(2008/03) March 2008

pet
even the face towel should only use tap water not cold water and must leave it on forehead for only a short while and then put it in a bowl of tap water, squeeze as much water out and put on forehead again...so basically repeat this action till fever is brought down, must also change the bowl of tap water after sometime cos the water will become warmer.....i remember my mum used to use cold water too but later dr advised her to use tap water so we switch to dat

agape, boon, bbheng
me too stuck at 62kg
can't seem to lose the weight...i'll like to lose close to 10kg,...this week i am cutting down on sweet drinks and only drink water, a bit of juice with no added sugar and Coke Zero and Pepsi Max (both without sugar)...hoping to see a little bit of results haha...i know it's v. pitiful efforts hehe but hopefully lose 1 kg at a time :D

Clover,Petrina, Boon, agapebaby:
Thanks for sharing...Mikael got a bit warm this afternoon and very cranky. He always wanted to be carried. Cannot put him in the playpen or sit on his exersaucer. But he ate a lot. One plum and 1/2 pear. Two meals, each consist of brown rice, blended peas and carrots. Plus he took his biscuit snack...and still taking his regular portion of milk (around 700cc). So I am still happy lahhh...watching him very good on his appetite..

For Fever,
My mother's tradition is to use cold water also, wore warm clothes and turned off aircon. But recent dev, most PD advised to use tap water or warm water, wear normal clothes and turn on aircon 25-28 degrees celcius. For my first son, I also use the Piyo-Piyo cooler pillow..(I don't know what's it called properly..leh). He loves to sleep on it whenever he got fever.

Diet group!
I also still carries extra fat! I tried to swim, and doing yoga...eat no rice or carbo, only vege or small portion of meat/fish. But still...not even close to loose more. I am stuck at 48kg..my ideal weight is 42-43kg.
Some suggested to do acupuncture. Is it working?How much is that?

I heard there is some professional able to re-program our metabolism. ( Cos i'm sure our metabolism is low thus we're not easily to loose some weight) Is it true? Just dreaming to have faster metabolism so eat more but still slim..haaa..haaa

adelineL: oh.. isit.. i use the thawed towel is squeezed dry already.. but i din noe muz use tap water... cannot use cold towel..

kresentia: i went both places b4.. fidgets is better for older kids.. bambini has ball pool for our kiddos.. but overall, fidgets is a bigger, more spacious n cleaner plc.

extra weight
I lost 10kg after giving birth and now is atill stuck with another 20kg to lose to reach my ideal weight... I thihnk I'm seriously in need of some miracles!!!

adelineL:
Don mind me asking...what are u doing from home? *sign... I don think I have the skills to find anything job that allows me to work from home...*

Hi AdelineL and Liyun,
I can't seem to find WFH jobs. I'm in accounting. I asked once about freelance bookkeeping but still have to go to the office.

wow...already freelance book-keeping still have to go office? IF once in awhile (means just go once a week) still not too bad, but if everyday at least afew hours that kind, consider part-time rather than work from home. But I heard work from home jobs pay are usually lower. I am not book-keeping trained...do admin job also got problem ar!

mrning ladies,
haizz...my dd having fever since yest. since a pd yest. pd said she having sore throat. only can eat parecetomol to reduce fever right nw. he said may have fever for 3 to 4 days b4 she build up antibodies to fight e viral infectn. 1st time she sick.

YT
i bought their goat milk before so i guess shld be ok but i find their prices not so attractive. NTUC or other shops can sell at similioar price too.

happygal
For fever will subside within 72 hr. Start counting from the time she started her fever.

Cold water for fever
i use slightly cold but not very cold water. Prob more towards room tenmp water to bath? I dun liek to sponge. They feel uncomfortable and cranky n give me more trouble. I would let him play in bath tub instead. hahaa

<font size="+2">The cereals are here. Pls indicate your collection venue pls.

<font color="0000ff">1. Bishan blk 155</font>
a) alynn - 1 OM, 1 MG (paid)
b) Christina Ng - 1BR, 1OM, 1 MG ($12)
c) mummyboy - 1BR, 1 OM (paid)
d) katechow - 1 BR, 1 OM, 5 MG (paid)

<font color="0000ff">2. Admiralty MRT/Blk 649 Woodlands ring</font>
a) crystal - 1OM, 1 MG ($21)
b) babyheng - 2 BR, 1 OM ($12)
c) Jiawei - 1 BR, 1 OM, 1 MG ($31.50)
d) Angelin - 1 BR, 1 MG ($21)
e) lynn - 1BR, 2 OM, 2 MG ($20)
f) Mummy_norman (angeline) - 1OM ($10.50)

<font color="0000ff">3. Kovan</font>
a) Belle_mommy - 1 MG ($10.50)
b) lingyee - 1 OM, i MG (paid)
c) matcha - 4 BR

<font color="0000ff">4. Seng Kang </font>
a) mikeal - 1 MG (paid)
b) bubbles - 1 OM, 1 MG (paid)
c) jane - 2 BR, 3 OM ($20)

<font color="0000ff">5. Bukit batok on weekend</font>
a) connie - 1 BR, 1 OM ($8)
b) closetdoor kell - 1OM (paid)
c) Eileen78 - 2 BR, 1 OM, 1 MG ($16)

Anyone i missed out pls let me know. </font>

Happygal
Hope ur DD is getting better.. Baby Rhys also went to PD last night due to chesty cough.. Dr changed his medisine to ventolin and mucosalvan... Hope he will be getting better.. Cos this cough has been on and off for about a month already.. Have also tried letting him use the Eucalyptus oil.. But on the nights that we used, he's better, on those that we dun, he still cough... Haiz~ So headache..

<font size="+2"><u><font color="0000ff">Woodlands collection</font></u>
Date: 12 Oct 08 (sun)
Venue: woodlands MRT (1.30pm)/ woodlands civic centre (1.45pm - 3.15pm)
a)
b)</font>

<font size="+2"><u><font color="0000ff">Admiralty collection</font></u>
Call me before meeting.

<font size="+2"><u><font color="0000ff">Bukit batok MRT collection</font></u>
Date: 12 Oct 08 (sun)
Venue: bukit batok MRT (4pm)/ Blk 230 Bukit batok East (5- 7pm) (pls indicate)
a)
b)</font></font>

mikael, happygal, isabellali:
hope your bbs all recover soon... coincidentally my boy also fell ill last night with mild fever, running nose and cough. but like mikael's bb, he still had a hearty appetite! so i figured he's doing fine

happygal: good if yr bb can perspire when having fever... that will cool his body down even further. should be able to sponge yr bb to bring down the body temp also...

losing weight:
i've cut down on my bfing sessions so already producing less milk, but i keep forgetting that i should be eating less as a result! grrr... must constantly remind myself that i need to cut down on my food intake... gone are the days when i can eat at will without putting on extra wt!

Sorry I have been MIA, quite busy with work and also too tired to log in afterwards. I bumped into Clover on Wed, Alex is so cute now. I realised I have been missing out so decided to revisit this thread.

The recent topics on losing weight (me me!!!), and grinding ikan bills are very applicable. I am still BF and have around 10kg to lose still, in fact my appetite has increased, probably greed won't blame it on BF! Seems like I have been missing some stuff.

Josiah started on solids one month again and he is now eating cereal, bananas, potato. Have not started on porridge yet but my in laws are very keen to start new foods for him. Bought him a small pumpkkin so probably try that out this weekend.

BTW how do you tell if the pumpkin is ripe? The one I got is very hard.

mikael -
tell us how your visit to turfcity goes! fidgets looks fun! why don't we set a date to bring our bbs out to one of these play areas? :D

agapebaby,

i put on more weight while BF coz i got myself the 'license' to do so. i wl continue to BF till DS is one year old... any mummies still BF as well?

a lot of efforts: need to pump and sterilise in office and always away from my desk. looking forward to end Feb so I can have my life back!

Dreymin : How come u put on more weight while bf? My colleagues n friends have been commenting that im getting thinner n thinner.

happymummy,
coz i did not ctrl my diet... wl snack in office and after work, tat is why :p

abc,
any excess stocks for the cereals? I am interested

dreymin,
i m still breastfeeding. will pump abt one or twice at workplace and one more time once i reach home. But i intend to stop in Jan next yr. I need to have more time doing my work. feel like i m always rushing my work. Need to have a fresh start next yr.

Dreymin : Mi also lei..i have been eating a lot recently, cos keep getting hungry. Think is very common fo r bf'ing mummies to get hungry easily. That y i thot i will gain wgt. But ppl said me getting thinner lei. U tbf?

Aly : Pumping milk v tiring hor? Especially carrying all the barang barang to n fro form work.. This is how i feel recently. I hope to bf until 1yr also, but dunno if i have the energy. Hahaaa..

dreymin, i'm still bfing also.. losing wt seems to have stagnant since ryan started solids.. i've been pumping excess to upkeep wif the "wt loss" program.. haha
so far my wt is still hovering ard 62-64kg... damn jialat.. but it's kinda consoling for me becoz b4 preg, i weigh abt 70kg.. haha
so my target is to hit my wt range of abt 55kg *ideal BMI*

aly: yeah.. i think it's tiring to pump n work.. kudos to all FTWM... keep up the good work..
on days i had to work, i also have engorgement. but because i dun carry my pump ard, i had to go home n pump diligently for the nxt hr... getting abt 500++mls to make up for the lost bfing sessions..

bottle wise, ryan only drinks a max of 100mls per session. but when i reach home, he drinks like a camel.. so i dunno if 100mls is enuff for him or not. i got a feeling he's drinking juz enuff to hold his hunger till i come home then he can have his fill.

yesterday evening, he drank 3x.. "3 letdowns" in an hour.. so i gauge it's close to 300mls..
happened tat yesterday he was on bottle in the afternoon..

dreymin, yeah nice to see u tt day too.

my appetite recently decreases so maybe tts why my wt dropped a kg or 2. now i am 4kg pre-preg wt but still so big size lah. haiz

aly and happymummy,

Good to know you are still BF. Out of 4 mummies who gave birth ard my time and went back to work, only 2 of us are still BF. A newer mummy intends to stop at 6mths.

aly,
i tot agree with u, i am so guilty smtm when i step away while my colleagues r buried with work, when i pump i find it hard to letdown.

happy,
i am so envious!

CLOVER
My baby have started on brocolli le.. We cut the 'flowery part' and boil it tgt with the porridge.. The stem part we eat it ourselves..

abc, i steam n blend.. ryan refuse to take. maybe it's yucky?? then i try to add my bm, he also dun take... how?

juz a quick qn,
ryan today poo, long, semi-soft mustard coloured... but it's not liquid type anymore...
when diaper is on, i think he has no space to poo.. so he poo very little.. then when i remove his diaper, clear his anus, he continued to poo.. while he poo, i have to clear his anus so there's space for more poo to come out...
how come arh??? constipation? i haven't been consistent in my solids yet, his poo already like tat.

happymummy,
yah i agree, lugging to and fro work not easy. my hubby helps to minimise my pain by picking me to or from work smtm. we have to persevere!

petrina
my pre-preggie is 60kg, now i am ard 70kg so a good 10kg to lose. wah! you can tahan so long? i can't coz the milk supply will drop a lot. DS aso eat little in the day, now with solids not so bad. if not he will be attack my breasts first opp he can when we reach home.

dreymin: haha.. morn b4 i go, i'll pump at least 200-300mls then go work.. then when both engorged, i'll rush home to pump the balance abt 500-600mls.
i think it's abt enuff for his daily feed since he has solids..
attacking breasts, yup.. he still do it though he had his last bottle 5mins b4 i came home.. haha
i think it's baby's instinct to feed direct frm source..
u r tall isit? so 60kg is ur ideal wt frm beginning? perhaps during preg u gained much? then u snack in between work.. so it's harder to lose..

abc,
Yes! Let's continue to BF! btw how much are the oatmeal and multigrain? i am actually more keen on the brown rice

clover,
thanks for the tip, i was thinking so wasteful if just dump the rest or we eat his clean leftovers! usu my MIL preps the solids so i nvr ask what she does with the excess, hahaha. at home i usu prep cereals, banana or other fruits. juz got a kenwood chopper so wan to start prep the ikan bilis.

anyone extract the head and gills of the kian bilis before you toast and grind? my colleagues said her mum did that, i was thinking so much work!

petrina,
yah i m quite tall so 60kg is ok, but add another 10kg and i am like a giant! ideally i would like to be ard 57-58kg.

dreymin: dun mind me asking but how tall are you? im rather tall too (1.69m) and ppl all say that it's ok if i put on wt cos im tall... i agree with you, the extra wt just makes me look giant! for my wedding last time i managed to whittle down to 52kg, but that's a feat never to be repeated! heh

clover, petrina: i've also given my bb broccoli. steam and blend. the taste might be strong so bb might reject, alternative is to mix the broccoli with something else like potato. i mixed the broccoli with something sweet like sweet potato or pumpkin, but be warned the colour turns out yucky! Green + orange = weird colour!