(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar - agree that A is very amazing to self console and say "bu ku bu ku". She is such a darling.

bkk - i hope H will react the same like K when i start her at her CC on the 18th. haha. by the way, what time do u send K in ah? they told me by 730 to 8am, but then i wonder how i should squeeze in the milk feed. Usually H wake up at 8am, then milk feed by 845am, but the P told me their breakfast is at 830am. Now i need to think how to wake her up earlier for milk.

qingling,
which ccc u sending H? she drinks milk at 845am so she still eats breakfast?

i thought we can send the children later? no fixed time.

Qingling,
I send her in at 8.30 am. Breakfast is 8 am but she doesn't take breakfast anyway, so 8.30 is ok. She wakes up at 7, 7.30 depends and milk feed lasts her until 10+ and then it's snack time.

Iso
You know something? my fren and I concluded that gong chacha boys grow into gong chacha men (unless of cos the mommies help them along :p)

hi ladies..

boy behaviour vs girl behaviour
i've only got a boy so i dun really have personal experience, but a 'distant friend' told me that boys like ppl to do things for them - e.g: feed, change clothes, wear shoes while lil girls are eager to learn and be self sufficient quickly. Sound like behaviour of our grown men and us grown women? *winks*

iso, i dun stay with my ils but they live across the road. hb n i asked her to bbsit on mon nite and gave her the instruction. she didn't follow thru coz she feel 'xin tong'...

tonight when i went over for dinner with A by myself as hb is working late. she had a long conversation with me the long term issues of abandonment. lol. the unfunny thing was it delayed A's sleep time n he became over-tired.

i sleep train him as i feel that A is not getting quality sleep which is bad for him in the long term. it's better for the kids if they have enough sleep n get the right amount of rest according to their own need.

reena, it's still possible to train yr dd3, if u bear n put yr heart into it. i dunno how u manage with 3 kids. at first i think he's my only child so he deserves all the attn i can give him. it took me many mths to realise that i hv offset the balance of the matter hence it makes me grumpy n lesser of a mom. think of it this way, u r already giving all your time to your kids by being a sahm and creating good habits benefit both the kids n u. likewise, i have the mental capacity to deal with my mil's talk tonight. if it's a thing in the past, i wld hv blown my top. i've a feisty temper... lol.

garfield, dun need cake mixer for muffins. creaming method is by fingers i think. i use any over-ripened banana i hv on hand, usually the small bananas. i see wat the recipe call for, and estimate how much i will use.

reena, here's the pic of cranberries muffin i baked. will post the recipe tonight!

3467612.jpg

Reena
I bought the same egg shaper from Daiso too but I found that the eggs were too small so the shape didn't turn out well. Even no matter how I try to look for bigger eggs, seems that those eggs sold in spore are of smaller sizes.

Piglettail
It's interesting when you put it that way...Men, no matter, how old they are seem to like to be looked after by their wives, mothers, girlfrens etc.

Sleep
wish could also put K to bed with a kiss and hug and close the door. Hb is the one who puts her to bed nowadays cos I can't afford to lie there for 45 mins with her. Now that #2 is on the way, will prob have to be breastfeeding/pumping during that time. Hb will give milk, wait 10 mins, go to potty, put on pampers and then tell a bedtime story and lights out. He waits there for 30 mins or so or falls asleep, whichever is faster.

Thanks, Esty. I'm also thinking between Panasonic e-ion filter and Mitsubishi starmex now. RaeAnne doesn't stop me from breastfeeding Mei Mei. In fact when Mei Mei cries, she'll say 'or lar or lar' to help comfort her. But she doesn't like the pillows that I put on my lap under my Brest Friend pillow to prop Mei Mei up. She keeps trying to pull them away. Either that or she'll snuggle between my legs when I sit on the rattan armchair to BF Mei Mei. :p
Gar, good luck. I'm baking muffins again tom. Better use up the muffin mix before my CL leaves. Haha.

Teachers,
DS2 is in PCF K1 this year. He has a young teacher looking very gloomy, doesn't smile. Yday when I went to fetch him from school, the teacher's back was facing the window (where the parents were). Then came the most unsightly moment. The teacher was wearing a simple top just covering her waist but she was wearing a hipster pants. 1/2 her butt was showing. Worst, I think she was wearing some panty hose underneath as I saw some wrinkled transparent material. Faint! I didn't want to embarrass her in front of so many parents but I've decided to have a word with her later, if chance permits. Else I may just feedback to the principal.

XY,
School bus is out since it's only 1 way, plus industrial area heavy traffic during peak hours. What's more if DH is out of town... I can only look for nearby alternatives. Thanks anyway.

I still like the CCC in my ex-coy, the teachers there are very passionate with their job and when they talk/reprimand children, they will squat down and have eye level contact with the kids. I respect them for that. And I don't rem hearing any shoutings from the teachers when DD1 was there for 1.5 yrs.

gar,
Creaming basically means to beat butter (room temp) and sugar till light and has this "soft" look. The colour will turn to pale yellow and fluffy. There are 2 method of making muffins, 1 is creaming method and another is add wet to dry mix. For the latter, there is a high chance of overmixing, thus resulting in a dry muffin.

Bananas for muffins/cakes,
Doesn't matter what bananas but I never use delmonte as they aint as sweet as the local bananas. For baking, you need to use very riped bananas, those that you will prob throw them into the bin kind.

boys behaviour vs girls behaviour,
I don't agree that girls are more independant. I think it's really their character. All my 3 kids self-feed at a young age. Also, because I'm always alone with the kids, I do not have time to "take care" of DS2 so he needs to learn to be independant. When he started nursery at 3.5yo, I've trained him to wear his own uniform (including buttoning), socks and shoes. At 4.5yo now, he is already bathing himself. I think it all boils down to the parents, whether you are willing to let go and let your child venture. All his classmates were unable to do any of what I've mentioned because they basically have maid/grannies to help out.

clover,
Tough for me to implement when I have so much in the agenda. I'm in and out of the house so many times so my best bet now is still to put her in the sling to nurse while I surf :p The only downside is at night. Oh well.. will see how it goes. BTW, nice muffin!

bkkgal,
Did you get the heart and star egg mould? I bought those too
You are right, the biggest one I can find in NTUC is only 60g and it can't fill up the mould. I think needs at least 80g egg. Now I use the mould for agar agar/konnyaku jelly.

Boy vs gal: agree with Reena that it’s the kid’s character and not that gal is more independent. DS wants to do everything himself, like opening the tap to wash hand, flush toilet, wash the floor after pee and even making milk himself. I’m headache with that cuz I’m using glass bottle. So at most I just let him scoop the milk powder into the bottle. Perhaps I can start training him to wear his clothes or pants himself too, cuz he can take off his pants now, but he cant wear his pants, socks and clothes yet.

tongtong
i think u can let him try, if not help him out. for some socks E can take it off himself (cos i make him wear socks to sleep), and now most of the time he can put on his crocs himself too by slipping in his feet. even walking up and down the stairs sometimes he doesn't want any help!

clover
wow the muffin looks nice! yah the older generation a bit hard to "convince".

reena
do you find your kids like to eat since they self feed from a young age? i'm wondering if there's a link between self feeding and liking food or liking to eat.

boy vs gal
i think it's important to not discourage them also, i always let E try everything and then ask if he needs my help. older generation prefer to say "you don't know how to do this" and then do it for them..

Any idea where I can buy swimming diapers? I was told it's sold at supermarkets but just went to Cold Storage but can't find....

Iso, yea he will yell and gets frustrated when he cant pull off his sock,haha. But he doesn’t know how to put it on yet. He can wear his slipper himself too. But shoe a bit tough for him. I try to put on socks for his bedtime but he always pull it off. Iam scared whether it’ll be bad or cold for him??

Garfield, thanks for sending me the love letters. my colleague said nice. I have pmed u , can u reply via sms? thanks

piglettail
some cold storages should have also. Huggies Little Swimmers. actually they only need it if there's the chance that they might poo? E goes without any diapers :D

tongtong
so will E. I wait until he's asleep then i put the socks on, heehee. but sometimes when he wakes up he will be complaining that he wants to take it out, so i taught him to take it out himself instead of complaining to me. haha.

iso, haha. he will make noise in the middle of the night to take off his socks leh. so i din put socks for him for long time liao... erm...

iso,
oh ya....and imagine EPL season - all the freedom you will enjoy with the boys GLUED to the TV....muahahahaha

re A self consoling,
*sniff sniff* it's a good development, but also a sign that the little one is growing up oh so quickly....

clover,
thanks for the explanatation! your cranberry muffin sounds good.

pauline,
happy baking! arrrghhh...i'm so tempted to try my hand at it!!

reena,
thanks for explaining. so you reckon creaming method produces smoother / lighter texture muffins right?

tong,
you're welcome! glad your colleagues like it! i've replied you via SMS already

Swim Diaper
Thanks! I will check out more supermarkets this evening/tmr.

Actually I have a swimsuit for him, but he's going to attend classes at JG and we were asked to prepare swim diapers for water play time.

Socks
G will complain then take off himself, cos I will take a long time to attend to his complaints (in my attempt to keep them on longer). haha

bx,
The teacher is young and very new, only a few months old only. The centre is @ Blk 131.

Independance,
DD3 refuses to let me feed her most of the time. Good and bad cos she she's eating with gor gor jie jie, I'll be in the kitchen eating my dinner plus washing up the dishes. Save some time for me. She's also able to undress and put on shorts herself. Just 2 weeks ago, she started wearing her own shoes with velcro. I suspect it's because we're in and out of the house at least 4 - 5 times daily so she gets lots of chance to practice putting and removing her shoes. She's also a "great" helper, will help gor gor jie jie clear their plates/bowls when they finished their meals. Or she will bring the cups to her siblings when I ask them to drink water. Even when I do my laundry, she also wants to help. Headache...

Iso,
I'm not sure but my kids love to eat. Don't know if it's because they self-fed at young age or inherited the love to eat genes from me :p

Swimming,
When babies/toddlers poop in the pool, the pool gets contaiminated with e-coli virus and it's dangerous if people accidentally swallow the water, it may even cause death in young children. And it's not just the poo, if you let your child wear swim diaper but others don't, do you want your child to drink baby urine when they dive into the pool? It's a different story if you child is 100% toilet trained.

To add on, if the pool gets contaminated with poo, it has to be closed down and the water had to be drained, pool sanitised and refilled with water.

hmm...i neve thought about that swimming thing.

So far i only brought ruth to swim oncde at SAFRA and the other times at my bro's condo. She usually goes diaper-less and we let her pee before and after.

SHe isn't trained to the extent like an adult, but if we bring her to the loo regularly, she doesn't really need the diapers. SHe can pee in potty/toilet seat/sink.

Only 1-2 times was the nightmare thing...where we attend functions at condos and she cannot tahan and kept dragging us to the pool. It didn't help that the 'pool' was just EVERYWHERE and like...walk-in from the pavement type of convenient.

She just went in as-is...clothes, diaper and the diaper soaked up so much water I nearly died of laughter cuz she stopped and looked down and tried to pull on to her 'shorts'. LOL.

*bad mummy*

anyway since then, no more condo function room events with her - unless we're prepared to go pool.

good afternoon,

so good you all can send the kid to CC so late.
we got to send her there about 7+, she's still sleepy that time.
no choice, hb start work at 8.

reena,
where was the CCC in your ex-company?

for independence, i guess it depends on the training. like what iso said, the brought up by older generation mentality leads to less independent kids. - i am one of that kind. :p

for wearing socks at night. i give up also because she protested last time in the middle of night and disrupted my sleep. :p

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

i would like to organise spree for maternity clothes from an overseas website.
anyone interested please let me know. ok?

Reena,
I missed ur previous post on YMCA. Hb happened to see and told me abt it. kept thinking abt it. we visited both ymca and KA. reason why we chose ymca is becoz it is cleaner, less children in the PG (maybe not popular due to bad reviews), healthy eating award, bigger premises where there is dining area. for KA, there is no bedsheets, just synthetic mattresses, eating area is their sleeping area, cramp area, teachers looks like helpers instead.

but we decided to visit KA again before we cfm. thank goodness for the feedback. lucky we have not paid deposit. suppose to go last sat but A had a ear infection so we brought her to the PD instead. phew!

hello mummies - nw that second one is on the way, any 1 already planning buying the booster seat? Which brands are recommended?

sleeping:
ok looks like no one likes to wear socks. how about blankets? E will wake up if there's blanket, maybe they find it constricting??

Reena
wow! i didn't know that about the poo.. i would imagine that it'd be pretty icky to have poo in the pool though..
btw, i know a couple who have 4 kids. first 2 are twins, followed by another one a year later. when i asked them how they manage, they also mentioned that the kids tend to grow up faster and be more independent.

Tongtong,
Thank you. I already rec'd the amount transfer by you.

XY,
I agreed with Reena. One way transport not attractive at all.
Anyway, after an argument with DH, decide to put Channet near Jurong point. Any recommendation from westie mummies. Mayb our kids can be together.

Reena,
sure. Hope I hv the time. have to settle the little cow and mouse first.

pigletail,
Can get swimming diaper at Kiddy palace.

bluegin,
not sure if they have 2-way transport or not. cos the price is from another mummy attended the orientation together with me on Monday.
why argue with hb?
why so drastic? move from tampines to boon lay?

Clover,

Impressive!
E also needs 1hr wind-down time before sleep(milk, potty, story reading, off night, sing&dance in darkness). Sometimes, at weekends, she can stretch to 2--3 hrs singing/jump around.
Still no heart to break it yet.

---do it by herself.
E likes to do most of things by herself, as she like. When she'd like to take off her shoes at playground, she will quickly do by herself, sometimes even forgetting to ask our permission. But when she is back home, normally we need to nag her, otherwise she will run around in house with shoes on first.

She will self feed her favorite dish---mushroom, green veg, drumstick), we need to feed her others---rice, fish. For her favorite strawberry, she sometimes quickly hold all(normally 3 in her plate) in hands, if we show slight intention to taste it.

I let her scoop milk powder, pour water to bottle, and clean her bottle in a small basin, once a while when I am alone with her at home. Hehe...... others including my DH complain the mess. ^_^

*paging for dor11*

dor,
i remember you bought maclaren daytripper from a spree before... can you let me know if it is good? am thinking of getting one. Thanks !!

tute
i'm using daytripper. not bad. just that it topple quite easily if you hang heavy stuff on the handle. the umbrella stroller i have for my gal can hold more stuff without toppling. daytripper is better when it comes to sleeping in it (compared to the umbrella stroller).

Whole day no time to switch on laptop. My CL left at 1pm today. What a long day. But luckily with my CL's advice, RaeAnne is getting more used to the maid so can delegate some duties to her now. After dinner, hubby brought RaeAnne to MIL's house for short while then I got to shower and relax.

hi tute,
dor reporting....
heehee
ya got a daytripper from a bp.
i loves it.... best is gervaise prefer it to his combi
i paid $120 for it... comes with a front handle, raincover and a organiser.. good deal hor....

tute, it is a bit too late to buy a caleb to use? cos they are almost 2.... unless u thinking of no2... heehe.. just my 2 cents worths.

XY,
ya. something like argument. long long story as below:
PIL are smokers, so I strongly against smoking in front of children which we already make known to them a lot of time. DH already gave up n let them do whatever they want. Me still on the stand. So last Dec Taiwan auntie was here to lecture DH n me, mainly towards me leh. Saying must 家合万事兴,told me since I wanna join their family must adapt to their habit/hobbies. If not, better moves out.
Furthermore, my MIL (who is Channet's caretaker) always wanna go on cruise to gamble. As a reslt, we had been traveling from east to west or vice versa since Channet was borned last year. I dun wanna travel like tt every month, esp now we have Shenon. But DH dun wanna face this problem.
So I decided to shift to boon lay (my parent's place) so tt they will help to take care of my children. But ytd my MIL requested to let my parent take care of kids on weekday while she'll take care of them during weekend. I was like "huh", weekend we are not working why need to let her take care of the kids, right? Not very fair leh. Now 走一步,看一步

So sorry for the long-winded story.

bluegin, i feel for u. It's lonely to be fighting the war alone. Yr hb who is in the ostrich mode, has to eventually figure out which side he has to take up... And it better be your n the kids side! I think yr mil doesnt want to take care of kids but dun wan to tell u all directly. Have to let her spell it out. U must get more rest so u hv the energy to deal with all these. Take care. *hugs

Dor, that's a good deal. I paid $99 without all the accessories.

tubao, nothing impressive lah.. It's a phase tt we hv to deal with as parents!

ladies, got smthg happy to share. A's cardiac test shows he has a harmless heart murmur. And guess what? He has gained 500g, crossing the 10kg mark n 1cm within 3wks. Woohoo

pauline,
your CL advice teach RaeAnne to be more receptive of maid or?

bluegin,
oh. your niang jia is at boon lay.
means you are going to purchase a house near them and start your life in the west?

so you have been shifting barang barang from east->west>east all the time for the past 2 years? your mil goes cruise during weekdays and require ur parents to take over the job when go on cruise? my pil do that on weekends. last time i was very sian with them as i feel that weekend is for the family reunion yet they abandon us and go gamble. now i kan kai already. weekend plan our own itenary and dun bother to reunion with them liao. :p
i guess she wants to enjoy the freedom on weekday and just play with the kids during weekends loh. put it in a nice way to 'take care' of the kids for you on the weekends. ha. but no choice, still need to let them see the grandchildrens.

clover,
congrates. why did you bring A for test in the first place?
i can share your joy.
C hit 10 kg mark too. but all thanks to the formula milk.

i think my gal is working as a child labor at the childcare centre.
she now likes to take her hankerchief to wipe the table, floor, her toys, etc. when she's at home. haha..

xy, when i brought him for his booster jab, the doc @ polyclinic detected it, so arranged for an appt at kkh. A is on fresh/uht milk. I think it attributes to him sleeping well n thus gain wt n ht. =)

XY, my CL taught us that how to let go and be hard hearted so that my gal will accept the maid to do things for her eg. bringing her to school, bathing, feeding, putting her back to sleep if she wakes up in the middle of the night etc. Bo bian, me and hubby too soft hearted, once she cries we will go rescue her. End up my maid with me for 4 months still never bathe for my gal once until my CL came. :p

stephie/dor,
thanks !

dor,
umm... yeah maybe a bit too late, still thinking actually haven't decide. i feel my combi is getting more flimsy as C gets heavier plus it's rather big when i fold but i maybe i should just try to survive without it... only problem is that if we travel, i can't bring a compact pram.

XY
i think C and E will make a good pair. he loves to clean too, imagine just now we went for gymboree class he is also trying to help them do wiping!! lol.

blueging
i think it's good that you still against the smoking thing. it's really not good for the kids at all! maybe can train the kids to say they dun like grandparents because they smoke? heehee.. evil, but just *might* work. heh.
but if they offer to look after on weekends, better than nothing also, if u want some me time?

xy and genice,
do u mind sharing how much do u pay for childcare after working mother subsidy? just shortlisted another one, but still hestitating as the price is considered steep for me.