(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

To think that we started off in this thread sharing abt our pregnancies then to our kids' milestones to now remedies for their cough and colds.

bx
ooh maybe i can try doing that too.

gar
ok thanks! i've been so busy w #2 that i forgot about the vicks remedies, shall try that tonight. maybe i should just do everything when he's asleep! socks confirm must do only after he sleeps..

leila
ok thanks! if the adult one is ok, i'll just use that first, heheh.

forgot to add, re: kid's cough
i try noot to let him sleep in ac when he's coughing or he has to wear socks.

when his nose is congested, i put him in enclosed bathroom, drop some eucalyptus oil in his bath water (must be hotter than his usual) n leave him to play with water.

Also cook diff soup for his cough.

Tongtong, I am also not sure but I faced a similar situation n hubby asked me to buy from book depository cos hecsaid shipping heavy books from amazon sure very exp. :p

Poor Genice n Bx, hugs! Hope your kids recover soon.

Gar, I have yet to try vicks rub too. Think must do it when she is asleep. :p

bx
oh i saw the photo of the physiotherapist doing it on A, he really looks like he's enjoying it! lol

blogging
mummies using blogspot + iphone, which app do you find is good for blogging? i'm experimenting with a new (and different) site :D

re: bookdepository
iso,
I received your the email too.
but currently too busy to check it out what are the books to buy.

re: cough
i used Snuffle Baby Rub, bought from John Little.
C loves it when I rub her chest, back and feet. She currently sleep with socks on and she actually requested that "I want to wear the socks". Good that she love wearing socks now.

She has mild fever again in the middle of night due to the heat and cough. Asked for water and toys after that. so funny. since she's still energetic, we didn't feed her paracetamol and fever subsided in the morning. Hope she's on the way of recovery.

genice/bx,
jia you jia you jia you!!

well, my big day is drawing near. slight discharge and I am going for induce tonight (select a good day la, haha..)
wish me luck!!

XY
good luck!!!! it feels like so long ago i was in the same position..

clover
the eucalyptus oil is just the usual essential oil? sounds like a good idea. actually last time the PD said just inhaling warm water is good too, but sometimes with a cold, i also don't want him to be in the bath too long?

colds
darn!! this time round i forgot to use the Karvol decongestant capsules! better do so tonight. last time i found them q effective - it's a bit like liquid vicks, which i put onto a handkerchief and put it near them. can also put in hot water.

Leila,
i am in a dilemma re air con. Same as you without it will be too hot but with affects the breathing n cough.

This is what I do - switch on aircon but adjust temp to 26/27. So it's cool not cold. Adjust vent so that there is absolutely no draft on baby. Put a basin of water so that air is not so dry. Apply the vicks liberally n wear socks. Encourage her to sleep on tummy cos somehow it helps too.

XY - have a smooth delivery!

may all babies get well soon, my hub invested in a SHARP dehumidifier and air purifier, hoping to improve our air quality and hopefully less cold n cough going around.

Good luck, all the best Xiaoyun!

Clover, thanks for the essential oil tip - I used eucalyptus in SM's bath today. Smells good and she was also happy playing in the water. I think even if doesn't work, psychologically I already feel good

Gar, me too - chest+soles of feet seems to work for SM. I apply and put her in a one piece long romper cos with socks, she can still kick it off during the night. But tonight, I applied on her back as per your instructions.

BX, Ashton looks so cute in your blog. Poor baby, I also feel heartpain dun say you. My neighbour taught me to do what your physio did for Kate last year. Problem is that K will struggle and run away as what your physio said so I was not successful with her. MIL did it for SM - dunno work or not but just now I observe that some slimy milk duds came out of her mouth. at the very least it's an action that we can do to help her lah. I didn't know physios do it, I thot it's just my neighbour sharing her baby experience with me, so we just followed.

Humidifying the room
Gar's method of having a bowl of water in the AC room is a simple method of humidifying the room. When I travelled with K to Penang and she had congested nose at that time, I boiled a kettle of water in the hotel room and put the water in cups and saucers everywhere in the room, and dropped 1-2 drops of eucalyptus oil in each cup/saucer. It helped to make the air less dry and helped her to sleep better too.

Vit C and Cod liver oil
Mom gave K cod liver oil since 1 yo. She started with the original flavour (yuck!) and she was ok but I was the softie mother who said eeeww, horrible, so I went to buy the orange flavour and of cos, after taking orange flavour, chey who wants original? After some months, I kay kiang went to buy strawberry flavour from Nordic Naturals, die liao lor, who wants orange flavour Scotts Emulsion when you get strawberry Nordinc Naturals? After that strawberry flavour one, I upgraded her to the chewables. So you see, my wallet keeps getting busted. My bad.

With SM, I learn liao - just stick to original if she can take it and stop at Orange flavour AT MOST.

Vit C - I gave Animal Parade multivit in liquid form. Noticed that every time I stopped for a few days, she will catch something. But if I consistently give, she seems more resilient. Waiting to finish the bottle so that I can give chewables.

Nowadays super KS - I give K multivits, DHA chewables and probiotics. This is her daily regimen on top of the medicines she has to take which are Ventolin, Zyrtec, mucosolvan, flixotide (puff) and singulair.

bkkgal, so many meds for K! =(

there were studies refuting abt vit c boosting immunity but it seems to work well on our kids leh.

Alex n i r taking e strawberry flavoured dha oil. It's not sweet n juz smell of strawberry. The taste is fishy for me but A seems to like it.

do u let ur kids go totally on the food adults eat at home?? m getting somewhat tired fm preparing L s food seperately.

Leila I have given up preparing separate food for raeanne since she started rejecting porridge almost 1 year ago. Then we will all eat baby friendly dinner, Now better, most foods are ok as long as we cut it smaller n it's not spicy.

Xy, jia you n have a smooth delivery.

think i better be more dilligent in giving vit C and probiotics so that E won't get sick so often..

humidifying
or, just buy a humidifier? since we sleep in air con all the time, we have a humidifier in each room for when we turn on air con. can also have essential oils but must be the special one. if we're coughing or have sore throats it's not so bad compared to when there isn't a humidifier.

it's so ironic that day time we want it less humid, night time we want it more humid with the air con on. if only an aircon can do both!

ops - i meant a humidifier..hmm..what am i thinking..

Baby H cheeky look, finally he pooed 2 big piles today after the 6th day.

4295675.jpg

bkkgal, was reading your post regarding the maid.

Sorry but I LOL when I read your post. Sounds so much like me. I've been screaming like a mad woman to the maid these few days. What can I say, things that she should have been 'auto pilot' mode by now, she is still making mistakes. And when I tell her off for the mistakes she make, she will either lower her head or come up with all kinds of excuses. Yup, 'sorry' is a billion dollar word that she will never use.

She has been behaving so distracted cos she spoke to her agent (my gal's classmate's Daddy) on the sly on wanting homeleave in Dec even though her contract is not up till Aug 2012. No news from the agent must have driven her nuts. Little did she know that the agent's staff has already spoken to me and I told her that I am not letting her go on home leave until June 2012. What if she never comes back after going in Dec. You don't know how these people think no matter how much salary you withhold from her. Raelynn is only 1 year old, too young to even go to CC and I'm quite sure ILs can't cope with 2 kids and I'm not keen to train a new maid nor go to ILs house to look after the 2 gals in the day.

In the meantime, the Filipino agent is on her way to Sg, arriving Sg tomorrow. Hope she and the local agent can come to my house soon to 'wake up her idea' and her head so that she can start working properly again.

Pauline - it's Hayden

bkk- I read ur new maid woes again..sound like mine..can still smile when I m so dead angry with her..today I told her straight when she couldn't understand me "the stupid things u do can make me angry to death"!! Haha..sorry for the broken English..I realized when I speak in better English it's never understood..sigh

these days my patience is very short with the maid.. The word stupid blurted out a few times..haiz

Qingling, forgive my poor memory. My maid has been driving me up the wall as you have read. :p

Yours in Myanmar right? At least yours and bkkgal's maids smile when scolded. Mine is plain defiant by refusing to look up nor acknowledge me. Which makes me want to shout even louder at her so that she will look up at me. Sigh, my temper has gotten worse since I have a maid. :p RaeAnne was so sweet, after I scolded the maid (for adding so much salt and not stiring the salt properly into the beaten egg before frying), she came to hug me and pat me on my shoulder because she knows that I am upset. Later, she even told hubby that she likes the 'salty' egg.

Pauline I agree our temper got worse after hiring a maid..haha.. Everyday sure has something to scold despite doing the same things

Re maid woes,
let me add a perspective that will make you feel better.

What if you didn't have a maid?
What if the one who does the wrong thing or forgets is your mom / Mil / hubby?

Would you get equally upset or scold? Cannot right? Just have to make the best of the situation or kaki lai ... Even if angry also must swallow for the sake of harmony, accept imperfection, and close both eyes

xy has popped! Her bb chose to come out earlier. Contraction starts 630pm last night. Bb delivered at 12am+. 3.435kg

Congrats, xy!! Enjoy your new bundle of joy..

XY, rest and recuperate well!

Gar
I guess alot of the frustrations with a maid stems from the fact that we pay them to give us grief. If it's family members, then I guess bo way kong lor. Our moms/mil care for the children out of love, therefore we must appreciate them, not get upset. That said, things done out of love are surely done with more heart, more thought.

Last night, maid did not close the main door and just went to sleep. I went to check the door abt 11pm, found that not only was it not latched, it was not even closed. You say angry or not? I ask her this morn. All she can say is sorry. If someone had broken in last night, it's all too late. But i dun think she even realised the severity of her mistakes.

QL/Pauline, I give up on rationalising, talking nicely already. Nowadays, just scold and tell her to go. dun stand there and look at me. there's just no sense of remorse or regret.

Ql, Pauline, Bkk,
I doubt I will ever scold the maid. Leave the job to mil. I am a known softie and pushover.

Xy,
Congrats!! Quite a short labour for u

wow! congrats XY!!
and a nice big size, good ah!

maids
think i'll be joining you in the woes soon, haha. but still looking around for one. but i think no other choice lah, because at ILs place my MIL is the maid. and with 2 boys obviously i can't be the one to be the maid!

Bkkgal, my maid did the same thing when she was a few weeks with me. Yup she also did not know the severity of her mistake. I think in their village they dun lock their doors? ;p

Bx, I was softer until I had a maid. Facing a person 24/7 is frustrating when she cannot follow your instructions again n again. That toughens me up in no time. But then maybe teachers have more patience so you will cope better.

Iso, good luck to you! Hope you get a good maid.

Xiaoyun, CONGRATS!! seems like mei mei will be bigger size than cheh cheh! hehe

leila, i think our tod can take adult food already, so you dont need to prepare separately for him. but if you are concern, then you dont cook so saltish or with so much seasoning. but it will affect the taste of the adults lor. hehe.

Pauline
HAHAHA, no doors in village lah!

Leila
my mom cooks the food and dishes a small portion out for K before adding the seasoning for adults.

Gar - like the incident bkk mentioned, i tink our family members will be more careful..i was in the room making Heidi napped, baby sleeping in the rocker in the living room, ask her to look after, then she went to throw rubbish, cleverly she locked the gate without taking the key, so she was outside for duno how long, until 1 hr later i came out, i saw her trying to take a stick to hook my keys..Duh...can u imagine if i leave her alone at home n look after the baby and out she goes and lock herself outside n my baby inside
? if fire happen, DIE la.

bx - i also think being so fierce to my maid is no good for my health, but like what Pauline said, face them 24/7 and the stupid things they do..sigh..out of exasperation then we scold them..

Bkkgal/qingling, sigh, I just scolded the maid again cos I caught her pouring my ebm into the pot to heat up with the blended avocado. Already told her so many times that ebm must be heated up separately in bottle warmer and not more than 40 deg. And she tried to boil my ebm !?! Wth! When I confronted, she still argue and keep saying she add a bit only. Told her a bit also cannot, what does the ebm come from? I got to squeeze it out drop by drop leh. U think it is tap water, just open the tap got ebm flowing out? Refuse to say sorry until I tell her to do it. How not to scold like that?

I am so pek chek that in the end I pass her a holy bible and ask her to talk to Jesus Christ and reflect whether what she did (never concentrate on her work, keep making the same mistakes again and again, refuse to admit mistake, argue, refuse to say sorry) is right since she is a catholic. No offence to the christians and catholics but i really dun know what else to do with her to wake up her idea, I am sure her God will do a much better job to 'kai dao' her than me.

Tongtong, haha, I am now telling myself, cool it cool it. If maid really cannot make it, send her back in dec. Worse case scenario, put raeanne to full day cc starting jan11 and I look after raelynn at my mil house for six months until I can put her at cc too. :p

OMG...i guess i underestimated the kind of "errors" maids can commit!

Really jia jia you ben nan nian de jing...

Jia you everyone!

Pauline,
Haha u r so funny abt the bible part.
If raeanne go full day cc, y need to go to mil to look after raelynn? Is it two hands better than one?

hort park
this sat and every last sat of the month there's a tour of the butterfly "garden" (it's q a small enclosure) from 9 - 11am. any mummies interested? i'm keen to bring E there (unless i have to do some house stuff!).
any mummies keen to go?

Bx, definitely two pairs of hands better than one if taking care of a baby who can't even walk. Cos I dun think I can look after raelynn on my own, cook her meals plus cook my meals. Tried it with raeanne, can die cos she is such a terrible napper, can sleep for only 30mins. But then again, maybe raelynn will be better, I dun know.