(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

me too brought palmers but haven apply yet.. think will be safer to apply in 2nd tri since not indicated.

Ya ladies, my gynae also introduce "fish oil" (Neurogain) cost abt $34 (abt 30 capsules) which is gd for bb brain & mummy brain too..think can get it in watson..
Anyone start taking or try b4? I brought already but haven start eating cos a bit scare of puking after eating... veri wasted rite >.< thinking to start eating in 2nd tri...

Steph,
U have to see, for me i have sketchmarks at my thigh even when I am in first tri.. maybe also becos weather in Japan is dryer.. Apply some if u feel necessary. I am using Palmers Cocoa Butter too, quite like it. :D

JanBB,
Yes, add 1 yr to age, mth i use english one since the mths stated in english version, april, may. etc haha.

Yun,
So sorry, my network had always been bad. Today they are fixing the cable for the 3rd time.. doubt is useful. That why i am moving out from here next monday!! Yeah.. My mil advised me not to witness the moving.. i have to find somewhere to hide.

janbb
i took DHA supplements when i was pregnant with #1. as recommended by gynae. i think she earn a lot from it.. $60 per box! 1 box per month. i think from 2nd tri onwards i took 1 tablet daily.

my first preg i applied stretch mark cream when i found out i was preg (wk 5!) siao hor. I was v happy didn't c any stretch marks all the way, until my colleague suggested i use mirror to chk under belly. to my horror all the stretch marks were there! I think i concentrate applying where i can see, i left out under the belly. aiyooo

yun,
i dunno leh, my breast apparently got bloated but i no appetite too wor..

icy, what does add 1 year to age mean? if born 78, age is 30?

my tummy also big leh. one nite i was waiting for my hb along the road. a neighbour walked pass and asked, "hey, you're expecting ah? so fast ah?" and I went like,"oh, you can tell ah..." silly me. else she won't ask... my hb said because of my cyst. so tummy big.

goldenpig - then which brand of strect mark u use? effective? is it visible after ur #1?

Wow, the supplements fr ur gynae is so ex.. especially we 1st time mtb tend to be a bit "kiasu"... watever gynae says is gd we buy..

golden pig,
me too! that's where i can't see and i didn't apply. Thank God, i only have a few lines and now can hardly be seen...

janbb
yes dat's true, so now i a bit more clever, buy my folic from NTUC pharmacy and save 3-4 times. I'll look elsewhere for the DHA supplements also and buy in bulk or when there's discount. Maybe buy before GST increase? haha.
The cream i used was also prescribed from gynae.. some french brand. 1 large tube lasted me 2 months.. abt $30 per tube i think. Wah, spent a lot. Now the stretch marks become silvery lines lor. nvrmind for me, coz i dun expose my underbelly.. i wear 1 pc swimsuit and high jeans

hi!

Icy: i hav juz add u in my msn.. anybody else hav msn?

i already start applying e stretchmark cream every nitz... scared of e stretchmark becos i luv sunbathing at sentosa.. i heard fr my frz some of them still hav it althot they start applyin early, really depends on individual.

goldenpig, I also showing tummy. Now 11 weeks...sianz so many clothes can't wear. Every morning hope I fit into my clothes coz haven't taken out the maternity wear which is in storage. No. 2 liao and muscles really lose.

Gender prediction? Accurate? Since my first 1 girl, I hope no.2 boy then can close shop liao..heehee.....

re: maternity wear in storage
i took out all my maternity pants and washed first, coz my working pants all fitting type and can't wear for long.. now all working pants in storage liao.. hope to see them again soon! Some really new pieces i just bought, only wore less than 5 times then too tight liao..

sigh.. at least you wore before. i went HK beginning of last month. bought a few fitting tops and never get to wear some...

JanBB, i went to Jurong pt just now and shop at E. Style collection at level one. They sell some nice dresses & top (dresses - top elastic fitting & flare at bottom) If small build (S/M) shld be able to find some gd/nice trendy design for maternity wear. I brought a dress & knit top can last me thru 3rd tri. Storewide 10% off.

tong tong,
my breast dun feel bloated only more tender/fuller. Dun really increase in size but different women feel diff changes during preggie stage i think. That explains why some MTBs got MS & some not at all. Not to worry...yr hubby will feel that u r more sexy!haha

goldenpig, do we really need to take DHA supplements now or 2nd tri onwards? Wa, so many medicine/pills to take leh....folic, vitamins, calcium, iron, fish oil, hormone pills. What else?

tong tong,
my breast dun feel bloated only more tender/fuller. Dun really increase in size but different women feel diff changes during preggie stage i think. That explains why some MTBs got MS & some not at all. Not to worry...yr hubby will feel that u r more sexy!haha

goldenpig, do we really need to take DHA supplements now or 2nd tri onwards? Wa, so many medicine/pills to take leh....folic, vitamins, calcium, iron, fish oil, hormone pills. What else?

fishia, i paid $116 altogether. The dress & top could be wore again aft preggie so i think it's worth it cos some maternity clothes u can only wear during preggie stage...waste $$. Multi-purpose clothes is what i look for.

Steph, ok will go there & take a look later. Need to buy new bottoms, can't wear my normal jeans, 3/4 pants anymore...

Oh ya regarding bra extension...i didn't know that there are diff extension available, single, double, triple hook...& it comes in diff colours. I gotta look at all my bras at home & see what type i need & buy accordingly.

JanBB - E Style dun have any suitable bottoms for us, all cannot adjust, fix one, go by S/M/L.

Ladies, know any shops sell nice, gd, price reasonable demin jeans for maternity wear?

think got some problem with forum. my earlier post abt this shop in Toa Payoh selling maternity wear disappeared!

Steph,
i personally find ex lah. cos i may not wear them again after giving birth... that's what happened to my #1 batch.

fishia,
ya it's a bit ex but i liked the design & comfort. Maternity wear are 70% auntie style. The stylish & gd ones are priced extremely ex.
My MIL recommend me to try "This Fashion" clothes but errr...me not a fan & their quality is not very lasting. TopShop, Forever21 & Zara sell very nice maternity wear but all too ex liao.

another shop "BYSI" oso carry some nice maternity wear, baby doll (sizes starts from XS to XL) if u r member i think got 15% disc.

steph
2nd tri onwards dun really need folic.. can stop abt 5m. then take prenatal vit (which contains iron), calcium pills & DHA. Hormone pills i dunno.. depends on stability of pregnancy i guess.

i m looking for drawstring pants... Think can last whole tri too.. any idea where to get it? Ya, i saw those doll dress in bysi but think a bit short leh... imagine when stomach get bigger, the front part of the dress will get shorter... weird rite.. heehee

Steph,
true. some maternity wear are also just not my type too. Hey, i just bought a pair of tights and an elastic burmudas from This Fashion. Both for $15 and they are just good for me to go cell group lah.

Now i'm trying to get used to wearing strapless wired bra. cos most of my m. top are either with halter neck or spaghetti strap.

Think thyme maternity has nice jeans but not cheap.

try momsinmind.com.sg
nowadays i buy from websites & join sprees coz i got no time to go shopping.. eg motherhood.com
so gotto buy in advance coz items take abt a month to arrive.

phew, finally have my network back. heehee.

Tongtong,
yes, add 1 to ur current age to have the chinese age. :D

steph,
I got mine at %70+ for a 3/4 jeans from spring.. quite ex. but most of my friend dun even know it for maternality. :D

JanBB,
Not sure if Giordano does sell it now, I used to get the strawstring pants from Gio.. but dun think can last the whole 3 tri bah.

i heard Old navy have nice maternality clothes and is cheaper.. but must go thro vpost and do some credit card address adjustment. A bit troublesome.

icy
motherhood.com hv cheaper maternity wear than ON.. i'm waiting for my 3 items to arrive to c if i wanna order more..

Hi to all MTBs,

I am seeing Dr T C Cheng in Thomson, anyone uses the same OB with me?

I had Donesymdrm test and belongs to low risk. Next visit will be middle of July. Eager to meet some MTBs like me.

Steph, Lucky only diarrhoea that one time yesterday. Today, don't dare to drink prune juice liao. My colleague said she also have same experience with prune juice when she drank 1 glass everyday for 3 days. Think maybe my tummy sensitive.

Thanks for all your email on my queries on the bloodtest.

By the way, I have cleared all the standard blood test and OSCAR test. Very relieved.

Any of you girls start using stretch-mark cream already? Any brands to recommend ?

Have a great weekend ahead!

G tan, i am using palmers lotion for stretchmarks.

Lynn and everyone who is in MSN can add me in MSN [email protected]

Me hope 2nd bb is a girl although my 1st is a girl too
Like to dress them up keekee

Oh, about OSCARS test... is very ex in TMC... 300plus after discount using the born incentive card.. But think i will still do the test since i am now 29...

anbrasia, my friends highly recommended Dr TC Chang from TMC. I am still contemplating btw him or Dr Paul Tseng. I guess I wouldn't be seeing Dr WK Tan.

Great to find this thread. =) I hope to be able to share my joy of pregnancy with all of you ladies here. I am currently going to be 11 weeks pregnant, and my due date is middle of Jan 08. My gynae has also detected the baby's heart beat, which is so amazing to me =)

I guess I belong to the minority as I don't have morning sickness and no signs of vomitting. But I feel tired all the time, sleep more, get hungry easily and yes, I hate the taste of water! I also tend to feel that "acidic feeling" at the chest during evening times, so I really have to eat something to get rid of the feeling.

Body wise, I have difficulty in squeezing into my normal mango jeans *sigh* My tummy is squeezing out so I guess people must be thinking what on earth is happening to this girl recently?? hahaha As to my breast, yes, I think they have grown a cup or so. There goes my brand new bras =( Bought 3 so-free bras from La Senza during their 50% off just to accomodate my new breasts.

Something to share with all of you here with regards to maternity wear. Was at Bt Timah Beauty World just now and guess what, found a shop which sells affordable maternity wear. It's called "Carrano" @ #03-06, Beauty World. This shop has been there ever since I was back in primary school (yes, it's that old) and sells all sorts of stuff, like hair accessories, fashion wear, children clothings etc.

What amazes me is that they have a wide selection of maternity wear. From pants to 3/4 pants, tops etc. All the pants are for maternity wear as they have the "expandable tummy portion" which has a piece of stretchable rubber band in the seam. And all the pants is less than $30 each (can u imagine!) Found a few pieces of jeans too, also tailored with "expanded tummy portion", also less than $30, if I remember correctly.

I also manage to take a look and found that they have quite a no. of affordable cotton tops too. Those soft cotton plain coloured tops but with simple patterns, also about $24 each only.

Of course, the worksmanship or the material cannot beat those maternity wear shops in town. But at only 1/3 of the price in town, I think this will be a good place for mums who don't want to spend too much on maternity wear.

They are having 15% storewide till 22 July 07. Everyone was saying how expensive maternity wear can be, but not this shop. I bought 2 pieces of 3/4" pants and 3 cotton tops, for total of $106.

Oh yes, can I ask all of you ladies here about the NT ultra-sound or blood test or OSCAR during 1st trimester. I wa stold by my gynae that it's not a must, but I read that they are tests to help me determine the probability of having a down syndrome baby. Anyone of you going for it?

Have a great weekend to all mums-to-be and their Jan 08 babies =)

Hi AhCapp,

Welcome :, you are one lucky gal. No MS and almost at the end of first trimester. I am beginning to understand what some of the gals have been saying about week 8 - 9 being the peak of MS. I am really feeling it. I thought I had it worse the last week and just when I thought MS was getting better, it has bounced back with venom. I feel hungry and yet wanna puke all the time. I have this perpetual dry feeling in my tongue too which I guess must be the overpuking. Seriously going to ask my doc for some anti vomit medication this Friday. Going to bear with it for now.

Tiredness? I feel tired all the time, but I cant get to sleep - weird. I hate crowds now, cant stand so many people, I feel suffocated when I see so many people in town. Beauty World sounds like a great place to get away if I wanna do some shopping.

My S size maternity berms are starting to get a little too tight and my belly seems to be expaning, wonder if its all the gas that I have accumulated.

Have a great week ahead too. Come Jan 08, come soon.

Seems like quite a fair bit to read and catch up. Thanks AhCapp for your info on the maternity wear. Might check it out soon. Today started wearing this maternity 3/4 bottom that I bought...haha..feels pretty comfortable. Was out today, also looking around for maternity wear, but did not manage to buy any. Think might go United Sq too.

Oh ya, I took the time to do some 'hospital touring' of TMC and Mt.A today too. Hehe..managed to get a simple goody bag with brochures and Anmum milk samples. Anyway, at the end of it, I think very likely I will choose Mt. A...somehow it gave me a less claustrophobic or tight feeling than TMC.

Hi angelsky & hammies03,

So great to hear from both of you here. ^_^

Angelsky,
Hang in there. I am sure your MS will be over soon. Yes, like you, my tummy is "overflowing" out from my mango jeans. All my used-to-be-loose jeans are not loose anymore. Talk about gas...I have the same problem too. I am soo embarrassed that so much can be accumulated inside my tummy in just one day. =S Wonder if it's because of the tight jeans I am wearing.

I am avoiding the town much nowadays too. I realise that a lot of people are smoking too =( Especially when I hit the bus interchange every morning. So many are puffing (their lives) away that I just have to stop breathing when I walk past them. 2nd-hand smoke is bad for babies.

Hammies03,

Don't mind I ask how do you sign up for the hospital tours? (kinda remind me of those hotel/ wedding shows I used to go when I planned my wedding.. hehehe..) My colleague gave birth to her second child just Oct last yr at Mt A. She highly recommended it to me. She said the operation theatres are new and the rooms are big etc.

I am thinking of checking out hospitals too. But maybe will wait till my 2nd trimester. I have been to TMC many times to visit my friends who gave birth. The carpark is enough to give my hubby and my parents (all drive) headaches I am sure. I also feel that TMC is very "squeezy" (no offence to any TMC supporters)I have also seen their 1 person ward, which is definately much better than the 2 persons ward.

Can I also ask, in terms of facilities/experiences for child-bearing, is Mt A as good as TMC?

Hi AhCapp,

I saw on TMC website they have hospital tours provided daily except on Sundays, at either 11am or 2pm. Just have to go to the info counter to sign up on the spot. Then will have a lady bring u ard to see the delivery room, the delivery floor itself, and the rooms.

As for Mt.A, they don't have such a tour, but I dropped by today to find out the delivery charges, then asked if I could go see the maternity ward. They said just go up to level 3 and I was exploring ard. Asked a nurse whether can view any of their empty rooms and managed to see their double bed room only. Then later found the delivery ward side, and again asked the nurse if we can view the delivery suite. That's where she was very nice and showed us ard, and even showed us the nursery where all the baby were sleeping. hehe...babies all so cute

Anyway, I my view is that Mt. A facilities overall looked newer than TMC. I find their delivery suite bigger and not so crammed feeling. And coz it's more spacious, the aisles of the hospital etc felt a bit better lah...and parking is less of a problem than TMC. Today when TMC they had to valet park our car all the way at this URA carpark nearby the expressway there. Not sure if u know where..anyway...had to take a van to the carpark to pick up our car! Haha..too bad they have lack of space I guess.

Perhaps its just the way TMC is constructed, the building shape that makes it crammed. I believe it will still be a good place to deliver coz it's pretty specialised in this area. But since price wise I think MT. A is slightly cheaper, and I quite like what I saw and felt today, so most prob will choose Mt. A lor...

Thank you Hammies03,

Will sign-up for for the TMC hospital tour and go explore Mt A when I hit my 2nd trimester. =) Yes, most importantly is how you feel. If you feel Mt A is the one, then it's the one. Call me silly but that's how I choose my hotel for my wedding when I got married =P

hammies03
re: TMC parking
yes i remember that silly carpark so far away! Sat in the van and waited 20min for it to be filled.. so claustrophobic. Gosh! All my TMC checkups were scheduled during working hrs so i only kena once during my pregnancy & post pregnancy chkups. Thank God!