(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi mei.

Sorry can you dun mind change and update my new status? Thank you for your help

went to check up and my EDD is 28 Jan 08. TMC Dr paul tseng.

eRnMum, noted.
is the hot steam air & diamond dermabrasion consider machine too? oh no u din eat for 2 days? did u try to take light meals or porridge?

hammies03, ya intend to deliver bb at MT A. gynae package is $550 + 800(if he help u to deliver naturally) & if stay in Mt A, have to pay hospital bills... i know Mt A has joint discount promo with credit card like UOB & Everyday Card - 5% ( http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/hbs_maternity.html) but valid till end 07 so not sure if they will exend to nxt yr. :p my company medical plan can claim $1800 per birth & hb say his company can also claim but based on per receipt.

morning ladies..

Superbee, ok...i was looking at room charges, seems like Mt. A quite ex...not sure if I saw correctly. Anyway, I think I might just do a quick tour of TMC too...realised they have such a thing on their website...

Thanks golden pig... thanks angelsky... I'm more at ease now knowing size doesn't matter.

angelsky... I'm with Dr Eunice Chua at TMC. What abt u?

Also re your constipation problem, I've been taking a "brown rice beverage" which will help improve bowel movement. So far my bowel has been ok, no constipation. My mum says this is gd. Gynae also say safe to take. You can chk out at some medical hall, its called "Nature's Own instant brown rice beverage". Packaging is blue in colour. I take it almost everyday for breakfast. I also take fruits during tea break. Should have more fibres in your diet. I'm sure will help reduce constipation. Hope this helps.

hi morning all

Hi joyce, me now 8weeks. next appoint on 29Jun...wait until neck long long.

Hi shooting star, my gynae told me any spotting during preggie must inform asap. At the moment, dun move ard too much...rest!

hey goldenpig & Qing Qing,
i brought the prune juice yesterday (Del Monte brand) 475ml at $2.80 from Market place. They oso come in bigger bottle but i took the smaller one to try first. I like the taste, not too sweet & not too sour. So far not sure whether it works to soften poo poo/ease constipation but dun think it will take effect so soon.

Hi Lynn, do you have the same doc as me? My doc also advised me not to take dairy products. He says baby does not need all these now. We will just add on weight if we drink milk etc. Since I'm afraid of gaining too much weight, (my appetite soooooo good) I avoid milk which I like so much! Hehe.

hammies, i m looking at tmc price plan on the web(http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm) actually both are quite close to abt same price leh - lets say we take Normal Delivery - 2 days @ double room TMC($1,328) & MTA($1236.90).
i been to TMC many times to visit new born bb but i havent been to MT A actually... but hb prefer Mt A loh... anyway we got Safra member card so if they can extend the promotion 4ever, then my 1st child get 5% discount & 2nd child 10% leh... ha! :p

hi!

Mcfluffy: yep! my gynae is Dr Henry Cheng, urs too ritz?
i told him i already bought a small tin of Dumex vanilla and takin it twice per wk.. he ask mi to finish dis tin and stop buyin anymore...
yest manage to poo poo but now both my legs and buttock pain pain.. haiz...

i'll b seeing him on 29June, wat abt u?

Lynn,
u mean your gynae ask u to stop taking milk powder? I have not buy any yet cos some of my friends say the vitamins, iron & calcium pills that gynae gave us already have the essential nutrients we require thru our 2nd & 3rd tri. So some MTBs can choose not to take milk powder. Anyway, after taking milk powder during 1st & 2nd tri, my sister put on extra few kilos too!

steph: yep! he told mi e milk powder can cause indigestion to most MTB.. he will giv mi e calcium pill on 2nd tri onwards.. he said if wanna drink those gassy drink, open e can and wait for 5mins b4 drinking..

Hey ladies, I'm also drinking the milk powder leh...but I didn't know can cause indigestion..maybe coz I never highlighted the milk thing to my gynae, and I only recall him saying can don't take now if I don't want to. But coz I happened to buy liao, so just started drinking lor. Maybe on me not that much effect. Haha..don't seem to put on much weight anyway..

Superbee, SAFRA also got discount?!Haha..my hubby also have, ok, maybe will find out more between the 2 hospitals. Actually initially I was more tempted to deliver at Mt. A, coz that's where I was born too! hahah...But I thought maybe TMC seems a bit more modern..i don't know. Maybe see liao then will know.

hammies,
my colleague just gave birth last mth & she gave me 3 tins (400g) of Frisomum vanilla flavour milk powder. So now, i dun have to buy any. I'm not scare of putting on weight but just scare of the milk smell. Which brand u drinking now?

I'm trying enfamum vanilla flavour now. So that means you going to drink around 2nd tri onwards only is it?

Then during the motherhood exhibition, I bought 1 tin of DUMEX to try too..coz was cheaper than normal retail price. That one, next time then try...

i am not sure leh...actually i wanna skip milk powder but now my colleague gave me 3 tins, wasteful if i dun drink it...will try, if really cannot accept the smell then i pass on to someone else loh.

Arhhhh...i felt giddy (headache) again..feel like throwing up..now eating some bread. 2 more hours b4 knock off...so sleepy & tired nw.

steph
u can keep until after birth and drink when u bf. coz bf mummies need lotsa nutrients and hot drinks too. I only drank my 3 tins of Enfamama when i was bfg, not during pregnant

I guess for me, I don't really fancy coffee/tea..so my only breakfast drink is either milk or milo...so I guess that's why I'm might was well drink this milk too lor...haha...

steph, u knock off work so early...so good. Me having this sour taste in mouth again lately..sianz..

goldenpig, thanks for reminding..
i almost forgot can still drink when bf. Now my brain cannot function so well, not so alert as b4.

hammies, i start 8am to 5pm, last time still got OT when not preggie but now cannot tahan...must go home rest. Luckily my male boss understanding..he always chk whether i feel okay anot otherwise he ask me to go home.
Last week, one of my colleague passed away fighting breast cancer for 5mths. She is 48yrs old only...whole dept very sad. Life is short, health is upmost IMP & work is secondary...take a break!

hi steph... u are so lucky to hv an understanding boss. My lady boss quite unhappy that I'm preggy. She don't even care whether I'm feeling ok or not. She'll pretend that I'm nt preggy & continue to load me with wk. I think she's hoping I'll screwed my wk so she'll hv the excuse to fire me. She even dare suggest I come back for wk after 6 weeks (instead of the std 8 weeks). *shake head* Sigh...

we can actually keep e milk powder till bf.. gd idea.. becos i tink i having indigestion & constipation these few wks..

steph: ur boss v understanding, datz gd! my boss always out of town so havnt got a chance to tell him but e rest kws abt it already..

pigmit,
your lady boss married, got kids anot? some lady refuse to understand our situation, either they never been thru or they just take this opportunity to find fault with us. If your lady boss demand too much or went beyond standard work regulation, you can lodge complaints to MOM or your HR.

Lynn,
so all your colleagues knows abt your gd news? How abt family & friends? Although have not pass the 1st tri, most of my colleagues knows abt my preggie cos i have been taking MC last few weeks, normally i seldom sick. Some of my close friends oso kws liao. I am happy to share with them but still at this stage, baby is still not stable so i dun dare to think too much.

pigmit, sorry to hear that. Cheer up k
Just do whatever you can. Give yrself a break if need to...baby need to relax too!

thanks steph. my bb is most impt thing in my life rite now. will not let wk affect the 2 of us... hope nobody else got a boss like mine.

i'm into my 7wks and was quite lost becuase this was my first pregnancy!!

my parents are not in sg and i felt kinda helpless, luckily got this forum which helps me a lot!

Steph, i think you might have gone home liao..hehe..anyway, good that u have understanding boss...actually i have not told my boss yet too..intend to do so after next gynae apt end of month leh...really hope she wont be upset like why i waited so long to tell her...

My gynae said don't take coffee/tea, but i know some pp still take it anyway and also nothing much. Maybe its individual preference? I also prefer not to take too cold stuff, but I think once in a while indulgence is still ok..hhaa...

angelsky... durian & ice cream can eat la.

my mum says eat what u are craving for but NO coffee/tea, NO pineapples, NO gassy drinks.

my gynae says eat everything in moderation but definitely NO alcohol, NO smoking, NO raw food.

angelsky
ice cream = ok
durian = ok
durian ice cream = ok
coffee = ok
tea = ok
coffee & tea mixed = ok

everything ok, but in moderation lor...
even pineapple also ok!

pigmit
pineapple ok, watermelon ok, del monte banana ok, perm hair ok, highlight hair ok, pedicure ok

yes u're right, smoking, drugs, alcohol are not ok.

i know of mummies who take sashimi.. and they're ok! their babies also ok!

wah... interesting... luckily i don't like pineapple & coffee (hee). i luv sashimi tho, i heard bcoz raw food may contain some harmful bateria that will harm the bb if not cleaned properly. so better play safe lor. i'll still avoid all the "NOs" for my bb sake.

hi mtbs,

hmmm, do you poo daily or how many days then go for poo? ive been quite few days din poo liao dun knw is it normal.

Yah..me too...tend to avoid the "NOs" for the bb sake too..like colour hair, perm hair etc coz got chemicals. I mean it always hard to say la, but better to play safe for such things. My aunt told me her fren did that, then baby got a lot of birth marks..

so far i managed to poo daily..more or less every morning...I wonder if this will change at later stage when take other supplements...

lynn, yah same gynae. I avoid food that makes me feel uncomfy. My hubby very paranoid. Always will ask his mum or my mum whether i can eat something before he lets me eat. sob. :p

my next appointment will be in July I think? Cannot remember the date. hehe..

Hi MTB,
I'm new member here. Had been reading but have been posting because i wanna be more confirmed first. :p

My edd is on 20th Jan.. now with hb as expat in Tokyo.. language is a big issues since i dunno japanese, the nurse here all speak japanese, only my gynae speak english. then no medicine given. i just ate my own folic.

I would be coming back to sg ard nov to deliver in sg. :D

hi icy
irrashaimase
= welcome..
how nice if i can go Tokyo disneyland in sept/oct.. but too ex la.

i poo once or twice a day. eat lotsa veggies & fruits, drink lotsa water.

ok i bear in mind to see if my #2 will hv lotsa birthmarks coz i already highlighted my hair

I j ust helped my sis dye her hair, but I had the fan blowing full blast away from me, so the smell will go the other direction
kekeke.

I going out with some friends this sat, and I have not told them about my pregnancy, so I worried if end up eating some stuff, sure go for coffee, the last time I fake sick, so coffee, tea, cold drinks I all did not take, but this time cannot. So wonder if can take

Funny thing, today I feel super tired and moody. Appetite also dont have, but super hungry.

Well hubby initially plan for us to go hongkong in october, but now no more since by then too difficult to travel, next year go australia, so now I guess also no more. it will be sometimes before we can get to travel since with baby on the way, going to be really busy. but well, on hindsight as long as baby is healthy anything is worth it.

So gals, jiayou and this week will pass by quickly and we will be one step closer to our EDDs

Hi, gals. It's been 2 days since I went back to work. First day was crazy, so sian and so sleepy but today's a bit better (maybe cos my boss was on leave). But office too open so cannot check the forum and post replies.
By the way, did anyone of you have problem with hospitalisation leave that gynae gave? I was initially given normal MC but after I found out only entitled to 14 days MC a year. I got my gynae to change it. But when I brought my MC to my boss, she said HR will question because I was not hospitalised, somemore the MC given by private gynae clinic, not convincing to give HL. In the end, I got my gynae to change back to MC. Sigh, cannot fall sick for the rest of the year liao.

kitsune
few years back i was given hosp leave but i was resting at home. it was a day-surgery. and the MC came from East Shore Hosp....

angelsky
oct still can move abt la.. 7m only. I think i may go in Oct. and i hv to chase a 2YO around also.

i was thinking abt this last night..
if for the sake of your baby, u hold off the next cigarette, then yes, it's smthg that will benefit the baby.
if for the sake of your baby, u hold off the slice of watermelon... seems to me like a slice of watermelon doesn't contain anything harmful to the foetus? In fact it's packed with nutrients. (see http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=31)

so u're holding off the "forbidden foods" just to apease your beliefs in old wives tales that something untoward will happen to the baby if u eat this, if u do that.

heck, here are the health benefits of pineapple too. http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=34#healthbenefits

take all foods in moderation.. enjoy your pregnancy. O'wise u may look back to detest the pregnancy period as a time where u can't eat the things u want, yucky morning sickness, yucky reflux & heartburn, tiredness, swelling etc.