(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

krystle
aiyoh i trained him one leh
if he wants to open the fridge door, i will look at him and/or ask him "what must u say?"
then he will speak haltingly "can i, can i, can i have a sweet, please"
we use the same "can i have xxx, please" for every situation until he gets the picture.
must ask before taking!

and another phrase i taught him is "help me, please"

huh that bad ah but why the organs swell ah
no worries, my nephew also got swollen testicles, and after 1 yo and many trips to doc, it went down by itself....only after 1yo wor

pixie,

erm.. u do BP to earn some income? when u move nearer to yr ILs, $ spent on travelling will b minimum and hence can save abit?

i always wonder ... why some lower paid ppl can afford to hv 4 kids n yet afford cars.. if they can .. why cant we? hmm ..jz a tot lah, no offence to anyone

mylvera
aiyah no offense
me and my hb always wonder also leh!! why last time we earn so little eg 1.5k peanuts job but we could make do. but now earn more, cannot make do

my bp can earn few hundred only each time, and i dont do it every month. coz very draining everytime, must handle the "pls cfm my order" RUBBISH....hahaa.....

so tired today... it shouldnt be a working day after NDP leh. Anybody went down to Bishan carnival ytday ? I was there ytday. All the games are free leh !! so shiok. My kids get to enjoy them !

Got wii games too. I played the boxing so hard tat my arms are aching now man...

Talking about 4 kids.. aiyo I saw this news about the National Day baby is born to a Malay 30yr old lady and the baby is the 4th child and 2nd National Day baby wor !!!! Malay really can give birth hor by 30 she already has 4.

NO offence to any Malays here hor :p:p:p

chaye, hw nice if Nationl day we get 2 PHS, thenPAP would hav more supporters. haha
i more interested if this yr rally got any perks or not... ;p

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">1 sep gathering</font></font>

I got another suggestion: Lower seletar reservoir park - Let the kids indulge in water play and sand play while the adults can sit down, watch, chit chat, or even picnic!

Good morning all!

Back to the routine today :)

Krystle,
The PR application is very slow nowadays, in fact, my XY also hasn't gotten her PR, which has been almost 1 year already! I called and e-mailed to ask, and the reply is "under process" and they couldn't give me a expected timeline. Compared to last time, the agreed approval timeline is within 3 months.

Gd morning mummies

pixie,
i just sms-ed u on the vitacost spree

Finally had a good sleep last night cos my hubby is back from his convoy &amp; can help look after Z.

R is recovering slowly but still need to be on inhaler every 6hourly now. He is being diagnosed having bronchitis
Occasionally can hear wheezing sound from him still even though on inhaler. We scare he might be asthmatic (cause by genetic cos i've got childhood asthma but have outgrown it since primary school) Review on Friday at NUH..will see what the doc say.

Z also recovering slowly, less cough &amp; phlegm. Went to see GP again on national day as he was having diarrhoea &amp; vomiting at the same time. GP said this is due to the antibiotic that he is taking...she call it antibiotic diarrhoea. Doc say the virus (cough+phlegm+runny nose) now invaded his stomach so he is showing such symptoms. But not to worry as she said, he is still active n no fever or pain.

Another thing i worry now...R no poo for 5days liao!! He eat alot but no sign to poo/gek sai. He is happy &amp; active though. Hope he can poo today...pray hard!

I am on my way back home. I woke up ok n bearable ms but after the bus trip to work, my ms got very bad so I'm going back home to work.
So duh rite....

steph,
Hope they both recover soon. Must be so draining on you, jia you!

Pixie,
Aiyoh, feeling better now? yes, that's pretty duh :p

forget to update you all something...

On National Day I brot TT along to tabao lunch. So we came back and took the lift to 5th floor. We were getting ready to get out of the lift, TT's little hands was resting on the lift door. When the lift door opens his little left hand glide along with the door and it got stuck in between the lift door !!!!

He started to cry and I was screaming for his daddy cos we are already on the 5th floor ! My immediate reaction was to pull his hand out but it was useless and stupid !!! I quickly press the door close so that his hand and be released !!!

Luckily the door closed fast enuf and his hands did not trap too long inside.. I was shivering with fear after that and wonder why am I so careless !!! Did not pay attention that at his age his reaction is not that fast to remove his hands from the door knowing tat the lift is opening...
Bad mummy...

The scene of pulling his hand out is still haunting me once in a while... so guilty... cos it's such a stupid move to pull his hand out !

Lucky nothing happen to his hand and he is able to move his fingers and hand after that...

Lesson learnt : do not allow your kids to put their hands on the lift door.

Chaye,
Oh, so scary, luckily he didn't get hurt. Don't blame yourself lah, it's okay since he was not injured at all.

HR's hand was trapped by the lift door once a long time ago, probably more than 1 year ago, cannot remember already. Since then, we are careful about this and he kinda knows very well too.

Chaye,
ya dun feel guilty lah, accidents will happen especially as our kids get older.

my girl ran into the lift by herself and the lift door closed behind her. luckily the lift only went up one floor and i ran up the stairs to get her.
but it's a lesson learnt cos so far she doesn't dare to dash into the lift by herself anymore.

kam
im finally back home
it took me that long to get home (now time - last post time). im old woman liao
i went to mil place, she was kind enough to offer to send x to school i/o me.

my whole day ruined by bus ride

chaye
omg thats very scary rite...i would be shivering in fear too!
i taught x from young never to stand near the lift doors. i always hold his hands in the lift. yah, kiasu rite...
and in mrt trains, he knows the "gor gor's hand pain pain" picture at the train doors so whenever he sees it he will tuck his hands into my body (if im carrying him). he's scared of the picture!!
*evil laffs* i instilled fear in him liao muahahahah

Chaye, luckily Tate is ok. It happened to RaeAnne once too, luckily the lift door opened again after I pressed the button. She was pretty scared too.

Pixie, I once had a fainting spell on the bus when preggie cos it was so crowded and stuffy. :p

XY's celebrated her birthday!

Eventually we had about 50 adults and 30 kids, all squeezed in (kinda) in the A&amp;W party room. I was so busy entertained all the guests (cos they were mainly my relatives and friends), till I didn't eat anything for lunch, and XY wanted me to carry ALL THE TIME (think she was scared by the crowd). Think the guests have had a great time, esp the kids, they laughed so much and enjoyed the game so much (though it's just very simple game). The adults were having good time chatting/catching up with each other. Those old people were putting up a wide smile on their face when they saw the kids laughing and playing. We enjoyed the party a lot too, cos we have nothing to worry about, cos everything was taken care of by others :)

Only one thing that I wished I had done was that I should have prepared a party pack/gift pack for the children. I had been thinking of doing, but no time (yes, good excuse) to do it. I can imagine the smiles on the children's face if I had done it :p

Mandy,
The party package for 3 hours use of the party room, plus food and drinks, and games, costed us RM600. But we have to add more food and drinks cos too many people and it's over lunch time, so total bill came to RM800+.

Chaye,
Yes, in KL on Sunday. Not cheap meh, I thought ok leh, in Sg to cater buffet already about $12-15 per pax leh. So 50 guests, excluding the kids, already S$600-$750 leh.

kam
oh ya u got 50 adults and 30 kids !!!
then it's worth it.
hmm.. I'm planning birthday party in Oct... duno where and how to start

mandy,
A lot of people like the rootbeer float. Wonder why there is no A&amp;W in Sg, and even in M'sia, they aren't doing very well. Management problem?

Chaye,
Birthday party for your girl?

The good thing about A&amp;W is we don't have to worry that we order too much food. We can just add more food and drinks when necessary. No wastage at all. And everybody knows how A&amp;W tastes like, so no complains about the food also :)

Kam

Yes for my girl. I called up Macdonalds. $9 per child to celebrate at Mac... hehehe for adults they will just bill us for whoever order whatever at the counter. They just have to inform the counter that they are from the party. Think no wastage in this way hor... But maybe ppl will abuse hor :p:p:p

YES I love A&amp;W and miss them ! I think the only one left is at Changi T2 transit ah... I love the curly fries and root beer float !!! yummy !

Hi, mummies!

Kam,
PR application that long ah? My coll's son is borned in Sep so still gotta wait loh. Haiz.. I thought since parents are PR already should be quite fast.
Party at A&amp;W is nice! Like what Chaye said, wish SGP still has A&amp;W... I miss the curly fries, waffles and root bear...

CHaye,
It is really scary... I believe we parents tried our best to always look out for our kids to prevent them from getting hurt... But sometimes, we still somehow may overlook or did not think too much... Don't blame yourself. So A's hand is ok now? No bruises??

Steph,
Tough on you... Your boys will recover soon... I think asthma is quite common among kids nowadays too. Like what you said, most of them can outgrown when older so don't worry. But best thing is R does not have it.

Pixie,
Rest well lah, don't force yourself too much. If tmr still MS quite bad then work from home loh. Since 1st tri is over, will be better. Hang on there!

steph, i have childhood asthma too but already outgrown, so i think you dont need to worry so much if one really has childhood asthma. but of course, dont have is the best!

kam, you went to the a&amp;w at PJ state?

Just need to scream here.

TT has not been corporating in letting us brush his teeth. He will brush on his own and that's it. Will nit let us follow up in certain unbrush area. He used to brush one time we brush one time and goes to bed. It's been aweek since he started thus nonsense. We scold him still like tat. Talk to him nicely also like tat. Die die dun open the mouth.

In fact I'm out now for a breather cos hubby came back at 9pm. Took shower and shit took him 30 mins. Came out fr room saw TT wouldn't let us brush his teeth he started scolding him and TT cried. But still so stubborn dun let us brush his teeth. Scold again and again. I cannot tahan le. Walk out of hse !!! U came back so late see him less than 5 mins want to scold him 10 mins for wat??!! Just dun understand him leh.

I told him scolding him doesn't help talking to him doesn't help maybe we shd stop a few days not brushing his teeth and see how. Any mummies got such prob or not ???

Chaye,
u poor thing. hope u've cooled down by now.
my girl goes through all sorts of different phases so everytime we hv to think of new tricks to bluff her. her latest one is biting down on the toothbrush everytime i try to brush for her. and she thinks it's funny.
and yes there was a time when she would brush herself but not let me brush so we're like fighting for the toothbrush all the time.

i find that sometimes giving her another toothbrush helps so while she is trying to brush her teeth with her toothbrush i quickly use my toothbrush and brush as well. doesn't always work and i just brush as best as i can lor. but i always make sure she knows i'm not happy with her behaviour.

Chaye,
Hope you are feeling better now.

HR is way behind Tate. He sometimes brushes, sometiems doesn't (also because of us lazy, didn't ask him to brush lah). Sometimes he let us brush his teeth, sometimes he doesn't. Sometimes he bites the toothbrush and wants to swallow the toothpaste. All sort of things. So Tate is considered very very good already leh, he may just at the phase of very keen to be able to self-help? Just let him brush his teeth himself, it won't do any harm to his teeth. Don't need to force him, cos before you know it, he would let you brush his teeth again, kid is forever changing!

Yes, scolding won't help. But sometimes we just can't hold it and scold HR also, though not often, but he picked up very fast, the end results is he scolds us back when he is not happy, we have set a very bad example ah :p

krystle, tongtong, kam,
thanks for your consolation
Hope tmrl medical review for R will be a positive one! And...he finally poo-ed yesterday

chaye,
TT is very good already, can brush on his own. I have not cultivate gd brushing habit on Z yet
He started using the toothbrush to brush his teeth when he was abt 22mths in the morning but somehow we lost focus...we didn't really follow a routine on brushing, same on toilet training...sigh...at the same time, #2 also demand alot of our attention too. Just lazy perhaps (an excuse for us) or we are just too exhausted looking after them bah.
Soon, we'll start good brushing habit on Z &amp; R again...as well as toilet training (going diaperless) in progress for Z too! wish me luck!

chaye
just my 2 cents. it doesnt matter if Tate's teeth are left untouched on some days. his teeth wont rot anyway. so no matter how much you scold and he doesnt budge, i would let him be.
coz scolding and making him cry VS untouched teeth, i would choose the latter. i dont want to make every one unhappy (parents unhappy, child cry) and create negative feelings at home.
my psychologist always tells me - to see which one is more impt?
try again tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow......and tomorrow

no offense ah

steph
hope all goes well for R's review tmr!

btw, X is diaperless now (except for the night sleep), but he is poo-ing less coz he doesnt likes to poo in the toilet bowl
last weekend, he poo-ed only after 3 days. i oso very worry ah~ now i know how you feel...

morning ladies..

yes I'm feeling better reading your posts ! I think I will leave him alone for the time being and start again after a week or so.

Pixie
I am in total agreement with you. Y create negative feelings at home. Yes I really do not like this type of unnecessary squabbles !

tongtong,
Yes, we went to the A&amp;W in PJ, opposite Amcorp Mall, only this branch has party room.

steph,
Maybe for us, who has 2 little ones are the lazier mummy hor. But sometimes I was just so drained that I really don't want to do anything. I just console myself this will soon pass, XY is growing up and I will regain more time for myself. The past few weeks till now, HR refused to let his daddy put him to bed. So I have to put XY to bed, then HR. After HR sleeps, XY usually wakes up briefly and needs some patting or carrying to fall asleep again. When both of them finally sleeping soundly, it's at least 11pm already, and I am so so so tired to do anything. But I still have to wake up to do the house chores, even if I really can't do it, I have to wake up and tell hubby what to do, if I don't tell him, he sees nothing and won't do anything (like washing bottle, laundry, etc), but if I tell him, he does all nicely.

HR is progressing well on toilet training. Almost there. He is able to stay dry for a longer period of time, able to hold his pee, and able to poo on the toilet bowl a few times! And he starts to tell us when he wants to pee and poo. Just a few more weeks, I hope. We are glad that this is happening kinda naturally that we never forced him into it.

And he is doing well at his new school. He told me he likes the teachers and he likes the school :) Yesterday he sang to me the "ba ba black sheep", and it's almost the full song that he learns at school (we never taught him this song)! It such a big relief for me!

pixie,
yup now u know hor...imagine when R no poo for 6days! i worry sick (panic)! i always make the gek sai sound for him to encourage him to poo, will smell n check his buttock on/off for any poo leh. When i see his poo, i am so happy like tio TOTO...haha
Can i check which clinic or hospital u go see your psychologist? need GP referal ah? or can walk in? izit expensive? Your psychologist (he/she?) is for depression or other treatment as well? If not convenient to say here, can sms me?thanks!

steph
my psychologist is in IMH
i go under private, so the records are confidential.
its called "sayang wellness clinic"
not very long waiting time, i think per session of 1.5hrs is ard 75 bucks?
to see a psychologist you must see a psychiatrist. then they will ask you to go see psychologist.

imho i think psychologist works. she changed my mindset. i rather rely on her than on my psychiatrist.
if you want to look for her specifically you can request to do so. if you need her name you let me know then i sms you

abt what is being treated. it all depends on what you are suffering from. phobia, anger management, depression, bipolar, even communication skills etc...then the psychologist will attack the areas 1 by 1 lo...

steph
my psychologist is in IMH
i go under private, so the records are confidential.
its called "sayang wellness clinic"
not very long waiting time, i think per session of 1.5hrs is ard 75 bucks?
to see a psychologist you must see a psychiatrist. then they will ask you to go see psychologist.

imho i think psychologist works. she changed my mindset. i rather rely on her than on my psychiatrist.
if you want to look for her specifically you can request to do so. if you need her name you let me know then i sms you

abt what is being treated. it all depends on what you are suffering from. phobia, anger management, depression, bipolar, even communication skills etc...then the psychologist will attack the areas 1 by 1 lo...

Kam,
we share the same sentiments. Yes drained and yet we have to complete the hse chores else it will pile up leh. Lucky u got your hubby who is willing to do hsework. My ah lao dunno how to or simply not train to do laundry since young so can't expect too much from him except he will wash bottle but the teat is still coated with some milk stain after washing! So i dun dare to ask him for help, i rather do it myself:phaha

How nice, HR is doing well on toilet training. I hope Z's turn will come soon naturally, we oso never force him into it

Glad to hear HR is happy with school &amp; his teachers. Today is Z's 1st day of cc for the week cos he wasn't feeling well for the past few days. My FIL told me he cried alittle when he walk into the CC this morning but was okay after he left

Kam,
we share the same sentiments. Yes drained and yet we have to complete the hse chores else it will pile up leh. Lucky u got your hubby who is willing to do hsework. My ah lao dunno how to or simply not train to do laundry since young so can't expect too much from him except he will wash bottle but the teat is still coated with some milk stain after washing! So i dun dare to ask him for help, i rather do it myself:phaha

How nice, HR is doing well on toilet training. I hope Z's turn will come soon naturally, we oso never force him into it

Glad to hear HR is happy with school &amp; his teachers. Today is Z's 1st day of cc for the week cos he wasn't feeling well for the past few days. My FIL told me he cried alittle when he walk into the CC this morning but was okay after he left

steph
i think i will be very disappointed with my ah lao if he dont chip in housework!
btw, cannot say coz not trained to do laundry since young so cant expect too much from him....last time my hb also like that. i took the opportunity to trained him lor.
his mother didnt let him do housework. that was her mistake. now he is living with me, i will not allow to let this continue on, taking this as an excuse.

we sat down, wrote down all the hsework that needs to be done. then split (eg 40-60). he has to follow it coz if he dont do his share, i will stop doing mine, then he will have no clothes to wear, no water to drink, no cutlery, no shampoo, no everything

from then on he learn fast kekekkeke

steph
i think i will be very disappointed with my ah lao if he dont chip in housework!
btw, cannot say coz not trained to do laundry since young so cant expect too much from him....last time my hb also like that. i took the opportunity to trained him lor.
his mother didnt let him do housework. that was her mistake. now he is living with me, i will not allow to let this continue on, taking this as an excuse.

we sat down, wrote down all the hsework that needs to be done. then split (eg 40-60). he has to follow it coz if he dont do his share, i will stop doing mine, then he will have no clothes to wear, no water to drink, no cutlery, no shampoo, no everything

from then on he learn fast kekekkeke

steph/pixie,
My hub has been taking care of himself since young. So he is capable to do all sort of chores, except cooking perhaps. And he is a clean/neat freak, a milder one. I just tell him straight - I only have 1 pair of hands, and you also have 1 pair, so it's either the kids or the chores, you choose, cos I simply can't manage both. And almost 95% of the time, he chooses to do the chores than to take care of the kids =) But sometimes when I am not too tired, I will do everything lah, because he brings work home some nights, and has to work pass midnight, pity him leh. Yesterday he only went to bed at about 2am.

steph/pixie,
My hub has been taking care of himself since young. So he is capable to do all sort of chores, except cooking perhaps. And he is a clean/neat freak, a milder one. I just tell him straight - I only have 1 pair of hands, and you also have 1 pair, so it's either the kids or the chores, you choose, cos I simply can't manage both. And almost 95% of the time, he chooses to do the chores than to take care of the kids =) But sometimes when I am not too tired, I will do everything lah, because he brings work home some nights, and has to work pass midnight, pity him leh. Yesterday he only went to bed at about 2am.

Kam
I hope TT can be toilet train soon too. Recently he reversed back to pooing on his diaper ! Refuse potty totally ! But I let him be cos as same Steph, he doesnt poo everyday. So when he poo I am very happy le I dun mind in potty or not for now.

wah Pixie
you train him well leh !!! hahahaha