(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hello mummies! Very long since i posted..

Congrats leila!! I suppose all #1 have to go thru such a phase due to #2..its finding all means to ease #1 with the new sibling.. I had lots of difficulty with #1 too, she would always throw tantrums,cry easily at the beginning only last 3 months its better, i tink its getting used to.prob let ur hub or mil handle bb more than u can give ur attention to L. When u need to pump or bf, give him an activity to distract or cartoons? Try to spend some solo time with L. Jia you! Hope everyone recovers already.

Zoo outing - if anyone keen? Me n jeannie meeting for this fri
ard 10am.. Let us know if any1 interested to join us.. We will b bringing both our little ones to the waterplay

leila congrats!!

Same as the other mummies, my #1 was quite fussy even b4 #2 came.. the 1st 2 mths will be tough. Plus i dun have CL so my #1 follow my in laws home everynight and in fact she prefers my in laws anytime to me during that period cause i am always latching #2 for long periods of the day. I was quite sad that #1 behaved like that, she was ok with baby not exactly very interested.. i think this part u need them to slowly build up.. now she adores her baby bro and will help out with stuffs and even play with him, carries him.

To be honest, most of the time, i will bring Gwen out cause fuss free, just need to bring water bottle, she can go toilet and eat outside food. So i will always remind her when we are out that we never bring didi out, didi is very sad so go home u must hug didi, sayang didi and stuffs like that. Get #1 involved and if need to attend to #1 first then bring him back to attend to #2 together.

Re: playdates
Yar, we can prob meet on haji, wednesday, 17 .. how?? Want? Where?

Re: zoo
Yar.. join us!!

leila,
Congrats to you!! I also had a hard time with #1 before & after #2 came.. He wanted my attention almost 100% of the time! Felt so guilty towards #2.. Even till now, whenever i tried to have some bonding time with #2, he will surely come & disturb us..

re: playdate
I m keen but 17 Nov i can't..

leila
everything sounds so familiar... and i hear it takes them a year to settle down! for E he didn't have major terrible twos, but after #2 arrive, wah, he's been giving me a hard time for the last 5 months. Sometimes he cries more than didi. si buay sian! some people advise to spend quality time with #1 alone, but i feel that it hasn't made much of a difference. one of my friends says she feels guilty towards her #2 because the maid looks after #2 more.

Guess we just have to try our best and ride out the difficult time! i'm counting down to 7 months more

finally got big A to sleep then i can post here. on child mc today.

leila,
what u r experiencing is normal. took big A almost 2 months to accept the fact that she has a didi. till now, she sticks to me like super glue and needs 100% of my attention. but at least she doesnt throw tantrums and keep crying like she did in the first 2 months. i feel extremely guilty towards #2 as i don't get to carry him, feed him, play with him. only get to do this at night when big A goes to bed. but usually by then, didi also sleep already.

re: playdate on 17 nov
me keen. by then big A should have recovered bah.

Quick post...

Re gathering,
Was about to suggest the Hari raya haji day as well! I'm all for it.

Jeannie/Ql,
Me also intend to go zoo this coming Friday. Not sure if going waterplay or not, I will let you know if confirm going.

Eliaw,
If gathering confirm on, can pass during gathering? Otherwise I'll swing by your place next weekend?

bx.. i forgot i got event already at 12 plus in the afternoon.. dunno end what time..sigh.. me getting very forgetful..

ql,
don't have your number, but i have jeannie's if hers is still the same.

just in case - i will pm you my number, can you reply back ?

btw - i am hoping to go a bit early around 8-9am coz don't want to stay too late... and avoiding the hot hot sun :p

thanks !

re: eating
pauline,
i guess it's because i 'punished' her by taking away her after dinner ice cream on Thursday night. She cried after realised her ice cream is gone.
btw, we have also been giving her the fish that we eat and mix with her porridge that cooked with the soup that we eat too. i feel that it's tasty enough.

anyway, i tried to blend veg+meat into pasta sauce and she's able to finish the pasta. at least i am now happy that she does eat some nutritious food now. just that it's troublesome to blend things for her.

tute/iso,
thanks the advise on involving them @ grocery shopping & cooking.
i've been doing grocery shopping without her all this while as it's troublesome to bring her along. same goes for cooking, i am afraid that it's too dangerous to keep her in the kitchen because of the hot stuffs.

should start doing that slowly...

re: gathering
Hari Raya Haji is fine with me..
going back to work after that liao.. time flies.

leila,
so fast you delivered 6 weeks ago..

for me, i tried not to carry #2 as much as possible when #1 is around. that's easy to do because #1 is in fullday childcare.
when #1 is around and curious about her little sis, I then let her 'baobao' meimei (with our assistance), play with meimei. basically meimei become a real life 'anak patung' for her to play... *ooppps...

she definitely shows jealousy when we tend to mei mei during feeding, burping, carrying. especially #2 is a less easy child.
when I am carrying meimei, daddy will ask #1 if she wants to be carried.
when I am feeding meimei (latch on), i will let her to decide on which side to feed first then feed her with the side she chose. (then secretly switch to the correct side when she's not around :p).
when meimei crying, i will ask her what to do. then she will give meimei her toys. but of course meimei will still cry, then i ask her is it ok for mummy to carry meimei. if she says yes, I will go and carry meimei; if she says no, i will ask hb or other ppl to carry meimei. this also means that meimei will cry longer hour... :p

i let her carry, patpat, sayang, touch meimei whenever she likes. of course she will often be too rough and meimei will be uncomfortable or cries. then we will teach her to be gentle... during the time that we taught her to be gentle, she will cry badly as seems that we are scolding her. then we will give her a hug assure that she's a good girl, we love her..

hai.. lots of work.

find that it's really not easy to take care of them at the same time.
when i am alone with #2, i can have some freetime to do my own thing. while the 2 of them is around, it's so so difficult to make #2 sleep, drink milk because #1 is disturbing.

XY, oic, yup, she probably thinks it's ok not to eat since she will still get her ice cream after that. Smart move.

I don't like to give RaeAnne sugary snacks and esp cold stuff like ice cream so far. Cos I'm freaked out by her 1 month cough. Nowadays, if I'm free, will boil the 'zhi ke tang' for fun and give to her and hubby. :p

Pauline, i have problem restricting s from taking cold stuff cuz he likes his juice or smoothie to be cold! So headache for me lo.

clover,
frankly speaking, i can't handle both #1 and 2 alone.
whenever both of them at home, i got to make sure there's another pair of hand to help.
or else, i will definitely go crazy.

pauline,
icecream, cold drinks are items that surely appear during dinner time. whole family (FIL, SIL, hb) will make sure they have this during mealtime.

tong,
the smoothie you make is it very thick?
big C doesn't like the smoothie i serve even with i made them with vitamix.

xy, Tongtong, I tell raeanne that if she is sick n cough, mummy cannot bring her gai gai cos she cannot go to places with air con. she seems to listen cos she remembers her bad cough well.

XY
agree! I get v cranky when I have to handle both myself. can manage but i think i end up scolding #1 because i simply don't have the bandwidth to have patience. ya i know what u mean abt troublesome to bring them grocery shopping, usu i threaten to not bring E or to make him sit in the trolley if he keeps touching things, heh. sometimes he can be too "helpful".

bx
A only act up for 2 months?? you v lucky leh :D

gathering
i won't be able to make it! will only be back from our family holiday to Phuket on 17th night.

XY, hubby and I sometimes have cold drinks after dinner too but we drink it sneakily in the kitchen so that RaeAnne won't see it. Otherwise, we drink after she has fallen asleep. Like now, I'm having root beer and instant noodles. ;P

xy.. because i am scared that Gwen will have cough, i actually dun order cold drinks outside if possible, end up we always drink kopi and now she loves kopi.. haha.. But she is like every other kids, very sensitive, once take cold drinks will cough at night.. sigh.. so troublesome.. like Raeanne, she coughed for 2 mths consect previously so i very scared.. All fruits cannot be cold, no ice cream or maybe lick a few times only and even yakult must drink at close to r.temp and can only take half.

U mean carrie doesnt coough that easily? she can take all these cold stuffs?

Re: taking care of 2
Same as iso.. i can handle but extremely short fuse and obviously.. Gwen gets it from me too.. cause "too helpfuL" till she mess up things .. so i rather put her at in laws place or ccc where she can get more attention, dun want her to feel that i am always scolding her when #2 is ard and always handling #2. I am so happy that 5 mths has passed!! I think once #2 comes to 1 yr old and beyond, things shld be much easier... although i miss babyhood but looking forward to easier times ahead too.

Re: No.3
Anyone actually considering #3?

Iso.. i also looking to plan some trips to phuket.. u going with both kids? can share the airline, hotel u stay in? How much per pax? I suspect u are staying in club med har? Hehe..

XY:
Try to give #1 Avocado Milk shake? Can blend with avocado, honey, milk and ice... thas the only shake or smoothie Matt can finish up so far.

re: cold stuff
My boy too loves cold stuff! Prob conditioned by mt helper to take cold things... the stuff she gives him are generally cold. Pissed. Cold milk, cold porridge. Anything that is slightly warm, he will scream hot. Very frustrating. Sigh...

Asked her to steam a pao for me for breakfast before I went to zzz last night. She took it out of the fridge and steam on high fire for 5 min then tell me ok liao. The pao which is uber cold on the inside totally spoil my morning as I have a craving for da pao.. office onyl sells halah pao... sigh. Sorry girls... a bit whiney today.

Pauline:
Haha same about my hubby and I taking cold stuff sneakily. Hahah even when we order drinks during meal time outside, we try not to touch them until Matt has finished his meal. Else... he will not finish his food and just want to drink our drinks. Sigh...

Jass, my maid tends to make raeanne's milk super hot so I think it's worse lor. got to wait for it to cool down. :p

genice, jass, haha, ya the sacrifices we make for our kids.

oic..

actually my maid here about 2-3 months with us. Milk still made by ourselves. hee. she can be very blur so scared she will get the proportions wrong i also dunno.

Somemore if wrong or need to throw away, i will be very heartache cuz milk powder so expensive!!!

now i'm only just starting to get her to cook once a week for us on weekends. Hope can load her abit more in time to come

Xy, for smoothie, sometimes it's thick sometimes it's watery hehe. Cuz sometimes I add too much water.

Hai, I am such a bad mummy today. I caned him twice n told him that he would have a new mummy. Think I too mad Liao n said stupid things.

Lezy:
You may wish to write down the proportion of hot/cool water and milk so that it is easier to get your helper involve in the milk making process. I still get her to fill up the milk powder containers as she always get it wrong after a while. Need to spot check lor. V sian.

Tongtong:
Its common to say things without thinking when we are angry and frustrated. *Hugz* Take a deep breathe!

Looking forward to do picnic @ ECP tomorrow morning. Hope the weather will be good.

genice
haha you are right, we're going to club med AGAIN, and everyone is going, also going with BIL, SIL, nephew, MIL, and hubby's aunty. It's $1.6k for 2 adults, and if u have 2 kids they automatically give u 2 connecting rooms without any extra charge! not that the 2 kids will want to sleep in the other room, but i guess more space is always good.

BTW I heard that for Phuket Mariott vacation club, if you know someone who has the membership and they refer you, you can stay in a villa for free! i have some friends going to do that today, and another friend who is apparently getting a villa with 6 (!) rooms going sometime later this year.

Airfare by Silkair was about $200+ per person - could have been cheaper but we waited a bit too long.

Last time bkkgal stayed at Movenpick, sounds really good too!

on a good day i want up to #4. on a bad day i don't want any, and i even wish i was still single! LOL.

making milk
my sis pre-prepares all the powder in those milk dispensers, and she will even pre prepare the amt of water in each bottle, then during the day the maid will use the bottle warmer. i guess more fool-proof that way?

but now that our tots are so old i dun really care how much powder there is, as long as there is more water, if u know what i mean.

ql,
u wake up so early!! to pump?
how come didn't meet up in the end? haha.. then i still got chance to join u all again

ql,
we turn around too...when you sms me, i was already on sle (no turning back so might as well see how bad the crowd is), it was horrible turned out! think next time i'll go during weekdays.. :p

Iso.. do we need to be a member to book club med? $1.6 K is just for rooms or together with airfare? How many nights are you all staying? Are there elephants on site?

Yar.. phuket marriot club got free stay if u are being referred by a club member but too bad i dunno anyone ther.. haha.

Qingling and bx.. yar lor.. everytime cannot meet one.. Sigh..

QL, i brought both of them to T3 in e end since already out.. dunno where else to go.. Love the T3 nursing room at B2, very big! Haha..

So are we meeting?? Y not we meet this sat? :p

genice,

i'm ok for this saturday.. anyway, i'm marriot club member.. need referral, let me know..

Iso,
is the marriot phuket any good? Haven't been there before..

Re: Money Seminar
My school got new seminar.. just tot share w you all see if anyone interested.. I might be going..

Tomorrow last day to register!

mime_zip.gif

Moneymatters.zip (24.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

eliaw.. refer me!! Haha.. i am serious!! what details do you need from me.o.. dear.. i snd so cheapskate.. :p.. hope u dun mind.

Gathering,

Sat (AM)13th Nov, this sat
1. Pauline
2. xiaoyun
3. Iso
4. tubao (Dec)

Sat (PM) 13th Nov, this sat
1. Garfield
2. tute
3. eliaw
4. Pauline (after 4pm)
5. xiaoyun
6. genice
7. Bluegin
8. Iso
9. tubao (Dec)

Anyone still keen? Other than me and eliaw?

genice,
haha.. no la.. not cheapskate.. who doesn't want good deals?!!? i check with the marriot sales rep then let you know.. no hurry right?

anyway, there's a HFMD outbreak again.. last week C's school kena, then i sort of quarantined him at home and just last saturday cleared of the 5 days incubation period.. Heng he never kena..

eliaw
ooh next time maybe i ask you to refer me also! heh. I haven't been there, but also i think these are the villas, which is different from the hotel?

genice
$1.6k is the 1 for 1 price for 2 pax, so each pax about $800, min no. of nights is 4N with this promo.

i am feeling so sick today, got a bad cough for ages from E, and now got fever. and still need to look after the 2 boys. aiyo.

meet up
aiyo i so blur! this sat we going to phuket, so i can't make it at all. pai seh...

re: cold drinks
genice,
she has been clear of cough for 1-2 months previously ever since i gave her my milk. since then she starts to enjoy cold drinks, ice cream again.
and started coughing again last week, so we stop all cold drinks and icecream for her. hopefully she can recover soon.

re: taking care of 2
yup, we rather separate 2 of them.

re: food intake
jass,
mission failed. she doesn't like avocado milkshake.
and tried avocado chocolate milkshake, she took a few mouths only.

re: club med
iso,
so envy, club med again. hope you recover fast so that you can enjoy your holiday.

re: #3
dare not think about it
genice, are you?

Xy, wah, u still have time to do bp ! Hehe. I think c may like juice instead of smoothie cuz texture different. She never like anything u made from vitamix meh?

Re:-gathering
Can't make it this week cuz going back to kl leh

XY
Thanks, hope i get better soon too. E and I have the same thing, and PD just said that his is mycoplasma. so got cough, phlegm, but throat is not red. strangely enough, A got cough also but something else.

your BP stuff is so cute! i dun have any princess but i got niece

the rubber bands - can adults wear also? or is it kid size?

xy:
The BP stuff are so cute. Order from you when my girl got hair ok... if she is anything like Matt.. that will take ages. I have enough things collecting dust @ home now.

tong,
yup. she prefers juice from juice extractor.
so far she only likes the pasta sauce i made from vitamix.

hence, i am trying to drink more fruit juice/smoothies myself to make my $ worth.

got to earn some $ to buy camera and recover the cost for vitamix. :p
anyway, still manageable on weekday day time when only me and small C at home.

iso,
the rubber bands are enough to tie adult hair - if you don't mind the design. BRI02 is a little bit smaller.

jass,
ha. your girl is not out yet. no need to buy so early

Eliaw, can you please refer me too? Thinking of going for beach holiday too.

XY, ok, will support your BP though the gals have lots of clips, kekeke. Will post orders at your BP thread to help generate interest. Can I COD when I go to my mum's place on Sunday?

genice,
u going for #3 ah? ;p Good for u!

re: cold food/drinks
S has been taking cold stuff since he was young. Drinks cold water when we eat outside, drink cold milk from the time he was 1+ yr old and could take cow's milk. Now if the drink is warm, he will say it is too hot!

eliaw.. hehe.. thanks.. no hurry lah, u update me via pm or fb k. Thanks!

iso.. wah.. i think pretty gd deal that u got.. i have never been to club med before.. went to website to check seems to be vrey interesting.. do we need to be a member?

Re: trips
all those budget air must book way in advance.. so difficult to plan trips.. anyway.. with 2 little ones quite difficult to travel too. Actually next may, intend to go 3 gorges dam to take a look ( i want to go one.. haha..) but still thinking whether to bring little K or not. Actually its easier to bring G along but i think its so unfair to K so was telling my hubby that maybe we shld just bring K and leave G behind cause G has been to many places already. But K will be less than a yr.. dunno he can take long rides on bus or not...what do u all think?

we are planning a driving trip to KL/Genting but not driving MPV so just 2 A and 2 C.. dunno can make it or not..

Re:gathering
So how how? we can go for a short one, can collect stuffs from eliaw too for those who have things with her.

XY..
wah.. carrie drink ur milk will be free from cough? Ur milk very powerful leh..
Will go check out ur BP, recently i bough a stupid shiny ribbon ( with dimante) rubber band so G can wear as a flower ger.. wah liao.. cost $12.90 at Helen.. so freaking expensive!!!

pauline,
thanks for your support.
i am going back malaysia this weekend.
why not I deliver to your mum's later and you collect it when you come? pay me next time when we meet, ok?

genice,
i would rather bring the elder one if i were to choose only 1 as they are less blur and easier to take care.
however, smaller one is on breastmilk, can't leave her at home. also, air tickets for infant is cheaper. :p

i notice she recover faster after taking bm. but my milk not powerful, make her so small size. now my #2 also not growing very fast, not yet double her birth weight even now she's already 14-5 weeks.

support support me ok? :p

Xy, okie, can.

Finally going to pay registration, deposit and uniform at Elfa today. Went down yesterday and they actually gave up my waitlist due to a miscommunication. End up got to start her in mid Dec cos the principal said too many kids starting in Jan. Got to pay $1003 in cash or cheque. Heart pain. Must really go and find work next year so that can get full CC subsidy. :p