(2008/06) June 2008

yo ladies,
i am back frm my oscar test and a checkup wif Dr Wong! Saw the bb moving ard is amazing! waving the hands, shaking the legs and stretching the body!! took quite awhile before he/she cooperates.. was told that the scanning is ok.. but still got to wait for the blood test..

Good to know, BabyCupid!

Aiyah.. you ladies are making me so envious. I've not seen much of my bb yet.. last scan was 8 weeks....just saw a peanut shaped thing...

cactus, guy use guy therapist...doesn't it look/feel gayish?? :p

me also hvn't seen much of bb's action...oscar test next wed, can't wait to see bb...my boss keeps teasing me, say now i can't wait to see bb..but after bb is out, i'll probably want to put bb back in the womb..hahahaha...

hi ladies!!! I had such a full lunch.....claypot laksa and avcado drink....soooo nice. but almost puke when i came back.... haha.... the result of being too greedy....

juliet, u wrap a ribbon around your face and present yourself to him.... hee hee....

yeah boy...
my next appt is in dec...last scan was 3 wks ago.
the bb very small measuring 18mm only!

how i wished the days can pass quickly..every now and then i will take out the scan pic and wonder how is my BB doing inside...*sniff*

Janken, yup yup. Me going tml, but dunno can find the one or not? Parkway Parade got 2 food court, which one? The one at basement or the one at 3 floor? Thanks. Hope it's nice.

I know why they said cannot eat mutton. Cos the old wives believe that if you eat mutton during pregnancy, baby will "fa yang feng" next time. I think the chinese called it "yang dian feng", medical terms I think is Epliasy or something like tat. I dunno how to spell. Paiseh

Twinky, I agreed with you. Everything also cannot drink, even home cooked barely also cannot be cold. I go food court or anyway, he asked me what I wanna drink, I always said I wanted coke, he said no, I always give very sad face and said, then u decide loh. My hubby cannot stand me also. That day he brought watermelon juice with ice. I was feeling so hot and he was like enjoying the cooling drink. I also gave him the "Ke Lian" look. He let me drink abit but I take very big mouthfuls. Haha... Craving for it but they said too cooling cannot drink.

kelcqi...
can be easily spotted...the one @ the basement..you walk all the way in should be able to see it...im sure you will enjoy it!

cannot take too cooling stuff hor? but few nights ago MIL makes some juice consisting of apple, celery and BITTERGOURD!!! is it ok to take it cos i drank half a cup. i understand bittergourd is quite cooling...

kelcqi, u can take other soda drinks. i always take mug (coz no caffine) and kikapo.... haha.... i always give the ke lian look to my hubby and tell him i need to burp out the gas.... haha.....

Just to share from a book by Dr Gordon Lim, Nine Months & Counting...

1)Can I take bird nest during pregnancy? How often can i take this and will it be beneficial for my baby?

<font color="ff0000">Birds' nest is actually birds' saliva as everyone knows! The actual nutritional value is minimal as birds' nest has been found to contain little more than a low amt of protein. However, if it makes you feel good and you like the taste, take it as often as you like. However, be careful of the sugar content if it is consumed with rock sugar. Too much sugar during pregnancy may not be a good thing.</font>

2) I am 12 weeks' pregnant and have noticed an inncrease in the amount of my vaginal discharge. Is this normal?
<font color="ff0000">When pregnant, the physiological changes that take place cause swelling in the neck of your womb and an increase in a clear watery discharge. This discharge coagulates as it passes down the vagina and turns into a white and sometimes powdery discharge. This is called leucorrhoea and is normal. However, if your discharge is yellow or green, or if there is a smaell or itching, you may have a fungal or bacteria infection. Have your OB check you with a speculum.</font>

3) I am in my 16th week and have noticed that my ankles are swollen. Is this due to water retention and does it occur so early in the pregnancy?

<font color="ff0000">Swollen ankles aredue to water being pushed out of the blood vessels, the result of increased oestrogens in pregnancy. It is common and affects one in three pregnancies. It may occur in early pregnancy but more common in the 3rd trimester when the increase size of uterus causes a mechanical obstruction of the blood returning to the heart, aggravating any oedema or swelling present. Ankle swelling is considered normal even at this stage as long as it is not associated with a raised blood pressure. To help decrease swelling, avoid standing for long periods and raise your legs at night. Swelling will subside after pregnancy.</font>

4) Is it true that I should not consume pineapples during my pregnancy as it may result in miscarriage?

<font color="ff0000">There may be some truth in this old belief. Pineapples may increase the level of prostaglandins in the body and this may bring about uterine contractions. If the pregnancy is not a stable one, this may cause a miscarriage. However, the prostaglandin levels are usually not sufficient to cause uterine contractions. it is in fact verfy safe to eat pineapples during pregnancy if you so wish!</font> Hope for pineapple tarts lovers during CNY!

GPS - I think it is heaven sent gift for me! :p I like to roam abt for factory sales, warehouse sales and food places... so it is a great gadget for me.

I think fixed one is better than a portable one cos the lapse time is slower and screen is bigger. Can see DVD too on o/s drive. But hor, I very silly...i HAVE TO look at the map cos I cannot comprehend the diff btw 200m and 500m. If I switch to only voice command, I always end up turning too early or too late.

iamsnow,

U stil can take soda drinks..So gd..My hb control all the food i take whenever he is wif me..This one cannot eat la that one too cooling la..blah blah blah..Hear oso sick..

Actually sometimes i felt that abit of cooling stuff shld be ok..Otherwise, we wil b too heaty..Afterall, not too much..

Any idea if we can take cold drink in 2nd tri?? I c some preggy taking tt & judging on their stomach side, shld b ard 5-6mths..

er...linda, my hb buying GPS for work use..not so much for driving around...he's in the army...uses it for navigation in the terrains...keke

hi linda, thanks for the info. really useful!

twinky, hee hee, I always act the ke lian look and my hubby will give in to me a bit... haha... but must self control also lah.

GPS: It's a great invention i think! my hubby bought a GPS phone. so convenient.... sometimes we borrow car from my mum and go around sg! haha....

Mummies & MTBs

just curious, do you all seek a feng shui master's help in selection of your wedding/ROM dates?

do u intend to use one for selection of your baby's names too?

Anyone got good recommendations?

Hi Janken, how's the food selection over there? What kinda soup they have there? Their pot is those half half one or full pot? Hubby tummy not feeling very well, I hope have half half one, den I can enjoy tom yam while he takes others.

Bittergourd abit too cooling, but you're fine now rite? So shouldn't have problems bah. I heard some ppl when they take too cooling stuff, they get cramps. So as long as no cramps, should be fine lah.

iamsnow, me same as twinky. Hubby controls all my food intake. So sad. I totally never take Canned drinks cos hubby said they contain perservatives and chemicals. Bubble Tea also cannot drink. Only juice and those hot drinks.

He said 4 mths then I can drink. My neck very long already, still 4 weeks to go. Boo...

kelcqi...
food selection quite good @ least those that i fancy..just tat the portions are not really justified for the price. haha (ironic-since i like to patronise the place)they have clear chicken soup & tom yum..you can have either the half or full pot depends on your preference...
usually i go for 1/2 pot in case its too spicy theres the chicken broth to cool it down!

the bittergourd was mixed with some other fruits..hopefully can neutralise the effect ;p so far im fine lor...

I think different people have differnt reactions to the same food/drinks consumed. Some people can drink coconut and no cramps, or eat pineapple with no cramps. I can drink cold water with no cramps but not my SIL. I drink coconut will cramp, my SIL won't.

Thanks Linda, for the comprehensive answers... I always have alot of white discharge now.. good to hear it's normal.
Btw, my gynae advised that if we have alot of discharge now, we are more prone to infections. Hence, better to wear cotton panties, if use panty-liners, choose those "breathable" types, wear skirts/dress instead of pants at work to air that area to prevent infection and at home, try to wear loose fitting bottoms to help air too.

i am also using more panty-liners these days..

my stomach is showing.. has been complaining to hubby that i can't fit into most of my clothes.. think must start wearing materity clothing from next week

mei, u now then cannot fit? so good..... i was already wearing maternity pants when I was in week 4. too bloated.....

Have been wearing that few outfits which i still can fit in. The best thing is i can't get any maternity pants! my thighs are the skinny kind that my fren commented that i was like wearing granny pants when i tried on maternity pants! bought a few skirts but no top to wear. My usual tops are tight fitting kind so can't wear them now.. will have a small ball in front.. not used to the 'new look'.

Next gynae visit tomorrow... excited!!

Kelcqi,

How come yr hb cont yr food?

My hb no control my food one.. i drink wat cold drinks he also dun bother.. even coke also like tat. But i myself is more conscious, if take coke will limit to 1 bottle/cup per day.

Cold drinks are ok if u dun have spotting. If spotting like me, then better avoid.

But sometimes i also drink cold drinks.. dun bother. Hee.

Btw, i was busy searching online for christmas takeaway orders.. was tinking to order christmas turkey and food n eat with my family

juliet,

My hb bday recently just over. Instead of buying a surprise present, i just ask him wat he want and we went shop for his present on his bday and i bot for him
Cos run out of ideas and this way can get wat he really want since our ideas/taste always differ.

mei,

Try perfect mum at Suntec / The arcade.

They have cotton elastic pants that fit yr hips and the waist can be adjustable, so it won't make u look v big size. The pants frm look wise is ok for work.

for my #1, i drink cold drinks all the way till delivery....hubby was so scared that later bb get asthma then when we went for check up, he asked gynae abt me taking cold drinks and gynae said it is OK to drink cold drink cos he said by the time it gets to my stomach, the drink oredi not so cold. hahahaha....conclusion: no effect on baby actually. my #1 arrive into this world with no problems at all and is also healthy now.

one thing though i noticed is taking oranges...my SIL took quite a bit in her 3rd tri and end up when her baby is born, she got a lot of phlegm. For me, I hardly take any oranges so not a problem when my #1 was born.

starmoon, i agree with u on the oranges. My sis also took a lot of oranges during her pregnancy and both my nephews got a lot of phlegm. I also skipping oranges as much as i can.

mei,

How come. The pants shd fit yr hips and thighs.

If like tat, then no choice. But no matter how, wearing too tight clothes is no good for yrself and bb.

I tried Spring Maternity pants before, not v good. The material is stiff and harder and not v elastic. So not v comfortable. And doesn't look trendy too.

I haven't seen theme maternity yet, heard not bad.

Ellysia, you looking for christmas delivery huh? Me too, I am more into the log cakes, saw Cedele depot having this tiramisu one, looks fab! But got alcohol, so dunno whether to get or not.

ND, my son's name was calculated by Yu Long Zhi, very famous for names and a lot of parents look for him. So it seems like a few kids out there have more or less the same names lor, heehee.

starmoon, ya, last time i didn't dare to drink cold water, son is fine. Then a friend told me that by the time cold water reaches baby, it has been warmed up already. I now, I do drink on and off, except trying to keep clear of orange juice.

Veniz,

Alcohol one how to take? I am considering cakes frm Haagen daz, polar.. not sure also.

I want to get turkey, ham and cake. Just saw Jacks place catering website have. But dunno their cake nice or not.

I also checked goodwood park also have. But their ham is honey with pineapple leh. Cannot take pineapple. Anyway hotel one expensive.

If not i buy from carrefour again (last year i did tat) but their stocking need to open yrself and do.. not easy even though the turkey is cooked ored. But the turkey is nice.

But dun buy log cake frm carrefour, it is not nice.

my gynae told me that the temperature of the drink doesnt matter...

its the drink itself that shouldnt ve caffine. thats tea, coffee and coke.

i yearn for a cup of hot tea when i dine at ding tai fong coz can 'wash' away the oily taste. so i just take 2 sips for the fun of it.

as for the topic on the name of the baby, the master usually take the birth date n time of the baby into consideration. in the olden times..usually by natural birth, the baby has a proper "shen chen ba zhi" (birth date n time that was predestinated) so whent ehy get married in future or when they fall sick for a long time without recovering, pple will use the "tong shu" to calculate.

but if by birth is c-sect, then the shen chen ba zhi is no longer accurate.

by choice if possible, better to do natural delivery, in my humble opinion.

Ellysia, either my hip is too big for my thigh or my thigh is too skinny for my hip... anyway i always got problem buying pants.. but the funny thing is... 3/4 not a problem!

my sis's fren who is super into fengshui, actually got the master to calculate the date for c-sect.

i didn't get any master to calculate my wedding date but am thinking of getting one to choose name. Anyway only 1 word coz we gotta follow jia pu.

Morning ladies....

Mei,
Maybe u can try Perfectmum pants? So far, I bot 2 pants from them, fits me well...My hips also quite big lor...

Tinyfeet,
Ya lor, sometimes hv craving to drink tea hor...=D..

Agreed with u that its better to have natural delivery =D.

Babycupid,
Enjoy ur holiday! Take care hor...

It's FRIDAY!!! Yeah!!

Yes, I agree it's better to have natural delivery. We will recover faster too.

The problem with tea is the amount of caffeine. Actually caffeine is the most in coffee, then black and red tea, then green tea, then white tea, then floral tea. So if you have craving to drink tea, you can opt for white tea or floral tea. White tea is being sold under Lipton label. Floral tea would be stuff like rose tea. Less or no caffeine.

Ellysia, ya, alcohol flavoured cakes are no no now. I will miss the tiramisu cakes from www.tiramisutra.com . They have the best alcohol tiramisus I have ever taken before. Anyway, will take note of your comments on carrefour's log cake.

muffin, primadeli cakes are good also, soft and fluffy.

tinyfeet, normal delivery is always the best, if one is not afraid of the pain. My DS was breech baby, so I have no choice but to do C-section. For this 2nd bb, I have got my gynae to assist me in normal delivery as possible, unless any unforseen circumstances arises again (like breech again) then no choice C-section.

hello...
went for my TY steamboat...wow very satisfying dinner indeed...long time since i had a great meal liao!

it wasn't too spicy nor sour..soup base was just nice....went back as a happy MTB haha!