(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx
how to cook wolfberry ah? need to soak or anything before putting in the soup? and after cooking it's soft enough to just mash a little right? think i want to try also

so exciting all this talk about cooking - i really hardly get a chance to cook cos we're always so busy on the weekends too :D

isobellies

hehe...looking at the links u posted...i am more motivated to cook for my son..heheh...only for him i can cook hor...for my hb...hahhaa....lets just say he is a better cook than me...waaaayyy better!

im looking for the bento boxes...do u think daiso sells insulated ones?

Hi, ABC's mummy

Hehe...Want to have weekend playdate for toddlers at northern area?

Hi, Eliaw
Don't know whether you are reading posts nowadays or not? Weekend playgroup for storytelling, ..and etc after 18 month is still on ?

Yah.... colleagues mentioned about education system here---kids need to study hard....don't kow how to get around this by letting my gal play as much as she wish..... think about it later lah.....

hehe... Feel excited reading posts about cooking!!

Now I re-take over cooking for hb and me's meals and fruits for my gal at weekend; while hb still do cooking for my gal's main meals.

My hb spent too much time at cooking "perfect" dishes(45mins preparing, 1.15 hrs cooking most of time); finally I felt it's enough at this point of time---my gal needs much our time/attention playing with her at weekends. I do cooking now since I can prepare "nice" meals in much shorter time(15 mins preparing, 20mins cooking). Haha.......

Borrowed and read some children cook books in Chinese(Taiwan publisher)----their variaties inspired us.

hello mummies - any1 brought bb for the chicken pox vacination leh? Any1 went to a GP instead of a PD? Any difference?

qingling
no difference in chicken pox vacine. In fact my son's vacination is done at GP instead of PD. $85 for a jab for chix pox

tubao
i dun mind. u mean formal playgroup or informal? if formal under the person it is $80 a mth and nd 5 ppl ley... anyone else interested? i am jus stayiong opp admiralty mrt only

June, I always feed RaeAnne similar stuff too. Cook porridge with slow cooker with pork/fish plus 1 veg (pumpkin or carrot or spinach or baby corn). I'm torn between making it too flavourful and delicious, don't know whether she'll tend up with fussy palate and can't take bland food next time or not. Anyway, will try and experiment cooking soft rice with something (maybe minced chicken with tofu or egg) this weekend. Think need to move her beyond porridge liao since she has 8 teeth already. Just scared that I can't tahan the smell myself. ;P

re:food freshness

how long do u store food for the bb in the fridge? usually i think 3 days is the max, but then it's quite troublesome to buy between the week. maybe for fruits and vege, one week is still ok...

but how about fish? meat?

do u just buy over the weekends and use the supply for one week or you have to replenish in the week?

qingling, this website is cheaper www.thebookpeople.co.uk

re: fish
i buy fish once a week and put in the freezer. can keep up to 2 weeks. recently, my son has cough so i'm not giving him the fish porridge.

purplecurlz, you are very good in cooking for your baby !! *impressed*

qingling, you stay in the west? have you been to kidslink opposite chinese garden mrt ? if yes, how do you find the PD ?

If you are alone, do you bring your bb to alpha bb n child at jurong east ?

joeey - i never been to kidslink. only at alpha bb, i went alone b4, quite ok, but usually not much pp one, i wonder why :p

joeey - u boguht from thebookpeople b4? i tried looking for some books that i bought from bookdepository but i couldn't find similar.

thanks qingling, next time i'll try alpha bb at jurong east.
Yes, i just bought online from thebookpeople and use vposteurope (uk) shipping address. I think the price after the shipping is still cheaper.

hi isobellies, you are intending to put your bb in the bicycle bb seat ? i think not safe leh ... pls reconsider ...

eh. joeey, i tink its ok leh..i did that to H before. She quite enjoyed the ride. I wouldn't say the strap is extremely well strapped, but at least she's not wobbling in the seat.

2372740.jpg

Hi, ABC's mummy

Does playgroup at home mean 1.5hr every day at her home weekdays? No....

I mean playdate during weekends...or go to somewhere nearby like sembawang park together at weekends.

Hi, June
We Buy one week's supply of fish, meat, veg & fruits at weekends; usually on Wed we will grep some fruits to replenish while we have lunch at nearby shopping center.

Btw, guess potty training is more about routine, more about caregivers' willing to train.

pauline, not my hubby... it's me! i'm going to start contract teaching in July, so just wondering whether there are any benefits, so dunno whether should i continue with my current gynae or not. but from what u say, seems like no diff, so will probably just stick with my current gynae.

qing ling:
i'm working as hr

purple:
talking abt your bb likes to play by himself when he wakes up. mine like to lai chuang.. haha like his daddy & mummy

bb's food: i also bought abt 1-2 weeks supply of fish and meat to store. erm... hehehhe coz i wanna him to eat a variety if fish and meat, so i might store it for more than 2 weeks... prob up to 1 mth in the freezer. so far ok for him.

Hi, June

Yah... same as Jass... store up to 1-2 weeks;

will chop/cut/divide fresh meat/fish to small portions(one portion enough for one meal) and then freeze; defrost only one portion for one baby meal; otherwise wasting food by defrosting whole slice fish/meat etc.

Sorry to intrude. I'm frm the May/June thread. Need to find a gd buffet caterer for my son bday party. Heard ysl and neo garden not bad. Do u have any recommendations?

June, wa really, you don't want to be SAHM liao ah? I remember you were SAHM since Jerome was born right? Why the change in heart?

I think contract teaching staff got no benefits right? I'm not sure but the benefits i shared with you are for full time staff. Where are going to teach? I applied for relief teaching but no sound no picture leh... :p

hi hi..
saw my name being mentioned.. yes, i'm speed reading the thread on & off.. busy w my DS, work & school..

re: preschool
here r the factors that u can consider when choosing a preschool for yr kiddo:
Teacher to child ratio
Class Size
Program
Interaction between teacher and children
Staff Qualification
Staff Development
Family involvement
Healthy and safety
Environment
Special needs
Staff consistency
School Fees
Foods

i did 2 school observations for these factors.. rather interesting.. so keep these in view when visiting schools! good luck!

re: playgroup
tubao, yes, still keen to do.. my SIL is drafting the plan.. most likely it will be on a Sat.. once it's done, i'll notify u n those who expressed interest the last time..
basically, she will also have a tea session prior to starting the playgroup with mummies to better understand each mummy's objectives for playgroup so that she can meet these needs..

Finger Painting Experience

2374054.jpg

2374055.jpg

This was done when C was 13M.. i did fingerprinting and footprinting..
btw, for playgroup activities, be mentally prepared that the activities will be messy & dirty.. n there will be outdoor activities as well!

n oh yes, clarify the confusion of preschool (from 0-6yrs):

1. Infantcare
2. Pre-Nursery
3. Nursery 1
4. Nursery 2
5. K1
6. K2

hi nicole,

had been busy with work and bb,kindergarten are registered with moe,no subsidy,but for childcare is with mcys,there is working parent subsidy
heard even shichida got kindergarten now

iso,
i just cook it with the veg stock for flavour. first I rinse it with water then throw it into the soup. will just use the soup, so she does not eat the wofberry

tute,
ya, i think i put lots of ingredients. most of them are actually used to prepare the stock, so you dun see them in the porridge. until now, we still have not intro seasoning, so we try to use stock to prepare the porridge to make it more flavorsome.

hi all :0

on food
i used to be lazy and cook for my son in batches and freeze evenb though i cook only for him only on weekends. Then pass 3 weeks i suddenly stopped and just cooked a normal portion for me. hehehe...guess not lazy anymore

food storage
for purees and stocks can freeze. actually i pretty much freeeze everything during the earlier days...hehe

joeey..thanks for compliment! boosted my ego ...hehe...i just do wat i can. but ask me to cook for my hb..errmm...no thanks la...he is way better...hahaha

jass: wat is lai chuang? my son has happy wake up days and not so happy ones...i just concentrate on the good parts la..hahha

play date
hmm...im interested in joining play dates..can? hehe...i stay at the nort east. I thought wld be good for my son, Firhan to get used to ppl his age. Even though he has cousins who are mths apart..seldom meet la..hehehe...and oooppss...my elder sis just stays next door...bad bad..hehe

Finger Painting
WOW....i wanna try la!! But i OCD leh....very irritating abt messing the house!!! hahaha

hi iso, my impression of bb seat on the bicycle is that it's not very secure even after putting on the safety belt. the one i usually see is the grey color for toddlers one. always see those aunties ferry their kids/grandkids to school on their bicycles...

the bb seat in qingling's bicycle seems different and quite secure for heidi.

depends on what you are comfortable with ...

lehcar, i have eaten 3 neo garden buffets this year and all are good, i like their curry best but confinement mummies cannot eat ... hehe ...

eliaw, finger painting seems fun but very messy hor ... need to buy non-toxic paints right cos they might just lick it ?

Iso - that's taken in Pasir Park

Jass - you should see her now..hahaha..she's even more ba..my hubby says..hohoho.. that photo was taken at 11.5 months

eliaw - wow, interesting activity for C, it looks fun. i think H will have the paint all over the house instead of on the paper. I am not too sure if she can understand that she's suppose to "draw" with the colors. How do you tell C?

qingling

i guess right now no need to concentrate on telling them how to 'draw' just let them go crazy...hahaha...and have fun...of course cannot paint the walls la. suggest prepare the floor area with plastic and over them big pcs of paper...and mummy join in the fun.
hehehe..talk like easy...i also dunno how to handle if my son goes wild on the colors...hehe

bx,
so do you include any meat/veg when you give to Ashlynn or just plain rice porridge cook using stock? if you don't want to add seasonings then perhaps can add cheese for example then it will be creamy and salty a bit... sweet corn is nice actually, i puree them and mix with the porridge i give to C.

eliaw,
v interesting activity ! what type of paint do you do i with ? is it safe if they accidentally lick it ?

june,
i usually buy vegies once a week, sometimes can be up to 2 weeks... no hard and fast rule, just see if vegie is still good... as for meat i buy weekly, quickly cut them to smaller pieces (as i usually buy fillet) then put them in smaller plastics, when i want to use them just thaw the small quantity enough for 2 meals for that day

finger painting looks like fun! i want to try, what kind of paints do you use?

when i went for the GUG trial, they let them "paint" with jelly. quite fun, and surprisngly, E didn't try to eat it...

i did try to let him draw with crayons though, but these crayola are the "new" type, which are twistable - the woman said easier to draw, but it's really TOO easy to draw, it gets everywhere! and E was more interested in doing other things with the crayons. like tapping them on his head..
2374896.jpg