(2008/06) June 2008

All of us seems to have ms hor? I find that if i drink chicken soup with ginger, I feel better. Juz buy a kampong chicken, remove skin and boil together with a palm of ginger. I juz cook one big pot and drink throughout the day. Feel better after drinking.

talk abt sharkfin soup @ wedding banquet...i had mine change to bird's nest with fish maw...sthg more healthy. as usual..cannot locate much bird nest in it!

Hi Ellysia, my ms is decreasing. It was quite bad during weeks 6 to 8, but never puke cos gag reflex made me cough instead. I'm not sure if it's normal that my ms is decreasing cos I'm in my 9th week only.. but I also hear some ladies never have any ms or very little ms throughout pregnancy.. so maybe everyone's body is different..

hi janken, I think the bird's nest in soup is even harder to detect cos bird's nest is more delicate than fins. Also, the taste of bird's nest is usually gone when it's in soup. I had bird's nest soup at a restaurant in Sept. It was cooked in chicken stock.. so lost the taste of bird's nest.. but can feel bird's nest if pay attention to the soup.

Danyran,

Ya tats wat i tot, only 3rd trim will face swollen probs.

Maybe u sit too long didn't walk around so not much circulation?

muffin,

Gynae said ginger will help to curb MS. Becos i realise recently that i cannot eat too much acidic items including those sour plums etc as i have too much acid in my stomach causing pain, gynae suggest eat ginger biscuits.

twinky,

As long as MS has stop for few days then maybe it is slowing down now..

cos i used to have MS for 10 hours everyday. Symptons are nausea, heartburn.

Now also like u, on and off. But bloatness still haven't reduce.

cactus,

I tink i am same as u, i tend to cough when feel like wanna vomit. But sometimes if v serious nausea, cough will turn out to follow by "urrghhh" noise. Then the feeling of vomitting but cos i dun like to vomit, i swallow it back.

For me, week 5 - 6 i have mild MS.
Week 7 - 9 is the worst peak for me.
Week 10 - fluctuating MS but if come, can be v fierce.

this week is my week 11 (though Gynae says shd be week 12 by bb growth rate) but i calculate by calender weeks shd be my week 11.

I tink i need to make a pregnancy calender and note down all symptons including spotting watever down.. so tat its easier to monitor anyting if needed.

but no pineapple tarts for us & tat is my fav. not much of the bak kua too cos too heaty n contains preservatives. dunno how i enjoy cny...

janken,

I sudd remember tat my colleague has changed her sharks fin soup to fish maw.. so shd be ok
but i still prefer sharks fin haaaa. Nevermind, eat during CNY le

crystal,

Ya no pineapple tarts but maybe 1-2 shd be fine.
Cannot have too much ba kua correct... cos got some toxic i tink.

Can still eat delicacies like abalone, fish, prawns

I wonder abt the taboo of eating crabs hee.

Hi Ellysia,

Yeah, I think we are the same... also have the "urrghh" noise.. hahah. It sounds really gross loh. I'm always scared my ILs are scared by me. So unladylike.

cactus,

u stay with yr IL so they can listen to u "ugghh" hee.

For me, my colleagues listen to my burping noise and "urgghh" noise more. Hb also sometimes. My bro is a bit shocked last weekend when he hear me hee.

I dun tink yr IL will be shocked. Those who have given birth b4 will know its normal to be like tat.

By CNY we r already ard 5-6mths liao..still cannot eat pineapple tarts ah?..Even if cooked before cannot meh??

Last 2 wks went to eat Ajisen and had Ramen..And had their soft shell crab..MIL and hb approved one..They say eat one ok..

Have you all realised that your taste bud is diff. eversince pregnant?? I realised my tolerance level for spicy thing went downhill..
Yesterday i went to eat Long John Spicy chic coz kanna tempted by u all lo..Ended up i cannot tahan the spicy taste..I am nt like tt B4 i'm pregnant leh..

twinky,

Yup i am affected too. Things i used to like a lot, e.g. Korean BBQ, Tom Yum, Spicy food, now i dun like them.

Luckily so far i dun have any food tat i used to dislike but end up sudd love them. However, things that are normally neutral to me can now become my favourites.

And the taste change. Can be mad on it for 1 week then next week change liao.

I din hv ms when I hv my gal. But this time round, I hv ms throughout the day (wonder if its to compensate for my lack of ms for my last pregnancy?)

Talk abt change in taste bud. I luv to eat black pig ramen at tampopo (inside liang court). But I went recently with friends, I nearly puke when it came. I ended up eating fried pork cutlet instead. I think its more of the smell, cannot tahan standing next to perfume wearing people even for a moment!!

Does any mummies here experience before....white or yellowish discharge...i had it non-stop fr the 1st day i get to know i pregnant. So irritating n sometimes so itchy....so paisey to ask abt these hehehe

Hi gers,

I just came back from the doc's visit. Spotting continues. Had another jab and more turinal.. I lost count of the jabs that I had since pre-pregnancy..

I have MC till tomolo. Oh gosh, I am so sick of lying around. I saw my bb "dancing" wildly just now. He/she looks like he/she is bouncing around and waving his/her arms & legs. Such a touching moment. My doc suggested triple test instead of OSCAR. He said that it is cheaper and based on his experience, it is just as accurate. So I will be doing the Triple Test in end Dec 07. I will also have to wait till then to see my bb too. 4 long weeks..

Cactus,
I am one of those with little or no MS. Never puke before and have a crazy appetite. I have gained about 3kg since. -.o" Then duno why suddenly experienced bleeding.

Ellysia,
No ba kua???!!! CNY cannot dun eat ba kua wor. Hehe.

Ellysia, yes i am muslim....i need to go JB to have my Teowchew porridge lor....yesterday told hubby need to go there and have porridge

No Ba Kua!!..I ate quite alot last 2 wks..Got colleagues from Norway come..Boss buy for them to try..Ended up i ate quite alot...

Jialat..Like so Sinful..

Danryan,

Me having white discharge ever since i noe i;m pregnant..

But mine is nt itchy one so ok..If ur itch persist, i guess u need to consult ur gynae..Wait infection..

Just returned from lunch.. gobbled down one of the combo rice sets... so satisfying!!! now sleepy like no one's business... haha.

Cactus,

So nice..Your appetite is so gd..Me juz merlion wat i ate in the morning..

Feeling so terrible nw..no mood to work..Can't wait for knock off time..

ellysia, can eat crabs lar. it is jus a old folks superstitious thingy. like my SIL who puke even at sight of crabs during her pregnancy, her elder boy still so full of "hands & legs" now, climb here n there, fall also not scared. my PILs eat lots of seafood. so i also ving crabs like nobody's biz except when on days when i dun feel like having, then dun take lor.

Hi Twinky,
I have to eat very hot stuff. So I normally eat noodles or hot rice like those from yoshinoya.. if not no appeitite...
I have a craving to eat baked rice for dinner.... maybe go NYDC after work.

ladies, am running out of ideas on wat to get for my hb...next monday is his bday, i hvn't tot of wat to get for him leh..damn desperate...

Hi twinky, try to reduce taking watery and oil stuff, cos that triggers puking. I did some research earlier and they recommended dry crackers 15 mins before getting out of bed. Try to not allow yourself to be tired or hungry, cause that can worsen your MS. After food, take some time before getting up so that food have time to settle down.

Hope those helps.

Crystal,

My sis ask me nt to eat so much of crabs..Coz her SIL eat alot of crabs during her pregnancy. Ended up her daughter skin not so nice..And very sensitive oso..Also full of 'hands & legs'..

But i guess oso up to individual lo..

Btw, if you are taking multi-vits, that can also worsen MS. Stop taking it till you reach 2nd trimester.

Sigh Catcus, I missed NYDC baked rice also. I remember 1 mth ago went there and when I reach home, i puke my 40 over bucks dinner out. Till now I dare not go. Maybe wait awhile more, then I go back eat.

Hehe, hubby agreed tml go steamboat at parkway since he playing pool there. So touched, he usually hated steamboat cos he thinks the food are all cook in e soup, not tasty at all. I nag nag nag say everything also cannot eat, cold stuff also cannot drink. No wonder I get depress easily. Haha...

Kelcqi,

I took bread for bf..After tt drink those instant oat drink..Nv reali take oily stuff..Maybe is the oat drink..But past few days i take ok leh..Juz tt today MS is very bad compared to past few days..

Cactus,

Me too..Haf to take hot hot stuff. But i cannot take soupy thing..Sure puke..So rice is the best for me..U gg AMK Hub NYDC?? There always super long q one..

Kelcqi,

U so cute..I think most hubby cannot stand haf to surrender to us..

tt time when my hubby is having the slurpee from 7-11..And he keep telling me 'wow taste so nice'..Then i gif him the 'ke lian' look..He cannot tahan & let me haf 2 sips..But nt anything more even i act 'ke lian' again..Haha..

Reali very terrible cannot drink cold drinks. Everyday eat out oso dunno wat to drink (Milo, Horlick..so sick liao)..Ended up nw i always bring one small bottle of plain water out when i leave hm..

Crystal,

Salty water?? Juz mixed salt wif water & drink?
Will it be too saltish??

U tried before?? I tried several ways of those method to curb MS (Like taking dry biscuit, hot ginger tea)..But not successful..

kelcqi...
you are going to PP steamboat too...great, so am i!!! but me going today ;p

drinking warm/hot water does help to reduce my MS...not sure if it works for some of you...

cactus, dinner abit sian leh..wanna get him something, but dunno what...the things he wants r v. technical, cannot give surprise...dunno what other things i can get...

twinky, ya lar, up to individual. my MIL herself told me to eat. she said tat when she had my hb n SIL, she also eat lots. but true enf lar, hb n SIL not much "hands & legs" ley. but she forbid me from mutton, say will ve "yang tian fong". so hb retort her tat then dun eat beef cos will ve "cow madness" n dun eat chicken or duck cos will kenna "bird flu". u shd see my MIL's face, nearly exploded....hahahhahah.....

sigh...cactus, i tried b4 leh..but hor, my hb super kaypoh, always find out b4 the cake is out! damn fed up...anyway, i like to give him something that years later we can point to the item and say "this was for your 28th bday!" kind of pressie mah... :p

he wants to buy a bicycle and a GPS..but can't buy without him choosing..which means not much of a surprise..plus a tad expensive la...me v. cheapskate hor!? :p

yes twinky, jus mix salt wif water n drink. of cos not too saltish lar cos too much salt will cause water retention. wat i do is tip of the teaspoon wif 3/4 cup of warm water seem jus nice for me. i came upon this by chance & it is not written in any books. it jus seem to wk for me so much so tat now daily i prepared a bottle from hm n bring to office.

Crystal,

Ur hb so cute..Like tt all the food cannot eat liao..Keke~~

My mum oso say cannot eat mutton..And i keep pressing her saying y cannot eat..She juz simply refuse to let me noe..

ya lor, tat was his pt to his mum - dun eat, jus eat air. tat's y my MIL so pissed off wif her own son. if i were the one who say so, i guarantee i such kenna left, right, center. *grin*

juliet, if u reai wan get GPS, i can ask my hb cos he got one which cost abt $800+. i can ask him for the model, etc.

talk about mutton...HB also do not want me to consume...simply for the fact that he's born in the year of sheep..and was telling me...y u wanna eat me ar?

I'm like ...huh? duh!!! lame right?

crystal, i think my hb got kiv 2 models...but he hasn't decided on which one to get..he also wants to find out whether cheaper to get garmin in US coz if so, can get my boss to help buy since he's gg back for x'mas...

cactus...my hb dun like spa leh! first time i heard of guys dun like spa...either he paiseh to take off clothes, or he really just dun like?! come to think of it, maybe can treat him to foot reflexalogy! thanks!

juliet, i ask my hb tonite on his GPS lar n let u know, k? btw, personal tots on GPS - it always brings u to holland (lost). i m not every good wif directions but at times when i drive alone, i rather depend on myself + signboards then on the GPS, later dunno bring me go where. + sometime it can sense the waves, so take a very long time to start up.