(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

First work day of the year. Super not in the mood! Starting my handover to colleague already. Going to start maternity leave in 2 weeks.

Qingling, great idea! If I pop early, will still make sure hb goes with K and take lots of photos for me. My poor K - birthday right smack in CNY - i have no energy to plan anything for her. My mom volunteered to organise early party for her. I will probably get her an Elmo cake to bring to school. Will see how lah, haven't packed hospital bag, or prepared anything for meimei yet. (Gar, your list made me panic!)

Childcare
K starts childcare this Wed. More nervous abt this than her :p Time to take out the tissue box!!! (for the parents)

Re: Netbook
Thanks for all your inputs! Seems like the lenovo s10 is quite popular
I prob get it after i further 'study' it tonight

Dor,
How to buy from hardwarezone? Thought its a forum (the IT version of SMH?)

bkk-2 weeks..wow, cool!!!!

my temp staff cannot come in le
, got to start looking for my replacement during my ML again. sigh. anyone interested in a 9 months contract job? pay around 2.5k per month.

i am tired.
send C for childcare visit this morning to see if she likes the environment. end up she join in the class and i registered her for full day childcare today!!

went for 2 childcare centres.
1st one: The Orange Tree
doesn't like their kitchen and bathroom/toilet and the supervisor. kids are very noisy too.
so, brought her to 2nd choice immediately.

2nd one: Hungry Caterpillar
the classroom, kitchen, bathroom/toilet are clean.
teachers are attentive. everything is very orderly. kids are very happy - no shouting, etc.

didn't prepare her stuffs in the first place, so got to rush back home to pack her clothes, pillows, bao bao, milk bottles. etc.

going to fetch her later.

XY, wow - whirlwind tour and sign up? No waiting list? That's so good - no need to deal with prepping C for class. strike while iron is hot!

Why did u choose full day, may I ask?

bkk
2 weeks to go, so nice!! i'm counting down to my ML. another 4.5 months to go. sianzzzzz ;)

XY
congrats that C enjoyed it!! no need for you to worry so much.

parties
after surfing a bit, i'm so excited now!! i won't do helium balloons as our place is small, but i'll definitely go for some party packs and maybe table cloth, etc. heh.

Qingling/Iso,
Your turn will come
My colleague who's taking over me just came back from maternity leave. Sigh, I'm seeing her and thinking of myself in a few months' time. *dread*

iso,
you moving to the duxton? saw some pics posted in your fb

re childcare,
wah... didn't expect a lot of kids to start so early! i am just putting C in waiting list for end of this year... couldn't get a place for early this year. can i check if most of your tots are potty trained? i still haven't start and my sis say must start soon else too late

tute,
i think it's mostly MTBs who are expecting their #2s who are putting their tods to cc. If I'm not preggy, I will put K to playgroup cos the truth is, I'm pretty afraid of the viruses she'll pick up at cc.

Dun worry abt potty training. When u send C to cc, he will learn. The teachers told me that how they train is to do 1 hour activity and ask the kids whether they wanna go and they keep doing that until the kids get the cue. Those who are already trained will set example for those not trained.

Iso,
You're welcome...fun shopping right? I'm also scouting around for something for A's playgroup. finally found a place that does dora explorer cakes, so i'm a happy mom now (another task ticked off)

XY,
wah...i'm impressed! that's good! at least you don't have to worry about her easing into CC

Tute,
agree with BKK, i wouldn't be sending A so early if not for #2. re potty training - mine is not yet trained, but my mom only started trying last month (she lets A go without diapers, and then when A wets herself, she will tell A that she is supposed to go to potty so that she won't wet herself) seems to have some success cos sometimes i witness A running towards the potty and throwing the lid off to wee wee...v cute and hilarious!

xy, wah u so efficient! Btw, start with a basic bread recipe tt will guarantee success!

Muffins
i just made cranberries muffin today for hb's colleagues. Was supp to be for xmas. I like making muffins. It's easier, faster than baking a cake n less things to wash. Hur hur.

bkk
will you be taking all 4 months at one go? the time will fly man..

tute
haha ya but not sure whether we will move soon or continue to stay with ILs until Q3/Q4 because of #2.

gar
A watches dora? E doesn't seem v interested, even though I think I can do a mean spanish accent, if I may say so myself, wahahah.

iso,
ya she absolutely luuuuuuurvs dora! hb used to hate the character, but ever since grandma / grandpa intro dora to A, he's had to live with it hehe...

errm, maybe cos the main character is a gal that's why E is not interested? i find that at about 1+ age onwards, the boys and the girls start navigating towards gender-specific toys / cartoons.

did you check out the party favours thread? there's this pull back thomas train, tot that'll be a nice gift

bkk,
the cc no waiting list. the kids not too many either.
probably it's not as branded as other cc.

in fact we have been telling C that she's going to school and brought her to cc near my place while on her way to in-laws. everytime ask her: 'want to go to school?' she will nod her head.

chose full day cos there's no one to pick her up during noon time. mil leg is not good, can't walk too much.
so she will be the first few to reach and last few to go home.

iso,
i am still worry although she cry a while only before lunch, nap time and at about 4 pm +.
when i asked her again 'want to go to school?', she shake her head.

that's why i will be on urgent leave to day to accompany her to school. got to go there and discuss with the teacher on her temperament. hope everything turns out well today.

tute,
C is not potty trained yet. normally ppl starts in 2 years old, so should start training quite soon. but it also depends on the readiness of the kid.
1st cc is not keen to help me do the potty train. they want to wait till C can talk. -.-
2nd cc will start after C settled down in the class and access her ability to express herself (not necessarily be talking).

i initially planned to send her playgroup in Mar. but the unexpected arrival of the #2, i've got to change the plan so that mil can take care of #2. the first cc i went told me no vacancy for Mar intake, got to wait till June. I think it's too late as my EDD is Aug. don't want to let C has the idea that i abandon her due to her mei2/di2. Hence we decided to send her in ASAP as long as there's vacancy. who knows the impromptu visit turns out good and we started her yesterday!! haha..

side note: C is super talkative last night - although can't figure out what she's talking about. must be learn that in cc. CANNOT TAHAN! told her that take her own sweet time to learn - dun rush. *HAHAHA*

clover,
i am sick of basic bread. :p

kirsten,

Pauline,
You cant' quite taste the yogurt after it's baked but using yogurt makes the cake stay moist. To fold, you use a spatula to scrape the bottom of the bowl, lifting up mixture A and "fold" it over mixture B. Continue until all well mixed.

qingling,
How did your chiffon cake turn out?

gar,
Cupcakes are mini cakes and traditionally served with frosting. Muffins are heavier in texture, more like quickbreads, usually eaten for breakfast.

XY,
Where is Hungry Caterpillar?

Clover,
Cranberry muffins sounds yummy! No pics? I like to bake muffins toobut don't like to eat them :p

Xiaoyun: Congrats! Did not come in here for sometime and saw the good news! Wow u are cool! I am getting cold feet about CC! Amanda is going on the 18th and as the days drew nearer, I became more nervous ahha

I'm interested in this though. Enquired last time with another seller who's selling at $22. This BP price only $18. But then again, it's just a good to have... Still thinking...

3460471.jpg

was on MC yesterday cuz Shaun drove me crazy on Sunday. Daddy bought him to OCC to play the whole morning. He came back home in the afternoon and started behaving STRANGLY. He threw tantrum on every single thing which was not his usual self. He scared me when he lied on the sofa and cried pitifully, like groaning in pain or what which was not like the usual cry. Then at night he woke up at 1am , struggling to fall asleep till 4am. My sleep got seriously disrupted and I started to feel giddy,.. And early Monday morning I decided to sleep at home, from 8am to 11am. Then felt giddy, ate something and started to burp, lots of gas in my stomach, felt like vomiting. Went to see doc and doc said I felt giddy due to FATIGUE, low blood sugar level. Cuz I was working (house chore, cook+ attending to clingy shaun) too much for the past few days at home and had a crazy Sunday afternoon till night attending to unusual shaun. I’m glad that he is back to usual self the next day, so I just wonder whether he was teething? Cuz he point finger into his mouth, crying pitifully like in pain. And acted strangely.

Anyone experienced fatigue that led to giddiness, low sugar level and gassy stomach? I dunno whether there was something wrong with me and should I go for full body checkup, hai..

tong,
oh dear....that sounds scary...please take care!!

i have experienced giddiness due low sugar level before...it's like a fainting spell going to black out kind of sensation. i think if you do not experience this kind of feeling again, probably a once off. but do go for a more detailed checkup if it occurs again ok?

for Shaun - i think not to worry. probably overexcited and dunno how to calm down. A behaves like that too when she is over stimulated. they dunno how to control their emotions so it spirals out of control. can try playing soothing music, having a bath, massage etc to try and calm them.

take care!!

good morning,
i am back home. do housework, label her clothes...
C doesn't cry. but wanted to follow me home by taking her shoes from shoe rack. then throw the shoe away when we told her that she has to stay. :p

reena,
it's at kaki bukit - shun li industrial park. near the babyhyperstore, baby kingdom there.

apple,
don't feel nervous. just treat it like she can go there to play. otherwise she may sense your nervousness too..

garfield,
the bento things are nice.
i like the cutters.

tong,
low blood sugar will lead to giddiness.
gassy stomach may be due to stress.
you must be too tired and stressed up..
rest more..

i need to get a labeller.
just go to popular for a brother brand or is there cheaper lobang?

btw, the CC has a choice of Chinese or Japanese language 3 times a week.
mil said should let her take the opportunity to learn Jap as we can teach her chinese at home.
what do you think?

Garfield/XY, thanks. Doc said to go for blood test if I experience that again. Right now I don’t need to take iron supplement. Just monitor first. Yea my low blood pressure is hereditary from my dad. But yesterday he checked my bp he said normal wor. He said I was too tired, must rest, but how to? Unless I take unpaid leave and rest at home. Hubby was considering whether to hire a maid liao after seeing me like that. Cuz I couldn’t stop doing housechore once I’m at home. After this episode I am 100% sure that I cannot be SAHM as clingy shaun just couldn’t let me cook, bathe or go toilet. After I had Shaun, I feel very weak leh. I used to be fit and healthy , even pregnant time, until I delivered, physically taxing on me. sigh. Dunno how to be fit again. Yesterday I giddy and got to bend while walking, seemed serious and I also freaked out. As for shaun’s craziness, I don’t think he played too much cuz every weekend we will bring him out to play wor. it’s no difference from the usual play wor. I to the played even more at GGB .

XY, I can lend u my labeling device I bot from popular. If you want then can try to meet up.

tong,
i think low blood pressure and low blood sugar slightly different. if i'm not wrong, low blood sugar means not enough glucose in the blood (cos my MIL over eat her medication and kena low blood sugar condition, that's how i know the diff).

ya you really too chao1 lao2 already. try to take some MC and go somewhere to rest without Shuan? housework wise, try to get the part timer to come in more often (i recall you have part time help right?) health is more important.

i'm not v familiar with chinese herbs, but my mom says that taking DOM or Yomeishu really helps in bu3 qi4 and regain vitality. maybe can try?

Hello Mummies!

Congratulations XY!! Wow.. totally din expect u were preggie.. u have any MS?

Re: CC
I just came back from CCC near my hse.. sob.. was with her the whole morning, today is her 1st day.. feel so sad to see her cry. I tried not to follow for their morning walk.. but she walked hafway and she saw that i was missing.. she started crying so helplessly.. i also feel like crying.

Than i stayed with her till after lunch and now nap time.. she hasnt napped yet and i thot i will just sneak out and come home.. Heard her cry when she cant see me.. feel so upset again.. tears welling up.. When i reached home, my in laws gave me a call and guess what they were downstairs.. they popped by to see her and i have just left.. din even noe they were coming.. so now G cling onto mil.. dunno how she gonna stay there for the rest of the day.

Xy.. C got no problem on the 1st day? well done!

Tute.. if i have a choice, i would not want to put her to child care.. but i was afraid there's no vancancies when the next bb come in june so have to put her in first.
Like bkkgal, i would prefer her in 2 hr playgroup.

Mummies.. do u noe if ur CCC teach? Other than reading stories and singing songs.. do they learn abc or any other stuffs there? I noe prob they are abit too young to really learn but i am just curious abt the programmes other ccc offer.. any mummies can share from what u noe..

tong,
do you have the same prob when shaun stay in KL?
if no, i think the solution for you is to get a maid.

genice,
thanks. i didn't expect it too..
at least thought can get a post national day bb. :p
MS is subsiding - i think..
today is quite good as long as i stuff myself with food. haha..

the CCC that C went discourage us to stay cos kids will cry when parents are around. even the excursion, they dun want parents to join too.
that's why i not be able to stay long there for her since she doesn't cry.
i saw them teaching her abc, arts and craft, etc.
for playing, there will be outdoor/indoor/water play subject to the weather.

there will be monthly excursions too. haven't check with them how much do i need to pay for that.
every 3 months, there will be meet-the-parents session.

XY.. wow.. 10 weeks and ur appetite is good! Thats great.. i think my appetite only became better in my 14 weeks.

Ur CCC seems quite good... when i asked one chinese teacher abt teaching abc, she told me they are too young to learn.. i was like thinking.."duh..kids their age goup some can even recite all!" They have walks outside but i dun think they have outdoor play now cause the playgrd is under renovation.. water play.. definitely "NO"

As for excursions, they only have it like 2x a year i think.

Can i ask u how much is ur CCC?

Tong tong.. u take care k..rest more!

gar
yah true, i guess most other cartoons he watches are robots or animals.

XY
i'm considering PG or half day CC, cos i think E will really not be able to adapt to taking naps there!

tongtong
oh dear, sounds like a tough few days for you! shaun sounds over stimulated, i guess it's not his usual behaviour, so nothing to worry too much about? but also stickiness comes and goes in phases i think, so it's not that he will be like that the whole day all the time if you're SAHM.

DOM and yomeishu is not bad! really makes u feel more energetic. but of course all these only have so much effect if you don't have enough rest..

jeannie
which CCC is G in? i think crying on first few days is normal. sometimes when i go to work i have to leave E crying also, but no choice leh...

Garfield, I already hired a pt cleaner to help me on the kitchen and toilet. Yet there are still lots of other chores to do like laundry, cooking, etc. but yes, hubby asked me to relax on the chores. After this episode I will learn to open and close 1 eye liao. U are right, I got to take DOM liao hhehe.

XY, when shaun was in KL I am super relax and fit . when he is back I felt lethargic. But getting a maid is not my choice cuz there’s nobody at home. Maybe I should get support from my mum again, hopefully she is willing to come over for a while hhe.

Genice, thanks

Iso, I don’t know whether he will become less clingy if I’m a sahm. But from now since birth, I’m the only one for him. I hope that phase will go off soon.

genice,
i've small appetite.
so got to have small meals often otherwise will feel nauseous.
this time round appetite is a bit better probably i am still breastfeeding.

the CCC seems really not bad. i am pleased with everything so far. no morning walks as it's inside the industrial area. the outdoor playground is own by the CCC too. last time hessitating to send her there cos feel that too much heavy vehicles in the industrial park. but i think it's not too much a concern as kids are confined in the CCC only.
full day $750, half day $500 before subsidy. further 3-10% discount from OCBC platinum card. so, i am paying $430 (with 3% discount) for this month. if i decided to keep her there, i might pay a full year school fee so that there will be 10% discount.

iso,
i treat it like a sleep training for her. it's cute to see all the kids sleep inside 1 room together. yesterday, C happily took her bao bao and pillow to join her friends in the room.

1 problem is that their nap time is from 1 pm - 3 pm. they will wake all the kids up at 3pm - regardless how long they took to fall asleep. so, C is quite tired last night because she sometimes take 2-3 hrs during the day. will then try to make her turn in earlier at night to compensate her loss of sleep during the day then.

tong,
in this case, what u need is to rest more.
close 1 eye with the houseworks.
get some machine to do the job for you, e.g., irobot for daily vacuum? do less cooking?

tong,
what's the diff between DOM and yomeishu. If you don't mind, i can pass you my yomeishu which i don't drink. agree with XY - cut down on cooking, laundry try to do less often (or get part timer to come in one more time and she can also do laundry?)

genice,
poor you....i recall A's first day - A also clung to a teacher like a koala bear...sobbing away....it'll get better dear.

the crying bouts grew shorter each passing day, till it became only crying at the drop off in the AM, till now she can hop into the classroom without even waving good bye!

<font color="ff0000">CNY pocket money opportunity!!</font>

After much consideration, have decided not to proceed with BP for my FIL's love letters on SMH cos the logistics of collection is a bit too much for me to handle with my looming EDD

However, i would like to offer moms the chance to earn up to 17% commission by gathering bulk orders from their offices. FOC Delivery to office if MOQ is met. I will provide samples and also details of the love letters.

If you know of anyone who may be keen, please recommend to me also k?

For interested moms, please PM me with your company location and estimated number of employees before this Friday 8Jan for details.

Thanks in advance!!

Garfield, thanks for your offer but I don’t take yomeishu, thnks anyway! Will meet up to collect the loveletters only la hehe. yeah, think I will cut down on cooking, don’t think I wanna ask the pt cleaner to do laundry cuz I want her to help do ironing ( which is so much work lor) glad that now my hubby asked me to just sit, and he does the laundry etc.

Kirsten - replied u. mummies if u have frens looking for a 9 months contract job,please PM me. otherwise i duno how to go into ML
(haha)

Reena - the cake was good!! I am so motivated to try another cake recipe of yours, the earl grey one.

Tong - take care!!

Genice - Hope Gwen adapts soon, i also will tear if i see my baby crying pitifully looking for me. I experience that on sunday when she refuse to follow the coach for her swimming lesson. I had to hide somewhere when she cried pitifully, felt like withdrawing her from the lesson liao..hmm. My only idea was for her to enjoy playing with water, hmm. During the trial she was ok le, but somehow during actual lesson (a younger chap who is the coach) she dun enjoy.

iso.. i placed her at Grow and Glow presbyterian child care.

Thanks mummies.

Gar and QL, things should get better.. just that when i was there today , another boy was on his 2nd day, the helper left in the morning after 1 hr with him.. he cried non-stop.. very sad.. so i cna forsee G also like that. And what i dun like is that the boy wants pp to carry and just coax him but the teachers do not shower their love readily, they took quite some time to hug and carry him and doesnt seem to want to ( wonder why).. its not that they are not caring but they are not as affectionate so whenever i think my kids will be treated the same way.. quite upsetting.

Sometimes its not the curriculum of the sch.. as long as i can feel the teachers 'real' interest towards kids and enthusiasm i would not mind a simple curriculum.. i think love and concern are very impt...sigh.. thats why in future if there are other options, i wld prefer she go halfday or PG to interact and can stay at hm play with baby and interact with grandparents too...

genice,
i know what you mean. v sim tia lah....sure one...does G have a favourite toy that can comfort her? for A's first few days we let her bring one of her favourite toys for comfort and she would hug it all day. i personally think it helped cos it's like a reminder of home whenever she feels lonely or thinks of home.

for hb, he had only ONE criteria for A's CC - that the teachers must be loving and patient. so when i went to A's current CC, and saw that the kids were all very responsive to their teachers, and that the teachers were calm and affectionate while handling crying kids, it gave us a good vibe.

we don't really know what she does in the day...erm...a bit bochup lah hehe...she's been there one month, and i still don't really know the "curriculum" cos the main intention is that she enjoys herself, and has good quality "care" and not "education" per se.

tong,
no problem. i dunno what's the difference between the two actually. do you know by any chance?

it's sweet for your hb to help you out, so you should take the opportunity to rest more.

Gar.. i AGREE with u and ur hubby!!!!!!
.. i also blur blur never prepare pillow or her soft toy.. maebe i let her bring her mickey to sch.. Thanks for reminding..

Iso.. i got the playmats!
They just delivered to my hse.See when u free then call me to collect k.

harder to sit still in office, argg, backaches already starting..sianz..can't wait for off work everyday this time!!!

jeannie
yay! ok thanks!! i see if later we got time to drop by
can sms me your phone number??

XY
ah ok, hopefully they will learn or get tired out and nap. but anyway if i'm not working i guess i don't mind just putting them for half day and nap at home.. your CC is v reasonably priced! and half day much cheaper than full day - a lot of places the price difference is only $50!