(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi tong,

4 me after 1 yr, i didnt increase. and never tot of increasing :p

but i do buy stuff 4 my bb sitter and her family now and then, on festive seasons aso.

tong,

ya i tink enuff ba...

tat day i jz met up wif my long time gf. she told me her bb sitter's charges is $550. tis charges was 4 yrs ago! haha...

genice,
after hearing abt G crying made me so sad. coz i will also be sending A to CCC in mar. can only do it in mar during my 1 week break coz i wanna be ard esp during her first few days. hope G will adapt soon!

gar,
the process of seeing the little crying everyday but less and less still sound very painful to me. haiz... i think i will cry along.

XY,
Congratulation for #2.
I send Channet to Hungry caterpillar last Tuesday on a half-day trial.
initially she like the class and the children likes her presence too. but the moment i went to the restroom, she cried like losing her mummy. So in the end I took her home. Anyway, we still need to take a 15mins bus to Hungry caterpillar. N my PIL dun really like industrial where there are heavy traffic, so we decide not to join there. What a pity. Otherwise Channet can be classmate with C.

Pauline,
Baking - I'm ideally Mixer brand is Kitchenaid cos I wanna make the macaroons. I have not have it as I still have not have my own hse. Now I have a chapo brand that costs only $20. Can also do the job for general baking.
Agreed with Reena u should try sponge cake first.

Reena,
Wa... U have a good collection of recipe. I must try out your recipe.

bx.. its heartbreaking. I just sent her there at abt 9 am then left a while ago. She cried after she found out that i wasnt ard. After some time the teacher managed to coax her to play some stuffs.. so she stopped crying and left. not sure whther she still crying or not.Which CCC u sending A? Near ur place?

Yesterday, my in laws just told me that they can look after my 2 kids!!! Sigh... if i know earlier.. would not send her for child care..I think they find her pitiful in the childcare centre.. hope next yr can get into st james ( have to wait till mar to confirm, sigh), than she can take sch bus to sch and it will only be 3 hr session.. i actually prefer that. Then i will pull her out of CCC.

Stephie.. i saw bek learning centre got quite a lot of students.

genice, bx,
ooopsss...think i very "hard hearted" mummy
i was well prepared for her crying after speaking to various friends and colleagues about their experiences. so i kind of like hardened my heart and - errm....applied cold turkey treatment.

of course sad to see her cry, but she did attach herself to one particular helper/teacher and allowed herself to be carried/hugged/comforted by this person. so i didn't feel too bad leaving her after spending about 30 mins there.

on a daily basis, the teacher would update us on her crying episodes (duration as well as over what occasions). like she enjoyed the activities, but in between when it was a bit quiet, she would start to cry (lonely perhaps)?

but my A is quite a strong girl, they told me that when she cried, she would tell herself "bu4 ku1 bu4 ku1" or don't cry in chinese, and after a while she would stop. so to me that is a positive development cos self-consoling is an important lifeskill.

it's tough lah, nobody likes to see the little one cry lor
but it is a part of growing up that some unfortunately have to deal with earlier in life (due circumstances) than others. our job as parents is to help ease them into it.

genice,
u r so lucky. my mil didn't tell me that she can take care of 2 kids. i oso think it is very difficult. i sending her to the CCC a few blks away. under YMCA. not the branded kind. got budget constraint leh. it's so ideal to send G to the 3hr playgroup. i will love to do that but impossible for me.

gar,
u r not "hard-hearted". more like strong-minded bah. hope that my A can be as strong as ur A

jeannie
maybe if u dun put G in CCC your ILs might not decide to look after? heh.
have u also considered maris stella? they're not as "popular" but also v good, it'd definitely be my first choice (out of any kindys anywhere!) but i think we will be living too far away, even take sch bus also troublesome. will see how when the time comes.

genice,
wah...so your problem settled right? so err, does G still need to go to CCC before #2 arrives? your ILs can look after her right?

bx,
thanks...you will be amazed how resilient our kids can be and i'm sure ur A will surprise you too!

baking,
aiyo i really tempted to try baking muffins...anyone has an easy muffin recipe for me?

Gar - once u start, u can't stop..haha..by the way, u send out the serum already? i waiting to put on serum to mei mei yi xia..haha...

clover! now that you mention your blog, i was just reading yest abt the dr. weissbluth part. what's the "extinction" method? recently E has been waking up every other night for some milk. suspect he has high metabolism like his mummy. when u refuse to give him BM at night, does he cry? or u give water? I do have the weissbluth book at home but haven't gone to check what the extinction method is, hee.

Westie mummies!

Have any of you been to the Clementi Children's Library? it's not bad, got a VERY large selection of children's books in all 4 languages, and got small tables and chairs for tots, and they can run around and u won't feel so pai seh as normal libraries.

Only thing is if u borrow books there u have to return it there also. A bit troublesome. But otherwise, I love it!

http://www.nlb.gov.sg/Corporate.portal?_nfpb=true&_windowLabel=PlLibraryLocations_1_1&PlLibraryLocations_1_1_actionOverride=%2FIBMS%2FplLibraryLocations%2FlibraryDetailsDisplay&PlLibraryLocations_1_1BranchCode=CMCCL&_pageLabel=corporate_page_visitus_AllLibraries

Genice, even though RaeAnne is only attending playgroup, her teacher carried her for 1-2 weeks until she adapted. Even when she had to bring other kids out of the classroom to go toilet, my gal has to tag along. Hee.

Hubby's birthday is today and I have already baked the cake with a bit of help with my CL. The cake mixer is really useful, the cake rised beautifully but using temp of 180, the sides are a bit brown while the centre portion was not fully cooked. So end up got to set to 160deg and bake it for another 5 mins for the cake to cook thorougly. :p

gar, I took the lazy way for muffins. Bought betty crockers' blueberry muffin mix and they even include a can of blueberries. So convenient. Anyway, RaeAnne loves it so good for me liao. :p

iso, i haven't update my blog for a while. good to know u still read! hehe. the extinction method basically is a cry it out method with a routine. the routine comprises of bath, milk, story reading, prayers, n hugs/kisses. we told him good night n then closed the door. last night he whimpered for 10sec and slept on his own.

today he also slept on his own for his afternoon nap. the method allows the kid to learn to sleep on their own.

i also weaned him off totally from 1 jan. =) his last bm feed was in the mid day. when i weaned him off bm for nite time, we gave him water only. initially he fussed but was too sleepy to fight, so it took him 2, 3 days to realised the good old nites are over and he didn't wake up for milk anymore.

yay to more ME time!

bx
yes, i'm going to be goldilocks and the 3 boys... :D

clover
oh ok, before what was the bedtime routine? usu i have to sit in the room with E, but he will be on the bed and fall asleep on his own. same with naps. but if he's not asleep yet and i leave the room he will call for me. sometimes can be 5 mins sometimes can be 15 mins, but usu not too long. i would love to just say good night and then close the door but sometimes i like the time with him also, haha.

i think maybe it's time for me to try water also. can't imagine how tired i'll be when #2 arrives and if he keeps waking!

iso, congrats on the boy! i used to lie down with him for at least an hour every night to make him sleep. Then i get super grouchy which is mentally unhealthy for me, so i decided enough is enough and tried out this method. now we all r happier coz quality of life got better. =)

i think the water method shld work on E.

Clover, about the method you mentioned, you mean after hug/kiss, u just need to shut the door and leave him inside the room? Or you got to accompany him in the room too? How long do you take for this method to work? Congrats that you have more me time now!

Happy belated new year!

Hi Xiao Yun,

So that time you always cold is cause you were preggy :p

RE: childcare

I placed Danica in 2 hours playgroup. First 2 days I was with her. This morning, I sent her there and when I said goodbye, she cheerfully waved to me and blew me a kiss. So I guess she is enjoying herself. :p

iso,

clover,

same as tong. am interested 2 knw abt the closing door part. u jz leave ur boy inside the room, he wont be able 2 open the door rite. 4 the 1st few nites, wont he cry too much? I mean becos scare inside the room alone and cant open the door himself?

hw do u tackle tis pro?

i hv 2 sleep wif my gal or at least lie down wif her till she rolled over me, sat on me, walk up and down till she happy happy, then sleep. but at times when i too tired and get upset. i will use the bad tactic lor. i would say "u better sleep nw ah, if not, "more more" will come and catch u, "more more" dun like notti gals. then she will lie dwn and sleep. but not always 100% effective.

note : "more more" means monster. keke ;p

re : Childcare

talking abt childcare, this mummy chickened out while having maternity leave. sent cayenne 4 2 days oni 2 hrs, kena sick 2 wks. and spread 2 mummy. ;p

withdrew her frm CC. decided 2 send her 2 PG though havent find one yet. confirm becoming SAHM frm feb onwards liao. "fire" my boss on just this mon. ;p

Congrats Iso! Btw, u got my PM?

Clover.. do u switch off the lights??

artemis, danica is coping well.. thats very good.

i switched off the lights, dimmed whatever lights i can find, e.g. on fan n alarm clock and pulled down the shades.

he still sleeps in the same room as us and always wants to sleep on our bed but after hugs/kisses and good night, we put him in the cot, left the room and closed the door. then we timed how long he cried n checked on him 20mins after he stopped crying. always he would be asleep by then.

1st night: 20min
2nd night: 5min
3rd night: 2m
4th night: 1/2m
5th night: 20s
6th night: failed coz mil bb-sit him. she petted him to sleep but he fell asleep within 10m
7th night which is last night: 10s

genice,

i havent paid anyting yet. but supposed 2 pay the deposit & 1 mth on the 1st day. but totally 4gotten and we jz left the school. so tot of paying on the 2nd day. but 2nd day, the more i see, the more sim tia i got. so after 2hrs i brought Cayenne back & maybe i was pretty "upset" and confused tat i 4got 2 pay again. ;p

discussed wif hb and decided nt 2 send, so on the 3rd day, call up 2 say i dun wish 2 send cayenne there but i wan 2 pay 4 the 1st 2 days. the principal say dun need. cos initially agreed upon, cayenne supposed 2 hv 3 days trial which is free.

regards to the uniform, the principal told me oni 2 get them 2 wks later.

u confirm withdrawing G frm CC? if u can hang on like Gar and other mummies, do so. 4 me, i really cant. so thus my decision 2 be a SAHM.

sorry, i v cheong hei.

sleep begets sleep. this is a v true statement. now alex already establishes a sleep routine, n he becoms sleepy like clockwork. he gets more sleep and we both feel better. =) win-win situation.

Hi genice,

Yes, I guess she is coping pretty well. When I went to pick her up 2 hours later, she happily showed me the bird/duck picture (I can't really tell) on a stick that she made during her playgroup. I'm really glad she didn't test me by having a meltdown. Not sure if I would be "hard-hearted" enough not to stay. :p

gar,
To invest in the bento set and keep for special occassion doesn't seem very justifiable leh... I've seen this blogger, she has lots of bento ideas, really salute her effort and time spent.

tongtong,
I hope you are feeling better today. Rgdg the bento BP, the prices are cheaper by $1 - $2 and some same price as the other seller I've enquired. Also, for the disney cutters, it's available in Taka/Tangs/Carrefour/BHG at $8+ only. I bought my egg moulds (pic below) really cheap, only 100 yen (like Daiso) for a set of 4.

3466465.jpg

3466466.jpg

xy,
Oh.. so far? Thought it's somewhere nearby then I can consider sending DD3 there too. Rgdg language, my thought is if you do not practice Japanese at home, then it's meaningless as they will soon forget. Language takes alot of practise. JMHO.

genice and whoever sending their toddlers to childcare,
It is normal if they cry (although some don't) but as parent, do not show your separation anxiety. I've witnessed this with my own eyes when I was registering DD1 in a CCC years ago. Parents came and go, the children cried like nobody's business. After 5 mins, they were running and playing with friends/teachers. And the teachers get stucked in a situation when parents relent to leave, thus creating more problems for the teachers as they can't pacify the crying children.

qingling,
The earl grey cake is nice too, if you like drinking this tea.

clover
heh thanks. I can imagine, it IS tiring if they take too long! now E sleeps around 10pm, wakes about 730/8am, sleeps 2-3 hours nap. although during the day he is hardly grouchy, i think he could use with more sleep!
did you say you stay with ILs? I contemplated letting him cry it out a few times but i know ILs sure won't agree with the method..

qingling
tx tx!

jeannie
got it!! tx tx... urs boy also?? :D

artemis
tx tx.. of cos hb counted as a boy too, haha.

Esther
tx tx! sometimes i also have to be "strict" with E, tell him firmly that it's bedtime, and he has to lie down. I won't give him pacifier unless he lies down. Otherwise i think if they have the chance they will continue wanting to play and jump around all over the place..

garfield
A is so cute. know how to self-console and tell herself not to cry. v dong shi for her age.

genice
how many students did you see at bek? last time, there were abt +/- 10 kids when my gal was there.

how much are you paying for G's cc now?

garfield
i used to have a very simple muffin recipe, somemore just mix and fold. no need to use mixer/beater at all. my bro even baked some muffins many years ago and it turned out fine. all my recipes stuck in cupboard for many years till i can't recall where is which recipe. reena's blog have quite a nbr of recipes, you can start from there perhaps?

tongtong,
For bb sitters, my understanding is once they start solids, you either increase price or you buy the ingredients for bb sitter. As far as annual increment, I've not heard of that unless bb sitter ask for it due to inflation. But it's not a norm unless you feel that your bb sitter is doing an excellent job and wants to give her more.

Esther,
$550 per month now? Wow, that's super cheap! The last time when I enquired during DS2's time (about 4 yrs ago), it's already like $650.

Blueginger,
Thanks! If you attempt any of my recipes, do let me know how it turned out for you.

bx,
Just curious why ain't you considering Kiddy Academy which at Blk 114? My niece attended the one at Blk 123, she developed gastric at around 3 as she was't given enough food. But then again, they may have improved over the years as my niece is now in P4. I used to bring my kids to the playground in front of the CCC, and I've seen the teachers, if you were to ask me, I don't think they have passion towards children. Just sharing my thoughts if you don't mind.

qingling,
I didn't use molasses for the gingerbread cookie, I replaced with sugar syrup.

gar,
I have quite a few muffin recipes, here they are:

http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/search/label/Muffins

and I agree with qingling, once you start, you can't stop hahahaha

Pauline,
I used to buy BC's premix blueberry muffins but I find them slightly too sweet. Nevertheless, they tasted great.

clover,
I wish I can let DD3 sleep by herself but I'm so constrained with 2 elder ones. And I hated it when I have to spend at least 30 mins lying on the bed with her, trying to make her sleep (and I'm most sleepy at that time), then I start doing my chores. And when the whole family is sleeping, I'm wide awake washing the laundry, folding and hanging the clothes. All my 3 kids hates to sleep. They can endure till the night and still refuse to sleep unless I force them to. I did the CIO method with DS2 when he was 2. It took more than 2 weeks but he still didn't relent, prob because his nature is more "long-winded". He can cry for 1/2 hour - 1 hour, even up till now. But at least the 2 older ones are sleeping by themselves now.

Esther,
Welcome to SAHM club

tong,
i find yomeishu tastes better than DOM - sweeter.

genice/garfield,
agree with you about the 'love' of the teachers towards the kids is important.
this is what i try to observe when i visit CCC too.
i like the fact that the teacher's eye will follow the movements of the kids even though she's talking to me. (probably she's afraid that C will spoil her things, then i don't know liao. haha..)

genice,
there's a 18 month old kid also brought her carebear to CCC too. everyday different colors.

so you decided to withdraw her?
i think without u sending G for trial, ur PIL might not offer taking care of 2 leh.. :p

gar,
so cute that A can self console herself.
you must have been teaching her that all this while right?

qingling,
so fast backache liao.
do you put support pillow on the chair?

iso,
re: nap
she did get tired out and nap within a few minutes yesterday. no crying.
at night, she just konked out half an hour earlier than her usual nap time. go to school is so tiring for her..

the price is quite reasonable. quite worthwhile to send for half day too.
there will be quite some activities in the afternoon from 3 to 5:30pm. half day CC will miss out all these.

bluegin,
too bad channet is not joining C. think i will keep her there till K2 if she likes the place.
agree with you that the traffic around that area is crazy. morning and evening sure jam one.
to us, it's just walking distance. but it will be troublesome if it rains.
they have school bus for the kids too. $140 per month - one way (morning).

clover,
i wanted to ask u about the extinction method too.
thanks for explaining it here. now C doesn't need it anymore. she has got the 'tire out' method. :p

iso,
haha.. 2 small boys + 1 big boy.
congrates.

artemis,
yup. the cold is because of the weather and hormone change.

lucky now the weather is warmer, now i feel better.

reena,
can consider the school bus?
mil say she can practice jap with my sis as she has got JLPT 2.
agree that language needs practice. i learned malay for 12 years and now still can't speak well. :p
anyway, not able to talk to the teacher yesterday. will see how's she adapt to the program first then ask again.

hi moms

office intranet down. that's why can come and kpo.

re: childcare
K's first day - she seems to enjoy herself. I didn't have to take out my kleenex. I deliberately distanced myself, let her do her own things, she didn't seem to look for me. Teachers were good, always looking out for the kids. Only thing I was not too pleased abt was that snack consisted of pancakes, choc chips and honey - the teachers made them do a bear face with the pancakes, choc chips and honey. Of cos,the kids ate only the choc chips. No one touched the pancakes and itwas a mess! since it was an art& craft activity, i couldn't say no but i will definitely ask to see the lunch/snack menus from now.

Observation: 3 boys, 3 girls in K's class - all the boys bawled and none of the girls shed a tear. 1 boy cried non stop for 2 hours until time to go home then he smiled. The girls happily played with the kitchen toys and listened to the teacher's instructions.

Another of my frens who sent his dd to Pre-N on Monday also made the same observation - funny huh?

Esty/Reena, I have the same problem with RaeAnne. She doesn't like to sleep, usual bed time is 11pm. Sigh. If I do what Esty does, I may be able to get her to sleep half an hour earlier but I'm usually busy BF the baby so can only let hubby do the job and he usually waits for her to be super tired then just carry/pat a bit then she'll knock out. :p

Anyone can advise what aircon you are using at home? I got 2 air con units that are spoilt so thinking of changing the whole system. Don't know which brand/model is good, cold but quiet yet easy on the utilities bill? ;P

reena,

thanks 4 the welcome. hope i can do a gd job as u!

kitsune,

i normally let my maid bottlefeed breastmilk 2 cayden 4 his nite feed. (usually is ard 8plus,9pm) tis timing is soley reserved for cayenne. alot of pple tink tat when #2 comes, #1 will get neglected. for my case, it is totally opposite! i tink cayden is the one kena neglected. *guilty* so i will compensate back 2 cayden once i hv more time @ home.

RaeAnne get jealous over her sister? Does she dotes on her sister? When u feed mei mei, she got jealous, dun wan u 2 feed mei mei anot?

2 mths ago, jz changed 2 the starmex air con. the one liang zhi qiang advertisement. didnt reali check out the bill difference though. it is quiet and cold! sometimes during nite, i turned to 27deg! still very cold! ;p

on average, i on 26deg

qingling,
oops...sorry, no chance to go to post office yet. i'll try to pop by on friday ok?

stephie, xy,
ya i was surprised to hear she can self console. i didn't teach her, but maybe my mom did.

iso,
congrats! imagine all the "me" time you will have when the boys are older and daddy engages them in more masculine activities! muahahahaha....

clover, reena,
thanks for sharing your recipes, can i check - what's the difference between mixing and creaming method? so i don't need a cake mixer just whisk the ingredients by hand is it? oh and i love banana muffins, any special type of banana that i should use?

reena,
ya v wasteful to buy the bento equipment and not make full use. and i hardly have time to cook, so maybe i should save $$ and not splurge. let me start baking muffins first cos i know A loves them!

pauline,
thanks! will try both the ready premix and the "from scratch" methods, see which i can handle better!

gar
or when they go off to play soccer. I can't wait!! :D
but ya A is so cute to tell herself not to cry! i think she is quite self aware at such an early age! usu as toddlers they are just overwhelmed by their emotions and will just cry?

bkk
that proves that boys aren't as mature as girls, and it probably lasts all through life. wahahah.

XY, bx,
thanks thanks.. actually B or G, as long as healthy can already lah.

XY
you mean she nap within a few mins in the sch?