(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia... such a bad boss!!! Dun bother about him and agitate your baby.

Yes, I also have bitter weird taste in mouth... eat/drink anything liao also got weird taste till dun feel like eating anything....

On the topic of cold, someone once told me we must now wear bedroom slippers. Coz apparently, there's some vein from the feet to womb. If feet keep stepping on those cold homogeneous/marble flooring, no good for womb. So, please wear bedroom slippers now at home.

anyone of you planning to go swimming?

bought new swimming trunks for my boy cos planning to bring him to swim once the swimming pool at sengkang opens.
pregnant can still go swimming? anyone knows where can get reasonably priced maternity swimwear?

Ellysia, when very angry time, really like two different heartbeat drumming. Its like that, as our moods will affect the small ones in our tummies.

Oh, I remember when having my first child, I loved to eat nasi brayani, and I do not take spicy food very well. So when I was eating, I felt hot (body, mouth). Then after 1/2 hr or 1 hr later, my tummy area will be hot and can feel baby moving alot. Maybe he also felt the hotness from the food I had eaten.

hi piyoz, tinik swimming is good for pregnancy. But my gynae advised us to go only after first trimester. Coz scared water got bacteria or not clean, might cause us vaginal infection.....

Recipes to improve norish blood & its circulation. To all mums who felt cold...

Pork liver Sp w Spinach
ingredients
600g spinach
150g pork liver
20g sliced ginger
4 cups of water

1. Rinse the spinach. Wash and slice the pork liver.
2. Boil some water in a pot. Put in the ginger slices and pork liver. Cook briefly.
3. Add spinach and bring to boil. Season w salt and Serve.

Spinach is rich in folic acid. Besides participating in the protein metabolism, folic acid also maintains the normal cell division. Pork liver is extremely abundant in iron. Eating pork liver helps regenerate more haemoglobin. Tat's Y it prevents iron-deficient anaemia while promoting synthesis of blood cells in the foetus and replenishing the iron level in the expectant mother.

Pork Liver Sp w QiZi
150g pork liver,
150g lean pork.
20g Qizi
200g carrot
shredded ginger

1. Rinse all ingredients. Slice the pork liver, lean pork and carrots.
2. Put in the carrot to cook for 20m first before adding thre remaining ingredients. Season w salt and Serve.

piyoz - I'm at 9 weeks +. Going to be at 10 weeks on Monday.. so bb just a bit older than yours.
Swimming is good for pregnancy but I'm not sure when is good to start. Swimming takes the weight off when we are in water and it helps tone our muscles.

roxy - I didn't hear of the vein thing.. but my mom asked me to wear bedroom slippers (cos flooring is marble) and she also asked me to wear socks and long pants when I sleep (I sleep aircon room).

Hey, thanks for the recipie, Sparks!

Just a word of caution about liver. It is very rich in iron so it's good but it is also very rich in vitamin A. Too much vitamin A may cause birth defects in bb. So watch the amount you consume.

Hi cactus, I've done some research to your benefit with regards to bird's nest nourishment. Refrain from spicy and oily food before you consume Bird's Nest so that your body could have a better absorption. It's advise to avoid spicy and oily food for at least 30hrs before consuming it. Now i'm 14th weeks already.... MS's subsiding tat's Y I'm also taking some bird's nest too at my stage.

Phew..Glad to know that feeling cold during 1st tri is normal..

Of course Piyoz..Warmly welcome u to stay here..i think my EDD wil oso push to May. But i will still stay here..More comfortable yeah..

Me lucky..Hehe..stil haf nt gain any wt from the lost wt few wks ago..but i feel tt my buttock is bigger (this morning my hb juz say my buttock y like so big) and tummy showing liao..somehow feel like a big fat pig..coz me oredi quite plump liao..sob~~

Wow...just few days not online and there is so many posts to catch up. Went to KL for my cousin's wedding....aiyoh, puke bfast, lunch and dinner...can die!

Cold - Yup, I do feel cold these days. However, when I was carrying my #1, I did not have this symptom.

Unreasonable Bosses - Oh...I had my share of those. One of them even asked me to quit if I find out I am PG. So sorry to hear Ellysia that you kena from you boss.

Weight Loss - Yup, me loss weight too. It did not happen for #1 though. OBGYN was a bit concern and kept asking me lots of questions. He said that if I keep loosing weight, he will admit me and put me on drip...aiyoh!!!

Xmas - Each year, DH and I will slave in the kitchen. I guess this year we will order some and cook the rest...he!he!

1st trimester - This trimester is upmost important lah. When I was PG#1, my obgyn told me to rest well during my 1st trimester so that BB can develop and grow, then come 2nd and 3rd trimester, we can do almost anything lah.

Recipe for MS - Thanks for posting!

Thanks for the advice on bird's nest, Sparks. I usually take it as supper, or as breakfast in the morning.
I will make a mental note to refrain from spicy and oily stuff now.

I find it v hard to hide in file compactus to eat, just now tried. Need to walk around, v ma fan.

I just experiment, i tink i may use a big arch file and hide the bread while i am eating, hee.. no choice. sigh. At most he will see the big file in front of me standing up lor.

bird nest, i just took a small bottle yest. Cos i still have those Eu Ren Sheng small bottle (less sugar) at home.

Veniz,

Not onli angry i felt my heart beat faster..Nw whenever i walk too fast or climb up & down the stairs, i will pant easily..can oso feel my heart beat faster too..

i check wif GP and he say my lungs and heart are perfectly fine..

Twinky, I think that's cos our blood circulatory system has expanded... so to prevent us from fainting, our hearts need to beat faster and harder to have the blood circulate throughout our bodies.

Sparks,

Somehow i felt like u r our chinese physician..Always sharing with us herbs and soups that are goods for us..Hehe..
1086822.gif

JP,

Ya lo..Was juz wondering y u so long nv join this thread..Poor ger..Keep puking..U muz b feeling terrible..

Ellysia,

Reali pity u..u like 'mistress' (Hehe)..gotta keep hiding to eat to prevent ur boss fr seeing..

Cactus,

I guess so..But sometimes reali feel so out of breath..My worst period (6th to 9th wk)is walk a few steps gonna sit down & rest..tt period my hb cannot tahan..ask me better stay hm..But nw i felt better although stil pant..but nt tt frequently..

I hope all MTBs have passed the peak of MS & is getting better..Although my MS subsided, but i stil gt no appetite for food..

My mum told me the best time to take bird nest is before sleep..Izzit true??..Coz i usually take Anmum milk before slp..

Hi piyoz
I stinge on maternity swim wear and settle for bikini instead. haha... only time I am not scared to show off my belly and got the boobs to carry it off. hahaha... But if you are more shy, try bikinis with bandeaus and boy shorts, less revealing yet tummy is comfy. Swimming is good!!

Cold - yah, me also. Mum has started sunning the ginger now for my bath during confinement. Since during then, I will still have the maid to help, I will bathe everyday with that ginger water instead of alternate days.

Weight - I put on 2kg at 11 weeks. Think next check will be more.

Du Chong - the receipe Sparks shared is also good for those with backaches.
My MIL cooked that for me during confinement too.

Loreal Expo Sales - anyone going? Got good buys. Thinking to go tomorrow. Can get shampoo for my girl

iamsnow,

Basically i oredi look like a penguin nw..haha..Maybe i wil look like a bear after wearing the winter clothings..Sob Sob~~

I noe tt preggy gt priority to board plane 1st. But when i go korea, my tummy wun b so obvious..Wonder can i board the plane 1st or not..Scullly the air stewardess tot i juz plump onli..very paiseh..

Do we need to get gynae to cetify us tt we r fit for flying??

HI Twinky,

Some airlines require certification that you are fit for flying. You'd need to check with the airline. but so far, I think only need certification if we are in 3rd trimester. Not so early. And something like the certification must be within 3 days from the flying date.... I can't remember exactly.

twinky,

My hb say only 3rd trim or near 3rd trim then need letter to certify fit for flying. Anyway now our tummy is not obvious, dun tink the airline will ask for the letter.

1st priority or not.. i dun really bother. as long as on and off is safe can ored.

cactus and twinky,

Panting more and heart beating faster is normal. Cos i have heart paipitation at times (heart beat faster than normal), i have asked gynae and she said it is normal. So dun worry.

Unless yr heart really beating so fast tat v xin ku and for many hours no subside, then u better see doc.

One way gynae teach to slow down is to breath in deeply and slowly a few times then heart won't beat so fast liao. Anyway good, i always feel the feeling is feeling bb heartbeat also

I agree with Ellysia.

Twinky, getting on the plane first may not be a good idea cos the kids will be there too.. incase they bump into you. It's better to secure yourself a good aisle seat or emergency door seat with more leg space for yourself, rather than to board first.

cactus,

I tink usu the seat is ored decided on the ticket, cannot decide which seat to take right?.. dun remember so. I remember my last trip to Europe, cannot decide the seat one. The ticket (taken by my agency) ored decided the seat number liao.

I tink even if sit at the middle, just have to go up and down more and inconvenience the next door neighbour lor.. no choice.

What items are u all going to bring for the trip? i mean in relative to pregnancy.

tWinky, like cactus say, its normal for hearbeat to beat faster, esp if you can feel your bb's, you will feel like two beats galloping in your body. I am currently still ok, all convenience for me to do less walks, etc.

But yesterday I went tangs to find a pair of shoes, after just less then 1 hr shopping, I felt tired already. Then when I reached, I just lay down on sofa, after 1 hr later and much coaxing from my hubby, i went for a bath (he scared if too late, I will feel cold and kept complaining)

Ellysia, poor you, still have to keep file stand up. In case your boss targets you again, just tell him you are doing what he wants and this is the best, otherwise, please give tips.

Sparks, thanks for all the receipts, but I dunno how to by chinese herbs, so dunno how to cook. Also as now still having MS, feel lazy to cook. Will try your receipts one of these days. Keep them coming in if you have anymore.

If you go on packaged tour, you are unlikely to be able to do online seat selection. But you can talk to your tour agent to explain you are pregnant, and if possible, to give you a seat with more leg room or at least, an aisle seat. The tour agent will perform group check-in for the tour group.. and once that's done, cannot change the seat. But before the boarding pass is printed, you can make a request and see if your tour agent can help you.

Sure! I will, the recipes will differs at each different stages... it's only a few recipes and normally we can take it twice or three times a week or when needed.

Tks all,

I wil let my agency noe & made special request..Guess i need to visit the toilet very often as well..So a gd seat is very impt..

Ya lo..

Did you all made any special preparation when gg for trip?? Can share so at least i noe wat to bring too..tks in advance..the country i gg is in winter period..wil b super cold..

bring lip balm so you'd drink less water cos feel less thirsty, if not, youo'd be running to toilet every now and then.

Bring sufficient vitamins and medicines (if you are taking any) accompanied with a note if those medicines are presecription only . For vitatmins, do not remove them from original container or customs officials may think it's illicit drug.

Also keep a copy of contact info of Singapore embassy and nearest english speaking hospital to your hotel in the event of emergency.

Veniz,

Yup tats right. I guess i will either hide near my cubicle shelf (there is a low shelf) but i need to couch a bit OR i eat behind a standing file with my head lowered (and people may tot i am reading some documents). I told some of my colleagues and they all feel it is v ridiculous. In fact i dun tink anyone agrees with him. But cos he is doing my apprisal and thus affect my bonus, wat to do but to Kao Tao. But i still cannot tahan and raise my voice to him today, i tink is the worst temper i ever show to him during my 6 years of work here.

Yah if he ask abt the file thing, i will say i am doing wat he wants lor.. unless he got any other ideas to suggest.

Anyway he also ask me not to eat my breakfast or any food in office. So i guess the best way is still to avoid letting him see me eat.

cactus,

Our gynae will give us vitamins right? but if these are not in bottle, how to bring them abroad? I guess i try to put them in my carrier/back pack.

Hi Ellysia,

Just make sure however you pack your vitamins & medicines, you keep them in the original packaging if these are loose pills/tablets. If these are in the foil, it's okay to keep them loose.

I've travelled overseas with medication before and on some occassions, I've had my medicines scrutinized by the customs guys.

Hi ellysia
My mum used fruit peeler to thinly "slice" old ginger. Sun until all dried (this is so that we can keep longer). During confinement, every morning, I will throw a handful into a big pot of water and boil. After 10 mins or so, drain and bathe with the water.

If you have help during confinement, no need to sun now, can go market buy old ginger, then every time you whack 2 big pieces of it with the back of your cleaver, then throw into pot to boil.

Hi twinky
Envy envy... my hb cheated me so many times on our korea trip. Supposed to be honeymoon until now 1 big baby and a little one in tummy my honeymoon to korea still have not visualised. Supposed to go (again!!) this feb, then end up pregnant cannot go. 2 years ago also the same. I think he purposely make me pregnant then hahaha...
Enjoy yourselves. If possible, see if gynae can write a short note abt your current condition. keep it with you. Consider travel insurance too.

For travel insurance, try to understand the coverage and the manner of claim, if any. Also, check to see if pregnancy related complications are covered (touch wood!)

Linda,

Really need to get the letter? My hb keep saying no need.. i also not sure.
Anyway i am visiting gynae b4 trip, i try to get one from her then.

Oh so can also get ginger then and boil then drain the water to use.. but won't the water be too hot after boiling?
can combine with the herbs frm the medical hall?

hi ellysia
Letter - well, it is a document of your condition lor, (touch wood!!!) in case anything happen and there is no one to tell medics of your situation. Since you are going, might as well get one.

Can!! Just get old ginger, remember to whack it hard. You can boil first then get someone pour into a pail in bathroom, then you wait until cool enuff then bathe lor. But what I do is to add cold water, but some old people say confinement not supposed to touch unboiled water. Even wash hands and brush teeth must be boiled.

ellysia, my col ever bought cold cuts from ntuc n we eat like tat...but now that we preggie, my understanding is best to avoid cold cuts and if wanna eat, heat it up...

thks linda & juliet.

Looks like must get a pail or wat, so can bathe during confinement.

twinky, korea is really v cold. Guess u gotta get more cold wear.

I am considering to buy bigger t-shirts to wear during the trip, on top of a thermal wear. Then add jacket, shd be fine.

Twinky, me just came back from Japan last week. 11-18 degrees. Still manageable cos I dunno why, maybe my body temperature higher due to pregnancy?

For me I wore long sleeves top plus those sporty jackets. And jeans. Thank God still manage to fit in them for the last time.

If u scare of cold, maybe can add in one extra singlet, tank top inside.

I cannot wear all my old jeans liao. I bot a maternity jean from perfect mum but they dun have any other jeans ored. Will get 1-2 more casual bottom from maternity shops.. need to find lor.

twinky,

My colleague told me Korea is now -4 degrees.

I was hoping to go Japan in end Jan 08 too. However, I think twice after the bleeding incident. Looks like I have to wait until the bb is born..

I wore my track/yoga pants to work today. Havent told all my colleagues.. so I ended up getting weird looks. haha. But it is super comfy as compared to normal working pants and jeans lor.

Went swimming throughout 1st pregnancy, from 5 weeks all the way till 37 weeks. Walked a lot too. Exercising paid off. My labour only took 4 hours. So ladies, if you can, walk and swim as much as you can without over-exerting. It will not only help with your labour, it will also help you regain your figure faster after giving birth.

Hey Zuen, I was thinking of going to Taiwan too after my wedding in Jan. But I guess I have to adjourn the plan as too much disagreement ~_~

Same like u, I havent told my mgr yet though he suspected cos of my long MC this week. Instead, I told me colleagues I sprain my back. so lame. but dunno to come up with what excuse..

Halowz,

I bet I am one of the few miserable souls who need to work on a Saturday morning..

Gin Noy,
Me too.. I was on MC for 3.5 days and my colleagues kept asking me wat happened. The story ended up that I was on leave instead to accompany my hb. Haha.

hi all, haven't come in for a few days, how's everyone feeling?
i work on saturdays too, full day
so join the club ZuEn

my MS is much better, almost non existent now on some days. my stomach is showing now, but looks fat more than pregnant haha. they say second child onwards the tummy will show earlier ya?

would like to check with the mummies who went for OSCAR test, anything in particular i need to be prepared for before the test? my test will be on the 3rd of dec. for my 1st pregnancy i didn't do this test, i did the Triple Test instead. appreciate any information thanks!

anyway wishing everyone a morning-sickness-FREE weekend! will check back in on monday!