(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

any mummies want desitin or orajel? i have extra ones that i'm trying to sell off.. let me know

Clover tks! Will check it out.

Pauline, the bible was indeed very farnie..haha

sigh-dun rely too much on the maid especially with the more impt tasks n things(hse security, children & food) check check spot check n random checks!

Leila
Ever since no 2 was born 3 mths back, no. 1 eats the food as everyone else. no time to cook separately. sometimes apportion out and season separately. now we also feed him outside food

crossing fingers wrt maid. hope my mil made a good choice. she chose just by looking at her pic
. reading all these posts about maid is making me nervous.

Usually if Ashlynn eats rice with us, it's with seasoning. When we eat outside, she also eats with us.

Re: maid
I have a few questions. Hope anyone can enlighten me.
1) do u buy separate loaf of bread, spread, etc for her or share wif the family? If yes, is it eat the same spread until finsh then buy new one or give her 2 kinds for variety.
2) how does ur maid call home? We buy the prepaid card? She is indon so how much to buy and what is the frequency to call back?

will be going to hong kong next week. any tips on where to eat / shop? where are the baby clothes outlet shops? any info is greatly appreciated cos have no time to do any research!

Pauline.. really pay $$ and buy anger and frustrations lor. Is there a possibility that ur helper purposely do all these to irritate u so that she can be sent home?? cause u mentioned she wants to go home rite?

Re:babies
Is there a 9 weeks growth spurt? #2 is still sick, appetite was bad a few days ago but suddenly yesterday and today gd appetite,, kept crying e whole night , i could not figure out whjy till i gave him milk. Tortured me from 111 plus to 1 plus.. i am so tired and feel so heaty. I realise if dun sleep well at night, lack of sleep body gets very heaty one.

bx,

just to share...
re: maid
1) for us, she shares the same loaf of bread & spread with us. we do have a few types of spread due to individual preference. i like peanut butter, my mum likes kaya.
2) we get her calling card to call home. u can get those $10 ones to start with. for frequency of calls, it depends. for mine, on avg she call about 1-2 times per month and on her kids' birthdays (she has 4 kids) or when they r sick.

Pauline.. really pay $$ and buy anger and frustrations lor. Is there a possibility that ur helper purposely do all these to irritate u so that she can be sent home?? cause u mentioned she wants to go home rite?

Re:babies
Is there a 9 weeks growth spurt? #2 is still sick, appetite was bad a few days ago but suddenly yesterday and today gd appetite,, kept crying e whole night , i could not figure out whjy till i gave him milk. Tortured me from 111 plus to 1 plus.. i am so tired and feel so heaty. I realise if dun sleep well at night, lack of sleep body gets very heaty one.

genice,
i suspect there may be a 9 weeks growth spurt coz baby A was drinking a lot before he fell sick. now he only drinks abt 100ml and need to break into 2 feeds.

happy,
thanks for responding!! u all quite close to ur helper right? read from ur blog entries. that's why share bread and spreads. usually do u know if other families practise this?

she use ur house phone to call? so base on her frequency, $10 can last how long? btw, each time she call she talks how long?

bx
wah, what was A drinking during his growth spurt? my A is drinking almost every 2 hours, between 60-80, for him that's growth spurt already, haha.

clover
np ;)

Bx.. how is baby A??

Gar.. u cna try stanley mkt, they do sell a lot of baby clothes( US brands), i bought quite a bit of stuff there and of coz the outlet shopping mall at East gate or city gate, cant really remember. Stanley mkt is far... but we went there after going to victoria peak, took a bus there.. it was quite fun, We also took a bus up Victoria Peak too instead of the tram.. get to take in all the sights and enjoy the cool weather.. not bad.

iso,
he was drinking 140ml every 2.5 hours.

genice,
still coughing on and off. and i can still hear phlegm. i think he too used to sleeping in the hospital. come back keep ngek ngek the whole night.

gar/genice,
i love the shopping at the city gate. planning to go HK with Ashlynn this dec. will go stanley mkt coz we missed it the other time we went.

bx,
yes, i m quite lucky tat so far our helper has been good and not giving us any trouble (still fingers crossed though)... there r some families who will and some will buy separate bread/spread for d helper. it depends on your comfort level.

yes, she will use my house phone to make the calls.
this is the calling card we usually get for her, click on d link and u can find more details..
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/international_calls/international_calling_services/hellosuptmsup_card_description.asp
usually 1 card can last her at least a month. the duration per call varies, if she is calling her mum to inform her about the remittance she made, it probably take about 5 mins. if she called to check on her kids and family, she may talk for 10-15 mins.

initially our helper paid for the calling card (which is quite standard for most cases), but due to her good performance, we decided to pay for it. And so far she did not abused this privilege.
So u can start with having ur helper pay for the calling card and monitor her usage 1st..

bx,
Re maid: I share the bread and all spreads with maid. but i did specifically point out which are the spreads i allow her to eat cos there are some items i dun allow her to eat/share with us (e.g. manuka honey, cheese for G) even then i still have 4 types of spreads for her to 'choose' from. for me its purely becos the food usage is slow and i'm happy for her to 'help me eat' (so i can buy new ones, haha)
i think there are no hard rules it all depends on your personal comfort level. maybe can start off being more strict and dun share and review when u feel more comfortable with her?

re: maid
reason why i ask about the sharing of bread and spreads is because she eats so little like 1 slice a day so it's a waste to buy one whole loaf for her. i also put myself in her shoes that eating only one kinda spread everyday is so boring.

happy,
so far i'm also quite please with my maid. but of coz this is just the start only. but as a form of encouragement, i will buy the card for her.

I wonder how it feels to have a maid at home?? Like got somebody ectra walking ard.. so must keep giving instructios one har??

bx
WOW!! every 2.5 hours some more! if i give my A 70-90mls, he can last almost 3 hours. but then he is not poo-ing, so i guess he is making the most of all the milk, haha.

happy
then when the card runs out does she tell you? or u will just buy periodically?

genice
i think it depends on how much initiative they have. my mum's maid is v good, everything auto one. and she's only been with us for 3-4months? (i can't remember).

anyway, i'm going to be SAHM! woohoo!!
at least until next year, then i'll look around to see if got any good jobs.

genice,
b4 i hv helper, i hv more negative feelings abt them.. d thot of living with a total stranger put me off sometime.. but i agreed with hb's view on having an extra pair of hands should our main care taker (mainly my mum, occasionally my mil) is not available to take care of our kids. if d helper is "automatic" enough, there is no need to keep giving her instructions. my 1st maid who lasted about 1 month (a fresh young indo), not sure if really ignorant/act blur, she has low initiative and will only do when my hb asked her to.

iso,
yes she will tell me when her card runs out. we do stock a couple at home though but only give it to her when she asked.

bx - me too share the bread with the maid (but i seldom eat bread too..in fact i eat my cereal with soya bean (not her cup of tea), as for spread recently i ask her to choose her own spread, she chose a orange marmalade which i din fancy, so i guess that's hers to eat..haha

i decided to hold my temper and just have a calmer attitude how to handle her mistakes..she is very forgetful, but at least i see she has a good heart, so i think i better be less harsh on her.

h@ppy - if calling from home using a international calling card, our phone charges is only normal phone rate? and while the international charges is deducted from her card?

ql,
no local chg incurred cos they need to dial into the toll free access number to make the call..

yes, d international charges will be deducted from the card.

genice
now with ILs, but this evening will go to new place and will be there for a while because my mum and her maid are staying with us while my mum renovates.. after that if got helper then we'll continue to stay there, if not stay with ILs.

I'm like you, if i see floor is dirty i will want to clean it! but with E around it's hard to do housework becuase he always wants to "help". but like my MIL says, yue4 pang1 yue4 mang2. headache!

iso.. thats gd!! Staying at ur own place.. tmr.. i will be there for fren;s hsewarming.. can visit u leh.. haha.. if u dun mind lah.

Yar.. the tots always like that so now is i need to clean the floor, i will pass it to her to do it first till she is sick of it then i will take over or i will do it when she is not ard.. faster...

Genice,
For my case, my hse already got lotsa ppl, one more maid makes no diff. So far she is quite ok. She will play with Ashlynn and entertain her. And we have our meals, she auto pour water for us. And I got her to wash, sterilize and assemble my pump. The chore I hate most!!

genice - hope the kids & u r better already?

bx - first time, we buy most of the things for her, new slippers,clothes (some berms n tee), underwear n bra (she came with 2 pathetic bra..sigh),pads,tolietries. i told her after she finish all these, she will buy with her money.

bx - u got to monitor how they wash your baby stuffs,pump - washing is not simply as straightforward as u think (first few times i taught just wash lor..no special method of washing right..haha). mine used the bottle brush to scrub the milk bottles so hard then i told her,no need to use all your cow strength leh, the plastic surfaces of the bottles will be badly scratched! then never use sponge to wash the inside of the nipple (i went to feel it cos i see still so oily)..so got to constantly check n "correct" them..if after a few times still the same, then they r lazy.

Ql, thanks for highlighting that. Esp babies feeding stuff muz be careful. They may not know how to observe the level of hygiene.

i think maybe not just the level of hygiene, but everyone got their own ways of doing things?

for q a while my SIL would even bring back milk bottles to wash, even though my nephew comes to my (ILs) place every day. When i ask her how come she dun leave here, she dun want to say. then later i see like the tip of the teats aren't really washed that well, so maybe she dun like the way my MIL wash! heh.

Iso - hehe..but if own MIL or mother comment liao, they would care right - if it affects their grandchild..but maid different le..they might rem first few times..but ultimately not their kin, they won't bother so much.

XY,

Re: maids

Seems like oni happymum2b is the oni 1 satisfied wif her maid ya. haha... Lucky You!

I'm crossing my fingers that my new one (coming 2molo) is a decent one. Hb & I oni wish that the new one has the initiative. Not everything/everytime I must instruct.

I guess if our own parents/ILs who help us, things will definitely b different. Most grandparents love their grandchildren rite. I choose 2 believe tat.

But maids... Not all truly love our kids. My previous and this current one told me they love kids. Yes, initially. But time will tell.

Few pple told me, u cant expect maids to do everyting. of cos i dun. But i expect the minimum tasks 2 be done, my kids' safety, hygiene etc. tat's all. Are my expectations too high? I think I can do all these myself. But currently now i cant. Reason being Cayenne and Cayden age 2 near. Cayenne not even in school, she still hasnt been able 2 nap/sleep on her own etc.. tat's y i need some help now...

Bx,

we aso share bread and spread wif the maid. my maid choose food 2 eat. nice and up 2 her liking, she will finish fast.

toiletries i use 2 pay 4 her. but i realize she abuse the privilege. and due 2 her poor performance, i made her pay 4 all these.

IMO, i tink it is best 2 set ur rules and regulations 1st then if she is really a gd helper, then u can ease some rules off or give her treats etc. if u beginning treat her 2 nice, i dunno la. i feel they will take advantage of u. I've been thru it.

Esther - so u sent the current one back to agent? ur new one is Indon? after a while, all will chut pattern hor..sigh..difficult to find one that truthfully commits to working

Esther,
How u tell her u r not going to pay for her toiletries? U told her that due to her poor performance, u not paying?

Aiyoh I hope mine dun chu pattern.

Genice, ya lor, it is possible but I dun think so cos she does not know that the agent spoke to me.

Bx, not yet but I am planning for next year but dun know what career move to make yet so no concrete plans. Elfa cc principal called me just now. They have vacancy starting oct 10 instead of jan11 which I was planning. Dun know whether to send raeanne to cc early. Until now she cannot eat on her own or nap on her own (only 45 mins if she sleeps on her own). Wonder if she will improve if we send her to cc? How about Ashlynn? Is she more independent?

QL,

Yes, gg 2 send tis current back 2molo. New one coming 2molo as well. New one is flipino, tat's y i more afraid. Cos hear many "bad" stuff abt them lor. Of cos there are gd ones ard. I jz pray hard mine is decent. Hopefully can "shun shun" work thru the next 2 yrs. If cannot, then i will do without maid liao. Alredi told hb tat at most when he flies, i will pack myself & kids 2 my dad's place. (We bot a flat, moving in next yr), so if next yr, the new one cannot mk it, i will send her off lor. I'm reali sick of scolding maids, sometimes i aso scold cayenne. So u can imagine the hse is full of my scolding! Actually not gd 4 the family, esp the kids. I even feel frustrated and tends 2 get angry more easily. Sigh...

Bx,

Iniitially i told her i will pay 4 hers. After 5mths plus, I simply told her "I wan you to pay for tis (if she tell me she dun hv the sanitary pads) from onwards." Normally she wont ask y. or question u one. she will jz say yes mdm.

Duno if u rec'd my email abt the work schedule i draft up 4 my maid, initially she oni need both toilets once a wk. But upfront i told her, if i find the toilet not clean or u do a shabby job, you will wash twice a wk. So now, twice a wk lor. My dad's place got those TV console cum cabinet type. (last time used 2 be very popular type). So many display stuff. My previous maid oni cleans once a wk. Guess wat. My current one cleans thrice a wk! Believe anot! She simply no initiative 2 do tings. dirty aso dun clean, i hv 2 tell then she will do. So i boh bian lor, hv 2 "create tasks" 4 her. Mine hor, she can eng eng sit down at the rocking chair in the living hall in the afternoon, everyday! Doing nothing. So i ask ard my friends, all say their maids super bz. nothing 2 do, they will sure find tings 2 do. So i reali puzzled hw come mine so eng... after countless of scolding, she started 2 improve.. more bz nw.. BUT 2 late lor, i tink she cant be a maid, so i intend 2 send her back 2 her hometown. Dont wish 2 "hai" other prospective employers who reali need helpers. Mine aso like some mummies' helpers, "sorry" never come out frm her mouth. she will jz stare at me or dun reply me. mk me more pissed off.

pauline,

i aso wish cayenne can nap/sleep on her own so tat i can hv more time wif cayden. tat y hb strongly suggest 2 send 2 whole day CC. say can learn 2 b independent, sociable etc... but i reali bu she de lor.. but will do so tis dec 2 try out. cos am tinking if i reali no maid, tink sending her 2 whole day CC probably is the best option so tat i can handle didi and hsework/cooking.. my plan is if after she get older, probably dun hv 2 be in whole day CC liao. can let her go 2 those few hrs K1.

So far cayenne can eat on her own. maybe u let Raeanne try 2 eat on her own? we let cayenne eat on her own when outside. home sometimes. on and off help her abit... i realize she can eat abit more on her own as compare i feed her.

Pauline,
No worries. The cc will encourage them to self feed. If they can't, they will teach them and feed them. Ashlynn also can't nap on her own. The teacher will lie down wif her and make her sleep. Once she falls asleep then she will go do her things. Independence? I dun really see it leh.

Bx, Esther, thanks for sharing. Actually raeanne can self feed but she refuse to do it nowadays. Even hold her own milk bottle Also refuse. Think she is learning to be manipulative. :p

happymum2b,

haha...

mine arrived yesterday... i realize her english kinda of bad leh. i tink worse than my 2nd indo maid. i tot filipino maids' english quite gd? i'm kinda of "kena tio shock" leh. she seems not able 2 understand simple instructions leh. arghh... but of cos oni 2 days here. will observe her more... reali hope she can mk it... i'm keeping my fingers crossed 2! haha...

hi gar,
thks for ur description, that s the condition L sleeps in as well.

THKS everyone for sharing how to feed adult food to our tods. now i more "fang xin" liao.

maids
wow! so much talk on maids. mine s now wid me for 2 wks. must say she does not have much initiative. so always gotto instruct. Thk i treat my maid pretty gd too leh, everything buy for her even phone call for the first 2 wks we let her call (each call 15 mins) out fm our pocket, following wks till end of the mth will be once a wk. Pretty lax wid food, what we eat, she eats, even at the restaurant(since she's too new to be left at home). Housewk wise, she s still v slow. Sometimes, i wonder if i have too many things for her to do cos she like v bo eng that at times i have to tell her to rest. n now, she even caught a cold!!!! *sigh* hope she doesn't pass it to us!!

btw, m woonder g usu how long aftr they wld "chut" pattern??

happy,
ur current maid has been wid u for how long liao??

pauline,
L also like that, now don t wanna hold bottle himself. self feed also no interest to further practice since he s not gd at it yet. n guess what! when he does self feed, few mouths will say he s full n when we choose to believe him sometimes, he has this smug look lor....as if he s manipulating as well.

btw, on a different subject. can u let me knw how did u sort out the chores between ur confinement lady and ur full time helper??