(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune, wen i got spotting in my prev pregnancy. my gynae also gave me one week HL to rest at home...my HR was ok with it leh...
or u wan to check with HR directly?

steph: i already told almost everybody abt my pregnancy except my boss becos he's out station for abt 2mths.. will b bac next mth.

Tong tong & icy:
kao_welcome2.gif

Icy: i gg tokyo wif my hubby on 2july-7july staying at Hilton hotel, maybe we can mt up for a meal?
do u hav any craving for anyting here in sin? i can help u bring it over.

i took ice-cream once a wk wen my hubby was out of town.. if not he dont allow mi to tak any cold stuff. he said bad for bb wor..

long time didn't come in, so many posts! see until eye blur blur..

angelsky,
think you can go tour as long as your gynae approve, especially in the 2nd tri.

i also avoid the NOs but still take soft drinks :p

Morning everyone, i'm back from 2days mc... nearly admit hospital for dripping..... but lucky tried out another kind of medicine by my gynae and i'm save from admitting. Feeling better now.

*Morning all & welcome new MTB*

goldenpig, i concurred with what you said..take all foods in moderation. But from TCM aspects, sinseh normally say if our womb condition is no good (Liang xing) then must avoid taking LIANG stuff. I think it depends on individual constitution & beliefs. No one want to take any risk especially couples ttc for many years for 1st baby. I do enjoy my pregnancy only hate MS, hopefully it willl end very soon as we proceed to 2nd tri.
Many friends & colleagues told me that the hard times is not during pregnancy but raising up/taking care of your baby/kids. it a 20yrs commitment down the road, no joke!

goldenpig,
after i took prune juice for 2days oso no effect on my constipation, have not poo poo for 3days liao, wonder any problem anot? My mum say since my intake of food is not much so of course no poo poo. Should i inform my gynae?

hi angelsky, me too...actually plan to go Japan next year in Mar/April to see sakura but have to postpone with baby coming along the way, difficult la. Have u ever picture what your baby will resemble after your look or father's look? Hehe...me been thinking abt it these few days wor.

oops, i dun consult any TCM practitioner coz until now, the companies i work for don't accept MCs from TCM establishments..
my husband, who's quite traditional in thinking, deems that the doc @ the TCM hall near my place doesn't know what he's talking abt when my #1 didn't poo for over a week.. in the end we went to PD who stuffed in a pressary and all the poo came out.

Avoid taking Liang stuff... one slice of watermelon a month also cannot?

hi kitsune,
i am oso entitled to 14days MC per year & so far taken 7 days liao. My company oso take MC into consideration during annual performance appraisal. So instead of taking MC, i take annual leave. Not sure abt hospitalisation leave, i think oso must be hospitalised then HR will accept wor.

goldenpig,
for my case, gynae told me to avoid cold/gassy drinks, watermelon, pineapple during 1st tri.
sometimes when i can't control (tahan), i will sneak a bite of watermelon...kekeke

Lucky i dun smoke nor like coffee. I like tehsi very much but cut off totally since the day i know i'm preggie. I now change to milo.

up to 4 cups of coffee a day is ok..
i take 1 cup a day max during normal days, pregnant days and bf days.
my gynae told us to limit sex to once a week...
we choose not to heed that advice.. haha.

well, now my hubbie supper gan cheong already lo, seriously doubt he will allow me to go on a holiday coz by october should be moving towards third trimester already.

i read mind your body today le about the caffeine thingy, something about a little bit a day has no scientific implication towards miscarriages.

Thats the problem that are mtbs who are working faces, becoz not all bosses and companies are understanding, so thats why birth rate declining. Sometimes, I really wonder if its not becoz we dont wanna have children younger or we are afraid of the implications on our job. Initially I did not wanna try for a kid earlier becoz I was just into my new job and then I got got married and then there was so much responsibility that i always thought if i got pregnant and go on leave, that will leave my organization very short handed and my collegues stressed out. Now thinking back, I really regret wasting those years when I could have been TTC.

morning ladies..
Steph, i guess your point is quite true..hehe..it's the raising of the child that wlll be one long journey!
Yesterday was just chatting among some colleagues and they were stressing out that some K2 homework the teacher gave for sch holidays so cheem one..hahaa..nowadays kids really learn quite differently eh..

Those going Japan, enjoy your trip! Glad I went liao then come back and found out preggie, hehe.Now the next trip is like don't know when then can go lor...hubby will be getting more biz trips towards late this year..so he gets to travel but i don't...sob sob.

Mind Your Body (Straits Times supplement)
bottom of Page 20
"low caffeine intake during pregnancy (roughly abt 1.5 cups of coffee) is safe."
Risk of high intake is unclear (ie more than 5 cups a day).

goldenpig,
Few mins ago, i finally poo poo with no problems. Yeh, the prune juice works!
Wa, pai sey i announce to whole thread that i managed to poo....haha.
I didn't ask gynae about having sex. There r just too many questions in my mind during visit that i sumtimes forgot to ask. Anyway, not been having sex for 2mths liao. Hubby dun wan to take any risk, scare will harm baby.

Golden pig,
did you consult your gynae before you dye your hair? I want to rebond mine but forgot to ask him during recent visit.

I asked abt travelling in 2nd tri. He discouraged saying there is only 1 baby and the country is always there... why take the risk... but i may still go lah. just dunno where to go and to bring son or not.

i also still eat watermelon and pineapple in moderation. In fact I don't avoid eating or drinking anything except for raw stuff. But when into 2nd tri, I'll watch my sugar intake.

In a way I am glad that I am not working because i get extra fatigue and must take naps everyday. My ms was quite bad that I lose weigh. I dun like the doctor here, visit 2x and no vit or medicine for me at all.

Hi Rachel,
will reply u soon, havnt some network problem.. cant reply hotmail.

hi lyn,
I have lots of cravings on sg food!! and taiwan food becos i was previously stationed there.. Just been in tokyo for 2 mths and bb was made here..then all the best food of japan, sashimi, sushi.. I can't eat!! The rest of the food, made me wanna puke, cos they are either very salty or very bland.. have to cook my own lunch and dinner everyday.

My hb also dun let me eat cold stuff. He is so bad, yesterday eat ice-cream alone, he say let me eat 1 mouth.. then let me LICK once not even bite.

steph77,
I suggest come japan only during sakura season, autumn - maple tree or winter- snow. I just joined land tour by chan brothers in end May.. then all green green.. the scenario become not so nice.

talking abt tmc, better consult one when wanna eat any tonic in first tri. like my body was "heaty" in nature", my mil made ginseng drink for me.. and i had spottings.. and ended up a m/c.. (i cant confirmed if m/c is caused by the drink, but confirm caused my spottings). SO please please consult sinseh first if taking chinese tonic.

icy,
so what do you do in Japan when your hb is at work? are the maternity fashion nice over there?

i had sore throat after 2nd day of drinking red date tea during my last confinement. I got to reduce frequency and dilute the drink. think i can't take heaty stuff too...

hi icy,
thanks for suggestion on the season period. Don't think will have any travel plans next year or so. Nowadays grandparents dun want to look after grandchildren. Hire a maid is another option. Lifestyle is going to change when a new born arrives.

Abt taking herbal tonic, i heard from my preggie galfrds told me that 1st tri don't have to take any tonic or birdnest. We can take tonic/birdnest after 2nd tri onwards. I agree it is better to consult gynae first b4 taking any.

hi icy,

sori abt ur m/c. my mum mentioned also, no tonic stuff for the 1st tri, say bb stil unstable. nonetheless, every MTBs are different, best consult gynae/doc if unsure.

goldenpig, fishia,
Must we really watch our sugar intake? One of my galfrd diagnosis with slight diabetes during her 3rd tri. I like to drink ribena alot & b'cos it is very sweet, scare the sugar level is high too.

Steph77,
Yeah better watch. and before gynae apptm, make sure don't take any sweet drinks like milo or holick especially in 3rd tri. else urine test will reflect some content of sugar...

I kena and was sent for sugar tolerance test. can't remember what it's called. it's a painful process. result turn out to be just a mild case but still was refered to dietrician. waste time waste money and suffered the pain of drawing blood so many times!

yes i did the glucose tolerance test also.
but result was negative.. wasted a whole morning at the hosp.

steph
when i was pregnant with #1, i had to do urine test at every monthly chkup. Gynae detected traces of sugar in urine, so made me go for the glucose tolerance test. I also hv family history of diabetes. Your gynae will advise u, dun worri la. Dun overdo the sweet stuff lor.

steph77,
also try to eat more high fibre stuff to prevent constipation. too much strains on bowel will develop piles.

I had it cos was on add'l iron pills due to low blood count. And thru out the entire pregnancy, this was the most horrible one. I cried for days cos it was so painful. And i remember i went supermarket to buy detergent. the moment i pick up the bottle, i could feel the blood vessel burst and I could hardly walk! You wouldn't want to experience it. Thank God the pile disappear soon after delivery. Now I'm very scared. wouldn't want it to happen again.

fishia,
i just stayed at home and surf web and sleep. normally we go out during weekends to explore around, but since i am preggy and get giddy easily.. i just sleep through the last 2 weekends. :p I haven't explore the maternality wear here, but normal clothes quite ex.. here the style is more cutey style.. i heard internet purchasing is cheaper but then they are all in Japanese.

steph77 & pigmit,
I am so glad that i staying alone without my mil, she have me extra stress since I stayed with mil in sg. :p Yes, i only wanna take tonic when i reach 2nd tri.. but then dunno where to get in Japan. I even have problem getting milk powder, cant find in drug stores or supermarket.. later then I found that it is available in Toy r'us.. so werid!

Yes yes.. try not to take sweet stuff the night before and the day of checkup.. else sugar level would be higher.. I experience that before.

Angelsky,
is that becos of the heat??

thanks ladies for your advice!

fishia,
i olreadi have piles (abt size of a small peanut...dia 1cm) b4 preggie. Sumtimes the piles will disappear but sumtimes it will return when i strains on bowel, constipate & heaty. Do i need to inform gynae that i have piles ? I have not taken any iron pill but afraid if taken, will worsen constipation. I will continue to drink prune juice if it helps. I oso like to eat dried mangoes, got dietary fiber in it.

thanks ladies for your advice!

fishia,
i olreadi have piles (abt size of a small peanut...dia 1cm) b4 preggie. Sumtimes the piles will disappear but sumtimes it will return when i strains on bowel, constipate & heaty. Do i need to inform gynae that i have piles ? I have not taken any iron pill but afraid if taken, will worsen constipation. I will continue to drink prune juice if it helps. I oso like to eat dried mangoes, got dietary fiber in it.

steph: i heard fr my frz dat mango actually helps those wif constipation..

Icy: is hilton hotel in tokyo near to u? is located at Shinjuku area. hav u been to disneysea? was tinkin of gg there...
or anybody here been there b4? is it worth gg? becos i'm pregnant.. most rides cant play..

Lynn,
although i have not been to tokyo disneyland but i have been to Los Angeles (Anaheim), last year Oct vacation. I had so much fun on the thrill rides. My frds told me that Tokyo disneyland not bad, so much much better compare to Hong Kong. Actually if not preggie, i plan next year go tokyo disneyland again! I missed the rides, so special, interesting & the thrill factor is fantastic!

hi steph: i agreed, i went hk disneyland wif my frz last yr Aug... Real Sucks!! wasted our $$ and time..

i been to osaka universal studio last yr april, really enjoyed v much.. and itz juz spring season can see sakura so beautiful!!

we brought my boy to HK Disneyland last Dec..
we had a lovely time and would like to go again soon. Only took the 'boring' rides like the train and Dumbo.. but he really enjoyed himself. He was so excited when he saw Mickey Mouse, he just stood there and pointed and shouted MICKEY! MICKEY!
i loved the cheap & tasty HK dimsum, and the fantastic weather. Hope to go again in Oct. O'wise will only drive up to M'sia...

I've been to LA Disney too, but quite long ago already. Think my impression was quite good. Most recently went to Tokyo Disney which I felt was also good..but too bad when I went was so crowded! Not much chance to ride too many thrill rides...Certainly wish to go again some day

I think for something less ex, can go to HK Disney bah...only thing I heard it seems quite small? Otherwise, if got a bit more budget, go Japan! I think Japanese stuff are just so nice and clean and good service!!

Lynn,
I am now near Shinjuku area, that week, I am moving to Akasaka. :p But I know where hilton is, still accessible.

Are u on f&E trip? I din been to disneysea, in fact I had a choice to choose from disneyland or disneysea when I go for the landtour(Chan brothers) 1 Jun. I choose disneyland since my inlaws havent go before. The wait was long, at least 60-90 mins for a ride, i heard another group that go disneysea that the people there were lesser and each rides wait is just 10-15 mins.. but they dun have parades. Anyway, pregnant a lot of rides cant take lah.

I actually been to HK one in mar, actually i prefer there leh.. because the wait is short and I manage to take photos with all characters and takes all the rides lol. But of course the rides are not so exiciting.. so I kind of save some time when I am in Japan.

when come here, must buy burberry blue label, sg sells 2x the price in auction!! And fancl and shisedo & kanebo!!

fishia
to your gynae who says the country is always there... my take is that it's different travelling without kids, with 1 kid and with 2 kids. It's perfectly safe to travel esp in 2nd tri and there are no complications eg spotting etc.
i went melbourne when i was 5m preg with #1, and I'd really like to go & enjoy again before #2 is out. Of course take things safe & easy, dun walk too much, dun take thrill rides, dun take roadside food etc..
i think i'll persuade hubby to go HK again.. heh heh.

icy..u are so right....i was also recommended to shop at Burberry Blue Label and was happily shopping then....hehee.. How long are u going to be in Japan again?

lynn,
I've been to tokyo disneyland and i love it! have not been to disneysea though. My native japanese friend said i was lucky cos that day apparently the queue for most rides were not too long. I like Japan. I told my hubby one day i want to bring our son there. hehe...

Golden pig,
How old was your son then when you went HK? I brought my son to HK recently. tag along with hubby's biz trip and eventually we didn't go any places of interest at all. Kind of feel bad to think of it. Else he will be excited pointing and screaming at mickey mouse too.

I agree. that's why i want to travel during 2nd tri but my hubby not in favour to bring #1. think he scared already after HK trip.

Steph,
Soon your gynae will give you iron pills and you'll have to take it. else your blood count will be too low for your pregnancy. you can mention it to your gynane but i think he'll just tell you to take more fruits and vege..

My gynane also suggested prune juice, which contains iron and fiber. Some premium ones has calcium too. Dried guava, oats, whole grains helps. I'm gonna switch my breakfast to whole grains and oats soon since now my MS is so much better. And gonna eat a lot of plum, prunes and pairs..

Golden pig,
yah, if u can take it, then go tour now, else with #2.. it is more troublesome..But of course ur #1 must be independent. My cousin tour tpe when she preggy, and her #1 still insist her to carry.

Hammies,
Yah.. so far, I just buy a wallet. The price is cheaper as compared to other burberry but the style also more casual :p

I think i would stay here until oct-nov 2007, when i am like 30+ weeks. I want to deliver in sg, else Japanese nurses call me push or hold, I also don't know what they are talking. Plus mil can do confinement for me in sg. Confinement would be expensive for us because it would be over the cny period unless our edd is before 7th Feb.

If my hb going to extend his oversea assignment then i consider bring bb over bah.

Just went to see gynae this morning, was able to heart beat! Very excited.

But the gynae told me that he's not devlivering from Jan 08 onwards, so now i have to look for another gynae.

Hi, if I want to kick up a fuss. Maybe can fight lar since GP already given HL. But what for? Got to tell long story to HR, feel that it's invasion of privacy. I went to Japan in 1998 and 2003. Will like to go there again for Sakura. Heard that it's a kids friendly country so maybe can go after the little one is bigger. Travelled extensively for the 2 years after I got married so don't miss travelling so much now. ;)

icy
well, if #2 is still on TBM, without any need for formula nor baby food, then i think it won't be too bad.. coz my husband is the hands-on type and will chase after #1 while i care for #2. I only need my baby sling, nursing top, spare diapers and wet wipes... and i'll b ready to roll! Really, 2nd time round, older and wiser. 1st time was so super stressed, going on shopping trip was a major expedition liao...

i thought of going away in Feb-Mar 08 for a week or so, making use of my maternity leave. But husband suggested Oct 07 instd. See how la, maybe go both. hahahaha.

Finally have a chance to get back here. Just finished a major event at work. Whew! Some rest...

This thread is going so fast. Really couldn't catch up...
Any of you gals having bad outbreaks? My face is really getting no where. Sometimes look ok and the next thing you know, the pimples are out and they appear on symmetrical side. Is this some signs.

Tonic - have to consult sinseh first ah..thot ok to drink simple chicken soup with red dates and wolfberries...

Btw, do you gals drink less water now? I realised I have been drinking less and less...still have those quesy feeling of wanna throw up through the day.

Goldenpig: hmm... i tink hk disneyland for kids is fun but not suitable for adults, wen i went there a lot of china ppl and they didnt even Q up.. they juz walk up to e front and wait.. they told their kids u go to e front, i'll join u lata.. and there r lots of ppl in e Q. Oh my God! is dis e way u teach ur kids??

Icy: I'll consider disneysea then since e wait is 10-15mins, moreover i cant tak most rides too.. i hav pm u..

Yen: u means ur gynae went for holiday during Jan period?

i tink if hav kid, wen u wanna go for holiday.. u need to bring him/her along if not u will miss them during ur trip...

babe: i can hardly finish a glass of plain water per day... so i'll try to drink ribena, ginger ale, milo etc... if not dehydrated..

lynn
not true for my friend, she left her 2 girls 4YO & 2YO with her mom and maid while she and husband took off for diving trip.
I know i could never do that.. just taking a few hours off to highlight my hair already makes me feel super guilty liaoz..

jialat
put the strip of folic tablets on my desk, now i can't remember whether i took 1 already or not. The preggie brain take-over is here... become blur liao.