(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000">felicia~

np

morraine,

I didn't realise u also go leh. I was there alone, sitting near the Thai Chill section, just outside.

Cos my lunch mates went on course these 2 days so i been eating alone.

<font color="ff6000">ellysia~

me oso near the Thai Chill Section leh!! Im at the front row most outside den im wearing a black top and grey skirt with my gfren
den we saw alot of those walking adverts ha ha

no la the duck rice is not at Caltex House, its at Phillip Street..

p/s: ware do u work? in Raffles area too?

<font color="ff0000">all raffles place working mummies ~ interested to meet up for lunch?

morraine,

I am sitting 2nd row, 2nd column. Ya i also saw those walking adverts.. hee. I went around 1.20pm, left around 1.45pm.

Yup me work near Lau Pa Sat

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

ha ha coz i realised quite a few of us around this area leh

we have you &amp; juliet &amp; ellysia &amp; me -> as of now

ellysia~

im at the first row den forgot which column though ha ha.. </font>

iamsnow, Felicia, I also work jurong area. Mine is near Jurong East, Tradehub21. Here the food not nice one, I just had a late lunch of oily indian cook 'thai style fried rice'. yucks. You both working near which part of Jurong?

morraine,

many people today, i didn't look around.. just look at food haaa. I have fried chicken ramen, 1 chilli

morraine,
but we may be moving out of RP soon
hopefully not b4 I pop else jia lat, cant imagine the travelling time and carrying a big football..

i had the same thing but 4 chillies ha ha..

piyo~

aiyo~ how come shifting? ur building so new only leh! U want to meet me later to pass u the oil first bo? my office things can get lost one leh.. so i jin KS</font>

morraine,

U can tahan 4 chillis..! Me usu take 1 chilli but today find not v shiok maybe shd add to 2 next time. My lunch mates dun really like tat restaurant so i am eating food tat they dun like during their absence hee.

morraine,

So yr clarins oil also bot from the sasa at the next door building besides Caltex house? (forget the name) i bot at tat sasa when taking MRT back home.

morraine,
can! But paiseh take from you 1st cos I cant do internet tt these few days cos I can't seem to find my token after changing bags..recently very short memory..me still owing Leng Leng $$
wanna kena hanged liao

ha ha my lunch kakis oso dun really fancy tare.. i went with my personal gfren oso who works ard this area

nope my clarins oil bot from JP's sasa
den now after $120 purchase of clarins item got free 2 miniature perfume, jus nice me and piyo one each.. ha ha u talking abt Arcade isit?

piyo~

never mind la... u can pay me again next time
just tat i dun wanna kip the oil in office den later lost den not so good
den u oso shld be using it already la! </font>

Veniz,

Me work at International Business Park (IBP). Our company had own canteen but the food oso jialat.
Tradehub21 got new shopping area, rite?

wah, u all so shiok. so many pple working at raffles place. then so many pple staying at jurong. next blk some more.... so fun....

veniz,
I working at pandan loop there. very ulu....

Felicia,
I used to work in IBP too.. at the Synergy... you?

Morraine,
okie! later you gif me your acc no, I tt to you, just recently waiting for the token to pop out cos very tight schedule no time go find when back home
what time u can come out? let me know?

we shifting cos office expansion lor.. hopefully it won't happen so soon or dun even materialise at all haha!

gals...
got some news...dunno good or bad...

the nurse calls me to inform that i'm a carrier (took blood test) for thalassemia im' a type B...wat does it mean?

sian...they wanna HB to go for the test too to be double sure.

<font color="ff6000">piyo~

later den i give u lor.. i can come out anytime now oso can
u let me noe lor.. anyway a while nia mah

shycloud~

dun get stress first
i think its common to ask the other half for test when one party is the carrier

ellysia, DH got tok to #1 bb but not very often lah...me tok to her everyday wan. every morning before i go to work and every night. for #2, DH haven start to tok to bb yet.

shycloud - if hb not carrier, then no problem. jus carrier only nothing to worry one...it's only if both u n hb also carrier then risk comes..

morraine and piyo,

Better start using now lor.. the oil.

Last week i feel itchy at stomach then apply oil not itchy liao.

yeah tats y i told piyo to collect and use first
i started using this am.. very nice aroma!</font>

felicia,

pandan loop is near clementi, industrial area also.

starmoon,

My hb also didn't tok much to bb. I find tat sometimes he like forget i got bb ored or the reality of bb just have not sink into him yet. I guess men only when they see bb born then got feeling one.. we cos preggy so have feelings earlier.

RP mummies unite ! haahaaa
i'll join u when i feel better - love Beppu ramen ! Coincidentally, i also ate ramen for lunch - but at China Sq - Nankin Row.

Mummies, anyone interested in buying the Medela PIS ? Read from another thread that it's cheaper from the states directly ... trying to find out more info now ...

Veniz,

For u fetching yr kid everyday to yr MIL house, last time when he is a bb, wat do u need to bring to MIL house in the morning then at nite?

Steriliser need to buy 2 sets or not? Or get 1 set then carry to MIL house everyday??

morraine,
actually more or less suspect i might have thalassemia cos i have slight anemia...so now preggy can feel it got worse...feel faint sometimes.

juliet,
hopefully my HB not a carrier...if not we got another thing to worry

felicia,
i think it meant beta thalassemia..now checking on the definition

morraine,

U use them let me know? Cos i told gynae i am using clarins, she say so far seems quite ok this brand. I didn't dare to apply everyday, just 5 days out of a week.

shycloud,

Is it yr blood type? Cos my gynae also told me my type is A (blood grp A)

shycloud,
I managed to get some info from kkh website.

i never test for it woh.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
What Is Thalassaemia?

Thalassaemia is an inherited blood disorder which is caused by an abnormal gene. A person with thalassaemia is unable to produce normal, functioning haemoglobin in the blood.

Haemoglobin carries oxygen from the lungs to all parts of the body. When the body is not able to produce normal, functioning haemoglobin, the affected person suffers from anaemia.

Thalassaemia is passed on from parent to child and can affect both males and females. In Singapore, about 3% of the population are carriers of the thalassaemia gene.

What Are The Types Of Thalassaemia?

There are two types of thalassaemia:

(1) Thalassaemia minor (thalassaemia trait).
(2) Thalassaemia major.

A person who has inherited one thalassaemia gene is said to have thalassaemia minor (thalassaemia trait).He or she is healthy and leads a normal life. Most people with thalassaemia minor do not know that they have it. However, the affected persons can pass on the abnormal gene to their children.

Thalassaemia major is a severe form of anaemia. The affected person has inherited two thalassaemia genes, one from each parent. He or she may look normal at birth but within 1 - 2 years of life, will suffer from severe anaemia, which leads to poor growth and development as well as a shorter lifespan.

The affected person will need blood transfusion every month to sustain life. At present, a bone marrow transplant is the only hope of possible cure for thalassaemia major.

How Is Thalassaemia Inherited?

If only one parent has thalassaemia minor, the following can occur:

• 50% chance of having a child with thalassaemia minor
• 50% chance of having a normal child
• None of the couple’s children will get thalassaemia major.

If both parents have thalassaemia minor, the following can occur:

• 25% chance of having a child with thalassaemia major
• 50% chance of having a child with thalassaemia minor
• 25% chance of having a normal child

The chances are the same with each pregnancy, no matter how many children the couple may have.

Who Should Go For Thalassaemia Screening?

Since thalassaemia can be passed on from one generation to another, you and your partner should go for a thalassaemia screening if you are:

• Planning to get married
• Starting a family.

Thalassaemia screening involves a simple blood test and is available at all polyclinics.

What Should I Do If I Have Thalassaemia Minor?

If you or your partner has thalassaemia minor, both of you should see a doctor for genetic counselling before you plan to get married or have a child. The doctor will explain the risks and discuss the choices you have. He may refer you to the National Thalassaemia Registry for further counselling.

The National Thalassaemia Registry provides genetic counselling for people with thalassaemia and screening for their families. The staff at the Registry will be able to answer your questions about this blood disorder.

NATIONAL THALASSAEMIA REGISTRY
Level 7 Children’s Tower
KK Women’s &amp; Children’s Hospital
100 Bukit Timah Road
Singapore 229899
Tel: 6394 1863-66 or Fax: 6394 1867
Email: [email protected]

What If I Am Already Pregnant?

If you are already pregnant and both you and your husband have thalassaemia minor, you should go for a prenatal diagnostic test to find out whether your unborn baby has thalassaemia major.

Prenatal diagnosis can be done by chorionic villus sampling or by fetal blood sampling. Both tests are conducted under ultrasound guidance.

Chorionic villus sampling involves obtaining some cells from the placenta for testing. This is done before 10 weeks of pregnancy.

Fetal blood sampling involves obtaining a small amount of fetal blood from the umbilical cord for testing. This procedure is done at about 18 - 20 weeks of pregnancy.

Based on the result of the test, the doctor will advise you and your husband accordingly.

k ong, PIS advanced is def alot cheaper in states...i bought mine 2 yrs ago for almost half the price here in SG!! But u'll need someone to bring it back for u cos it is quite heavy. another problem is warranty cos the warranty is for US and not SG. other than that, i feel it is def a great buy! I have no problems with it so far. Only thing is you may have to get bigger funnels but dat oso dun hafta worry cos can get easily from Parentcraft in TMC or in another shop in united square.

<font color="ff6000">K Ong~

*cool*
i assume u had the one at the same row as the New Zealand ice cream one?

shycloud~

dun worry

ellysia~

for my frens who faced the problem of 2 sides of caregiver, they usually onli have one steriliser which is at home den the other side is using the old method of boiling unless can afford den go ahead and get 2

ok ok will keep u updated but i like the aroma

ellysia, another option if u dun wanna get 2 sets of sterilizer, u can get those sterilizing tablets. pretty convenient and thats what they uses in TMC nursery.

Starmoon : thanks

what are the chances of it breaking down right ? heehee okok, am def getting it from the states, but not sure if i sld freight it back - Vpost ?
Or .... make a trip to the states myself before i pop ! haahaa

Morraine : er, not sure, didnt see the ice cream shop ... there's a 7-11 at the corner

morraine,

can i ask, can i just bring milk bottles (with EBM) over to MIL house every morning, put in her fridge. Then when she want to feed just take out and warm then feed? Then can avoid sterliser right?

<font color="ff6000">K Ong~

isit?!

ellysia~

but in this case, u must buy alot of milk bottles? milk bottles are suitable for freezing or not in the first place? coz usually those who store BM uses those avent bags or those glass bottles to store wor..</font>

New Zealand ice-cream? Yup it is v nice, i find nicer than Anderson

But sad, i cannot eat ice-cream now as sugar content is a bit too high now. even breakfast i also dare not eat jam or peanut butter. I eat plain bread

Hi iamsnow,
thanks a lot of the info on Thalassaemia . At least now I get a better pic now. I just pray hard that my hubby is not a carrier.

shycloud,
when u going with your hubby for the test?

I feel that pregnancy really not easy. After each test, there seems to be fear. Worry about this and that, never ending. Why can't just let us enjoy a bit...haiz