(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Pauline
how sweet of your hb! laptop radiation no good for baby in tummy. dun go too near microwave too hor.

but breadmachine oso for his health mah, everyone in the family benefits
dun package as Mother's Day gift since u already got one, how abt a gift towards healthy living? hehehe.

Hi, Sweetpea

Hehe... sounds that lots of babies like co-sleeping.

Hi, Bkkgal
Pei4 fu2, Pei4 fu2..... ^_^

Hi, Xiao yun

Haha... I got that radiation clothes mailed by my bother at my pregancy..... I wear it more for feeling my brother's love than for possible damage to baby .

bkkgal, haha, actually I never ask him to buy the breadmaker as mother's day present lar. I wanted my gal's video as mother's day present but when he say no way. I told him can give me the present as long as before her 2nd birthday. hehehe. But I know lar, he's so busy with his book writing that he got no time for other projects lor. His 3rd book "Why Simplify?" http://www.armourpublishing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=242 is out liao but he's got to start working on his 4th book to be out by Nov 09.

But I still think it's a waste not to document our gal's growing up milestones. Sigh.

Hi tubao,

I hope so. :p But now just want her not to be picky about food.

RE: co-sleeping

I never had this problem with Danica. In fact, she sees our bed more as a playground than a rest area. When she is tired, she will go to her cot and ask to be put in by patting the bumper or banding on the rails.

I believe that, sometimes, we have to stop this guilt button that appears when it would seem like we are taking away from our children. Learning to fall asleep by oneself is a very important skill. We are actually empowering our children when we "train" them to sleep by themselves. If you think that way, you will probably be able to steel yourself to do it. But sometimes, say easy, do hard. :p

pauline, your hubby so sweet that he bot you a mother's day present!! my hubby will never lor.
btw it's not a waste as you are blogging on your gal's milestones liao ma

tubao, is radiaton clothes popular in china only?

Wow!! all these talk abt recipes is making my mouth water! Bkk - thanks for the tomato sauce recipe...will try it out. How long can we keep ir freeze the sauce? Im not inclined to use tomato sauce at the moment so i will use tomatoes for cooking.

Hm....just came back frm Bintan! Yes...the loong overdue trip...frm the time i was preg...untill now....hehehe...place so near yet seemed so far. Coz hb needs a visa la!
It was a great trip! My son, Firhan is a true blue holiday resort baby...thank god no major hiccups and we all had fun!
Wat i learnt frm this trip is im READY to open my son to outside food experiences and not be soo rigid la...as long as i am aware of wat he is eating outside. I still am not ready to release this privileage to anyone else except me and hb..hehehe...still super strict!

Breadmaker
Hmmm..wonder if can convince hb to get one...he was so into making bread a few mths back.

I can cook for Firhan but thats its....anything else...my hb will handle! hahah...sometimes he will comment and say...cook for ur son can, cook for me cannot...hahaha...well thats coz my son will eat watever i cook...whereas my hb...well....hahahahaha

Artemis
i totallay agree with you on empowering our kids on certain skills
specially now when they mimic every single thing that we do. Now, i have a bad temper..am trying very hard to tahan tahan...so that he wont follow and scream his head of..which he has showed signs already..hehe

But on a positive note, my son sometimes can follow instructions. Like once, he was eating an orange and threw it anyway half eaten. And of course he wanted a brand new one. He was beinga brat but i keep telling him over and over..to pick up the one he just took. After a while..he did! I was happy and cheered him on. My MIL was there and she wanted to give him the new orange..i was like NO! hehee
I think sometimes she thinks im too strict with my son but hey...im setting limits for him so that by the time he turns 7 or 10 or whenver he wont be a social prob!

bkkgal,
finally got a chance to see your video... now i'm really motivated to get a breadmaker, only downside is that i have to find a space in my already cramp kitchen for the breadmaker :p

xy,
i saw the bluesky brand is selling for 69.90 (it's on promo at carrefour ps)

re:chunky food,
C also doesn't like chunky food yet... he will choke on it... i tried feeding rice and he threw up as well... so i don't force him, now he's still eating porridge... he will ask for a bite or two if we are eating some food, so i'm training him from that...i think things will get better when he has molars (hopefully, both fingers crossed!) :p

re: co-sleeping,
Hmm... C also sleeps with us since he was a baby mainly because i'm too tired to wait for him to fall asleep to move him to the cot... he sleeps around 10-11pm, quite late... sometimes we will fall asleep first and then he will slowly doze off...

Tongtong, guess I feel guilty cos i just saw my cousin's 2nd boy's photo featured in May's issue of Young Parents. Both her kids have been featured in magazines but RaeAnne never lor. Cos we hardly take photos for her, very tiring to always have to be the one initiating taking photos and videos lor. :p

bkk,
we r now reducing her intake of orangey stuff as we fear that she is turning orange/yellow. keke... dunno how true it is. u mean give baked potato/sweet potato topped with cheese as a main meal or side dish to go along with her porridge? i still belong to the more cheena category. moreover, very hard to get mil to adopt the western style.

xy,
i never cook for myself and hb wan. only cook for bb. hee hee...

bx
K does not like porridge. I give baked potato topped with cheese as main with pan fried cod fish. It's like adult food with less salt and seasoning. Xiaoyun suggested upgrading A to adult food with more textures. Why dun you try it? maybe she's bored with the tastes. It's also healthier for everyone in the family to take less seasoning in the food.

Hi, Artemis
Totally agree....

Hi, Purplecurlz
Sounds like what I do at weekends..... I am brainwashing my hubby about child labor now......
Hehe...but didn't have energy to say NO and do it in front of MIL at weekdays----enough mental challenge at work at weekdays.Hehe....

Hi, Tongtong
Honestly I don't know. Stayed here for too long.

Artemis,
wah, danica can eat quite a lot of rice hor? My bb can only eat abt 2 tbsps of rice with meat and veg and soup. If porridge, will eat abt 1 bowl.

BTW, how do u know if bb has enough to eat already if bb usually takes a really long time to finish eating, and need a lot of coaxing in between?

I'm new here.Mind if i join in? My girl is 15 months.

Am wondering if anybody face problems feeding their little one. Maddie was eating fine with her porridge until 5days ago. Now on hunger strike.Spit out the food most of the time. She's driving me up the wall every meals now...

bkk,
the problem is i dun cook so when i cook, it is just for ashlynn. so quite hard to prepare so much stuff just to cook the small portion.

grace,
welcome! i was sharing with the forum friends that the gal is also on hunger strike. these few days seems to be better. i am keeping my fingers crossed. hopefully it was juz a growing up phase. might be due to teething. coz i noticed that once the teeth emerged from her gums, her appetite seems better.

cheryl,
it depends on what kinda spoon. ashylnn takes one and one quarter to one and a half similac scoops of uncooked rice.

bx,
oh..you are facing the same problem too..good to hear your princess is eating now. I get very frustrated when I sit in front of her and feed for hours.. i'm trying pasta for her lunch later. Hope she eats.She has no problem with fruits, cakes, yougurt etc.. except her porridge and milk. sigh..Already so small build(7.5kg), still not eating..

grace,
how was ur try with pasta? I didn't get to make pasta over the weekend as was out most of the time, so had to feed porridge.

cheryl,
seems like vernon eats alot

looooooooooong time never post. completely buried in work!!!

talking about food, so being no 1 singaporean past time of course must chip in right?

bx,
have you tried mee sua or kway teow? i personally no patience, but when we were facing challenges feeding A, my mom tried at least 4 types of rice textures (from normal rice we adults eat, to mui fan type, to teochew muay type - drain off the liquid, to porridge). and this princess hor, different meals wants different textures. so my mom sometimes has to standby an emergency plan B meal one.

Cheryl,

Cayenne aso on 2 chinese soup spoons which is abt 4 mamil gold 2 scoops.

Nw i steamed rice using the same amount, the texture is in between rice and porridge. Surprised tat Cayenne can finish all. But then her milk feed will drag to abt 3 hrs later instead of the usual 2 hrs interval.

Hi Grace.

Initially my Cayenne was having problems, but suspect she was not feeling well. But then she prefer rice instead. Hv u tried rice? maybe u can try tat?

bx,
Pasta failed terribly..sob..She rejected it. I tried mee sua last night..She ate 1/4 of it.I'm going to try teo chew porridge for lunch later.. running out of ideas soon. She used to take 2 tablespoons of rice/brown rice with fish/chicken or beef with veggies and egg.. Now rejected all..

Esther,
how do you steam your rice? and the meat and veggie, how do you cook them? I tried rice.. she take 1 teaspoon only.. I realised she doesn't chew them at all.. once she threw up all of it..

bx
ya vernon eats alot... he can even still snack even after his milk or porridge. scary... cos if we dun give he will cry the place down...
scare he overeat

hello mummies - gd morning, hope everyone had an enjoyable mother's day

i finally tried something different for H's menu, pan fried "ngor hee", mash it, and bake with cheese, steam egg with pumpkin and dry scalllops. All turn out quite yummy and H finish all of it.

Grace,

I learnt the trick from some mummies here too.

I add little water to the uncooked rice and put to steam. Tat's it. But i must admit tat my initial attempt of steaming rice was failure cos i dunno hw 2 judge the water. So in the end, turned out to be kinda of nua nua porridge. so i added little water to the rice in my other attempts. gradually will be jz nice. So far the steamed rice i gave 2 Cayenne i find it jz nice. not like the rice we adults eat, more of softer. but not 2 the extend of porridge. dunno if u get wat i mean. ;p

So far i try steamed fish. or pan fried fish/chicken/pork. as 4 veggies, usually i will add to the pan fried meat once they almost cooked.

if ur gal cant chew rice. then better dun. normal rice is harder. so if jz swallow the rice in, might cause indigestion.

u can try to prepare rice in a softer texture.

Qingling,

Sound yummy! the dry scallops u soaked b4? after baked, will they be too dry or hard?

so far i havent let Cayenne eat dry scallops. i oni used it 4 stock.

Cheryl - i think V will be good fren with H, both likes to eat! She eats basically everything, exception of durian she taste and din come back for more.hahaha

Hi purplecurlz,

I think they just need to be taught sometimes. I taught Danica to take out and keep her shoes on the shoe rack once she reached home. I took me about 1½ weeks before she finally caught on to what I was trying to teach her but it was worth it to see her do it. Plus she was so proud of herself when she accomplished it. (She clapped her hands and grinned at me)

Hi tubao,

Great that there are like minded mummies around so I don't feel like such a monster.

Hi fairfield,

I think she likes to eat rice. Fan Tong :p When Danica doesn't want to eat or if the food doesn't agree with her (taste/texture/temperature) she will let us know by puiing out her food. Then I will ask her "Have you finished? Are you bao bao?" Do the finished sign and pat my tummy. If she is, she will sign back otherwise she will point to the bowl. So I will just check to make sure all is well, if temperature then I just add in more hot soup/porridge (cause I normally store in food jar) or taste/texture then I let her eat our rice with just the things in her soup without soup.

RE: uncooked rice amount

For porridge, Danica eats 1/4 cup (60g) of uncooked rice for 2 meals (but may have to increase as she has been finishing this up) and rice is about 1/4 to 1/2 bowl depending on her mood with 6 - 8 tbsps of soup with miscellaneous ingredients. If she has been running around (sometimes we let her roam free in the corridor under supervision), she can eat up to 3/4 bowl of rice. :p But she is still about only 9kg. My HB said she "exercise" all the food away.

RE: fish

I find that Danica loves steamed fish. I cook threadfin with a tiny amount of soya sauce, sesame oil and ginger and she can eat finish a slice that is half a bowl size (1cm thick). That day I steamed seabass Teochew style and she finished half of 1 side of the fish (about 30cm long after removing the tailfin).

Sometimes I think they need a little variety in their meals. Everyday eat the same thing will be quite sian also.

artemis,
wow, danica is so smart, can sign to u when she is done with eating.

sigh, i dread meal-time, cos other than bfast, i always have a hard time feeding bb.

re: egg

how many eggs do you give per week? do you give him/her one egg each time?

cheryl: i think the amount of 2 soup spoon of uncooked rice is ok, are you referring to brown rice or white rice?
shaun also eating quite a lot. can ask for mum mum all the day. he is realy tam jia. so vernon is like shaun hor! my nanny said his tummy already very big, scared he overeat too. what snack you give? i give biscuits, rice puffs, fruits, cheese, sometimes yoghurt.

bx: i bought lots of veggie during weekend for his one week's meal+me and hubby's weekend meal. mon to fri i dont cook cuz no time. so if there's lots of leftover veggies, it's very good to make soup stock.

grace: you might want to try feeding rice. I also steam porridge, just put the rice and stock and steam, and later only put veggie to maintain the vitamins.

qingling, haha so V, H and Shaun are good frends! all tam jia hor, hehe. Shaun also eats everything, never spit food out from his mouth. he now even eat pear,prunes plum and apple his own .i give him the whole fruit and he will sit down and eat happily, this is the only time he can quiet down and i got time to do things!! but i havent let him try durian yet keke.

tongtong
wow so good, shaun can eat fruits on his own! apple he can chew?

i think some babies just like to eat more than others. my nephew at 26 months is eating less solids than my own son at 15 months... these days he just doesn't seem interested in any solids! but usually such phases will pass, although it might last a few years.

iso, yea shaun can chew apple and pear. if i saw that he is biting too big a piece, i will ask him to spit out, and he will spit. but he always can chew and i always remind him to "bite". you are right, some can eat more than others. hope shaun can continue this way..

am back from europe with my kids! it's a tiring trip having to take care of 2 kids especially during the coach ride. kids are kids, just can't sit still. overall, enjoyed the trip very much even though it's more tiring than travelling on our own. thankfully too my mum and her fren were there to assist us. keke. btw, the bassinet was very useful. shawn slept in it while on the plane. so happy i can relax and eat in peace when shawn was sleeping

catch up with all your posts when i've the time

Hi fairfield,

I think sometimes if they really don't want to eat, force and coaxing also no point. My theory is that when they are hungry, they will eat. For Danica, I find that the more I coax, the more she resist eating the food (my theory is that she may feel that if I bother to coax then it is not nice. :p) So once she pui out, I will check with her and other environmental factors before I decide to continue or stop. This worked pretty well for Danica. I believe there will be days when they are less inclined to chow down and some days more as long as not consistently not eating should be fine.

Signing part have to be persistent. At first doing it, she will not sign back so got to check myself by touching her tummy. Then once she associates the sign with stop feeding/eating, she did it herself. Sometimes, she will also exclaim "baobaobaobao" in no uncertain terms to let me know she is done. :p

lemmme add ruth to the eating family. she also everything sup ka liao. mostly la....except when erm my lousy impromptu recipes make disastrous food then she protest. fed her pizza too the other day and she only ate half a slice (thin crust) so i top up her milk that night before bed.

bkk....i decided not to get breadmaker. sigh. cannot afford another piece of equipment in our kitchen - plus i already have a proper oven. less compelling to spend money cuz i'm lazy to bake traditionally.

"Patting tummy"
So far ruth pats tummy for variety of reasons leh. but usually is to signal that she's hungry. sometimes is she needs to poot poot (tummy ache). so still not sure what she means.

tong/lezy/cheryl - hi 5, we can have a eating date for the kids..hahaha..

read one blog, where there's this mummy who actually organise a recipe exchange(via postcard) from mummies all over the world, and the recipe should be for kids, and that kids should be able to be involved in the preparation,also the food should be something representing your country. I found it quite interesting, perhaps we can do it next time
, but of cos the representing country part can omit, since most of us r from sg..haha

Hi, Grace
Yah....seems that unfortunately lots of baby don't fall on "easy eating" category.... Maybe we need more patience and more energy(with a few standby options such as bread; rice). hope things will get better and better....

Hi, Artemis
Hehe....

grace,
u SAHM ah?

tong,
i dun even cook for myself and hb on weekends. normally we eat out. hate the cleaning up after cooking. u buy one week supply of veg, the veg wun turn bad? normally i buy on fri for cooking on sat and sun. then the excess i throw on mon or i pass to my mil. i am very wasteful...

bx,
i think for hard vegies it can last longer e.g. carrot, pumpkin, onions, potatoes, brocolli, cauliflower even chye sim can last more than few a week. but the softer vegies like spinach can only last few days...

tong..
no la. i not so hardworking. haha. my hubby went out for wedding dinner so beofre he go, he order pizza for me. So i thought if she wants can have some - since she likes pasta. if not, i'll heat up some bottled heinz food for her.

in the end she take about half a slice, so i just gave her more milk before she sleep.

Veg:
hmm..i bought baby chye sim, only lasted max one week and the outside leaves started turning yellow. inside still ok. carrot can last more than a week i think. potatoes i'm wary cuz it will grow 'eyes' if too long. best is things can eat fresh la. dun keep so long and cause anxiety and doubt. so poor thing if baby fall sick and it's cuz of our negligence.