(2008/06) June 2008

Tera, for pasta you can get ready mixed sauce, but do chop fresh tomatoes in for healthier choice (esp cherry tomatoes which are much sweeter). As for garlic fried rice, this preggy makes me hate garlic, so I can't cook that.

crystal, no, she not big size. she is very short and fat. Also got major attitude problems (35 liao still acts as 21). So scary leh, I can't stop worrying lor, coz that time my son keep saying I have mei mei even though doc mentioned 80% boy, then later at detail scan bb turns out to be gal, just as what he says. If this time he says my gal will look like my SIL and turn out true, I may faint right after delivery! Pray hard now.

Felicia, I had called up the columbia childcare centre at TT international two weeks ago. They are emphasizing on Academic programmes for the kids there, which I find may be good for my son (now nursery in PCF but still cannot write and some Alphabets & numbers cannot identify). But due to major oppose from inlaws and husband, I can arrange to put him there, unless next yr there is no improvement on his advancement, I will debate with them to enrol him. You may want to try there and can call up to check if they help in toilet training? http://www.columbia-academy.org/

babycupid,

I bot mine from AMK central (near S11 food centre).

feifei,

Ya i like to cook soup.

But no time to cook on weekdays. When i go back home is ored 7pm. Tired and hungry. Hard to cook when hungry.

pkdust, I find that sending your daughter in will be good, as letting them adapt at young age is much easier.

Felicia, if you are taking care of your #2 by yourself, it will be good to enrol your #1 before you deliver. But if your MIL helping you to take care #2, you can enrol her in after your confinement when you are still on leave. With this your #1 can bond with #2 first before starting sch.

Veniz,

I hate garlic in this pregnancy oso! Last time i like to eat chilli sauce with garlic, but when started preggie, i vomitted once ate garlic mixture food. But if the smell not too strong, then shld be ok.
Ok, thanks. Shall go in take a look 1st.

pkdust,
My neice started on half-day childcare at 18mths cos nobody to look after her in the morning. I rem she took a while to adapt maybe cos still young, so kept crying the first few weeks.
But what I found was good about childcare was the discipline and social skills they taught. The downside of course, is that she falls ill quite easily.

Crystal,
I have also been thinking about the change in our lifestyle once bb is here so you are not alone. Haha, me also will miss the lazing in bed on weekends! Guess with each passing day, the reality is growing stronger. :p Is there any other alternative later date you can consider? If not, then I think no choice cos your MIL seems to be quite keen on following the "tong shu" right? Don't worry too much for now, just come in here and share our experiences as we transition into motherhood tog!

veniz,

sorr for being coming across as insensitive but yur statement of "....she is very short and fat... my gal will look like my SIL and turn out true, I may faint right after delivery! ..." but i cant help but burst out laughing after reading...

oppsss....sorry, reai...

okie, i try to be serious... promised! *giggle*
take it easy on yur boy's word lar. maybe he meant yur SIL is a ger & his meimei is also a ger? tat's y his meimei is like yur SIL lor. kids tots are actually very simple n straight-forward, so dun read too much into them yeah? i m sure if there's anyone yur daughter is going to take after, it will be after u n yur hb, but never yur SIL lar... dun worry too much *pat pat*

Veniz,
my mil will be helping me to take care of my #1 or even #2. In fact she offer to take care 2kids alone when me and hubby is working, but i dont think she can handle. So, i had suggested to enrol my #1 into childcare, in negotiation period now.But most probably will enrol during my confinement period as i had inform my boss i'll extend my maternity leave.

Veniz,
Ok, thanks for the advice on pasta sauce. Maybe I should cook this weekend and surprise my hubby!!! Provided the food is edible else it will be a bad kind of surprise, hee!

Hey, don't read too much into your boy's words and scare yourself.
He's prolly saying it for fun only.

tera,

hiya...tok abt reality, i reai sian...maybe i getting cold feet but now the preg excitment ve all but worn off n i keep thinking how nice it wld be if i m not preggie in the 1st plc. lots of "Ifs.." & "Wat i could be doing, etc etc...", but too late liao anyway.
i dun ve an alternative late unless i go natural n stick to EDD date of 1st Jun. in which case, my hb prefers tat we go wif "tong shu" date, he says like tat, we can says we try to give our bb a gd start in life cos he believes a gd date/time n name give bb a gd footing so to speak. anyway, i m a coward, so no natural delivery for me, thus 15th may is here to stay.

think i be the 1st of our batch here to deliver, so be forewarned tat u gers be prepared to hear lots of ventings n grumblings from me.....kekekeke....

ps: hope now wif my re-schedule date, i wun be "kicked" off to may 08's thread, yeah....
more comfy sticking ard here ley...

crystal, no worries. I think I am also being insensitive about my statement, i mean, wat if my SIL happened to see this and know my nick? She will hate me forever. Anyway, she does not like gals, die die want to have boys, so I dun care lar, shoot whatever I think out here. I am pretty straight forward person dun care if she will like my gal or not, be it whether galgal will look like her or not.

Aiyo, dun need to be serious lar. Maybe my son likes her as she always buy things for him, thus he also think that his meimei may be as nice to buy toys for him (through me of coz) just like his 'gugu'? Anyway, my dad knows about this Q&A matter my mum had with son, and we are both crossing fingers. Haha.

Felicia, if you can get extend ML, it will be good. I thought you may want to utilise your ML while arranging her in after confinement. But do try on like a few hours to halfday then fullday basis on her childcare centre to make both of your lives easier.

crystal,
Sorry as I have not been catching up the thread. But I saw your post about going for early C-sec. But why do you have to go for C-sec instead of natural birth?

I am thinking of sending my second one to child care after my confinement (the first month) but still within my ML. Then I can spend one whole day with her and gradually shorten the number of hours. Actually half day child care is good but its the hassle of fetching to and fro after 3 -4 hours.

Tera, I always buy this prego or duomo brand of pasta sauce. Find the price cheap and suits my taste. see what else you want to add, i normally add onions, minced chicken and brown or white mushroon. You can add chicken sliced hotdogs or chopped hams, really up to you what you want to eat.Oh my, telling you what to add, made me feel like wanting to cook it again this sat. I have to cook the aparagus which I bought last sat otherwise my $$ will be going down drain.

Actually i am more afraid of c-sect than natural delivery..

cos i tink c-sect is more scary.. cut so many layers and major operation.. more risky involved.

Veniz,
Ah, I know the Prego brand you are talking about cos my hubby bought it the other day. He cooked it with minced beef. Thanks for the many other suggestions, I think I give it a try this sat!!

All this toking abt pasta..

me only know how to cook chinese food.. dunno how to cook western heee.

For the spaggetti noodles, we just need to boil and drain the water right? Then fry the sauce and ingredients?

hi Ellysia,

just boil in some salt and oil, then drain. to make it extra nice, cool it immediately in ice cold water, then drain again.

normally, I fry the sauce, add tomatos to it, and more ingredients to increase the bulk. Then have it over the pasta.

another way to do is it, is to fry the pasta in olive oil, with dried herbs and meat. no need pasta sauce.

veniz,

thank god u not upset wif me abt my in-sensitivity...i laf cos i was trying yur visualise yur SIL's look thru yur description n my mental make-up of her seems pretty comical to me... hahahaha...come to think of it, even if yur SIL knows u r in this forum (slim chance), how would she knows which nick u r using? even slimmer chance of tat, rite? tis plc is for all of us to grumble, vent, gross n share, so by all means do so, yeah? think it makes all our lives & preggie so much easier cos we ve each other here to "lean" on...

pkdust,
cos i scarly-cat n coward, i scare of the pain involved in natural birth like contractions, tearing, etc. also the 'not-so-nice' position which the nurses n gynae would c me in during natural delivery. in c-sec, i can self-console myself tat the max they c is my bikini line n tummy...
i know the after pain of c-sec could last up to 2 wks or more, but i rather tackle it when it comes then wait in limbo land for the contractions pain n wats-not wif natural delivery.

Btw, last checkup at gynae, gynae tested my discharge and confirm got some fungus infection. So yest hb went to clinic to pick up the medicine for me. Its an injection tube, inside got cream. Just inject the cream in. Only 1 time use.

crystal,
I was thinking by the time ur baby full month, i might not deliver yet coz my EDD is 26 June. Then i'll full of envy coz u had finish ur one mth confinement. hehe....

Pasta : me oso supporter of Prego brand. Normally i'll add in vege like brocoli, asparagus, tomato plus hotdog, onions, minced meat.

Ellysia,
Is very easy to cook pasta. Just boiled the spaggetti noodles and drain the water.Normally i'll add in some salt and olive oil to the boiling water. As for the ingredients, just fried accordingly and add in the sauce. Voila! Can eat liao. Aiyo, me hungry already keep talking about pasta.

I dunno is it bec recently i eat more veg, i noticed tat my bowels improved liao even though i am taking 3 calcium pills instead of 2.

Crystal,
I see. Why dun you go for natural with epi? Then not so painful and take shorter time to recover?
Aiya, dun worry about the "not so nice" position. Think they have already seen a lot of preg ladies before.

Crystal, of coz not upset with you lar. I dare to post, will also accept all your comments.

This morn, listened to radio FM95. Glenn Ong was complaining the deal or no deal gals are no pretties, 2times below his standards. Then one listener sms him, scolding him for being sexist and b******. He heard this from his fellow colleague Carol, immediately he commented that now he changed his mind, the deal or no deal gals are 3 steps below all standards and the sms-er (who is a female) must be one of them and must have look like a KTV hostess! I was shiok with such remarks from him, as he is a DJ. Anyway, I was thinking, if he said something, pple reply with their comments, he does not have to do personal attacks. Just my sharing here.

ellysia,
Only the injection cream? Last time, my gynae prescribe some pills to me oso. I had problem inject the cream, coz after the injection, i feel it flow out.

Felicia, for spagetti, I used to add salt and oil in for boiling. But now, I just boil with plain water, not so oily as when preparing the sauce, already add some oil and salt in. Its up to individual. Currently I also changed my cooking oil to olive oil for healthier choice, as my hubby is overweight, and I am afraid he may burst anytime. Trying to keep him in healthy eating.

Felicia,

Eh i went to sleep immediately after cream is injected. But i tink got ooze out a bit cos i can feel someting flowing out. So i dunno got use or not.

Will gynae check on next visit to confirm the medicine is effective or not?

I dunno is it effective bec' i didn't encounter itching or wat.. just yellow discharge and slight smell. So i tink i have to monitor the discharge and smell.

felicia,
dun envy me 1st cos i be the 1st to head for misery....

Pasta & Western Food:
errr....paiseh, i also dunno how to make pasta n western food. normally hb is the one to make them. i prefer cooking congee, vege, making herbal soups, etc...chinese food. all these talks abt pasta n prego base sauce is making me hungry n i jus had an upsized fillet meal...again!

Veniz,

U use olive oil for everything?

Cos i find tat usu for frying meat stuff, using cooking oil is better for taste. Olive oil i ever tried frying meat, turn out funny taste. I only use for frying veg.

Hi Ellysia,

Olive oil disintegrates when it is brought to very high temps.

Olive oil is best used to dip with bread (must use very high quality and preferably with dried herbs like basil.. yummy!!), drizzle over pasta or over salads instead of creamy salad dressing. Olive oil is suitable for very quick stir frys (3 minutes or so).

There are healthy oils you can use for frying meat stuff. Those with omega 3 and 6 oils. Those are not olive oils.

Veniz,
Tats why i'm using olive oil, healthier but most costly. hehe...
I use olive oil for most cooking oso except frying. For frying, i'll use canola or sunflower oil.

ellysia,
Last time my ex-gynae din recheck after he give me the tube and pills. I did asked him, he said sure no problem liao.

cactus,

ya i got sunflower oil but dunno nice to cook meat or not. I still have leftover "Dao Biao" oil so i am still using for meat.

I find the worst oil is duck cooking oil, its most oily.

Felicia,

My gynae only give me cream. She also said sure no problem the last time i ask her.

Olive oil, i get the NTUC brand one is cheaper.

Ellysia, I used to use olive oil for everything two yrs back. Yes, does taste funny (like not so rich taste) and as oil is thin, so if cook meat, it tend to stick to pan. But then, its much healthier choice, so now my normal peanut cooking oil has been used up, I told my hubby I switching oil, don't complain and start using olive again. It takes some time to get use to the taste I think.

Its really up to individuals to see what type of oil they want to cook with.

crystal, actually western food is very easy to prepare, as long as the seasoning is done well. I also like you and felicia, the talk of pasta made me craving for it, but then again, I know I will not be having it for dinner later. My MIL cooking bak ku teh tonight so going to have that at her house before heading home.

Ellysia, my mom is currently using Naturale or somethign like that. it has omega 3 and 6. not oily at all. Last time we used carotina. very nice. not oily too. Canola is good too.

pkdust,
maybe i read & c too much of those preg books wif real life pics of natural delivery n ve develope a phobia for natural birth. nothing short of an unexpected pre-term delivery would convince me into natural delivery rite now...

Felicia, is sunflower oil richer than olive if used for frying? I never try before but if it is, can get a small bottle to try. My olive oil also NTUC brand, value for $$. But its stated with added omega and no cholestrol or something, forget liao. Short term memory nowadays, heehee.

veniz,
trust Glenn Ong to come up wif something like tat. *appluade* but i like his style of DJ-ing (dare to speak his mind) so long no dirty languages involved...

Crystal,
I know what you mean. Its like for C-sec, at least you are not conscious and you just have to deal with the pain after operation. But for natural delivery, you have to go through every moment of it. Now thinking of it still make me scared.

Veniz,
I'm ok with sunflower oil to fry food loh. Maybe u can get small bottle for a try and see if u like it. I cant remember my olive oil brand. Is in those plastic bottle.
Now most of food i buy, i'll take note on label, even egg will go for lower or no cholesterol type. But i always wondering whether if the contain is really as what stated in the label or not.

ellysia,

yup! mac again. nothing for me but mac n kfc since preggy. i die die must ve mac for supper before bedtime regardless of wat time i go sleep, if not cant sleep at all. tat's y till now had oreadi gained 5-6kgs n i feel my face all bloated up.
i dun usually go for fast food but preggie makes all my diet haywired. tat's y hb calls our bb a MacDonald Kid Junkie...

felicia...
i see... no rush toilet training your girl... is she toking yet? if she is, then can start reminding her if she wan to pee regularly... :p dats wat my mum did for my boy when he turned 2.

tera...
i buy those prego sauce too...
they are tasty... and wats more alot of diff flavors to choose from.
as for extra ingredients, i usu put in minced meat and mushrooms...

soyabean,
She can talk very simple wording.As i mentioned, she know when she want to pee or poo but just dont want to told us. Will only told us when she oledi done with her 'job'.

ok, ladies. Goin off now. Bye

veniz,
wow, "bak ku teh" makes me drool for the kidney but cant eat ley. since preg till now, hb (my personal dietian) oni relents once to let me ve 4 pieces cos my gynae said i cant ve them...
the bak ku teh's kidney n pig legs wif lots of fatty skin are my faves.... *yummy yummy*

tonite ve to host my hb's swiss frens again so we be heading for east coast tonite for local variety... yd hosted them as well @ Koshibu in Suntec & a wine bar in Dempsey, was back hm oni tis am @ 2+am.

crystal,
wow, u everyday eat fast food and only put on 5-6kg? i only eat fast food once in a while already put on 6kg, cannot imagine if i eat everyday man. hehe.

veniz,
ba kut teh sounds good! *envious* i am also going MIL place for dinner but...i already know the kind of food to expect cos my MIL cooks the same dishes almost every week. :p the good thing is we only eat there once every week. phew!

pkdust,
u hit me at the bull's eye. i rather not ve to bear the pain at tat point in time but deal wif it later. although mine wun be a 100% full bodied op (be on half bodied so i m still conscious), i m told i wun feel the pain one bit n wun go thru contractions.

crystal,

I also like fast food but now i cannot take fast food liao.. or at least i cannot take the fries bec gynae disapprove. My fav is Macdonald macnuggets. Healthier choice i will pick BK chicken tendergrill.

Anyway fast food, gynae said will increase weight v fast one.

Now i force myself to change my diet lor. This lunch i just eat vegetian food: tofu + 2 veg. Nice actually. Dinner time i need to eat some meat liao cos will go hungry and need balanced diet.

crystal,

U opt for fully unconscious c-sect? or epi c-sect?

Cos my colleague told me fully unconscious is v risky and most gynae will recommend epi c-sect unless special case.

So i tink epi c-sect is semi-conscious, even more scary bec' can see gynae opening right..! i feel even more scary.