(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yup, think it's more frequent cos I'm seeing 2 drs. I last saw Dr Judy Wong last Wed so she actually ordered another scan in 3 weeks time. But anyway, since I can claim from KK, it's not so bad. It's the private gynae visits that I need to limit. Just paid $110 for today's visit. Can only claim $18 fromm company, heart pain.

wah, $110! Just consultation & scan? Any supplement/hormone pill/injection? For mine the first visit is charged full - $189 include consultation, scan, 2 wk h. pill & injection. Then from 2nd visit onwards I'm automatically on the package (unofficially) but no nd to pay deposit yet so consultation & basic scan FOC. Only need to pay for test, pills or injection. Then after 1st trimester when my pregnancy is stabilise, I will be officially signing up package & must pay $500 deposit. Another $500 (natural w/o epidural) after delivery...

Actually if my pregnancy is smooth w/o spotting or other complications (touch wood!) then actually it can be cheaper then KK...btw, mine is priv at Gleneagles, Dr Gordan Tan ;)

phew... long winded!!! ;b fall asleep liao?!? Anyway, dun sleep so late. Gd nitez

Yesterday was 7weeks 3 days
. Next appointment in 2 weeks, he does a scan everytime I think. I asked for the last time slot, also waited like 1.5 hours. Pengz. Super long. Wait until neck also long.

Actually before I found out I was pregnant, also went drinking with hubbie and his friends, also drank quite alot, so quite guilty when I found out I was expecting becoz I have never drank at all and I got to do it the month I got pregnant. Sickening, but thank goodness so far so good.

Btw, how much does KK charge for their 1 or 2 bedroom? Hubbie can claim from company but the rates are peg to KK rates for all procedures, so I thinking whether to go for single or double bedded wards. Do you gals know usually how many days we stay in? Dont reallly wanna share with someone else.

Today thread so quiet, becoz all still sleeping or maybe out eating breakfast. kekeke. I toss and turn the whole night. Prefer to sleep on my right side but supposedly to sleep on left is better, so I slept on left, then not comfortable, sleep facing upwards, felt suffocated. So whole night cannot sleep. hai~~~~ now, like panda.

angelsky,
my next appointment on 29Jun, oso wait until neck long long. By then, would be 10weeks liao, can see more of baby growth..very excited huh.

Not sure how much KK charges for labour & wards. When my sister give birth at TMC, she pick a 4 bedded ward but they upgrade her to 2 bedded w/o any extra charges. For natural birth, normally is 2 days stay (no complication). For C-section case, my sister stayed 3 days can discharge from hospital liao. Hope this helps u have an idea.

hehe...i oso cannot sleep properly at nite...toss & turn cos any position i slept on dun seem to be comfortable & i have nite mares too recently.

angelsky,
how do we know whether we r eligible to claim from company ? only for civil servants at gov hospital ? My MNC company dun allow claims for pregnancy stuff.

haha..no worries everything can eat n drink in moderation..alcohol/soft drinks 1 glass i fine..sometimes eat abit of cooling stuff like watermelon is actually good coz when pregnant we tend to get heaty easily, easy to get sick n sore throat..so rather than getting sick, eat a balance of all types of food..

I also dont know le, I read my hubbie company handbook say can claim but its like co-payment type.

I guess it depends on company, my friend who works in a private company, she see for consulation at the gyne can even claim 100%.

Actually for watermelon, I read somewhere that it depends on the person's constitution le. If you are the liang type, then you eat watermelon will b e more liang if you are the heaty type then you eat watermelon more heaty?

Think it depends on company policy too. If not sure, ask your HR dept. Eg. male civil servant can also claim for wife (I think it's 60%) provided wife does not enjoy any medical benefits. So, I was given wife's CSC card when we got married but since I work in a hospital, for me, it's better to claim using my own medical benefits (about 90%).

hi!

i went to see my gynae yest too.. baby was 2.4cm and e heartbeat sounds like rushing train...

my gynae told mi dat actually we dont need to tak those milk powder becos he will giv mi e calcium pill lata stage and we can get it fr some of e food dat we eat. e.g. fish, cheese,tofu etc...
Milk powder can cause indigestion to most pregnant ladies.. so he dont advice them to tak..

Hi! I am new here. 1st time mtm.

Just to check with you guys,when is your 1st blood test (HIV, Hep B etc) when you see the gyn ?

I am already 11weeks plus and so far only scanning and urine test. No blood test.

Hi All, I'm back.

Welcome all new mummies/mtb. Congratulation to all of u.

Have been not feeling well during my trip and have 2 days mc on mon and tue. Feeling better now. Yesterday have went for 2nd scan, managed to see baby and heartbeat(i didn't see it but hubby saw, so happy). feel a bit relief after kab case. my baby is 1.3cm. yesterday maybe too happy ate a lot during dinner but have throw out my supper which was homemade noodle cooked by my father
This morning feel so hungry but no appetite to eat. Haiz.... now drinking 7-up.

Lynn, how many week are u now? wow... yr baby 2.4cm liao..

G tan, blood test will only take at 2nd trimester.

Golden pig, 7-Up contains caffeine? opp, den i have to stop drinking liao...

Hi G tan, congrats!
i had my 1st & 2nd blood test for HCG level at week 5 cos baby not stable & gynae want to check HCG level.
Otherwise normally blood test is done during 2nd tri.

Hi Joyce,
welcome back! How many weeks r u now?

Hi all, just wanted to say hi and how's your weekend been? Pretty bz for me with wedding dinner to attend, and also a bit of father's day celebration.

Congrats to all new MTBs!

Angelsky, glad you managed to see your bb heartbeat
So you decided on TMC right? Btw, did you consider any other hospital or coz your gynae deliver there only??

Hi hammies03,

No idea le if he delivers at other hospital, I never ask him. I been to other hospital, but not too much good memories, so wanted a new place and heard quite good comments about TMC, so just happen my cousin rec this doctor, say he quite good, so I went and then everything just fall into place.
Nurse ask me to sign up package, so I also sign up. kekeke.

Yup I also happy to see the heartbeat. Just realised more and more people are expecting. Just heard that 3 of my ex- collegues are also going to be due soon, like oct, nov, dec then me in jan. Sigh~~~, miss working so much. But, I was like thinking imagine I was still there that means, my whole department is like going to be down, coz there is only like less than 15 of us. So funny.

Hi angelsky, so i see. Mind sharing what are some of the good comments you heard abt TMC?? I'm trying to decide between that and Mt. A....

Haha...actually since you are not working, is there anything in particular you do daily? Sometimes, I also wish if only can don't work when preggie, then can sleep as and when I want..hahaa...if not most nights keep waking up early morning to pee : |

qingqing

http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,23484,00.html#nails

Nail Polish, Acrylics, Wraps, etc. -- For many pregnant women, indulging in a manicure or pedicure every now and then is a great way to pamper themselves and lift their spirits. In addition, as your belly grows, it often gets increasingly difficult to trim your toenails (not to mention paint them), making a pedicure all the more useful. While there is no evidence of any true danger associated with getting a manicure or pedicure during pregnancy, the chemical fumes that sometimes go along with these treatments can make you feel ill. Try to make sure that you are in a relatively open area with sufficient ventilation, and that you are not exposed to the vapors for a long period of time.

joyce
7-up/ sprite no caffeine, but diet coke does.

angelsky
dun imagine things too much la.. now baby still too small to be putting pressure on u if u sleep on your back. i'm sometimes still lying on my front! It's ok to sleep on right side la. It's more impt that u get good rest than to insist on lying on left if that doesn't get u any sleep at all.

Morning Everyone,
Have just throw out few mins ago. feel so terrible. Last night unable to sleep well, have to hold my breath cos my pil are preparating the ingredient for rice dumpling, the smell make me puke. Just now, when i am in the bus there's a uncle sit beside me, i nearly die from suffocation, his body smell....oh my god.... Then when i went to my office canteen to get a packet of orange juice, the smell of the canteen again make me puke... when i reached office, i throw out, lucky there's a plastic bag beside me and then i rushed to the toilet. Aiyo....

I also wish I don't have to work. So used to run around in the lab, now ask to desk bound, really cannot take it, see computer screen everyday until eyes pain.

My appetite still not very gd, can't eat well most of the time, eat rice already wana puke. I like eating bread though but can't filled my hungry stomach, sad

Ohaiyo ladies!

angelsky: u so fast signed up package? i can only sign up package on 20 wks.. still a long way to go..

my gum bleed wen i was brushing my teeth.. itz happen yest and dis morning. do u gals hav dis same problem?

hi joyce
wear mask la. hahahaha.
i was v sensitive to smells during my 1st pregnancy also. Now with #2, no such problems liao. wonder why.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/

contains info on whether it's safe to do all sorts of things when we're pregnant, eg make love, exposure to chemicals, aromatherapy, use seat belts, wear underwired bras, use bleech, go for waxing, perm hair etc...

morning all,

evelyn,
to solve my no appetite, i tried to cook watever i wan n feel like eating during weekends. Weekdays abit hard cos PIL ard n they cook according to wat they bot/want not wat i wan. Hubby was shocked tat i ate so much during last weekend. haha i told him, cos e food i cook is much more appetizing n appealing den wat my PIL wants my maid to cook :p

mylvera,

The problem is i don't have appetite for most food, just eat to fill the stomach. Jus puke out my breakfast, sandwich n milo. The strange thing is stomach very hungry but eat already puke, sometimes i dun dare to eat coz i hate the nauseous feeling but if i don't my gastric comes, a very diff period indeed...

I also no idea why they ask me to sign up so soon. The nurse just told me can start to sign up on second visit then subsequently no need to pay for consulation i think. I did not want to ask her if I cant used the package then how? GOt refund or not - touchwood, so I kept quiet.

Mt A and TMC? Well, I like the fact that at TMC, dont have to have find parking on our own lo, coz at the rest of the hospital sometimes it can get really fustrating especially when you are expecting, I drive on my own, so previously when I went Mt E, cannot find parking very fustrating. AT TMC, they valet park for you, price is also reasonable as compared to the rest of the hospital. My clinic is on the ground floor, so no need to squeeze to take the lift like other hospital. AT TMC also mainly people who are going to deliver will be at the hospital, so you will also see less people at the hospital as compared to the rest of the hospital and medical centres where it can get really crowded. The only no good thing about TMC is that the traffic around that area not so good when come to peak period. My cousin's wife deliver there, she say that the service is good and the place is quiet.

But I also heard people giving good reviews about Mt. A before, that their service is also very good and price is reasonable as compared to the rest of the private hospital.

Hmmm, I actually now itching to go back to work, but well
Pregnant, so better stay home, then after give birth, need to look after baby for a while right, coz no one to help me look after, so cannot work also. Then by the time I wanna go back, wonder if people still want me. Sigh~~~~ I resign to join my husband overseas at his posting, even my collegues ask me why I wanna go over, since doing quite well at my job. But I dont think its advisable to leave my husband abroad on his own, while I stay here, especially when we have not started our family. Then barely 2 months pregnant, so now got to come back
At least back home, my mum can take care and make "bu" food for me ma.
Actually since I only in my first trimester, I dont really dare to go out, just go for walk downstairs, some swimming, sounds boring hor.

hi all.. i saw gynae on last sat... very exciting moment.. coz can see the bb shape starting to form liao... hehe... est date shown is 9wks 4days & bb is 2.53cm... btw, i ask my gynae & he say can go facial leh.. so can go & make appt with beauty saloon to be "pretty pretty" liao.. :p

kitsune_sg, ur ROM in Dec? me in dec too! ya Dec is rainy period & i guess ur intended venue is the lawn area? i held mine @ lawn area & prayed really hard for no rain. Thank god for answering my prayers coz the next day after my wedding, it was pouring like no day no nite continuously until jan...
so i guess now ur hb dun dare to help other frens on the wedding card liao? :p

eRnMum, yeah that place a bit ulu but just nxt to paya lebar mrt station. it happened to be 5mins walk from my office else i also will b lazy to go & check it out.... ;)

sandy & steph77, drinking wine & beer will cause the spotting??... i also drank wine & peach martini with hb & frens when i was in the first month period.. & thank god so far i onie got cramp during the initial period...

mylvera, after today visit, the scan show my EDD is 15th jan.. hmm... maybe we still got chance to see each other in MT A ya.. hehehe...

mei, sorry to trouble u, pls update my record - EDD : 15th Jan & Doc : Dr Adrain Woodworth

angel,

Not boring lah, at least u make attempt to do light excerise. Me now everyday go hm need to entertain my gal, so tired, never even do exerise, very bad... Actually i tink u r very strong liao, hubby abroad n u can come back n be on ur own, dun tink so much 7-8 mth time can see bb & all the scarifice is worth, i also always tell myself that to stay positive.

angelsky, thanks for some of your comments

Well, I think if I were you, I would also give up my job and join hubby if he posted overseas for like 2 year period onwards kinda timing. I think it's important to be with each other lor...of course, the sacrifice is your own job. After that, don't know if still can find a good job....maybe you consider that later ya...

Haha...first trimester I still attend friend's weddings and go out watch movies leh...should be ok I think. Even went facial that day..my face got pimples leh..so sad.

Superbee...sounds like you are delivering at Mt. A is it?

hi superbee,

when you all go for facial, do make sure that you all inform that you are pregnant cos cannot use machine....

me haven being eating dinner for two nights liao.

going to be 10 weeks liao...hope frist trimester will be over soon

ernmum,

never eat then can tahan hunger? for me i eat little follow by bread n milo for supper, if not my stomach can't take it

yeah, last time my facial lady also say she wun massage my neck/shoulders coz i was preggie. Her massage v shiok one.. preggie cannot anyhow massage.

i'm alrdy in my 8th week. Last i did my scan during my 6th week, bb is only 0.64cm. Is this consider small??? Is this normal??? I saw some of u has got more than 1cm in the 7th week. I'm going for my 2nd scan nxt sat at TMC. Hope bb grows much bigger tis time. so worried...

har.. no need to b worried abt size of foetus at this point in time.. they will GROW n GROW in 2nd & 3rd tri. I dun even remember what was the measurement when i went for my scan last month.

not that dun wan to eat...really cannot swallow....mouth keep secreting saliva...sigh

my no 1....also like that....should be ok....

eat already only feel more horrible

pigmit
dont worry, when i was in my 6th week, i also tot my baby very small. i still pester and pester my hubbie why the rest so big and edd even later, but ours so small

i think its got to do maybe physical size? mummy small so baby also small? or maybe sometimes, different babies jus all different size ma. as long as the baby is healthy thats why is important. cheer up, dont worry k. i also gg TMC for my thrid scan next friday. which doc are you with?

i starting to constipate already, wanna SXXX but take super long. hai~~~~ strain also no good.

decided i should go town to walk abit, walking is good during first two trimester right? kekeke. stayed at home long enough. time to go shop a bit.

ernmum,

I understand how u feel so sometimes rather don't eat. But for my case, I have to eat if not tummy make noise, i ate mixed rice for lunch, now stomach feel better...

Hi all Jan mtb,

I'm new to this thread and my EDD is 12th Jan. But.. I had brown spotting yesterday and today. Getting a bit worried, was wondering if anyone has spotting at 10 weeks?

Hi Shooting Star...not too sure abt spotting at around 10 weeks...maybe the rest can offer some comments? Have you informed your gynae? Maybe you need more rest...

I'm also around 10 weeks already...so far things are ok for me,just very slight cramping these few days..

angelsky
walking is good exercise thru'out the pregnancy.

shooting star
my gynae told me if any spotting pls alert her straightaway.