(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

lezy is not that Nan not suitable for yr gal. Perhaps Mamex Gold is sweeter den Nan that y yr gal might have rejected Nan. Just my opinion la.

lezy u very funny bb breathe like darth vader. But sometimes they do have phelgm and dunno how to cough out so they might be discomfort and cranky.

today i'm very happy...managed to bottle feed my son 50ml in the morning for 1 feed and 75ml in the afternoon.... heheh... hopefully this will continue...

qingling,
lezy is right... my baby also have lotsa phlegm sound and i check with pd, he said it's normal for newborns.. it *should* go away later on...

mamex gold sweeter???
my son when 1st few after discharge from hospital is frinking mamex den after i move to IL hse, den switch to nan den nan ha den now back to nan

hi ladies!

Artemis,
*Hug* dun worry, im sure bb is ok. i also have the habit of leaving bb unattended for a while while i go to throw away his dirty diaper after changing him.... will be more careful from now.

Changing FM
My bb has been on similac since birth. he has been poo-ing 7-8x (during 1st month) and about 4x (after 1st month until now) a day. im thinking of switching to S26 Gold, does anyone has any review on this brand?

hi mummies who ordered Princessbowbow items thru me,

The items hv arrived !!!

i will arrange to collect them from the organiser..
hope to make it on time to pass to u gals during the gathering at kelly's place..

Hello Kelly
Finally made my way to an ATM yesterday:

To Account POSB Savings 107-47012-3
Amount S$1.60
Transaction Reference DBS 3394

Piglettail

I used S26 for my baby for one week after he was born. But his stools were very solid. I told the PD, he said that S26 is quite dry, and gave me a free tin of Friso. Has been using Friso since.

happy,
thanks! hope to be able to get the clips before i shave bb botak...then she won't be able to use them for a long, long while.

hey.. dor.. yar.. i did express over there.. brought back 5 packs of milkbag and i bottle of 250 ml... freeze them in the hotel fridge compartment.. and freeze my fridge to go panels in their fridge.. My fridge to go panels din manage to freeze.. but it was enuff to keep my milk almost frozen still thruout my trip back. So u can bring ur fridge to go bag w u!! Must put in luggage lor cannot hand carry.

berry.. my ger's one is very defined and very white.. so what do u think it is har? u got experience that before?

re: cutting baby eyelash
Jac.. my fren also told me abt it today!! So i cut liao leh.. but must cut how short before it will grow long har?.. quite difficult to cut leh.. and how long does it take before the lashes to grow back.. i very scared skali will not grow back leh..

Wah u very brave let maid cut ur bb's eyelashes.. how did she convince u??

re: shave bb hair

Bx.. why shave ashylyn's hair cause she drop hair har??

Vernon's Mummy,
"to nan den nan ha den now back to nan"

That is damn funny....very hard to read!!!
machiam like... "难得难得难得。。。"

To piglettail / SweetPea :

I m currently using S26 Gold (and of course breastmilk) for my bb. It is so far so good for me, though there is occasionally dry stool. I do agreed that S26 Gold is quite drying, but guess it is fine for my bb cos I also feed my bb water during the feed interval.

Hope this information helps... haha.. first time go into this forum cos my bb also born on Feb 2008 (a day before the leap year!). It is really great to have lotsa of mummies for view sharing cos I think they will understand each other better..

jeannie, if its a very whitish creamy patch on the tounge and you cant rub it off with a toungue brush or gauze, then it is very likely to be thrush. Thrush can affect drinking and even spread to the throat, best to treat asap.

hi berry,
where to get tongue brush?i try using gauze on my finger but my bb dun let my finger go into her mouth,how??i can only clean the tip of the tongue,cant touch the middle :<

Hi bx,

I have replied you.
About staying with ILs, while my relationship with my ILs has been very amicable (we went there every week for dinner), I cannot really imagine myself staying with them. Firstly, their philosophy of child rearing is very different from mine. Secondly, their cleanliness levels are also different from mine. When my MIL was staying over for my confinement, although she took very good care of me and Danica and was very supportive of my breastfeeding, I was in agony over the way she placed the utensils, crockey and cultery after cooking and washing up. Also, a week after her stay, I discovered to my horrors that somehow ants have infested my kitchen. To her is: Kitchen sure will have ants what. <fainted> So my advise is: while it is good to have a good relationship with ILs, there is such a thing as too close and too much intimacy.

Hi Garfield9,

Thanks. I was more like scared stupified... :p Not really sure how to react. My HB was the one who ask me to check for bruises and bumps. It's a big warning to her blur mummy. :p

Hi lezy,

Yeah, now even when I step away from her a moment, I will place her in her cot or strap her in. I think my heart stopped when I saw that she was not on the changing table.

Hi Thankful,

Thanks, I will be. :p The incident has burned in what they taught in ante natal class: "Never leave the baby unattended on the changing table!".

Hi Berry,

Thanks. Yes, I am very guilt ridden. My mother was not very helpful either. "Other things you so smart, take care of your daughter so stupid!" and so on on the day it happened cause she came to visit us. My MIL was more: "Thank God Danica is okay and I'm sure you have learnt your lesson and won't do it again." But nothing anyone said could lessen my guilt and I watched her like a hawk over the last few days to check for any anomalies.

Hi tute,

I was shocked for a moment and then very heart broken when I realised what had happened. Please don't leave your son unattended any more!

Hi jeannie,

I have been watching her. So far so good. She is still her normal cheerful self. Thank God!

Hi piglettail,

Yes, do be careful not to leave your son unattended. Learn from my experience!

Hi SweetPea, dorothy,

Thanks, I am happy to say that, so far <touch>, Danica is doing fine and her normal cheerful self.

RE: tongue cleaning

Is it necessary to clean their tongues? During the last ante natal class at Singapore Chinese Girl's School, the PD (I forgot the name liao) remarked that it does not serve any purpose and is not comfortable for the baby as well. Of course, as an adult I do clean my tongue but not sure how to do it for Danica cause mine I use my toothbrush and sometimes gag myself :p Is there a special device just to clean baby's tongue?

RE: gathering at kelly's place

I want to join too with Danica. Eh... But if I cook you gals and family may end in seeing doctor and sending me the bill :p So can I bring maybe a couple of pizzas or something like that?

Oops... Super long post again, sorry gals.

bx/Jeannie, my hubby is a teacher so we also debated whether to leave my bb at ILs place and only bring back on Fri night cos he needs to mark and wakes up early. After the first night when I went back to work, we started bringing her back liao.
1) Hardly get to latch on if she's at ILs place so I get blocked ducts.
2) Missed her and could feel that she's getting closer to ILs because out of 24 hrs, I only see her for 2-3hrs and even she was sleeping during that short window.
3) So many experienced mummies advised me not to be weekend mum for better baby bonding. Esp since we stay so close to ILs, we should bring her back.
4) ILs don't see details (cos 'lau hua yan'). Don't know that my girl's toenail was broken, had a new rash on her face etc. Also, don't agree with some of the things ILs were doing, keep rocking her to sleep. No intellectual stimulation, sing songs yes, but only in Mandarin, no exposure to English at all.)
So in the end, we bring her back every night. But ILs will come and fetch her at 7am everyday. The beginning was tough, had to retrain her sleep routine cos when she first brought her back, she'll cry and fuss and can't sleep until 11+/12pm maybe not used to the shuttling.

Nowadays, she usually sleep by 9pm so hubby could do his marking while keeping an eye on her in the room. He'll do the feed around midnight (for today, it was 10:30pm) while I do the 3-4am feed, usually the next feed is 7+am (at ILs place if I'm lucky). If not, I'll have to feed twice in the night, one more time at 6+am. If your hubbies are not teachers, can send your baby to ILs place later in the morning or if possible ask ILs to come and fetch bb.
Most importantly, although it's been 3 weeks since I started doing this and I've been surviving on 5hrs sleep everyday, it's been really worth it. Being able to bf her when she cries at night and seeing her smile when she wakes up in the morning is 'priceless'.

Not sure if anyone is interested but USANA is having a special offer: Essentials (multi vitamins) + BiOmega is selling at S$110 instead of S$122 (S$86 + S$36) for this week. If interested let me know okay?

Kitsune,
Wow, congrats! Raeanne has really shown great improvement in terms of sleeping early. Happy that your perseverence has paid off. There is indeed something very special about being there for baby when she cries in the middle of the night hor

Are you still contemplating being a SAHM? i've been working part time for 4 weeks, wanted to share that it's not very worth while to do that cos half the pay but work load is the same....like today, had to work till 9pm to finish my work even though i'm supposed to be only working mornings.

bx,
i think best to be able to see bb more often. if you can work out an arrangement like kitsune's, then you have one more option other than staying together. you are in the best position to know if there will be issues staying together or not. as berry says, some ILs are wonderful and we cannot generalize that r/ships are always necc bad. in any case, you are doing this for the sake of your bb, so i think the intent is very noble and good.

hi hi mummies,
really busy to post these days.. thread is very active..

garfield, work is killing me too! i've still got loads n loads of work despite working 4 full days per week..

PIL troubles - somehow there will be conflicts no matter wat.. just how serious they are.. sucks big time! it's tough to just ignore.. but just gotta do it..

hi cheryl,
don't mind, cld u pass me the contact for Nan. I wanna buy Nan 1ha if it's cheaper. Thks!!

Re : Gathering on Mon
Ok if i bring cake as dessert?

PIL issues:
thanks gals for ur suggestions

most likely will only stay together after we get a bigger place in a few years time. coz we sound mil out. she is oso not comfortable shifting over (think she knows i am cleanliness freak hee hee after the 1 mth confinement). she prefers to start "afresh" in a new home.

kitsune,
agree with u that my ILs "lau hua yan". i saw bb's milk bottle got ant! not possible for them to come over to bring bb over coz i leave home at 6.15am. and i dun feel safe for bb to be alone with hubby. moreover it is very far for them to walk to my place. and they dun drive. so i will send bb over every morning for the time being until we stay together.

garfield,
i know stay together sure got conflicts wan. coz i am one fussy woman! keke... and mil is oso quite strong headed. i guess i will shelf the plan for the time being.

garfield/eliaw,
my markings are killing me too! was up at 3am to mark! now taking a break...

berry
will the thrush spread to lip area? my boy's lip got whitish stuff especially when he just wakes up or after feed. i tried to use handkerchief to rub away, need to rub few times then it will go off leh... but he is drinking well.

artnemis
good to hear that danica is ok. don't worry too much if there's no vomitting and bb is active.

re: weekend parents
IMO, if it's possible, try not to be one. after a while, you will find that it worths the effort to bring bb back home every night though you only hv little time to spend with bb before he/she sleeps.
for my case, my gal sleeps early at around 8pm+. by the time i fetched my gal and reached home, it's already 7pm+ and we have only about half an hr to spend with her. my friend asked me why not just spend time with my gal at my mil's place and leave her there and bring her back during weekend. i just don't want loh. 'cos i know when she grows older, she would not be so attached to us. now my gal is 2 yrs +, whenever my in law asked her to stay with them overnight, she would refuse and insist to go home with us. as a possessive mum, i am really happy about it. haha...

kirsten
i read that currently there's no scientific proof that rebonding will affect bb while you are bf. so, it depends on how comfortable you are.
i did rebonding last time when i bf and also when pregnant.

Jeannie
actually my sister in law also cut my niece lashes when she was bb which is 7yrs old now. Her lashes is so long and curly now so i told my maid i dont dare to cut and when i come back from work she told me she cut liao. I know alot of people dont trust maid but i got full confidence with my maid. She has been with us for 4yr already.

When my maid know that i was pregnant she went to enrol nursing class for herself which she pay the fees by herself and only request from my mum 2 sundays off per month. She is handling my bb very well thats why i can really concentrate when i go back to work.

WIPES
I bought NTUC wipes but i find it very wet and hard to pull if bb poo. I still prefer pigeon one, i think i will stick to pigeon.

hi pp.. i am back to work. Luckily not much things to do now.

Kitsune/ BX/ Sunny/ Garfield.. i also want to bring baby back leh.. but then i leave hse at 630. If i leave w baby. scared she feels a bit stress cause being woken up in her sleep like that. but i think i will try out cause i also very jealous kind. Scared in the end she doesnt get attached to me and gets attached to the grand parents. :p

Jac.. so u were tempted to cut har.. hehe after seeing ur niece's eyelash./. but originally was ur ger's one short? i suppose normal length har.. so it actually grew longer.. thats good.. so just trim off a bit can liao rite?

Ur maid is very good.. i think u all must be very nice to her too..

kristen,
My hairdresser boss says rebonding or dye hair can transmit to breastmilk. So better don't do as chemical can pass thru. My hairdresser said don't put your baby in danger as many hairdresser want to earn your money that's why say it's safe to do so.

Artemis,
Is the Essentials (multi vitamins) + BiOmega is selling at S$110 instead of S$122 (S$86 + S$36) good? How many times per week? How to collect from you? You have my hp number?

UPZ

LELONG LELONG...

NAN1

anyone keen to 'takeover' my Nan 1 (not HA)? I tried for awhile but not suitable for my girl. She kept crying after that so i guess maybe make her tummy uncomfy...so i'm sticking to Dumex Mamex Gold. (i itchy backside wanna try NAN....but in the end...)

It's a little more than half a tin full...feel wasted to throw away. (Feel very stupid cuz I kept feeding her despite her discomfort. My mum scold me for changing FM)

Price: can just give me a token amount.

Huggies S44 (left with 33 pieces)
My bb outgrow liao .

Price: $10 (negotiable)

Drypers S64 - Brand New Pack
"over bought" but baby only used the 'free 4' samples and never got to use the rest before outgrowing.

Price: $10? (negotiable)

All items self-collect (depot road after 7pm, Telok Blangah Cres during work hours) or can meet up to pass central area after 7pm. (i don't work in city so if go in - after ERP.)
(Abit heavy to post diapers la..)

If NO TAKERS by tonight, I'll post in WTE/WTS threads.

Jeannie
actually my ger lashes already very long but i still cut so it will go more and longer. 2weeks after i cut her lashes is long and it curls, so nice. yap just cut short and cut once only.

BABY/WORK SCHEDULE

I was really scared for awhile....on how to cope but baby seems to have been really cooperative.

Schedule:

6am: 10min latch &amp; return to sleep
7am: 10min latch, then EITHER sleep OR wake up &amp; play.
8am: mum arrives to pick baby while i have quick breakfast (&amp; change if i haven't)
8.30am: leave for work
MIDDAY: boss allows me 1-2hours to go home and feed baby. Timing depending on what time baby fed and if i have no meetings.
Evening: Dinner then home to play with baby etc.
10.30pm: Baby starts to feel irritated and sleepy (but needs abit of coaxing to sleep - either latch on or pacifier and rock/pat)
11pm: put baby on bed, she sleeps till 6am.

Despite baby sleeping through the past 3 nights, I still wake up every other hour to check on her - kinda used to it i guess.

NEXT STEP:
re-arrange our room abit so that we can put a baby mattress on the floor - let baby sleep on her own!

BABY TONGUE:
i also thought no need to clean.

During my confinement (1st month), my mum bath baby for me so everyday she will clean.

After my confinement and i start to bath baby myself, i usually forget and for a period, her tongue became very white.

Now we start cleaning again, it's much better and I feel it's better to clean - just like we clean our mouths everyday, baby also have clean mouth will be healthier, more wholesome and according to my mum, better appetite.

WE use either glycerine or this brownish powder (jin feng san). For both, method is to wet gauze, wrap round your finger and put the syrup/powder on gauze. Sometimes we will dab abit on baby tongue let her taste. GLycerine is sweet, while JFS is slightly bitter. She seems used to it.

sunny, yes, thrush can spread to lip area too. my older DD had it for a while, lingered for 3 months!!

artemis, omg your mum said that?! aiyo eh, thats about the worst thing to say to a guilt-ridden mum who is already feeling terrible.

goodgal, get the finger brush thingy that comes with bb toothpaste, the rubbery soft spikey one from supermarkets n pharmacies, its originally meant to be used as a gum brush. For v stubborn thrush, I use gauze, the finger brush only for maintanence. you have to sit and wait, try to talk to bb and make bb open mouth then quickly stick your finger at the side, reach in and swipe over the toungue. sometimes it takes me up to 10-15 min to clean properly cause gotta wait for bb to open his mouth lol.

bx, ya ILs house full of ants, milk bottle also have. That's why everytime got to do double work, they 'sterilise' already, I bring back still need to sterilise again. Told them to leave the bottles in the steriliser (so that cleaner, no ants) but they don't listen, keep taking them out. When MIL stayed with us during my ML period (after CL went back), PIL will bring food over very often. But always insist to open up the food so that they won't spoil easily, end up attracting so many ants. Until now, the ants are still here though my MIL has gone back for nearly 1 month liao. :p

Jeannie, my gal usually wakes up only when ILs are crossing the road to their house but yesterday morning, she was wide awake at 6+am wanting to play so it depends. I think you can train them to sleep earlier in the night so that they'll wake up earlier so that won't be a problem anymore.

cheryl,
oh is it? i didn't know! (i guess cuz for me, i always transfer milk powder out to another smaller container and use from there instead of taking from the tin)

guess i'll have to throw it away liao? feel so wasteful when children in poor countries are dying

happymum

he 1 days nvr poo liao so duno leh... zzz...

but not big problem lah.. a few mummies who bb also drink nan 1 also have the same problem.

eliaw, bx,
very siong hor...last night i crashed when i hit the bed. set the alarm clock to wake up to pump and didn't even hear it. slept through all the way to 6am and woke up with a very wet t-shirt.

bx, jeannie,
re bringing baby home - maybe you can try when school hols start then not so siong for you? then you can figure out a routine for you and baby early in the morning and before her bed time. machum dry run like that. that's what i did the past 4 weeks. i worked 2 weeks in the afternoon (to figure out the routine from after work to putting bb to bed) and 2 weeks in the morning (for routine early morning).

thanks sweatpea and stardust for your inputs on S26

Care for baby/bonding with baby
i stay with my ILs and they care for bb during the day. it is usually 8pm (or slightly over) when i return from work and im very exhausted and haven had dinner yet. this is also the time when bb is about to sleep.i have to gobble down my dinner, do the dishes and only get to spend like 15mins with him before he starts to get cranky and it's time to change into his pjs and sleep already.

bb doesn't sleep with me during weekdays (he sleeps with ILs) due to our work demands.

also worried that bb may start to 'forget me' already....

weekends are often filled with rushing around for family obligations (wedding/birthday/mothers day, etc gatherings) and on Sundays we bring baby over to my parents house.

all in all i feel that i am not spending enough time with baby, so exhausted from all the moving around and yet no time for myself too (dun even have time to eat dinner properly everyday)..

does anybody share my frustration?or am i not managing my time well?