(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline,

yes. although she's still very happy attending school and teachers are good to her.

change school for her because:
(1) school fee increase by 17% starting next year
(2) i would like to expose her to more chinese thinking/education

btw, we met the Hammer team twice yesterday.
once when they parade through the HDB, then met them again in the market hawker centre.
everyone welcomes them and cheer for them.

you like BYK?

How's everyone?

I thought I'd share this little postcard swap that I'll be taking part in with my 2 girls. Basically, it's an international post card swap with 5 families. You send out your postcards with a book recommendation each (can be books that your kids love or books unique to your culture etc). A family somewhere in the world will receive your postcard and recommendation. You too, will receive a similar postcard and book recommendation (but not from the same family).

I think it's a really fun way to learn what other kids in other countries read. It's all the more fun when you get more people from different parts of the world in the game. Who knows you may find new friends? I don't know if any of you had penpals at school but I did and I remember receiving my first overseas penpal's letter and reading it over and over.

Have fun!

http://www.playingbythebook.net/2011-international-postcard-swap-for-families-faq/

Xiao yun,

New school sounds very good, especially the food. Hehe..... sometimes I wish that I can choose E's school by food.

Xy, hehe, no lar, but byk does looks quite handsome. I used to like the white dr a lot cos he looks so charming but he made so many mistakes in recent yrs. Looks r not everything. :p

Hi, jan08 mummies r keen to bring our kids to watch their first children's play. Let me try n see if we can buy in bulk (in multiples of 4), save on tickets n organize a playdate.
If any feb08 mummies is also keen to watch 'What a Noisy Zoo' play tog? Please put your name n no. of tics needed. http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=noisyzoo1011

22 Oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade, suitable for kids 2-4 yrs old, free seating on the floor. Bulk price: 4 tics for $50 vs 1 tic for $15. (excl $1 booking fee per tic)
1. Kitsune_sg, 3 tics
2. Pixie, (no. of tics tba)

Eliaw, rainbow fish is nice but formal sit down plays may not be so interactive n I am afraid Raeanne dun know how to appreciate yet, (brought her to barney musical in dec but was a waste of my $,) also the ticket price of rainbow is double that of noisy zoo so decided to try noisy zoo first. :p

Pauline, can I still join?

I am interested in e rocky panda too but left 24th July, sun 11am, anyone wants to go.

Eliaw I wanted to go for e rainbow fish , still considering

hi Kitsune & Eliaw,

Both the play looks nice for the kids. Channet went do watch something about the zoo with her school last month. Let me check if it is of the same title.

Channet was down with Chicken poz last week after we came back from Taiwan. =(
Well, the hot weather made it even tougher for her. Let's hope meimei also get it, then we can settle both of them together. =)

Hi, we have 9 tics so far, just need another 3 tics n we can go ahead to book. Any more interested in "What a Noisy zoo" ?

22 Oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade, suitable for kids 2-4 yrs old, free seating on the floor. Bulk price: 4 tics for $50 vs 1 tic for $15. (excl $1 booking fee per tic) For details on the play, pls see http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=noisyzoo1011.
1. Kitsune_sg, 3 tics
2. Pixie, 2 tics
3. Genice, 2 tics.
4. Dor, 2 tics

Genice, I wanted to bring RaeAnne to that too but Sun morning not good for us. :p

Blueginger, hope Channet gets well soon. RaeAnne also down with cough and cold but seems a bit better today.

Genice, yes, my hubby going cos he's the chauffeur mah. hee.

But I just called and clarify the admission rules. Even kids below 2 yrs old need a tic for this play so either I bring RL and pay $50 for 4 tics or maybe I'll leave her behind. Need to check with hubby. :p

ADMISSION RULES (as per website)

All patrons must purchase a ticket for admission.

Recommended for children aged 2 to 4 years old.

* No Photography, Video recording and Audio recording is allowed for this event !>

my hub is the chaufffer too but he wait outside w my boy.. haha..

Maybe u shld bring RL too since this is not too ex, u can test her response towards such plays..

hello mummies!

how's everyone? was recently very bz so no chance even to check the thread - but its like moving very slowing too :p.

genice - make your hubby wait outside? Cannot leave boy with inlaws ah? me thinking to leave with my mum for the play.

bkk - saw your question of how to encourage reading, so just want to discuss in here, since i am also keen to teach Heidi reading, but do not really know how to start. I tried to start some sight words with her, but i find that her memory not so good..even though we can repeatedly show the words to her countless time, but it does not register, i think she has limited words that she can read for now, probably like cat, red, the, a she can recognize only..hmmm...so probably the sight word method deosn;t work for her?

I haven't been actively reading to them since my boy decides to tekan me a lot after he turn 1, he
wakes up 3-4 times a night just to cry cry cry, refuse to go back to sleep on his own,needs to latch (my tank almost dry but i think still have some for night latch (for fun feeds), sigh..hard time dealing with him, sticks to me like a koala bear whenever i am home, he crys when i am out of sight..aiyo..tiring....

Genice, keke, I never thought of leaving him outside. Yup I am quite keen to bring RL in too but hubby may not be keen to look after 2 kids on our own, maybe I should bring the maid n leave her outside for the show. Think she won't mind since esplanade got plenty of shops. ;p

Bkk/Ql, RaeAnne will tell stories based on imagination n pics. She can't read words too. I have been quite slack, we read to her but dun teach her how to read. :p

Noisy Zoo - I'll join too.. even though i can't really forecast my schedule in OCT.. haha..

1. Kitsune_sg, 3 tics
2. Pixie, 2 tics
3. Genice, 2 tics.
4. Dor, 2 tics
5. Eliaw, 2 tics

Rainbow Fish
Date: 23 July (Sat)
Time: 11am
Price: $28 ($21 after OCBC 25% discount)

1. Eliaw 2 Tics

Lemme know early if anyone wants.. cos now still have good seats.. so book early..

re: Reading

ok here's what i know for reading..

Usually they start with letter recognition, then move to letter sounds.. After that, once they are really good at the letter sounds, they will start using readers to teach phonics.. different readers have different sequences.. but basically more or less the same..

anyway, i don't intend to start C on reading yet.. will leave that to school, cos otherwise i'll kill his interest in learning at school..

Eliaw, I can't predict my schedule in Oct too as I may need to work as housing agents are usu busy on weekends. But I figure, if I already paid for the tics, I will just go for the play bah. hee. ;)

Spoke to hubby, decided to get 4 tics (bring RL) so that it's easier to coordinate, then we can get this playdate going before tics run out.

What a Noisy Zoo!
22 Oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade,
for kids 2-4 yrs old, free seating on the floor.
Bulk price: 4 tics for $50 vs 1 tic for $15. (excl $1 booking fee per tic)http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=noisyzoo1011

1. Kitsune_sg, 4 tics (4 tics for $50)
2. Jacelyn, 4 tics (4 tics for $50)
3. Pixie, 2 tics ) Pixie pair up with Genice
4. Genice, 2 tics )
5. Dor, 2 tics ) Dor pair up with Eliaw
6. Eliaw, 2 tics )

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Do you prefer me to help buy the tickets (everyone transfer $ to me, I buy then pass tics to you on 22 Oct or via postage ie. you pay me for tic, booking fee plus postage charges) or do you want to pair up (see the suggested pair-ups above) and you buy tickets on your own (you transfer $ to each other only) then arrange tic collection on your own?</font></font>

Pauline, i am fine w u getting the tics n then we can meet up to go in n sit together if u dun mind.

Eliaw, can't join u coz already going for e 24 th July rocky panda. U have any idea what is this rainbow fish? Some classic story?

Reading:
Similarly, g doesn't remember words well, she recognizes cat,dog , cow , bear n recently frog, deer, owl, lion, Jane, the, is, and Haha.. Mostly animals cause I am using flashcatds to teach her. I have e Peter n Jane at home b she doesn't seem
very interested in it. But I think it's fine, i play word games w
her in e day time n read w her only at night. Like memory games w e flash cards, flip the cards to guess e pictures behind e words, she also has this set of toy that gets her to
choose e correct letters n fit in to form e words. I realise her abc's have improved a lot esp. After this activity.Previously
she still gets her alphabets mixed up b now she can distinct
capital n small letters very well. So that is quite a big
Improvement for me.. Hehe. Hub also just got a kiddy laptop for her so she can play w it. Hopefully that will help too.

She is also learning Chinese now n she seems to memorize better than ENG. Words. She can point out e characters that she noes when we r outside. Just hope her passion doesn't died off n I will continue w what I am doing as long as she is happily learning .

Now e problem is I dunno how to occup her during e June holidays!! Bane of going to kindergarten, my 2 kids will be very free during holis.

ql,
same same. dunno y my boy can wake up a few times in the night to cry. i had to make him milk to make him stop crying and whining. i thought it was because we threw away his chou chou (bolster). maybe it could be growth spurt or teething also.

reading
never really train ashlynn in reading but recently she starting spelling her own name. so since she can start to spell, i may start teaching her simple words like apple, dog etc soon. but no proper structure coz no time.

as for chinese, will start her on lesson next year. right now, we try to speak to her more in mandarin, but can see that she is quite resistant to it.

So far, Genice n Eliaw have replied that they prefer me to help buy the tics. If the others have no objections, then pls transfer the tic price + booking fee to me at posb savings 126-42063-3. We will meet 15 mins before the show on 22 oct n I pass u the tics.

But if u want to collect your tic before 22 oct, u can self collect at Tampines (anyday) or 313 somerset on sundays b/w 12-1pm. Pls arrange with me. If u want to go via post, got to wait till I am free to go to post office esp for reg mail.
<font color="ff0000">Pls pm me after u transferred, I hope to buy tics Tom, 18 may, cos sat morning show r popular n may sell out soon.</font>

'What a Noisy Zoo!'
22 oct, 11am, Esplanade
1) pixie $27 ($12.50 x 2 + $1 booking fee per tic)
2) Genice $27
3) Dor $27
4) Eliaw $27
5) jacelyn (as mentioned, think more convenient for u to buy direct, right?)

Update

Will go down to Tampines Mall tonight and buy the play tickets for 22 Oct since 50% paid. I need to buy 12 tickets, dun want to end up with no tickets cos sold out and disappoint everyone. Online booking can only book 8 tics max per transaction, very mafan. Eliaw &amp; Genice, dun last min fly me aeroplane hor. ;P

hi pauline.. have trf
To Account POSB Savings
126-42063-3 kitsune
Amount S$27.00
Transaction Reference 6762318550

Thks!

<font color="ff0000">Tickets bought!!! Those who want to collect early, pls sms or PM me. Hope more mummies can join us on that day too.

'What a Noisy Zoo!'
22 oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade Recital Studio,
showtime: Approx 40 mins (no intermission)
FREE SEATING ON FLOOR. TICKETS NEEDED FOR ALL (INCL INFANT IN ARMS).
1) pixie $27 (paid)
2) Genice $27 (paid)
3) Dor $27 (paid)
4) Eliaw $27
5) kitsune $54 (paid)

5493049.jpg

Wow, no posts at all since sat, what happened to everyone? ;p

I am looking for speech n drama enrichment for Raeanne, best if it's during June hols, anyone has any recommendations?

i been out the thread for such a long time.
cos been very busy with work and just had a change of job and new office able to access this forum.
Hope to chat u all mummies more often and learn more tips from u all.

And Btw i saw this Noisy Zoo, can i still buy the tickets?

Hi, baby yun, welcome back.
I am afraid the Feb08 thread has been really quiet for a while unless there are new pregnancy announcements. ;P

Noisy Zoo tickets are still available at Sistic outlets. But need to buy 4 tickets to qualify for the discount (4 tics for $50, usu price $15 per tic). I helped to buy 12 tickets for the Jan/Feb08 mummies including my own 4 tics for my family. The other mummies paired up to get the discount cos they bought 2 tics each.

But so far, Eliaw hasn't paid yet. Will PM her again to check, if she really changed her mind, can sell the discounted tics to you.

hello mummies.. me on leave today so free to come in..hee..

are ur tods still drinking milk from bottle or from cups alr? i think its time to wean off the bottle right? but for the sake of her finishing her milk.. still reluctance to change to give her cup yet..duno if she will guai guai finish her milk from cup or not

Ql,
Mine still on bottle. Not planning to wean off yet. Mayb next year. Has been telling her abt it and getting her to buy in the idea. But she is definitely not ready yet.

Yun, Eliaw has replied me today that she is still keen. Guess you have to wait for someone else who is keen in order to pair up if you only need 2 tickets. Or else, just buy at normal price and join us? ;)

QL, Bx, mine refused to drink milk from cup even when she witnessed many of her CC classmates doing that. She is still on half day prog so she doesn't drink milk in school. Maybe when she goes to full day prog, she will be more willing to drink from cup due to 'peer pressure'? :p

Eliaw, thanks for the fund transfer.

'What a Noisy Zoo!'
22 oct (Sat), 11am, Esplanade Recital Studio,
showtime: Approx 40 mins (no intermission)
FREE SEATING ON FLOOR. TICKETS NEEDED FOR ALL (INCL INFANT IN ARMS).
1) pixie $27 (paid)
2) Genice $27 (paid)
3) Dor $27 (paid)
4) Eliaw $27 (paid)
5) kitsune $54 (paid)

mine still on bottle too even though last yr in ccc her teachers tried to get her to drink from cup. Actually i am fine w her drinking from bottle, maybe i will wean her off earliest next yr or even K1. i personally find it much "comfortable" to drink milk from bottle then sleep even though its a bad habit but eventually they will grow up from it , i feel.

hi yun,
welcome back.

anyone has any idea how long food will be digested after consumption?
big C has been vomitting quite a bit after a few coughs. And sometimes can still see her lunch when she vomitted at 9 pm. is that indigestion?
brought her to see GP earlier and GP said it's gastric flu. but she does not have diarrhea leh?
hai... finally manage to 'pump up' her weight to 12.6 kg after feeding her for a few months. and now she lost 1 kg within 1 week due to the frequent vomitting.

re: feeding from cup
she's very slow drinking from cup.
100 ml takes nearly half an hour.
using bottle is faster. :p
but she often request to drink milk from cup during meal time. so i just let her be.

Xy, poor Carrie. I am not sure too but when RL threw up recently at 12+am due to coughing, first time she threw up milk, second time she threw up her porridge from dinner. :p

ql
mine also still drinking from bottle. my nephew is 1 yr older than our tots, and he's still taking from bottle, so he's my gauge, haha! my cousin's youngest is 5 yrs old and still taking from bottle. I think it's ok lah...

mummies do we need to open a CDA account for our #1s?