillow, you can see from babysafe website.
http://www.babysafe.com.sg/babysafe_latex.html
The pillow is sold at kiddyplace or you can wait for BB fair in March. Btw, i find the pillow for 0-6mths is bit too high for bb, i got one at home, but din let my #1. Now my girl is on Infact pillow. Anyhow, she'll push the pillow away when she fall asleep.

Ellysia,
I tot AMK side got a famous shop for crab?? Heard need to Q for at least half an hour leh.

yaolan is it the swing type.

bb bones are still soft to use these yaolan....body posture also not so gd coz especially the spine will look hunchback...my mom told me b4....coz we have relative experienced these b4...

liew,
e amk shop sells yao lan n bb stuff. saw it previously when passed by but din went in cos got few aunties assistant inside n no customer. scare i go in, kena hard sell or look weird being e onli customer there. may go again to buy cheap bb clothes n cloth diaper etc... cos its my #1 n dun hav alot of passed down clothes.
i dun wan yao lan cos it takes up alot of space for those mobile type, n my ceiling is quite high to hang it.

my 2 cents worth about yao lan and the type of small moses basket which can move from side to side -

movement helps to comfort an infant and help him to sleep quicker. but there is a danger of overreliance, and also of safety esp if infant starts to flip over. When bb grows bigger but still demands movement for comfort, we may eventually need to resort to carry bb, walk around until he falls asleep over our shoulders or in our arms. not a good idea at all - too tiring.

There is the suggestion of having bbs learn to comfort themselves quickly and reassure themselves to sleep and when they awake, to recomfort themsleves back to sleep without adult intervention. Ways to do thi sis to leave bb in the cot before he closes his eyes. Provide voice and once in the while pats but nothing more. Keep a night light on at all times when bb sleeps at night. And leave a familiar toy or a piece of clothing with the mother's scent in the cot so that bb will feel more comforted. some mothers go a step further to play familiar music to the bb throughout the bb's sleep time. usually this music is music which the bb heard when in the womb.

mrswrx,

U can buy those yao lan with the stand, so no need to hang on the ceiling. Kiddy palace got sell i tink, but not sure is electric or not.

cactus,

Its not only on flipping. Last time my bro gets too heavy/big, and one time the spring probably is too flimsy or wat, when i push him on yao lan, his buttock bang on the floor. I was quite shock, but tink i didn't tell my mum leh :p

I intend to play the mozart CD to help bb sleep.. i remember when i play he usu sleep inside me..
but need to test out when he is born.

If he need rocking, most likely i buy a rocking cot than a yao lan. Bec rocking to and fro is actually better than rocking up and down.

i agreed with cactus on the movement for comfort. I had a friend is using the basket which move from side to side since her bb is born. Then when bb get bigger, she oso want ppl to carry and swing else she wont fall asleep. My friend regret in using the basket.

hey Ellysia, it happened to me too! I pushed my cousin and same thing happened. but there is always a thin mattress between the yao lan and the floor, although now thinking back, I think it is false sense of security because it may not only be the impact (floor was carpeted even!) but it may eb the same a baby falls out of the yao lan. it is highly possible that the bb may fall out at an angle which is akward.. so even if the impact is not great, there may be damage done.

I feel there are safety issues with yao lan. Can use yao lan but must have responsible adult around to keep an eye and if necessary, to react quickly in event of need.

Different ways of bringing up a child will also determine whether we rely on yao lan, the moving moses basket or just discipline the child from birth.

Feifei: Haahaa.. Ya loh.. Think my baby is drooling for many many things..

Babycupid: So envy you!! Can eat crab.. In front of MIL too!! I even scare to drink cold drinks in front of her...

Felicia: Haahaa.. Control.. control..

Veniz: Same here.. i'm oso replenishing the weight i lost during 1st trimester.. but then still have to control diet cos scare not good for baby..

WA!!! You so good.. At eat porridge buffet and still have steak for dinner.. i oso like suntec porridge buffet, the teochew one, right?

Pillow: Think read from book that newborn shouldn't use any pillow cos their bone structure still not very strong so pillow is not good for them.. Need to wait for few more months before you intro pillow to baby

Mrswrx: Wa..you tempt me eh.. Reminding me the taste of 3/4 egg..

Seems like you ladies all eating the food that i'm not 'allowed' to eat.. Go home later must complain to hubby and guilt-trip him to let me eat liao.. I have not been eating all these food for the past 6 months.. Can't tahan liao.. Haahaa..

Danryan: You also another "xin fu" one.. Can eat crab... 0_0

Ellysia: I'm experiencing the same thing as Danryan. My baby will kick whenever i sleep on my side.. But I read from the book that shouldn't sleep on the back too but hor, but sleeping on my back seems to be more comfortable for me now as compared to sleeping on my sides.. But i think when tummy gets bigger, i can't sleep on my back anymore..

Same here! I love coke and spicy food.. Simply can't stop drinking coke totally.. Drink at least 1 can per week.. Sigh.. But last week after i ate laksa and assam fish within a few days, i got diarrhoea and tummyache.. Now dun dare to eat spicy food liao..

Agree with Danryan: NB can't sleep in yao lan yet but i standby an electric yao lan for baby aledi.. Intend to use when baby is few months old..

Yeah, Felicia. But the issue is most asian parents are still not comfortable with instilling discipline from young. even if we want, we may face objections from our parents or ILs. It's not easy.

For instance, my MIL insists on rubbing my nephew's tummy with ru yi oil whenever he cries.. from birth. Now, he is 2.5 years old. he still wakes up 2 times every night for milk. When he cries for milk, the maid will make milk for him. my MIL will in the meantime rub his tummy with oil. Actually, there's no reason to do that what.. it's out of habit.. for comfort. But when my nephew is back at his own home over the weekend, he doesn't wake up at night for milk at all. no crying fits. Go wonder why....

Agree with cactus: Think what we intend to use and what we comfortable with is very much closely linked to how we are brought up or what we are exposed to..

All my siblings and me are yao lan babies so we dun mind using yao lan..

Hi angel, cannot use pillow when bb is born for safety issues until 1 year old. but I've seen small U-shaped pillows where bb's head fits in the middle of the "U". These are said to be usable from 6 months onwards. In my case, I prob won't buy pillows for bb till 1 year old. there's no real advantage to introducing pillows at an early age, but I will arrange the cot so that it tips slightly forward just like in a nursery.

Babycupid: Your MIL very modern! Good for you.. My MIL is not very padang but she likes to play safe.. If ppl say cannot then better dun eat..

Cactus: Oh.. Ya.. Saw those u-shaped pillow in kiddy palace b4.. Always thot its for use in stroller or car seat.. Heehee..

Ya.. same here.. dun intend to let baby sleep on pillow yet.. but i bought 'bean' pillow to place on baby's body when she is sleeping..

Again, i was brought up with bean pillows too..

hi angel, I wasn't brought up with bean pillow but I think it's a good idea. it feels comforting to have something placed across our bodies even as adults.
a bean pillow can be a good item for weaning bb off constant adult attention too.

morning ladies!

finally back here after so many days.....

i was reading thru the past few day's post... all the food really make me drool.... sad to say, I've been eating crab, pig intestines, steak (med-well), coke etc... hee hee... can't deprive myself further.... luckily my hubby let me take. coz he know i take in moderation. eat a bit to satisfy craving nia....

someone mention abt the amk crab.... *slurp* that one is fantastic! the signature dish is crab bee hoon soup. best I've ever eaten!!! the queue is usually very long on fri, sat and sun. the wait can be up to one hr. but hor, i must say the wait is worth it! go on mon to thur, no need to wait so long...

babycupid, I'm just going to buy the ikea boxes. they are sold either paper, plastic or canvas type of material. cheapest is paper.

babycupid,
i thinking of getting those drawer toyogo box kind. a few layers one. at least next time when no need to use, can store other things in the store room. not so wasted.....

Babycupid:

I bought a 4-tier drawer chest from a furniture shop in AMK. $150.

I need it if not no place to put baby's clothes and other stuff like mittens, bibs, cloth diapers, etc..

Previously when its jus hubby and me, the 2 other bedrooms are empty so def need a baby's closet..

Liew
The cot mattress is at Kids Mall IMM, just went y'day. For the Combi, was at Tampines Century Sq quite some time back, former Metro, nw BHG.

cactus,
i have those ikea cardboard boxes.. but tinking if using tat to put den when shall i keep.. leave it on the flr?

iamsnow, the toyogo is small n low one rite? need to place on top of a cupboard or shelf ya?

angel,
same here.. only me n hubby.. 2 rooms are empty.. so 1 rm will be our bb room.. tinking of getting a drawer chest..

babycupid,

Yes my blood sugar indicate high on 2 urine test on 2 separate visits to gynae clinic.

I reviewed my diet so cannot go fast food (bec i end up drinking ice lemon tea/coke), cannot eat laksa, Indian food and curry as these got high sugar content. Then also skipping sauces when i eat food, no tomato sauce etc.

babycupid,
nope, not those individual small box. I'm refering to those like a chest of drawers, 4 tier, 5 tier kind. like stacked up on one another, but open from the front. it can stand alone on itself from the floor. can buy those bigger ones.

feifei,
Are you small size to begin with? My colleague who is in her 3rd trimester is very small size. She has been experiencing pain at her rib. Doc told her that it is bcos her bb is growing and no space for bb to grow liao, so pushed against her ribs.. -.o"

angel_z,
I guessed it is up to individual bah. I am gg to try cheaper brands 1st unless bb got golden butt. ;p If my bb can take the cheaper brand, then I will stick to it. I am gg to use solely disposables, so have to save if possible.

mrswrx,
No wor. I didnt have any brand in mind. Wanted to get combi initially (probably the lower ends ones), then I change my mind after seeing your comments. The place is big? Aiyo.. maybe ended up not getting anything. I think I will concentrate on mcclaren & capella.

angel,

I also intend to get a bb drawer chest and a comfortable chair (for breastfeeding), intend to get from the AMK neighbourhood shop too. Do u visit the shop near to courts (courts back door)?

Feliica,
Yes, amk ave 3 has a shop famous for crab...hv to go q up early as 5pm lor, if not hv to wait a long long time =D...i missed that plce..hee

last time we used to have 2 empty rooms too. so spacious. used one as study room. still got one empty. ever since my mil moved in, we have no more empty room. thinking of converting the study rm into half bb room cum maid sleeping rm when we hire a maid later.... the hse seems to become very cramp all of a sudden. sigh....