(2008/06) June 2008

Liew

Shd b fine to go toilet cos our bladders tolerance are made differently. B4 u pregnant,do u nd to go toilet in middle of nite? Cos I dun. So nw pregnant + i drink milk just b4 slp, i guess the once i went was to empty the milk i just drank. I guess u r someone who consume lots of liquid in day too? Cos I dun drink enuf..

juliet08, hahaha, I also never ask how much lei.
You attending which timing one ? Tera, me and TF sign up for the 2 to 4pm one.

I'm looking for CL now. I realised a lot of the CL do not encourage bathing for 2 weeks.... I'm thinking, should I get one CL who can allow me to bathe daily? I really cannot take it if don't bathe...

Juliet,
It's $214.
Try to take same class as us lah. Starting March 22, 2-4pm.

Ellysia,

I remember Mrs Wong from TMC mentioned that our milk supply is the highest in the wee morning around 2am - 4am. So if you really want high supply of milk, best to get them during this timing. Sad to say, I didn't achieve bf during my first preg so I didn't really try that.

I also rem once during confinement, I was waiting for 11pm for my son to have his last feed before he slept througout the night, I was very tired, so I took half tiny cup of'Dome', brush my teeth before feeding him (I normally fed him before I had my 'Dome'). But when i was preparing the milk for him after the drink and 10mins rest, I saw stars and almost fell/fainted. Lucky my husband was there to help me, otherwise I will spill the stuff and hurt myself.

Iamsnow

I guess if u insist, they cant stop u bah. At most, it sound like a nag cos they meant u well. Bliss Confinement is charging $1900 for 28 days. U can read the CL thread in motherhood on some blacklist one n also to avoid those doing freelance that cos "no show" problem.

TF,
actually those I have on hand are freelance one. they are all recommended by my friends & colls who have used them before. so I guess should be quite ok.

actually I'm also considering if I want to use those from agency one... I'm afraid they play punk and give you someone else....

HI Veniz,

Ask you a question. If we pump out milk more than baby will consume, can we just pour out the amount the baby usually drink to warm up?

mogudog and teragram
Sorry!! sotong me... 1230-230 is sun slot... i just called to double check, im reserved for 2 - 4pm slot, 22 March... heeeee paiseh

tinyfeet,
actually, i'm quite worry also. my urine nowaday dark yellow colour. especially early mrn wake up time. i seldom drink much water but still easily run for ladies.. but i believe i ate lots of fruits...

Ellysia

I called Bliss, the confinement food there is for those who engage CL fr them n wnt the CL to cook as per the reference menu to customize to indiv taste. They dun do food catering

All,
wow, so nice hor, so many of u attending e class together, shd be bery fun de wor.... =)...1st lesson has to wear soemthing stretchable and light cos need to do some exercise lor...

liew
Mine is also dark yellow in morning, wh i tink is common cos kept long hours. And hours after MultiVit is bright Yellow becos of the Minerals/Calcium. Then if drink water regularly, becum white or pale yellow. Water can b fr many source. Also run to toilet maybe cold weather lately + air-con.

Iamsnow
Yah, how it started is these CL ladies started recommended by agency. And when they r gd, friends give their CL direct contact to them, until they dun depend on agency n becum freelance. So when they freelance, they can quote their own price, so they test giving $1600 to 1st customer and maybe $1700 to next customer (since $1600 no complain). N if $1700 customer agree easily. They go for the $1700 at last min n no show for the $1600 customer. Tat was how the story goes. Interesting that it can also be so ugly in this mkt. Some will give excuse they need u to pay levy or go back n chop passport in JB, etc.. end up some days missing. Whereas agency take care of all this n so far i knw Bliss (recommend by many in motherhood forum). But of course there r some bad agency like u mentioned too.

Felicia
I have nt conclude yet. Maybe 2nite lay all my cards to my mother n see wat she decides wif, ie. CL or catering n DIY. She rules...haha..cos i depend on her.

Feifei
wat, so fast 1esson is exercise. I tot last lesson. I tot i can still clump on chair n listen to the first one like lecture style for 1st lesson :p

roxy,
yay, same class!

re CL,
I have booked mine but a little worried cos the other day she called and asked me if she can end her confinement in Feb cos of CNY?! I was like, huh, no lah mine is in June and kept reminding her. Uh-oh, really hope she dun sotong and forget about mine.

feifei,
hehe, thanks! u can share with us on what to expect for the classes since u will be attending first.
I think one of the lessons is a talk by doctors right?

Just now the nurse just called me and told me my results for triple tests is out. Low risk of down syndrome. (thank goodness! ) But the thing is that my blood count is low and she ask my hubby to come for a test as well just in case there is a chance of something (dunno how to spell but it begins with a "T" ) I read somewhere in this forum that someone was told to go with her hubby for testing of this as well. Start to get a bit worried now...

TF,
For me, i plan to order catering for one meal only. The portion is quite big, so i can eat it for 2 meals. hehe....
Initially my mil happily agreed she'll do confinement for me till few weeks back, she told me she might not up to it as she's taking care of my ger (22mths) now. My ger very active, always climb here and there, so my mil start to worry. So my hubby n me plan to hired a daytime CL, but then my mil worry that the CL was not good. Then we finally agreed to order for confinement catering, so at least my mil can save the trouble and time from goin to market and preparing my food.

Yeah its thalassemia. They ask my hubby to also go for blood test just in case. Any one got the same encounter? A bit scared.

tera, mogudog, TF - I will try..but may do late ones coz hb may work half days on weekend..if so will be a bit rush...

Yeah tera and mogudog.. we are in same class!

Juliet and TF, if plan to book, try booking same class also.. so we can all go together

Veniz and K Ong,

I have a colleague who will have MS up to 7mth or beyond. So my colleagues are used to it actually.

For me my MS cease around week 11 then stop around week 13.

Kelcqi, yes, we can. but the remaining is best kept within a certain limit of hours (I forgot liao, I am sure can check in books or prenatal courses). As my milk flow very very low, thus I always let my boy finish the freshly pumped milk, thus never keep overnight.

Any experienced ladies can help Kelcqi on this topic? Thanks

liew,

My urine also yellow colour. Only on days when i drink 8 glasses of water, it will turn ok colour later.

roxy, u blurr already. i also same class as all of u..keke..nevermind, some preggie very blurr one. I realise tat abt myself. So far 4 of us. If Juliet confirm, then 5. Lets see anymore cuming..

pkdust,
last time they ask my hubby for the blood test too. they'll take 1-2 days will give u the result. if negative means no problem.

Hi ladies, I donated my #2 cord blood to SCBB. As for #1, there was no such thing available that time. #3 most probably will donate to SCBB again

Actually it is me who gonna attend the class first, but mine is not Mrs Wong class.

feifei,

U know wat to bring during 1st lesson?

Ellysia, at least they used to it. In my office, I am the only female here. Everything have to do, then they anything dunno also ask me. I scare if I on M leave, I will keep getting calls from office, cannot rest well (coz during that time, also have to assist in audit of Year End Account).

Not only the above, as I am going to try for breastfeeding, if back into office, dunno where I can pump out my milk as all doors are glass/transparent. Worst come to worst, buy wire extension and lock myself in toilet to pump liao.

Hi babyjo,
Any reason y you not keeping any of your babies' cord blood?

Hi Veniz & Kelcqi,
EBM can store in fridge for max 7days and 6mths if in freezer. EBM in fridge can be moved to store in freezer after max 24hrs.

Veniz,

If no place to bf, then really have to bf at toilet liao. See if the pump comes with battery.

My office recently renovated with a bf corner but is at another floor. If need to bf will go to another floor to do. My colleagues also went there to bf. Last time they used to do at an executive toilet (that has a key) but they complain quite stuffy inside.

pkdust,
nope. i'm in low risk. my hubby is negative. so both no problem. if positive meaning you've thalassemia.i heard u said you're in low risk rite? so they only need to chk ur hubby whether he have thalassemia or not. no worry..lol

Ellysia, first two lessons will most probably be exercise. So just where pants and blouse, nothing fanciful so you can learn the exercises in more comfort. I am sure they will inform you what to wear for first lesson bah, coz last time (yr 2004) I received the confirmation telling me to wear for exercises. Or you can call parentcraft to check it out.

pkdust,
i heard from gynae told me only those if both parents got thalassemia then in future their child can't live more than 2 years old. that the why this test quite important.

Veniz,

OIC. Cos i booked the course v last min, so there is no letter yet. Hb just went to make payment today, he booked yest.

Just checked with hb and he said they gave him a letter ored. i will read and see wat to bring.

liew,
The nurse just told me my blood count is low and my husband to go and take the test in case there is thalassemia.
I just pray hard that everything will be fine. Will go with my hubby for the test this coming sat.

Ellysia, ya, hopefully the guys keep the toilet clean (I only have a cleaner who comes in once a week to clean up). My Medela minipump I dun think have compactment for battery operation. Have to check it out as its currently not with me.

piyo(secretgarden), thanks for the advice.

Veniz,

Cos not all toilets have electrical access. So maybe get one tat has battery cum electrical. Though i understand battery one is not so long lasting in power but better than u cannot use at office.

Piyo, the chances for the kid and sibling to use the cord blood is very low. If let say *choy choy* something do happen to the kid, he/she cannot use his/her own cord blood to save himseld/herself, likewise to his/her other sibling. Most disesase that cord blood can treat are related to genetic blood order.

You can read from the link that you provided for mummies here.

My rationale is if everyone is keeping their children cord blood with private bank, other children who is currently suffering from blood disorder will have lesser chance to get a sutiable cord blood to save their life. If more people are willing to donate, then public banking will have more chances to find a suitable donors for patient.

If public banking have more donors, the chances for our children to find a match (choy choy if something do happen) will also be higher. With one cord blood, you will never know how many life you can save.

If i remember correctly, cord blood cannot be store for life. There is a limit of 10 years only. Storing a cord blood is simply another method of buying an insurance coverage.

These are my hb and my opinion and final decision to donate our bb cord blood. You can save someone life today, but you never know the one you saved will save you in future.

pkdust,

How come now then u do blood test?

My hb done the blood test for thalassemia on our 2nd gynae appt, way before i done mine together with Oscar test. Becos my hb done the test earlier and is ok, i didn't worry abt the test results when it is my turn.

pkdust,
don't worry. the worst case scenario if both parents are found to be thalassemia minors (both u and hubby can't be majors cos we won't have survived till now), there is a 25% chance your child will be a thalassemia major (i.e need frequent blood transfusions etc) and 75% chance of a thalassemia minor (which usu does not cause any long term problems). and if either you or your hubby is free from it, then your bb will def not be at risk of a thalassemia major. hope that helps.

Veniz : oh, dont say that !!! every pregnancy is a blessing and is differnt (i am so trying to be positive here !)
totally understand how you feel ... i tot my MS will subside after the 14th or 15th week ... but NO !!! Hrmp.
We will be strong and overcome this ok ??
Most websites state that 70% of women suffer from MS, so we're not alone !
Apparently my boss doesnt see how MS can be so severe as to render me unable to work ... so i have to handle that part of office stress as well as emotional stress from all that vomiting

But we will get better !!!
*positive vibes****