(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkk,
wa.. workplace is 5 minutes walk from home. then halfday is still ok.
for me, 45 mins drive to work. so i seldom take halfday leave.

re: car accident
i had my experience too...
kissed the backside of the front car. wanted to settle out of insurance.
he quoted me $200 to touch up his paint. after that told me his reverse sensor spoilt, insist to get 'original' sensor. add another $500. siao..
i pissed off and asked him to go claim my insurance (since i've no NCD yet). in the end his claim amount is $9k++ while mine is only $900!
sometime ago saw the car again on the road, the paint is shiny like new. must be repainting the whole car instead of the rear only.
no wonder motor insurance is so expensive nowadays, everyone anyhow claim.

re: the little one
i am not quite happy with big C recently too. she's trying to push her limit and not listening to instruction.
went to her cc attended a chinese program and she's the only few that does not sit down and pay attention to what teacher says.
her behavior is very different from what teacher described to me during parent-teacher meet session. not sure is it because she's distracted when i am around?
i did punished her previously by trying to keep her out of the house cos she refuse to take dinner. she was very terrified too and now will guai guai eat whenever i 'threaten' her to keep her out of the house. i know threatening is not good but this is the way to make her eat.

notice that big C always has bad dream if i scolded/punished her in the day time. hai.. so lousy, cannot take stress at all.

big C has a bad habit to grab chocolate/sweets whenever we go out shopping. i am not trying to 'lun' for not give in to her. hope she will stop this soon.
sometimes prep talk works. told her that we are going shopping, and we are going to see this and that. and cannot ask mummy/daddy buy sweets, chocolates, toys, if not, will go home.. etc. this works last week.

and my reward sticker tactic works. she wanted to play the 'egg' machine. I asked her to 'earn' 10 sticker by not shsh.. in diaper at night. She can play the 'egg' once when she collected 10 stickers. whenver she passes by the machine, i reminded her again our 'deal' then she guai guai and no more pestering us for the $ to play. :p
btw, i encountered a website that can create custom reward chart:
http://dltk-cards.com/chart/

bkkgal,

Envy your new life of sahm. Enjoy! There's so many ways to enjoy as a mother,staying at home. And there's so many ways not to under simulate self to out shine working life.

Hehe.... for me, guess that my MIL is enjoying very much at taking care of my 3 kids. I better not steal her job for the moment.

Xiao yun,
not to punish her too often. It will be less and less effective. Somemore, big C is such a good and obedient girl. My ex-colleague beat her daughter until her daughter doesn't bother. Her daughter score worst at her primary school though it's very good school. Now the girl is at primary 3, my ex-colleague told me that she was going to give up on her daughter, and concentrate on her boy who's going to primary school next year. I don't know what to say to her, but feel sad for her and her daughter.

Would any one of you be keen to host a complimentary skin care class at the comfort of your own home at a timing that is convenient for you? (you can be the hostess & invite a couple of your friends over to pamper yourselves)

You will learn the right ways to cleanse your face and get to try out great products, all hands-on.
Best is with no obligations and most importantly no hardselling

Please feel free to email me ([email protected]) or PM me for more details.

XY
i know what you mean about threatening, I also don't like threats but sometimes like aboslutely nothing else will work, or my patience already run out.. these days i also don't like to count 1-2-3, but bo bian. Sigh!

tubao
oh no, poor ex-colleague :S maybe you can recommend her a book, called Appreciating your child by Prof Zhou Hong. I found it q interesting, but I think it's more for school going kids. The book is originally in Chinese but I'm not sure if the library has it. They have many copies of the English translation tho. It's about inspiring your children to do well in school by the appropriate means of praise. His daughter is deaf from birth (and hence somewhat mute), but she managed to skip a few grades in school!

Hi, everyone, havent posted in a while.

Brought the gals to hk disneyland since maid was on home leave. It was a good trip, not as bad as I thought traveling with 2 kids under 4 without maid or grandparents support. Good family bonding time.

RaeAnne loves Disneyland, I am amazed that she is not afraid of the moving rides at all. But she loves her hotel room best, refuse to go out of her room to eat or shop. :p

But bad thing is my maid refused to come back after her home leave, as we half suspected. Will have to switch Raeanne to full day cc cos not keen to hire any more maids for the time being. Looking for a good and trustworthy part time cleaner for weekends instead.

Bkkgal, you are using Tina right? I know you mentioned she is very good during our Marina Barrage playdate. Just want to check, do you leave your keys with her when she cleans your house? Can she clean windows?

Hi Tubao
haha, I am discovering many ways to enjoy my time with them

I feel sorry for your colleague's kid. The worst thing for a kid to feel is that your parent has given up on you. That is just pure hopelessness for them. If my parent thinks I'm a failure, then I'm a failure, what's the point of trying harder? Don't let your child have an excuse to blame for future failure. That's just my opinion.

Hi Pauline
Sorry to hear abt the maid. Sorry I don't know who is Tina, didn't use her. I used XY's recommendation Aunty Aileen but she is out of action now cos her dd just had a major operation.

Whatever you do, don't use Mrs. Sparkles ok? I don't like the service

If RaeAnne goes to full day CC and Raelynn also can go for playgroup, things will be much easier for you. You just need to take care of meals and light cleaning. PT maid can do more heavylifting around the house.

Pauline,
The person I sms you is Tina, an agent who has supply of partime phili/indo maid.
basically different maid come to your house every time. need to supervise and guide. They can do a lot of things.
The last one I had is very hardworking. worked non-stop and doesn't want to rest.
downside is that they need you to be around. And the agent sometimes is hard to reach. Once you manage to get her, and she can arrange for a helper to your place very soon.

tubao,
big C is now going through another phase of disobedient.. hai..
same as iso, it's really so difficult to resist the temptation of scolding (proven 'effective' method for now) when time is pressing..

hope every1 is well @ heart & body! & of cos the little cutie darlings!

re : disobedient kids

I almost everyday hv 2 scold/beat/threaten my boy who is turning 2 soon. Cant help it cos very stressful @ hm having to do everyting myself. I feel super lousy and guilty after each scolding or beating. I even cried feeling I'm not suitable to be a SAHM. What's the pt of being a SAHM when i scold/beat my kids almost everyday?!

Last nite I watch the "yi dai nu wang" (Taiwan prog), talking abt kids tat make their mummies laugh and cry. one actress say she lose her temper scolding and even throwing bag on her son. plus her son not obedient and no concentration when in sch etc. So she decide to bring her son to see psychologist to check wat's wrong wif her son etc.. the psychologist told the actress tat all kids are simple. their intentions are good though may be "bad" in our eyes. So y not look from the kids' angle etc... Dun tk it too hard etc...

I do agree. So 2day i keep remind myself not to lose my cool @ my kids. So far 2day nvr. Hope can maintain...

XY,

Does ur MIL's helper accept assignments in Bukit Panjang area? Pls help me to ask. I PM u my hp no.

Bkkgal, oic, didn't know aunty Aileen is already out of action. was looking at amah on wheels but put off by agency fee of at least $188. :p

Xy, thanks, I am looking for those I can just pass them the keys cos our weekend schedule is very tight, got to juggle RA's music class, hubby's tuition, visiting my mum etc. But while looking at amah on wheels website, they had a good suggestion of using a different/extra padlock on cleaning day n passing the pt cleaner the keys so I think i can try that too for those foreign pt cleaners that I dun trust so much.

Esty, you got no more maid too? What u said about kids r very simple minded n having good intentions is very true. Eg tonight when we were eating in a restaurant, Mei Mei dropped one of her toys below the table, and RA immediately crawled under to pick it up. Hubby was telling her off cos it's so dirty under the table n we end up having to wipe her hands n knees but I reminded him that she had good intentions and was trying to be helpful so she was expecting to be praised not scolded for her efforts.

Hi, Iso/bkkgal,

Yah, my ex-colleague has more problem than that; her divorced her ex-husband because of his adultery. Though she has her parents & siblings' support, I can sense her own doubt and unhappiness other than describing her children most of time. So pity and sad, when I joined my 1st company as a fresh graduate 12 years ago, she was already world class person at my field at age 29, and she is pretty like korean star. Now seeing her struggle, though not financially, still makes me heavy hearted.

Xiao yun,
My E had fair bit of scolding/beating from me. At this stage--3.5 old, I change my method if it is not effective continually for 3 month.

My mentor at my 1st company told me that she often go to see child psychologist, in order to understand what children wants through conversation. She told me that children's love tank will sink to the bottom when kids was out at childcare or primary school for whole day, at night children needs parents' love to fill the tank up. I believe that she tried to tell my ex-colleague who sat at the same table, but who is going to top up my ex-colleague's tank? How much stronger my ex-colleague needs to become? By the time my ex-colleague becomes strong enough, her kids may well pass primary school stage.

Hi Pauline,

Yes yes! ur RA has good intentions! So instead of scolding her, ur hb shd praise her.

No more maid liao lor.. I sent her off immediately after CNY. So i hv 2 handle 2 kids myself, do chores @ my home and sometimes my dad's place... send and fetch gal to and frm CC etc... very tired and stressed esp hb often not in sg... sometimes when the stress hit me most, i jz break dwn and cry like mad... then after, ok. very bz but i no regrets sending off the maid. I think overall i'm much happier, cos i dun hv 2 worry abt maid ill treating my kids...

i once saw 2 maids scream and scold the kids when fetching them frm CC. the boy was cryin and the maid screamed at him "SHUT UPPPPPPPP!" I was damn pissed off that i directly tell the boy not to cry if not u get scolded by ur helper who is supposed to tk care of u. The maid heard me and "k k" talk nicely to the boy again.

Tubao,

I agree abt the love tanks tat one has. I ever read a book abt love tanks within oneself. everyone has a few tanks - from parents, spouse, friends, etc... if one tink one is feeling lousy, must find out the source (which tank is low) and fill up the tank then will be re-charged...

& the book aso mention abt negativeness. say tis kind of negativeness if not removed, will actually pass to u or to other pple. in short, we will get affected by one's or someone else' negativeness...

I aso nw change my way of disciplining them. i tink back becos i'm very bz wif so many tings on hand that i lack the patience to talk/reason wif my kids. i simply choose the easy way tat is scolding and beating. but thenn wat i get in return, kids crying, feeling fear maybe and mysef feeling lousy and guilty...

Pauline
Yeah, the agency fees put me off too, which was why I chose Mrs. Sparkles as it did not have agency fees.

Esther
Having no maid is definitely much happier situation for me too. I'm very "mao dun" today. Yesterday, agent brt a transfer indon to my place. She is young 23 yo, english is good. Generally ok but I am very reluctant to accept a maid after 4 months no maid. Isn't human nature so strange? I thot I would be relieved to have someone but instead, I couldn't sleep last night thinking of all the maid problems that come with a maid. What if MIL can't get along with her? What if I end up with a 3rd daughter to look after? What if she lazy? dishonest, dirty, blah blah. I told hb honestly i did not think we need a maid but he said he needs. How? sigh.

bbkgal,

some of my friends do get a SHOCK tat i sent off the maid, got 1 gf even say i too stubborn. cos 4 me if my dad is not able to help me eye power my boy while i send/fetch gal to and fro CC, I got 2 push my boy in pram while carrying my gal. Get worse when raining. I still gotta 2 carry umbrella! So my friends wonder hw i can do it?! I told them since i dun wan a maid, and given such a situation, u definitely can handle even though u tot u cant initially.

Maids sure hv pro no matter wat... My 2nd indo maid aso very gd, 23yo, speaks gd english but lazy. 3rd is filipino. worse. emotional, even tell me she wanted to commit suicide. i reali dun wish to keep someone who is like a time bomb. i at hm i aso worry. let alone if i working, leaving kids wif maid at hm...

my hb aso want a maid since he is not ard most of the time. he doesnt wan me to get too tired, too stressed etc... BUT i still tell him NO. i worry the same as u. I say i feel happier though i got bz.. u knw wat, previously wif maid, i handle most my kids' stuff, and i get sick often. maybe didnt exercise or sweat enuff. Now i sweat like crazy. like raindrops. haha... I didnt fall sick since maid left... so in a way, i'm healthier? hee...

if u tink u can do wifout a maid 4 a few mths liao, y not keep it tat way... but keep the option open. i tell hb so far i can still tahan, if not, i get a PT cleaner to help clean hse, if reali cannot cannot tahan, then get a maid in the end, but i do hope i dun hv 2...

bkk..haha..difficult position. for me was my hubby against maid. sometimes he still grumble..but mostly i think he is happy he has time to do his own stuff and not let me nag at him for his substandard housework.

my maid...is extremely blur and needs a lot of reminding. But i always console myself...that she has a good heart and is honest and down-to-earth (Since i've known her so many years liao).

And also...even my hubby cannot listen to my instructions and remember what i say, much less the maid so I lower my expectations of her. As long as she meet the main few KPI (cook for my girl, washing and general cleaning), the rest is bonus. i think my maid only knows how to operate the microwave and the washing machine now. (and of course iron and stove but not my oven.) Fro washing machine she only uses one mode. haha. She's very afraid to touch all these electronic gadgets. But she's very keen and helpful mostly so I really have to give and take and play to her strengths. If i call her to help me carry something or pack/keep/clean something, she will come running. (Running from her room - where i let her rest during the afternoon or evenings when there is nothing else to do.)

(Plus, my mum does a lot of scolding liao...so i try not to scold too much or else maid will go crazy. haha. But my maid also know my mum's pattern and it's something she's willing to put up with.)

Bkkgal,

Hehe..... so much headache.... well, since your hubby insists, why not he manage the maid?

Generally I feel that some mothers get ride of maids after trying them for some time, because they're experienced and capable enough to live without them. Some housework is good for relaxing and health. My confinement lady for twins looked after her five children all age gap 1year by herself alone. Super capable and multitasking mummy , trained by motherhood.

Well, my grandma who brought up my brother and me lied on the bed for 2 years because of accidental fall at home when I went for reward trip after getting good "O" level results. A very kind helper looked after her for 2 years, I sleep with that helper at night, often she cried at night because of unreasonable whining from aching grandma. But my grandma do last 2 years at home with careful care by this very kind helper. My hubby's grandma stayed at nursing home in Singapore for 10 year, no one of her 7 sons was willing to keep her at home despite her 100k savings from selling the house.

We visited her at nursing home; I didn't feel any recommendable about nursing home though the fee is 1.8k per month. There's news about abuse in nursing home recently.

Maids are from a country where there's no opportunity for higher income, but not from where there's only lies, threatening, and fight generally. A lot of them were taught well by their parents. My ex-helper is top 2% IQ level---my family think; and her mother teaches her well also-----she knows all traditional herbs and knows how to cook authentic indo dishes and cakes; and she has good postures for standing/sitting. I guess that she can become top businesswoman if she has good opportunity and much broader heart.

When sending my ex-maid off partly because her strong character makes difficult for me to bring out some good part of other family members especially my older E; I had much doubt on whether I will be strong enough to manage a maid as well as catching up with my kids' growing up. One colleague told me that a person at another department had a good maid for 13 years. I asked a lot of questions to her. She sounds to me that there's no maid she can't train up to her standard, even a maid transferred 4 times in 3 month. She can ask the maid to eat more, to have more strength. I doubt further. I doubt how can she be so strong and capable enough to train and motivate maid. Her work scope doesn't give her much exposure and pay. Later she told me that she had a 14 year old son who had down syndrome, and couldn't look after himself.

Well, I definitely don't hope so much experience and being so strong. But finding a maid who can do housework just to relieve one hour each for every family member ----my husband, MIL and me, we're more than willing to keep her at our home even when all kids grow up. We'd like to give a good person an opportunity to earn a living, just like us when graduated from school.

bkkgal, my hubby also not keen to go maidless. But after our HK trip when we have to handle the kids alone and did ok, he did not object when I told him I dun want to get any more maids and want pt cleaner for now. Last night and just now, he ironed the RaeAnne's uniforms and the kids clothes himself but after school hols, I'll prob be the one doing it if cannot wait for the PT cleaner to do it. :p

good morning!!
good news to share!
reward sticker method works again! the challenge this time is to complete self-feeding of dinner/meals. And she did it!! yay yay. Although she took quite long to finish the dinner and run away a few times due to distraction, she manage to finish her dinner all by herself!

you can sense how happy I am right? :D

garfield,
the stationery shop at Funan closed for renovation.

can't get the suncatcher when i went on Sunday. aiyah. no fate loh.

btw, anyone knows where to get cheap and good play dough molds (without the play dough)? all the playdoh set all consists of playdoughs in the package.
also, any recommendation to the cheapest place to get a Casio watch? - I am eyeing one... :p

Thanks for your thots on the maid issue Esty and Tubao.

Tubao, I feel that managing "HR" issues is so much harder than working. A maid is not just a stranger in your house. The maid can affect everyone's mood, the children's devt. So choosing a suitable one is so impt yet it is so impossible - tougher than interviewing for an executive position at work, cannot give assessment or psychiatric tests, can only rely on gut. So I really admire that colleague of yours with down syndrome son. Must pick someone who is really patient.

XY,
Instead of buying molds, I just give the girls my cookie cutters and baking molds. And nowadays, I make my own playdough
Very fun (for me to make!) and I get to play with food colouring too. hehe. I'm also not afraid when S tries to eat the playdough. So using the non-commercial playdough with my baking equipment is ok cos it's easily washable and cleaned.

bkk,
i made my own dough too!! but now only have 4 colors - green, yellow, redish pink, orange. still trying to source more colors.
i do not have much cookie cutters and no baking molds at all. :p

bkkgal,

Yah.... very difficult to motivate a maid, even a good one. Must be very flexible. Before this maid episode, I only know that this colleague is one of most sexy and pretty women at our company(Singapore site). Now I know that she needs to get so much love and support from husband and pampering herself to keep going, well, she's not even highly paid. I didn't ask her how she choose her maid, but she told me that she rewarded her maid by allowing her dress up like keeping long hair, pedicure and manicure.

If there's no real need for a maid, better not hire her if you don't have one yet. Hehe..... don't create an additional challenge for ourselves, Life is for fun and enjoy....... Maybe there's need for more efficiency and sharing workload of house chores; need for better tolerance of MIL instead of maid, etc....

If there's real need, we need extra luck to get <1% top quality maid. They're capable and wise enough to handle almost everything physically and emotionally. Usually 3 kids + housework is quite ok for this type of maid to handle ALONE. They're usually smart, and wise. Some are wise because of age and experience---mostly by motherhood of many kids; some are wise because of their wise mother and good heart. Some are fresh; if they had working experience, they usually worked more than 4 years(2 contracts) at one family and her ex-employer still happily keep in touch with her and are willing to be referred. Normally they can be left alone to look after children/old people. Even if they work with old folks, sometimes they're just simply so capable that old folks or maybe mother seem redundant. At some point of time, every body likes her work and her. They're normally hired by very wise, daring and confident women. My company has one-----not the down syndrome one, my neighborhood had three. I personally hope to get this type or coach my maid become this type if my MIL is not around. Well, this phase I don't want this type because my main purpose is to let ILs be happy and feel useful.

There's another top 20% maids. We can easily bump into them if a capable and knowledgeable maid agent recommends her professionally. If they're still relatively young and less experienced, their good points and bad points are easily seen at interview. Sometimes we don't know what kind of maid we need, but when we interview them, our instinct tell us. It still needs skills and patience to understand and help overcome their bad point, sometimes we need to tolerate it if there's real need for a maid. Good thing is that her good points usually give much needed family a booster. Some may get transferred easily if her bad points are not tolerated by those family who can afford to live without maid.

80% maid may want to work hard to earn a living, and hopefully respect. well, I know, one maid who lives at the same block as mine is extremely pretty and excellent fashion sense, like beauty queen. I asked her" you're so pretty and young, you can marry a rich family easily, why you come here as maid?' She told me that she knew it; she just want to come here for tour.

Good luck! You're lucky to get freedom to make choices ------ full time sahm; part time sahm; give birth to 3rd one; hiring a maid; hire a part time help and go on and on...... Haha. Though challenge is how much better choices you make and how much you understand you and your family's needs, wants and potential, don't be afraid to make choices for your family. It's blessing to have choices and a blessing to have your family rely on you making choices. ^_^ ^_^ jia you, jia you!

u all saw the news today..about the mum who reversed into her 2 year old? the little boy died. It's such a terrible piece of news. i can't get it outta my head.

Tubao

Yes, indeed indeed it is a blessing to have so many choices! Sometimes, I lie in bed and think to myself wow, at least I have choices. Some people don't have a choice, just have to make it work.

Well, the decision is made this morning
haha, hope it's right, but if it's not..then we try again. Few reasons:

a) Maid really likes our family - for some reason, after she left our place, she told the agent that she would like to work for us. So, I think the fact that maid attitude is positive is a good thing.
b) Children quite like to play with her.
c) Hb spoke to her ex-employer. Nothing really bad to say abt her. The reason why she didn't want to work with employer is because no children around, all old folks. (Well, can say it is a negative trait cos she has a strong opinion abt where she wants to work. Some pp say choosy bah) Employer says she is impatient, i.e. want to leave means want to leave straightaway. Well, I have encountered this type before. It's a function of youth.
d) Another reason is: I went back to scrutinise the Filipina maid that we chose and still waiting for. Interestingly, although I have read and re-read this CV many times, I missed out one point. This maid wrote down that she love to take care of aged. She has taken care of special kid and finish contract in Singapore. I focused on those 2 points but only today then I saw that pt that she loved to take care of old pp. I guess our minds always focus on what we want to see right?
e) Well, the last thing is I believe strongly in fate. It happened that last week, we were very stressed over housework and work and children, in the end quarrel. Out of frustration, hb called the agent and coincidentally, agent had this maid to show us. If we didn't fight, hb didn't call (btw, normally I am the one who deals with agent), then we wouldn't have seen this one. So maybe it is fate?

Ok, wish me luck. Hope it works out.

Xiaoyun
Me too! I have the same colours. I am looking for this blue flower - periwinkle - it can make natural blue colouring. Soak in water and use it cook the dough. I learnt abt this flower from Bollywood Veggies farm tour. They said can use for making the nonya kueh.

Playdate

Any mummies interested in a playdate next week? I would like to bring the girls to the Art Garden at SAM, an interactive children's garden with animation films for 2 yo and above and the other place that I would like to bring them to is the PlayDome at National Museum.

Would anyone like to join on Mon morning, or Tues/Thurs afternoon?

lezy
I couldn't bring myself to read the article
hb told me abt it. News like that just makes us wanna go home and hug our babies, don't they?

bkkgal,

gd luck, hope ur tis new 1 can mk it.

if couple quarrel over chores/kids issue, will somehow hurt the relationship in long run.

lezy,

raincoat 4 me or my gal? gal has one but she dun like 2 wear. she still wan me carry no matter wat... probably still feel jealous over her didi. so always fighting 4 my attention... &amp; "torturing" me. haha...

i read the article. very very sad... but i do wonder hw come jz leave a 2yo toddler alone outside their garden? maybe the maid is doing chores. but i still feel tat chores can still hold on, shd eye power the toddler.

i feel 4 the mummy, she definitely feel so guilty.

bkk
me! i want to go! Mon morning sounds good. Afternoon can only make it at like 3pm or later, cos #2 naps in the early afternoon.

good luck with the maid!!!! btw what's your "recipe" for dough?

lezy
omg i didn't know about it. can't imagine such a thing happening, imagine having to live with yourself after that!!!!!!!

XY
daiso also got some cookie cutters, cheap n good?

tubao
love all your thoughts on family and maids. you are right, we are v v lucky that we have choice to be SAHM, FTWM, hire maids, etc. in many other countries there are much fewer choices.

we have been lucky that so far our first maid has turned out to be q a smart and good girl. I know I can be q impatient at times, and sometimes it's trying to be looking after FOUR kids (husband and maid included). But I try to remember that she has a good heart, and her English is a lot better than my Bahasa, so I have to give her credit for that.

Esty
jia you without your maid! :D

Btw I know exactly what you mean about doubting yourself as a SAHM. Every day I have to tell myself that I will not lose my temper, and many days when it's morning I've already failed. And also because A is still waking up at night for milk, at times I'm so so tired and impatient with them. sigh.

mariott vacation club
anyone got a sales person to recommend? Am finding out about phuket for october.

anantara vacation club
btw i also found out about another vacation club, you can contact them on this site http://www.anantaravacationclub.com/

they are offering:
The399 $US net for 3days 2 nights.
Package stay in a pool villa at Anantara Resort and Spa Phuket.
*The145 $US net for 3days 2 nights.
Package stay in a Deluxe room at Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort and Spa
*The199 $US net for 3days 2 nights package stay in 1 Bedroom (Junior Suit) Dewa Phuket.
*The299 $US net for 3days 2 nights package stay in 2 Bedroom (Family Suit) Dewa Phuket.

Same thing as Marriott, must attend a talk.

esther..i mean u wear raincoat while she sit pram? ha.

iso...sounds good man....

accident - hai...even mediacorp also have show with such story before i think - that a couple divorce cuz husband drove car and slam into kid accidentally when leaving/reach home and kid ran out.

i'm very very paranoid everytime we approach the road or car park. Not say cannot trust my girl but i dun ever want anything like that to happen...

Hi Iso
I got my recipe from here: http://myplayschool.net/play-dough/ but I didn't add any vanilla essence and such. Next time, I will rem

Yup yup, afternoons must be late cos #2 wakes up abt 4 pm.

So Art Garden on Monday? Onz?

Marriott VC
I got the contact from Eliaw. I SMSed you. I'm gg to the VC next week because our friends from HK were gg to Phuket to listen to the talk and their room and airport transfers are free, whereas here in Spore, we have to listen to the talk in their office and pay $150 for the stay. And no airport transfer. When we asked why is there the discrepancy, they could not explain, simply said that there's no office in HK.

Anantara is nice in Hua Hin and Chiang Mai. Wonder how the Phuket one is.

lezy

K has a paranoia about crossing the road/carpark (any kind of tarmac). It all started when one of my goondu maids simply walked off from the car and K was happily tailing behind her. I was picking up S from her carseat and shouted at the maid to look behind and hold K's hand. Because I shouted so loud, I shocked both maid and K. And after I scolded the maid, I took K aside and told her very seriously that if a car had come and knocked her down, mama will cry and be very very sad and next time, she always has to ask an adult to hold her hand before walking on her own. It was dark and no street lamps so I can imagine if a car had come zooming up the slope, it wouldn't have seen a small little figure walking along. Since then, she refused to walk on her own and insisted on being carried across until recently when she agreed that as long as mama squeeze her hand very tightly, she can cross and it'll be ok.

Teaching our children awareness of their surroundings is very important. Sometimes it takes a child to remind an adult that something should/should not be done. I can never ever trust a maid with these things esp since some of them are from really ulu places, they have no idea even how to work a lift or get on escalators! Safety awareness is one of those things that can be ingrained over time. Even though it's to the point of kiasu/kiasi-ness (like my K), it's okay.

i know what u mean. Even when I have a maid, we never really ask her to take responsibility for the child eg leaving them alone at home, asking maid to bring her out (cross roads, take bus etc). Either of us is always with maid so it's our responsibility cuz I can't imagine how low i would feel and of what use it would be if anything happened - especially since my maid is so blur.

Can't quite blame them too - cuz they aren't brought up in as cluttered and bustling pace as Singapore. In their homeland/villages, pace of life is easy-going, cars stop for u (not in the cities of course) and etc. Not everyone is in a hurry like us...so perhaps it's ok to waddle around the roads and etc. It's hard to change habits like that.

I once saw a mum with 2 kids (pre-primary) at a junction island - meaning it's traffic in all 3 directions surrounding the island where there's enough space for maybe 5-10 people to squeeze on while waiting for traffic light. She did not hold any of their hands. They were just hopping around n etc. I felt so scared for them!

hihi all mummies,

can i check if anyone are staying in sembawang or yishun?
currently looking a child care centre for my boy...

thank you

and sori can i check, is it better to let ur child to attend full day child care rather than just go to school for just 2 hrs each day?

really headache and cant decide to plc him in the child care or flexi hours.

thanks and best regards.

Hi yun

It depends on your arrangement. If you are a FTWM and have no one to send and pick your child up from school, then it's better to leave him/her at childcare for full day. If you have help at home, then it's okay to ease your child into school for 2 hrs a day. Some children need time to adjust to the idea of going to a place away from home, from parents. Some parents like the idea of half day childcare as they just want the child to get interacton with other kids and learn some useful skills and come back home to spend the rest of the day.

I let dd1 go to half day cc when she was 2 yo as I wanted her to adjust to idea of going away from home and I was going to deliver dd2. This year, I switched her from cc to 3 hrs school in the afternoon. This is a good arrangement for my hh because if dd1 is away the whole day, my dd2 is so bored alone at home. Dd1 has her own friends and activities in school for 3 hours so that gives me time to focus on dd2.

HI bkkgal,

i am a FTWM, and currently have a maid,
and son is at my mum plc with my maid while i m working.

the reason y i considering cc is bcos its seems like when ur child is in full day cc, they get to learn alot things?

and i still trying very hard to have another bb but still no luck.

so really dun know wat to do..
i actually quite happy with the idea of my son at my mum's plc with maid and just going to sch in the morning.
but cos people been telling me that cc is good, so i really dun know how.

haiz..

Hi yun, my no. 1 is in half day cc, just switched her over to full day cos I am now maidless. If u send your kid to cc, do u still need a maid since you have your mum?

The reasons why I prefer cc is cos they have enrichment in the afternoons so our weekends will be more free. Also, cc dun close during school hols, I dun want to look after 2 kids at home for one month. Lazy... :p But when we want to bond with the kids, I just let them ponten school, either just one or both at the same time, otherwise they go to school n we got more time to clear up the house, cook, clean etc.

Hi Pauline,

cos my mum working nite time from 2am to 6am in the morning, the maid actually more than to help out in the housework chores than looking after my son.
my mum is also looking my niece which is just 6mths.

and hubbi is in the navy and always might need to sail then n then and will away for ard 2-3 mths each time.

so i m afraid i cant cope without a maid too..

lezy,

haha.. i wear raincoat ah.. But the pro is i gotta push my boy in pram to fetch gal. i oni hv 1 single pram. not those twin strollers. i tot of getting but hb not keen. when i was damn tired, i will snap @ him saying "i'm the 1 who has to carry her while push boy in pram in the rain, and hold umbrella, not u hor." But then scare buy twin stroller, later the kids heng heng sit then dun sit 4 long. waste $$. haha...

iso,

u aso feel tis way 2 ah... reali sian hor.. there was once incident aso same as u. happened in the morning, i was thinking oh sh*t, hw to survive thru the whole day leh without me screaming/scolding them. but lucky, the rest of the day shun shun.. keke....

wat time is A's last milk feed for the day? some boys tend to drink more...

yun,

I'm a SAHM but my DD is @ full day CC. alot of pple told u CC is gd? tat is very gd cos when i tell my friends, oni one or 2 say CC gd, mostly say CC no gd.. sigh... if u wan 2 put ur kid in CC, the inital mths r tough esp if ur kid cries. mine cry 4 four solid mths! it is very heart breaking esp when i nt working.. feel so bad 2 leave her in CC while young boy is wif me @ hm...

but then so far nvr regret my decision 2 send her 2 CC, cos she learns alot in CC... and same as wat pauline mention, got enrichment classes, and "hi 5, pauline" i aso let cayenne ponten school! haha...

if ur hb often nt ard, and u r working, tink u better keep ur maid if u r happy having a maid ard, cos it is going 2 be very tired handling chores and kid after work.

Esty
these days i try to talk nicely but firmly to E. I'm still learning to control temper also. B4 i have kids i'm never like this man!!

During the day A feeds almost every 3-4 hours because mealtimes he seldom takes a lot. At the most he will eat and milk time delayed 1-2 hours. Sometimes he will hardly take 2 teaspoons worth of solids then he dowan already. So far i'm not so worried cos he's v big size but will ask PD when i next visit, cos i dun think it's good. he usu sleep at around 8-9pm, and milk around there (or maybe 7+), then another feed around 10-midnight, usually at 11pm. last time E also used to wake up for milk until almost 2 YO man!

iso,

sometimes i feel having kids bring out the "worst" me! wonder if my hb regrets marrying such a fierce wife anot. haha...

2 teaspoons oni?! tat's very little! think probably not enuff intake so he feel hungry. Or probably A is some1 who cant take "big" meals, must hv many small meals.

my boy stopped his midnite feed probably in feb. he is turning 2yo next mth..

bkk
ok monday onz! which one we go, SAM? National Museum? Want to do the NMS first since that's until 26 June, whereas SAM at 8Q one is until 18 Jul?

Free admission for children under 3, u think ours can pass as under 3? heh.

We can meet 10? 1030? Then we can get some activities in, lunch, and then #2 will need to nap (which he can possibly do in the stroller, will have to see!)

Esty

Yessss i definitely think that they've brought out the worst in me man!!
A is really not keen on solids. Sometimes i have to put it to his lips so he has a taste before he will even open his golden mouth. He seems to like outside food more, but also v hard to predict what he will like or won't like, and seems to be dependent on his mood. haiz!

Hi Iso
I'm gonna be there at Dome, SAM at 10am. Yup, that's the plan - 10 ish, activities, lunch and then home for the girls and work for me. Another friend with 2 girls coming too

I think A is like my K - loves milk more than solids. Give her milk anytime and she can wallop a big bottle but food? nah! unless it's noodles.

Recently, hb had enuff of S waking for milk so he did the sleep training (I support! hah.) S drinks at 8pm, sleep btw 8-9pm, wake at midnight and then 4 or 5 for another round. First, we make sure she eats dinner goot goot and then give a big bottle at 8pm. At midnight, when she wakes, I go in and tap tap her back to zzz. Then at 4am, she ngeh ngeh, hb will tap tap her back to zz. Finally, at 6.30 or 7 am, she gets a bottle. It was tough the first 4-5 days but it got easier. Strangely, her 4-5 am wake up times were extended naturally to 6-7 am. Managed to stretch her to almost 11 hrs every night.

It must be a second child syndrome - this liking outside food more business. MIL keeps complaining that S doesn't want to eat home cooked food cos we spoil her on weekends with outside food. Well, they are definitely exposed to more negative stuff earlier on becuz of their siblings.

Hello mummies!!!

Do you all still remember me? Crystal here. Lost my old username so created a new one. It's been a looooooong time since I last logged in to this thread. How's everyone doing? Time flies hor. My kids are 3yo and 2yo liao. Finally can catch some breath this yr that both of them are in full day cc now.

Bkkgal
Welcome to SAHM club! Hope to get to meet you more often soon. and I believe you will cope fine without a maid. I've been through this phase too and all is well now. and before you knew it, you would have gotten over this phase! Jiayou jiayou tgt ok?