(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

piglettail

i understand... but hw come after knock off so late??? cant be earlier???

mine standard sleeping is 10plus after his feed... so during 7-10plus we will try to play talk with him

piglettail,
*hugz* me too...can never eat dinner properly. so i'd rather do all the baby stuff first before eating in peace. plus i have to do conference calls at night. really going to peng sun liao.

i come back about 7pm and latch baby 30mins straightaway (no time to bathe one). after that it's a bit of activity with her before wiping her down and putting her to bed. so from the time i reach home till about 830pm, i will spend with baby.

i only have about 30mins to myself to bathe, eat, then 9pm onwards will have conference calls with my US team on some nights. after the call, will do my pumping. then it's zzzzzzzz time.

my weekends are less hectic though cos we don't really have family obligations. usually spend with baby or go shopping. every 2 weeks, i get hb to look after bb on sat morning and i get my pedi done. that's about all the me time i have =)

maybe you want to be more selective about which family obligations you attend? or make it short and sweet dun hang around the whole day?

pigletail, this is what my working friends shared with me- they try to grab a quick snack like biscuits/bread at work around 4-6pm+ before they knock off, so that when they reach home, they'll be less famished and can spend every single min with bb first, then after putting bb to bed then they'll eat dinner n do dishes and chores. As for weekends, see if there are stuff you can cut down on doing, esp things that are not absolutely necessary. This way u have more time with bb. I was told that when you have so little time w bb daily, every minute counts.

working mums- I think I can feel the stress around here cause its not easy to juggle work AND a baby esp at this early stage. Just wanna say that it WILL get better, when bb is older and things are more routinised, you'll find enough time with your child. And when they are old enough to stay awake later and start toddling, you'll find that there is so much to do with them on weekends. I dont believe that a child will 'forget' a mummy whom they see daily even if its just for an hour- simply because you are the mummy, no one can ever replace you. Just do your very very best.

Garfield, thanks for encouragement, yup, been a very long 3 weeks. She still fusses when sleepy sometimes but at least we have seen her good days so more confident to put her to sleep.

Piggletail, let bb sleep with you if possible even though you are working. After a while, your body will be used to the interrupted and short hours of sleep and next day, will still be ok at work. This is coming from someone who used to sleep for more than 12 hours on weekend nights hor.

re:weekend parent
when i had my gal, i was working shift work. so bopian got to be weekend parent. but most of the times, esp the first yr, my gal is not close with us. we just go to mum's place to eat dinner n play with her that's all.

for my boy, i prefer to hand a lot of hand-on as i know i have missed out a lot during my gal's time. so now everyday, when i reach home abt 630pm. i will latch him.. then eat dinner , bathe, revise homework with gal n play with boy before he sleep.. super tired. then got to express before bed.. to wake up abt 3am to express n not forgetting to wake up when he cries...
but i enjoy every moments
so mummies, just tong for the first 2 yrs..

cheryl,
oh, tat's good..

piglettail,
it's like tat.. during weekdays, the time we can spend with our babies r v short if we r FTWM and they usually sleep early at nite at this age..
the most time i can spend with my kids are during the weekend..
Dun worry, your bb will not "forget" u.. hee..
for my case is, nw i tried to "escape" from my son for awhile whenever i can so that i can hv abit time for myself.. haha..
cos he is super sticky ever since i m preggie with #2 and still as sticky after my gal is born..
i guess you will find it easier to handle when ur bb is older and u will get used to it..

piglettail

i can totally understand how you feel abt having so little time with our bbs and ourselves (seem like its mutually exclusive hoh).

Same case for me (even worse cos i dun stay with my ILs but stay nearby), everyday me and hubby worked till 7/8/9 plus, rush to ILs place, feed/play/carry bb till ard 10 plus. Rush back home with dabao dinner (sometimes eat at IL's place), rush to eat/pump/wash & other chores/bathe, like that already 11 plus 12! Really tired and grumpy everynite when i'm back home.

I oso dunnoe if there's something wrong with my time-mgt, but i really can't think of ways to cut down on things to do as i'm oredi doing bare minimum chores at home and i'm reluctant to cut down my time with bb -- as it is, my boy oredi seem not to recognised me le and only seem to smile at my MIL *sob sob*. But hubby says if i everynite so grumpy, he'll suffer from my flare-up:p. So now i'm thinking of whether to only see bb alternate days or set time-line like (by 9 got to go home)...

Garfield, for real PT work, your porfolio should be halved or at least reduced. What you are doing now is FT work for PT pay. But company usually will not make that decision unless you tell them that you are confirmed you are converting to Permanent PT, but then your medical benefits, leave etc will be halved too. Must weigh your options before deciding lor.

Yanyen, I was like you too, grumpy when I see bb at ILs place then rush home every night. Flare up at hubby also that this was not the arrangement that I want. Now, I'm much happier. :p

yeay...this morning bottle feed my son a good 110ml...though it took 30minutes, but he managed to drink without crying too much...perseverance and patience do pay off ! haha... but he drinks while in sleeping sideways position similar so next step is to get him to drink in sitting position...

garfield,
hmm...your comment about working half day came just in time when i was about to do just that...was thinking either going half day for 2 or 4 weeks... probably gonna cut my leave short by 1-2 weeks...

artemis,
yeah...now i quickly move him to bed first before washing my hands...

kitsune,
ya hor...didn't occur to me *knock head* i'll try to dong for now. drink more chicken essence and red bull!!!

talking about grumpy, i oso get grumpy when i'm very stretched and frustrated. really scared it will affect my r/ship with hb.

tute,
wa congrats! you must be so happy!

my experience hor - if you really want to do parttime, better to do 2 or 3 full days instead of half day every day cos i find the travelling very disruptive. for me, i was trying to figure out the early morning/evening routine and well as pumping logistics.

kitsune,
what i've been doing for a month now is to fix pumping times at 11am, 3pm, 11pm, 3am. then will fit in latching baby when she first wakes up in the morning and when i reach home after work.

so when i was on half day PM, i fine-tuned the evening routine (ie, the 3pm pump at work plus latch after work). when i was on half day AM, i fine-tuned the morning routine (ie, the first thing in the morning latch plus 11am pump at work).

so now back to full time, i add the two routines together and it's ok so far cos nothing changes except i save the in between travelling time during lunch time if i were to be on half day.

one more question, anyone of you here is planning for no. 2 already. I thought i might need a long time before i will want to get no.2. but now my thinking might as well strike it while the iron is hot.

At least both of them can grow up together and i just dong for the first couple of years.

I have a 2 frens whose 2 kids are around 18 mths apart only. so wonder should i be trying the same since i have many pairs of hands at home helping out now...but finanically will be pretty scary!!!

kellie,

my 2 kids r 18 mths apart !!
on wkend when i look after them with the help of my maid, i still find myself very busy with them..
but the good thing is that since i hv already got used to waking up at night for my 1st kid, so it's not so tiring nw for the 2nd kid cos used to it liao.. and the experience of taking care of babies r still v fresh, so i feel i can handle my 2nd kid much better.. Oso they can grow up together like wat u said.. just xin ku for another couple years, then can relax abit liao..

yes, since u hv helpers to look after the kids, u just need to consider the financial factor..

Hi Kelli,

I think my mense came back at 2nd half month. I couldnt be sure cos is only a bit of discharge for a day or so.

Well mums, I would like to get advise on my breastfeeding session.

1st month- Confinement lady doing the feeding of EBM and formula. Occassional once or twice latch on.I express out every 3-4 hour interval and 1-2 times during midnight.
2nd month-latch on during night-time and weekends when i am out.weekdays' day time I will express out at interval of 3-4 hour.
3rd month(current)- back to work so i apply the rule of whenever i am with my baby, i will latch her on demand-supply rule. only express during at work at interval of 4hour(6am,10am,2pm,5.30pm)

So far my quantity of milk not a lot. every time is only 50-70ml each session, So my baby care giver give her 2feeds of EBM and 2feeds of formula.

Am I doing correctly so far? Cos currently, I notice she is hungry almost every hour or 2 on my breast and on my breast every evening from 8pm to 10pm to get her to sleep. Am I doing the right thing so far.

kirsten:
my gynae says ok to rebond while breastfeeding. and i have done tat

tute: jia you... you are doing great

kellie: haha looking @ my boy... i feel like having no. 2 leh. still considering whether its fesible
so far my mil will come to my house at 6.30am and help to look after Matthew with the help of my maid. She has been great! Very tiring for her as she will only leave after we reach home abt 7-8pm every night. So thought if we have no. 2, it will be easier as the maid will hopefully stay w us for 2 years (if she is ok). At least familiar with our style lah.

emily: i'm also pumping @ 4 hours interval. 10am then 2pm in office. but when i'm home i'll latch bb on 1 side and pump the other. But last feed @ abt 11pm, i'll give FM so that my boy can tong until 5am like tat. Less tiring for me. So morn will latch 1 side and pump the other side. makes logitsics easier.so far each pump (double side) can get abt 100-160 in total. but i'm taking this fernugreek recommended by the mums on this thread. suppose to take 2 tableta daily but i usually take only one as i always forget.

bx: ya she is great. no exp in taking care of bb coz her 3 children are taken care by her mil and sil but she is doing her best. sometimes quite worried abt her... scared she is tired

bx: wah... 9 tablets? i buy fr gnc wan leh... instruction is to take 2 daily. but onli see results after 1/3 to half bottles. orginally ss is abt total of 60-80ml after 5 hour interval.

bx,
did you try goat's rue?

re bottle teats,
may i know how often we need to change these? every month? or only when it shows signs of deterioration. i've been using mine for 1 month already, still looks ok so not sure if i need to change or not.

jaslyn,
same, i oso scared my mil tired. everyday see her like very worn out. quite sim tia. some mothers oso eating 9. the lady at GNC oso say can

garfield,
tried liao. herbal tea oso tried. just ordered the omega3 from artemis. hee... maybe if i didn't eat fenugreek and goat's rue, will have even lesser milk.

bx,
the omega 3 i bought from artemis seems to work for me. funny though, cos it's not supposed to increase milk supply. but i find that it did work for me. did you buy the essentials oso? i'm tempted to get.

hi berry,

when bb opens her mouth,i immediately put my finger in,but she will struggle with me and close her mouth very tightly,wonder how

hi lezy,

where to buy GLycerine?what is the brand?

been so busy at work..thread very active ah

no time with bb
i think i'm very lucky. My MIL comes and stays overnight at my place on sunday night so that she can look after bb on monday and she oso supervise my helper to cook dinner. after dinner, PILs go home. From Tues to Fri, my mom comes over to take care of bb. mom lives 5-6 bus-stops away. She usually comes by 7.30am as I leave for work by 7.45am. So far, the arrangement is good cos it gives me max time with bb without having to shuttle between 2 parents' homes.

Minute bb wakes up sat 6.30, I latch and then pump and eat at same time. after that bathe, dress up, play with bb 5mins, take her pic with my hp (i always take 1 pic of her b4 leaving house so i can look at her while i pump at work) and leave. at work, like berry said, i usually eat a sandwich abt 5pm so that i won't be so hungry when i get back. minute i reach home, i latch her or if she still good mood, i take quick shower and latch and play with her 20-30 mins. after that, me and hb put her to bed. then we have dinner.

after dinner, i nap until midnight, wake up and pump and then when bb wakes up 3-4am, i latch again.

i would LOVE to have more time with bb but i think this is the best i can do already. I just make sure that I play with her every minute i have. Surprisingly, she seems to know every evening that mommy is coming home and she will stay awake for me.

bcos time is so precious, i feel like i've become a MUCH MORE productive worker. Every minute I have I squeeze double the amt of work in so that I can knock off on time and rush home to be with bb. On weekends, I bring some work home so that I can spread out the time abit and not stay late on weekdays.

SS
surprisingly, my ss seems to have increased after the initial dip when i started work. dunno is it cos my pumping technique getting better or cos i take goat's rue 4 times a day or wat...but very happy cos nowadays i get 160ml each pump.

family obligations
yeah, like garfield said, be more selective or make it short and simple. i am very buay pai se these days when i get invitations, either i turn down esp evening functions (cos bb need to sleep n i dun wanna disrupt her routine) or i go and leave within 45 mins. so weekends are kept purely as bb time for me and hb. it helps that my ILs are willing to come over to spend time with us otherwise every weekend we'll have to spend time over at their place! and my parents dun wanna see us on weekends cos they sian already see us 4 days a week! hehe.

hello, i have beem MIA for along long time heee, not sure if you all still remember my nick...

My girl is doing fine in infant care currently...

though 2 weeks back, she has fever and vomit out 2 feeds, we are so traumatised that we admit her to TMC and let the PD check thoroughly.....

I am still on Total Breast feeding, pumping at 8am, 12.30pm, 5pm (15 min chop chop one), 10/11pm (depending on what time she sleeps), and 3am....

And yes, i am very much sleep deprived cos i still wake up for her night feeds!!!!!

our daily routine is like this hehee

morning 5.20am wake up, and pray she wont wake up so early, get dressed, wash pumps and get ready for work. drag hubby out of bed to help with the chores.

6.40 out of the house to go infant care
7.15 say bye to her at infant care so that we can beat ERP hehee
8am arrive at work and pump
knock off at 5.30pm, cannot OT, need to rush to take bus with my heavy barang barang of pump (Avent super big and heavy pump) with the milk bags.
6.45 reached the infant care bus stop, and walk in to fetch her at 7pm. hubby will be there ready to fetch us back in the car.
7.30pm reach house area, da bao dinner provided bb is not "singing in the car" cos she hates car seat.
back home, try to give her one more feed before settling her to bed...
she will sleep between 8 to 10pm, depends on my luck... so also determine my bath and dinner time...
after she sleeps, i pack her school bag for next day, and my bag... meanwhile hubby will do household chores...
then we faint on the bed hheeee.
she will wake up for one night feed... while i sitll pump in middle of night...

THUS, I am very sleep deprived....

and now back at work, i cannot really perform, cos too tired... i just hope i wont step on my boss toes for having to leave work on time, and to pump....but i think can kiss promotion goodbye liao..

re spending time with bb,
almost every sunday, hb and i will bring bb out for outing with another couple who have a bb that is of same age. so far we've gone to the beach, botanic gardens, meet for bunch etc.

it's been very enjoyable and relaxing. our babies get to interact in their baby way which i find good so that they get used to having other pple around, and the adults get to share experiences because our babies are at similar stage of development.

Sorry to intrude this thread.
I am selling my THERMOS Leak-Proof Food Jar B3000PK2 (blue) coz I find it too small. Used only once, selling at $28. Interested pls email me [email protected]
collection :parkway

Hi sunny,

After observing Danica for two days with no symptoms I have stopped worrying. Thanks

Hi Thankful,

Essentials is a set of very well formulated anti-oxidants and minerals. When taken in the recommended dosage, they help one's body to detox and satisfies all our bodies' needs for vitamins and minerals. I have been one who is very prone to flu and colds, almost once a week. But after taking Essentials for 2 months, the amount of times reduced to once a fornight, then once a month and nowadays I only get once in a very blue moon.

I think BiOmega, dor, Garfield and kelly already gave their "testimonies". :p But it also helps to keep our hearts in good shape. It supports healthy blood pressure and cholesterol. The difference between this and other fish oils is that it is is virtually free of contaminants, which are eliminated through a double-molecular distillation process and free of trans-fatty acids.

If you are interested let me know okay? I am going to Orchard tomorrow for the Isetan private sale and can pop by USANA which is at Taka.

Hi Berry,

:p Ever since Danica is born, I become second favourite already. My mother obesses over Danica that's why so harsh on me.

Hi tute,

*hi-five* So do I now. :p

RE: Essentials

I can only say that it is worth every cent that it costs. BUT you have to take the recommended dosage to see the effects. First 2 weeks of taking, you may get diahorrea from its detox effects if you do not move your bowels regularly, thereafter at least once a day. You may also get headaches if you do not drink enough water. That said I find that it helps to regulate my bowel movements and reminds me to drink enough water each day. Without it I cannot imagine myself tonging 19-20 hours daily with only 4-5 hours sleep while working in front of the computer for 8 - 9 hours. :p I'm helping my husband with his business while on maternity leave while looking after Danica without help.

RE: Myanmar disaster

My helper, who was supposed to be handed over late this week or early next week can only come in mid of next week and hand over late next week or end of this month due to the cyclone. <sigh> Looks like I have to take another week of leave to train her.

garfield,
i only got the omega3, not getting the essentials. too ex...

i brought ashlynn to junior league to shave at parkwade parade. there is one at suntec. $18!! so ex!!!

bx,
wow $18 is ex hor...almost the same cost as my haircut!! are they good? can deal with fidgety babies? dun think my gal will kuai kuai sit there for them to shave lor.

sunny, depends how how bad it is. Try to look into the FAR back of bb's throat to see how much it has spreaded, if the thrush is only on the toungue and in little amounts, you must clean it well several times a day esp after milk feeds to remove as much as you can. And if you use pacifiers, keep changing regularly as much as u can and MUST sterilise between usgae. Also, get a good probiotic from your PD (I use Lacto GG from my PD, abit exp but v effective and potent) daily/alternate days. If you can control the thrush and treat it with these methods (have to keep doing these even if its just a wee bit left later on, till completely eliminated) then I dont think u need meds for it. But if it gets worse or not better even with the above for a while, then better to see your PD to get meds.
But personally, I feel that probiotics is something that will only benefit a child greatly in terms of digestive health n immune system so I give both my kids probiotics on a regular basis.

an auntie cut for my bb. quite steady and experienced. plus ashlynn was cooperative. i carried her, she didn't even notice someone shaving her. there's a LCD screen in the "cubicle" playing barney show. ashlynn was distracted by it.

garfield/jaslyn,
thanks...but scared it's a once in a bluemoon incident...this afternoon i caught him at when he's drowsy so only manage to give him 40ml(yet again) but i am just happy he's drinking some... see tom how it goes... i tell myself every day is a new adventure...so expect the unexpected... hehe..

artemis,
how much is essentials again ? am interested to get for my hb...coz he's v prone to falling ill...

artemis
wat is tis essentials abt? got link 2 c? how much is it per bottle? how many tablets in a bottle? how many 2 consume per day? i working it out 2 c if it's worth it anot.