(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Ya s still drinks from bottle too. It is his soother.

Iso, I think need to, but maybe wait for the letter first, heard from some mummy

tongtong
you are right!! our govt sure will send letter. thanks i feel relieved, haha.

first day of school holidays and A is down with stomach flu. so E is bored at home. sigh!!

tongtong
vomiting and diarrhea. hopefully vomitting has stopped, last night around midnight he was trying to throw up but got nothing left to come out
at least he can still sleep for quite long without any milk or food. this morning only vomitted once but now lao sai more frequently :p

blueginger,
i bought big C for another visit to PD last Friday.
PD can't detect any problem, suspecting reflux and indigestion. She prescribed the Losec that aids in reducing the acid in the stomach and another medicine that helps in the digestion.
she's better 1 day after taking the medicine. no more vomitting. and her appetite slowly come back. *thankfully....

side track a bit, here's the conversation I had with big C after reading a book titled 'I care for others.. (我会关心别人)'
C: mummy,我生病了。我不舒服。
Me: 那么,有人关心你吗?
C: 没有。

Me: mummy 有煮粥粥给你吃啊
C: I eat porridge then I vomit…

iso,
hope A recovers fast too..

My E still not wean off milk bottles yet, she even sucked thumb now. Headache.

My new maid comes in, Luckily, she's good so far after being with us for a week.

How's other mummies doing?

How's everyone? Heard the kiddos been sick? hope they are recovering..

K is still drinking from the bottle. It's a comforting thing for her to drink from it. I figure it's hard to get her off bottles if she sees meimei still drinking from the bottle. In time to come, they will wean off lah.

I'm on part time finally! So mummies, jio me out for tea, coffee, playdates ok??

Tubao, glad your maid worked out

Hi, tubao, Bkkgal, my maid just went for home leave today n I am down with flu since tues, what a great timing. Going to hk next tues, by the time I come back, straightaway got to do my real estate exam. But these few days, no energy to study, hiaz...

Bkkgal, glad to hear that. Part time is good, more time for the gals, but must make sure it is not full load at half pay. :p

How r u all? I have been quite bz w work. Had 3 days of intensive teaching from 8.30 -5.. totally drained.. talked for 7 hrs a day. And after this short stint, it reminded me how i actually cant get use to FT job again.. maybe not so soon... Tut biz is picking up recently ( yipee).. so very very tired plus HH chores plus a firey temper little boy.. Zzzzz.. still trying to attain what i wanted to do by working pt... spending time and teaching e kids.. but honestly too tired to do it. I think i am really growing old.. i wonder how u all Ft mummies cope.

Bkk, how is ur pt time schedule like?

Long time never posted here... I've been tied up with work since last month and after we came back from holiday, C got sick with ear infection - had to take leave here and there and after effect is coping with work again after C recovered.

I'm at home now resting for a week - actually I had a miscarriage earlier this week. Hmm... it took a while for me to actually say that comfortably but yeah, mentally I'm okay now... partly because I've just been working while resting at home so work and C kept me busy. Physically still feeling a bit giddy, heard that after m/c should rest the body so I'm doing that but next week should start work as per normal...

bkkgal - hope your part time arrangement works out well
must be nice to get to spend more time with the girls...

genice - doing tutorials is not a bad way to make money on a part time basis! are you attached to a tutorial center or doing it freelance?

iso/xy - hope the kids get well soon...

tute

Sorry to hear it.....hug hugs.

Rest more. Boss doesn't know our body limit, work can wait.

My boss' wife is fighting with cancer now, so he is taking less aggressive approach now, we all got a bit breather.

Hi Tute,

*hugz* take care dear.

Hi pauline/genice

Well, my deal is cut pay, cut hours but not work. My boss did not speak to me about scaling down scope but my immediate supervisor did say too bad, the pace of work just has to change for everyone on the team i.e.faster for rest, slower for me? I don't know how it'll work out but I feel onus is on the orgnisation to work it out right?

Truly speaking, I cannot cope as FT mummy with no helper. I managed to "tong" for 3 months plus by sheer determination. Really wanna collapse and die a few times. Felt like I"m lousy lousy lousy at every thing I do - bad mum, terrible wife, lousy worker. Everything is mediocre at best. The worst thing of all is the nagging guilt. When I"m at work, I face nagging guilt over children. When I"m home, I am guilty or worried about a piece of work that is pending. My mind is everywhere but nowhere. At least now I can step away and say, they are not paying me to worry abt this or that. I only feel sorry for my co-workers who have to pick up the slack but here again, i feel the orgn has to step in and do something about the manpower or reduce the work.

Genice, I work half days Mon-Thurs and full day on Friday.

Tute,
It is indeed nice to read to #2 (finally!) while #1 is at playgroup or to spend time drawing and colouring with #1
I am finally able to think of all those activities I wanna do with them and really do them!

Xy, is big C better now?

Tute, sorry to hear about your loss. Please rest well n take more tonics.

Bkkgal, a lot of organizations r like that, by right when u convert to part time, they will have an extra half headcount to fill but hardly anyone wants to hire another pt staff to fill up the gap. End up they make your coworkers bear the brunt, not fair to everyone. :p

But glad that u found more quality time to spend with the girls. Ftwm with no helper is really tough, luckily you found a way out. Cool sculpt sounds really cool but too exp for me. :p

Tute, sorry to hear that. Hugs....

CDA AC
My #1 dun hv, so the money that the govt issued to kids under 6 was credited into my #2's AC. We use the money inside the AC to pay for his school fees anyway.

Tute, sorry to hear that, rest well n take nutritious food ok. Actually I heard many m/c for #2 pregnancy which I dun understand why.

Tongtong, I smsed you last week cos I Especially went to paya lebar but cannot find the enzyme sweets cos dun know the address of the shop. Did u get my SMS? :p

Thank you mummies... I'm feeling much better since yesterday. Tom gg check up again, hoping i do not have to go for d&c.

Tong,
I'm also still wondering why mine happened, wondered if it was due to the travelling, long hours at work or having to carry C for a long time when he was sick... Maybe it's all in one. For 2nd time preg, i guess you put more stress on thr preg when you are with a toddler who demands attention plus you're getting older and fitness level may drop.

Bkkgal,
I'm sure miss S will cherish time spent with mummy too

Pauline I changed no Liao! I pm u my no ok.

Tute, ya i think u r right , dun worry , u can try again! Ur job seems stressful maybe look for a another one ? Unless u can really handle the stress ya. Take care

Tong tong, oic, no wonder.

Tute, yes, could be the carrying, when I was expecting RL, I sent RA to my mil in the day cos I had spotting after carrying her, a symptom I never had when I was expecting RA. Wasn't easy to ask my ILs to look after RA then cos I was SAHM but I told hubby I worry for the baby inside me n I didn't want to risk it.

tute,
take care..
if possible, rest more although i know it's very difficult.

bkk,
wow.. part time. isn't working half day wasting lots of time traveling to/from work? unless can work from home?

jeannie,
FTWM has much less time to interact with the kids especially when they sleep quite early.

but sometimes i like it when she's making me mad. :p

tute
oh dear, so so sorry to hear about what happened, but glad to hear you are feeling better now. can i ask how far along you were? don't blame yourself too much ok, sometimes these things just happen, and i read that sometimes it happens in v early stages without us even knowing! just maybe a late period. *big hugs*

Xy, I think commuting is ok if u dun work very far from office n Bkkgal drives. Afterall sg quite small, if traffic is smooth, most places will reach in about half an hour. But if the workplace is the super congested area then can take quite long.

Some pp chose to work full days on mon, wed, fri for example but most bosses still prefer the staff to work half day arrangement cos they still see the staff everyday mah, can delegate/dump work to them more conveniently. But having said all these, your immediate boss must approve pt arrangement, mine didn't though it's a govt organization so I end up quitting in the end. :p

Hi XY/Pauline

I'm lucky, my work place is 5 mins from home. I walk to work

I chose half day every day cos I want to get out of the house or else I go crazy :p For me to stay home all day, full day is too much of a transition. I must phase over slooowwly.

tute.. sorry to hear abt the loss. Take care k. ur jacket still w me so sorry. Btw, i teach in both centres and freelance. Definitely more time on hand, most of my days dun start till 3-4 pm b i will teach till 9 plus so my kids all sleep late and wake up late. Its still fine for now coz i will be at hm w them in e morn..the hassle part is preparing e 2 kids bf and take both of them to take bus n go my in laws place.

XY.. yar.. very tiring to work FT, even now i teach half day i am really exhausted too coz.. day time need to do a lot of stuffs when the kids are ard. and then go tut.. at night do some work..i am really sleep deprived but i guess everyone over here is.

Re: Upset
Very very upset w G yester and w myself too, bought her to an art trial class but its an unaccompanied class. She went in first and saw that i did not follow ( although i prep her already) then she ran out crying and refuse to go and keep telling me that "i dun wnat to go for art class, i dun wnat to go for any class.. blah blah" even when we were at hm. I tried to pacify her, encourage her all dun work, till i so fedup and threaten her ( which i noe i shouldnt b cnat help it). Even today when she wakes up, she kept telling me she doesnt want to go ( she wants me to go in w her and even when i say i go in, she also doesnt wnat to go now). Till i so fed up w her, i told her i am goona leave her in the hse and she will not gop anywhere.. she was so terrified.. followed me to e door ( i was going in laws place) and kept asked me to hold her hand ( i was carrying K). i was very bad.. refused.. b eventually did.. went to the car, i put K on car seat, i did not open her door and i went up the car, she was so terrified that she banged on the door and was crying and climbed all over me to the car seat. I felt sad for her.. she must have been terrified.. but i cant help it, just cant control my anger..

Obviously she is not ready for independednt class.. but i dunno how to make her ready..very upset abt it.. and plus the fact that i find her getting more "bold" in talking to us i got angrier and treated her like that. How? How? When we reach in laws place, she told me to go and work.. dun stay at hm..so obviously she was affected by what happened.. sigh.. this mummy very bad right...what shld i do now?

jeannie..it's never easy. But G goes to school unaccompanied right?

When I sent Ruth for unaccompanied gym class...(progress from accompanied), i have to accompany her a few times but stay far away from her. then sneak away without her knowing while she's having fun. teachers also helped to engage her interest. somehow she's ok after awhile. initially cannot even let her see us before class ends but nwoadays, she'll come say hi and go back to class without fuss.

maybe in future u have to go for accompanied first...then slowly progress to unaccompanied?

damage is done, and feeling bad doesn't solve anything. i know how u feel. I've even carried Ruth to the door, opened it and asked her to go out. She also yell and cry like hell. I know what u mean by feeling ilke the most rotten person on earth after that.

nowadays I do super super a lot of prep and expectations-handling. i find that she's much easier to handle without my hubby around. and for Ruth, telling her what's gonna happen for the whole day helps a lot.

plus comfort items. like a favourite bag or toy somtimes also gives some security.

Or if really not prepared..dun go for the class lor. better not to go...then to have another episode like that? every kid is ready for things at different ages.

paiseh, i'm not making a lot of sense cuz i'm not exactly following any principle or theory. So far, best for Ruth is to tell her the plan and give her a book/toy to bring along. (though when we reach the class, i usually take it back on the premise that we don't want other kids to grab it and take it away. On that 'threat', she will usually beg u to keep it well for her. U can even ask her to choose where to keep - bag or car or etc.

another thing that's useful to remember is not to be angry at her if u can. just tell her the consequences (she doesn't get to dowonderful paintings n etc) and if she doesn't want to go, that's ok. let's go home. getting angry usually (from experience! ha!) only upsets the child more and as a result, child doesn't want to do anything!

I find that when i'm angry, it's usually because things didn't go according to my plan or my hubby just ruined my plan for me. There's really no reason to be angry at a child who is scared of something.

Yes - i'm trying to rest more, my gynae also advised to avoid physical activities for at least 1 week. Good news is that i do not have to do d&c, went for a scan earlier today and gynae said not much blood left in womb so don't have to do anything.

iso,
Was in my 6th week when it happened so it is v early stage.

hello mummies

genice - me too had the episodes that i was cooking and H simply refused anyone, and wanted to cling onto me. no matter what i said she refused to let go, and i was frying meat, so scared that the oil will spill to her, even worse, in the end i had to push her away, the shove shoved her quite far...sigh...so upset..duno why these few days she's super clingy. I hope its not because of a new teacher at Pat's schoolhse, her fav teacher resigned last friday...

1 happy news, Hayden's finally walking :D

Iso, still maid-less. oh well. I dunno if I will stay home completely totally yet. Still trying and finding myself.

Jeannie,
Dun be upset with G and with yourself. What happened has happened. Something in that art class must have triggered her off. Kate has that tendency too - she will keep repeating and repeating and repeating even after a few days of the event until I tak boleh tahan and I lash out at her. After I let go, then I feel so bad and so terrible for taking it out on her. It's when we unfairly punish them that we feel the pain the most right?

You know, I signed K up for JG hol programmes for 3 weeks this month cos SJCK is closed. Like Lezy, I spent a whole week before SJCK is closed telling her that her teachers need to go on holiday and school is closed etc. I also had to prep her that during this time, we will go to JG at Evans, not the regular JG at Forum which she goes to every Sat for a class. At Evans, she will have a new teacher, new classmates but at the end of the week she will go on an excursion. That word "excursion" is what kept her going. Cos she experienced once an excursion with SJCK so she knew what an excursion was - to her it meant fun, going on a bus, getting a snack, doing craft and most importantly, mama gets to go along with her. So basically, I had to entice her with an excursion promise and prep her like crazy.

Today, her JG class changed. Basically, every week the class will change theme/teacher/classmates, so I started all over but heng ah, when we reached the class, turned out to be last week's teacher and same classroom, so she was ok. In fact, she was the most "seasoned" student of her class - some others were crying = she just said bye bye to me, ran in, took off her bag, took off her shoes and sat down to play.

Jeannie
that sounds like me! E is v v sticky boy and v often i have to give him pep talks (which don't seem to work), and occasionally he'll get a scolding because it is really trying on my patience, especially since i have another one to look after. imagine on some days he's still crying when going to school! geez.

last saturday at a birthday party, he can even ask me to go with him inside the bouncy castle, imagine that! whereas dear A just crawled himself inside and wasn't even bothered by the other tots jumping up and down.

I signed both up for classes at Gymboree (more for A's benefit), and I still have to attend with E because he's so timid. it's supposed to be drop off but lucky the class is small, so I can attend with him. I think like our second class at Gymboree for E, the lady said "Mummy no need to worry", and I was like, "are you kidding me?! I'd be more than happy if he didn't need me around!!!!"

also what makes it worse is that hubby wants (or more like INSISTS) E to do things on his own, like at parties he wants me to make E go to the front and not hang around at the back of a group, or when there are other boys playing soccer, he wants me to make E go play with them instead of always wanting to hold my hand and asking me to play also. so it makes me even MORE irritated becuase hubby blames me for E being timid. wah liao.

Genice,
Could it b u spend more time wif her now so she is more clingy? I was worried that Ashlynn will cry when I first sent her to zoophonics. But it turned out that she waved bye bye to me and walked in happily. I did pep talk her a bit beforehand.

Ql,
Ashton also walking a bit
will still lose balance and fall down though.

News:
Just had a minor car accident. A car changed lane and I bang into her. This lady driver kept raising my voice at me. I will pay for her damages but dun wan to pay her downtime coz I highly suspect she din check blindspot and turned out abruptly. Very sad... Gotta pay for mine and her damages. To think that I an getting my new car in a few days. Really down on my luck this year. Depressed...

thanks mummies..

lezy,bkkgal and bx.. actually i did prep her.. even when i prep her, she already told me she doesnt wanna go for the class..
. I think its just her character.. she's timid, shy and rather not interact w pp... i think u all can c that she doesnt "auto" go and make frens w other kids, she can keep to herself or just stick to us. SIgh..

Bx.. A is very different, she very friendly and happy and inquistive..like Heidi, kate and even ruth when they open up.. but G doesnt.. *double sigh*.. i understand that kids are different.. but how to make her open up? Next yr she will be 4, i am thinking of some other classes/ enrichement for her cause she is attending kindy and quite free e whole day ( thats 1 of the reasons why she go kindy) or maybe i shld just change her to childcare? but i really wonder how to make her transit from accompanied to independent class...hope my K will not be like her..

Iso.. i thot E is attending art class? ( abrakadoodle), isnt that an independednt class? My hub says i am stressing her.. b seriously tahts not my intent, i just want to expose her to more things but she is totally not receptive at all.. she told me she just want to stay at hm with popo and yeye..

bx
yikes!!! poor you! do you know how much the damages will be? a lot of people don't check blind spot, did she also signal? if she didn't then i think even more she won't check blind spot...

genice
he stopped abrakadoodle after 1 semester cos it was still accompanied, and i had to accompany him everytime, even my mum go with him also cannot. wah piang.

iso,
she did lah. but i think she signalled and turned out immediately. so she win. the first workshop she went quoted her $800. then i tried to persuade her to go to another. luckily reduce to $500. so i say i compensate $60 for her to take cab.

genice,
dun worry too much. kids grow and change. A used to be very timid too. i didn't realise she can be brave until during cny, she followed my hb's cousin back home without us coz she wanted to play with their daughter. so then i realised she can do it without me being ard.

also i wanted to sign A for some holiday art class. when i told her abt it, she said she didn't want to go, so i didn't sign her up.

iso.. Hi 5, E really same as my G. Btw, is A walking, what do they do in gymboree class.. i never thot of signing my kids up there, on hindsight, i shld have signed G up since she's the quiet sort. But my K is so skillful at climbing up chairs and even toy cars, up e slides, banging the glass doors.. erm.. i dunno whether i shld send hom for such movement class.

Bx.. heng that lady din inisist on claiming insurance.. Bo cai xiao cai.. sorry my hypy cnat make it.. u noe within 1 yr, me n my hub had 3 accidents? and there was this 1st accident, the stupid guy even send us a lawyer letter.. i think he is such a lousy guy.. he was already on mc cause he had some surgery to e back 2 mths b4 i bumoed into his rear. It was a minor bump cause i was trying to move off from stationary position. K was in e car too ( 3 mths old) and nothing happened to him plus he was driving a wish. Initially he say dun claim can settle.. in e end claim my insurance plus.. claimed that he suff3red whip lash n blah blah.. geng another mth MC plus pay.. n whatever and indicated in the letter that he can still claim for any after service/checkup.. what rubbish rite.. H was a very big sized guy, can walk after the minor bump and can even take public transport hm.. i was so angry but dunno what to do.. the settlement was between the insurance co. n him. I just received the laywer's letter ( just to inform us) last week.. I wonder if he can keep claiming.. where got such a thing?? Anyone noes? Will this thing ever end?WIll he come back to me with another lawyer letter 3 yrs after the accident

A stops sch too? i thot its CC? BTW, how is elfa?

Oh dear BX! After you pay for her claims, make her sign a letter to state that she will make any further claims from you wef XX date. Get a lawyer friend's advice.

Genice, you should get legal advice from any lawyer friends and see if you can reverse this thing or write a legal letter to this guy to state that you have done your part in this accident and paid your dues to him. From henceforth, this person should have no right to make future or past claims on you or your hubby.

Genice

Yeah, my lil tubby choo is also quite the monkey compared to K. She can climb up and down her high chair by herself. Once she's quiet for a while, I know that she's prolly up to no good! No need for gymboree already. And she is super not shy about getting the other kids to play with her. The other issue I have with accompanied class is someone has to accompany them! Which means one kid is left outside since I have no helper, nobody to jaga the other one.

If G is not ready for certain activities, maybe shouldn't push it cos it can cause negative backlash? I thot it would be so fun for K to go to SuperPowerKids (SJCK keeps talking to them abt it right?) so I thot eh, since she knows the school environment and plus the school already talking abt it, should be ok to send in on Sunday afternoon to look see. I was so WRONG! She cried so hard from the word GO. And clung to me like a monkey. What a mistake! Ever since then, whenever it's Sunday and she will ask ''what day is it today?'', once I say it's Sunday, she will keep chanting that she doesn't want to go to sunday school or SPK.

genice

actually i haven't had a chance to bring A yet! Because before classes clash with E's school schedule. Hoping to bring him from next week onwards. Last week both had stomach flu, this week I kana food allergy. So sian.

A is walking q steadily already, can go 10 or more steps on his own. and think he has less need for gymboree than E did, but i also intended to let E go for the art classes at gymboree, will probably try that tomm. was hoping that I can bring both for classes at the same time together, but so far it's not that easy to find classes that fit the schedule!

Hi ladies, interesting to read about prep-ing kids. I only tell mine what we are going to do b4 we are going to do it. Like in the car to the dentist n the day we took the railway. Telling him way advance is no use coz he will be excited n less coperative during meal or nap time! He did say no for the dentist visit but he has no choice. :p I described to him the environment, what the dentist will do n told him the dentist will give him a present for being a good boy. All of coz came true. At night I read him a book about visiting dentist n he was enthralled with it.

Just to share.

Hi any mummies at the PC show today or planning to go these few days? Can someone help me check the price of the Roomba? It's exhibiting there at Booth No. 2070, Level 6, Suntec Hall 602.