(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thks tongtong. i hope u hav made a 'wise' decision on ur career soon

kam, ic. okay, i juz wan know more n nt be so igorant...keke

Morning, mummies.

Steph,
You can try taking the Flyer in the evening... around 7pm... My hubby went to check out the sunset timing and we also asked the staff when we arrived there. If there is a queue, the staff will advice you to queue first so that you won't miss the sunset. And also not so hot...

re: behavior
my girl also throw tantrums when she couldn't get what she want and we are quite relax parents, sometimes i'll just tell her no and walk away, sometimes worse, i'll tell her no, laugh and ignore her, she'll just stopped her tantrums and went to play on her own.

re: puzzles / games
my girl doesn't like to play with her puzzles nor look at flash cards anymore, she's running around the house the whole day to expand her energy, play pretend with her toys / dolls are mostly what she does now. Though she still loves to read and will pretend to read on her own at times.

i feel that she has come to a stage whereby she needs to start socialising, thus, thinking of sending her to cc to be more independent. I realise that without socialisation, whenever she met other children, she loves to play with them but she doesn't know how to protect herself. For eg, if other children push her away, she'll just stand there and look at me to rescue her, or if her toys are snatched,she'll gladly give them up and went to look for other toys to play with. Though these are good nature but i'm afriad she's going to get bullied big time when she goes to school. hiaz, delimma too cos heartache when i see her gets bullied.

morning mummies. ;-)

Yvvone: I agree with all the mummies here that you should let B self-feed. The mess only last for a short time only.

Agree being a SAHM is not easy. I suddenly miss all my holidays when my hubby told me that he wants to bring me for a holiday w/o kids. But I just can't accept it. Coz I know I will miss them.
If I want to go for holidays, maybe in couple years when #2 can take table food??? I just can't bear to deposit my kids at my PIL' place or hire a nanny to look after them. Maybe I am so used to it?
But at them same time, I also want a break.
We have tickets to go back to singapore this aug, but I am thinking of forfeit it. I dont think I will enjoy 2 kids on holidays. Especially #2 will be having solid food by then. Will be a lot of work for me.
Thank God that Jo is in her good manner all the time. She actually only want to test the boundaries with my hubby. ;-) And I am so thankful that my hubby is patient enough to talk and explain to her.

Tongtong: I will try some of your smoothies this weekend as I will buy juicer & blender this Thu. ;-) I hope my Jo will love it.

Yvonne/steph

I'm by no means implying what ur doing is not ok. Agree wih pixie that no child is the same. Even when during babies days we all adopt different feeding/sleeping method and it works for all of us. Our babies all grew up didn't they. What I meant was u know ur child best. U can cane/scold and do whatver is best n I can only provide suggestions. I'm voicing out only becos ur ventin mah...at the end of the day we need to keep our sanity (esp SAHMs) so we need to know when to walk away and be calm so we don't "lose it". After all they WILL grow up older and listen more.

Point to share, sometimes I do think ignorance is best. Cos my PD shared with me saying kids this age LOVES attention even if it's negative attention. So for mommies who is already caning and nothng works, perhaps try ignoring. Sometimes the kid will get scared wondering why mommy suddenly ignore him/her when u hv been scolding n caning him last time hehe

pixie,
do u have any extra milkbags which i can purchases urgently? I need to stock up EBM for my boy urgently.

aqua,
Ur gal is sick? Hope she will get well soon..

pixie,

yup,
I have. Will transfer to u now...xie xie..

btw, ur sis still organising pumpkin patch spree?..I am a regular supporter of hers..hehe

i cant wait for lunch. coz its my mom's dinner leftover. i am so looking forward to eat her food, even though its leftovers
i dreamt about staying with my parents in my sleep yesterday...gosh i miss my parents lots...

shannonbaby
sorry ah, i got a bank trf of $20 leh, by the name of yating. you are yating right??
errrrrrrrrrr???

her pp spree ah, depends one. webbie got good enuff discounts or what then she will open spree kind.

its discounted, babe!! not $20!! i need to refund you $$ leh, pm me your bank a/c details? unless you dont mind that i earn the $$ hoho

Mylife,
this time round we will be around when you are back to sg. Fix a meet up quick leh. I want to see rylee and you. I don't mind taking leave if you gals want to fix it on a working day. Actually better for me, cos weekends are for our family outings.

BTW, there will be Disney on ice on the 20th/21st weekend. We will be going for the 11am show on the 20th. Anyone else going?

Tongtong,
Sorry I owed you the translation contacts... I just emailed to you.

Kitsune,
Have you tried the translation contacts? Anyone get back to you?

Pixie, I also hope I can stay with my parents, I really miss them! Your parent is still in SG, better than me wor! anyway just this morning dad called me to “counsel” me on my career move, and he opposed me to bring s to attend class.

aiyah postage is free for jan08 mummies mah
ok i will remember that u have a credit of $1 at my side hokays

thanks for the biz!!

Kam,
Im bringing my gal on the weekdays show (18th). She is into princess and minnie mouse now. Hope she will like the show.

I dont mind meeting up on weekdays. As weekends are purely my family days.

krystle,
yup thats me...

shannonbaby,
I am sure your gal will enjoy the show.

Pixie,
Go, don't hesitate. Last time round when we were at the Thomas show, HR sat through without moving at all. While the kid in front of us, maybe 4-5 years old, never stopped moving for a minute. We figured at this age, HR is still willing to sit still and watch the show, and may not do so when he is older. And I am also very sure he will enjoy the show a lot! And this year show there will be lots of characters!

Tickets are selling fast. We can only get Cat 2 tickets, so sad, got to be further away from characters.

krystle,
thanks for sharing yr experience on the flyer
Will take note on sunset timing...hopefully coming wkend wont have so much crowd

mylife,
dun worry lah, i love to hear from your suggestion..it act as a check list for me too cos sometimes i might miss out something that i can try out on Z & see if it works...we are all learning from one another mah
As for the ignoring part, i did tried it before, sometimes it works but sometimes it doesn't...trial & error lah. Honestly, i felt pple nowadays put too much stress on ourselves for children's discipline. When Z on tantrum mode, i will always tell myself to calm down, walk away (ignore) & think of his funny cute actions or words he said to me. Recently the weather was so warm & humid, i was perspiring badly...Z saw a big tear drop of sweat down my neck & guess what he said? "Mummy ku aka CRY"....so funny...he thought it was tear drop!

Shannonbaby,
I am also bringing my girl to weekday show on 18 mar! Coz also my hubby's birthday... What time is your show? Mine is 3.30pm..

long time din login here le ! Ok I am not the mystery preggy mum :p so who is it ?

I am not a patient mum. I do scream and break down when I no longer can take it anymore. I really "peifu" those mums who can be very patient with their kids.

How do u handle your kid when you ask him/her to do something and he/she shout back a NO answer and start to cover his eyes and dont want to look at your fierce look ? I have been seeing this at least 2 times every evening these days... sigh...

at first I told him nicely come let's do this together. he still said NO and fold his arms. then I got angry and raise my voice and he still say NO. I use the mosquito swatter to warn him if he still say NO I will hit his buttock and he still give me NO ! so I hit his buttock and he cried loudly even though it's not very painful. He will wave his hands and say no no no and very angry want to hit me back ! I will hold his palm and hit him with the swatter telling him it's wrong to hit his mother. Of cos he cries even louder then. At times during these cries when I ask him to quiet down he will shut up immiediately wipe his tears and proceed to finish what I have initially requested him to do. But at times he still refuse. I am at wits end.

Am I instilling wrong signals to him by hitting him ??? sigh... talk to him nicely dun listen ! He is always trying his luck.

打又不是不打又不是. 讲有时听有时又不听. 咳...

Shannonbaby,
See you there... Which area you are in? Mine is A05, Row 4. I just hope can dig my girl out of her nap.. coz clash with her naptime... She is now very into MickeyMouse Club house and likes Mickey too.

krystle, oh i saw yesterday's Mypaper advertising half page notice - from NUH, KKH and Mt E , looking for kids for a clinical research for MMRV vaccinations. They wanna reseach on the immunity and safetyness of the vaccine, something like that. i dont quite remmeber what was the objective liao. but it seemed to me that MMRV is still under research and not 100% proven safe yet? you can check out the newspaper, better la

Tongtong,
I don't have the papers leh... No chance to get the papers coz I don't take trains...

If like that, then I also want to take separate jabs for my boy, just to play safe...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Jan08 mummies meet up</font></font>

Why meet up: Mylife is back for holiday so we have a valid reason to meet up :)
Date: One weekday on 19-26th March
Time: 10am (so don't have to affect their afternoon nap, assuming most toddlers here don't take morning nap anymore)
Venue: Indoor playground? Or outdoor (a park)? Or someone's house? Open for suggestion.

Attendees:
1. Mylife
2. Kam
3. Shannonbaby

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">CALLING for mylife</font></font> - Please suggest a few days that is good for your schedule. Have to be very fast, cos some of us need to take leave leh. Thanks!

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">CALLING for elmo_78</font></font> - You want to volunteer to have this at your place, as you suggested last time?

kam
now i asking my hb can take leave or not coz i got 1 more day or leave to clear before 1st april...if can then maybe bring x go on friday afternoon show

Chaye,
For me, I learned from my hubby to be very patient (though I must admit, we lost our patience sometimes, but we we lost "it", we walk away from him and let the other person take over). Say if I ask him to change his clothes. He said no. I first ask him, why you don't want to change your clothes? What do you want to do? Give him a few minutes to think about and to stop whatever he is doing. Then I proceed with, let's change your clothes now. If he still say no, then I will ask again, why you don't want to change your clothes now? if you don't want to change, then the ants might bite you tonight wor cos you are dirty (whatever reasons that might get him to do things). Give him another few minutes. If he still says no, then I will get more firm on my voice and say let's change your clothes so we can do other things. Most of the times, we can get him do what we wants him to do at this stage. If he also very firm and tell me no, then I let him alone, let him do whatever he wants to do, and I go somewhere else to do other things. Come back again, this time, without asking him, just change his clothes, and usually he won't reject.

This is my approach lah. Very the long winded way. As I mentioned above, we figured that HR likes us to talk to him. So me and hubby like talking so much these days (we were already talking a lot, now it's even more). So just talk and talk and talk, until maybe he is sick of us already and just do whatever we ask him to do :) Soft approach works for us. Thankfully. We have never beaten him at all till now.

That day, he refused to brush his teeth but we can see some food debris stuck in his teeth. So we spent maybe 10 minutes talking to him. At the end, he accepted and said, okay we go brush teeth now cos 虫虫在皓皓的嘴, 晚上会咬皓皓的!

tongtong,
I checked with my PD before those MMRV out in the market is diff from the one on clinic trial. WHat i understand is, they used diff kind of “疫苗”.

tongtong/krystle/icy,
Definitely. If a product/drug/vaccine hasn't passed clinical trial, there is NO WAY it can be used in the clinics. No way, for sure. The rules are very strict here in Singapore.

Icy is right. Probably is another phamrmaceutical company trying to develop a similar vaccine and is recruiting kids for thier trials. Usually only phase 4 clinical trial (last phase) will be allowed to be used on human.

Toddler Behavior
I am having a hard time with Xavier now. I am not sure if it is due to terrible two stage or it is because of having another sibling.

First of all, he keep insisting to wear clothes for going outside and wear shoes to walk around the house. He would once a while sit at the gate and scream and cry that he wants to go out. I am not sure if it is because he had been dramatized during the nights when I am not at home (hospital for labour), mil told me he had to wear gai gai clothes and shoes to sleep.

He had been rejecting milk, throwing toys on the floor, refuse to tidy up.. there would be times where he throw his tantrum so much tt he really cry and roll on the floor - insisting on going out.

There had been 2 nights that he had kind of nightmares, he cried and cried and want to be out of the cot and keep saying he wants go out. Like today, he wakes at 5am.. cry and say wanna go out. Hb grab him and he struggle a lot.. he seemed to be like in his dream! Then we had to left him cry out loud at our bedroom door, until he calm down then I called for him and out him to sleep again.

We tried to let him out of the room the other time, and he insist to wear shoes and open the door even tho it is dark!

Mummies, any ideas what to do if kids have nightmares like this?

I already tried to give him more attention these days, think it is helping a bit.. at least he more willing to wear home clothes.. sigh

Kam
I'm also going for the Disney on Ice show on 20th ...but err...i dont rem which timing i'm going leh...i bought the tics during CNY when i was back..hehe

Thanks for initiating the gathering! Yay! Can meet Hao Re!

Technically speaking i'm available everyday cos hubby working everyday. I'm usually good on mornings and evenings before 6pm cos Rylee naps around 1-3pm so i will bring her out to play in the mornings, and then bring her home to nap, then wakeup and go out again.

As for venue, i'm open too. I can offer my house but not much toys around (i did leave some books n toys for Rylee to play when she's back but not much) but my location (Tampines) is also a bit inconvenient for some mommies in the west rite?

HK has some baby friendly cafes where mommies can sit and eat cakes/drink coffee and they have a nice corner (filled with toys like kitchen set, etc) for the toddlers to play...anything like this in Sg? If dont have, shud start one! Hehe, shud very popular with mommies...now that's a business idea rite! hehehehe

Steph
Glad to know u didnt misunderstand my meaning.

Chaye
I know it's not u cos ur a beautiful mommy of 2 liao lo. Tate sounds very strong willed yah. I've got a fren here in HK also have a son like Tate. VERY strong willed. Hit also not scared one. He's totally fearless. Back when he was barely able to walk/run properly, he was already tumbling down staircases...mom turn around only, he will jump into pool (18mths only, still dunno how to swim!). Anyway, he's also always testing his mom's limit, some more with a twinkle in his eye when he does thing. Perhaps u could try asking him to do the exact opposite of what u want him to do? Haha, sometimes they will purposely says no and do what u want him to do originally. Haha. Manipulative! For T, maybe it's really not good to continue hitting him since he's taken to hitting even u! Cos he's starting to imitate u (hitting) and u need to explain to him it's not good to hit yet ur hitting him. He would start to question why u can hit me and i cant hit u? Just becos ur the mom? At least thats what my fren's son did when he starts to talk and ask why questions! Maybe u can punish him (if u need) by taking away his privileges (u know best what he values ie barney/elmo dvd time, ice cream, tv, etc) and tell him that unless he does what u say, u wont do it. I read from a book, that most of the time when parents threatened to do something, we sometimes do empty threats, ie we may say but we never carry out our actions. So the next time u say something, no need to hit, just silently do it. Of cos the threat must be something significant and doable lah. Like my mom, she always threatened Rylee "do this or i'll hit u until ur buttocks "open flower"...but she NEVER do anything so in time, Rylee actually learned it's empty threats so she always bully my mom now. But for me, she will know i will defnitely carry out so she will follow (sometimes!) Like this morning, we went out to do groceries shopping and she requested to come down from the trolley and walk. I told her she need to follow me and not anyhow pick things from the shelf. She nodded. I let her down, but shortly after, she started running excitedly and pick things from the shelf. I gave her a verbal warning and she nodded. Barely 30mins later, she did again. (probably forgot cos toddler's memory very short) Without a word, i just picked her up and put her back into the trolley seat and she was wailing away. I just ignore her. And calmly continue my shopping. After a while, she stopped crying when there was something to distract her and it was fine after that. Pls note this didnt come smoothly...only after much much much trial and errors. So she learns mommy MEANS what i said! Hahahaha *evil laugh*

There's book cafe at Mohamed Sultan. Has comfy sofas for mummies and some toys for kiddos....
only thing is the place is a bit dark..

mylife
hah so active in the thread today ahh?? *smirks*

anyway i agree with u, i read books and say must follow through.
like yest, x wanted the jelly beans from fridge. i told him must shower first. he was crying and shouting, rolling on the floor. in the end i managed to get him into the bathtub, showered and dressed.
i was thinking, kids got very bad memory, but if i promised that he will have ONE miserable jelly bean after shower, then he should. or should i just let it slide coz he forgot liao and i can dont give him the jelly bean?

in the end i gave lor, coz even though x forgets liao he will know i default on my promise. i hope i can fufil all my promises lar. coz i use the 5-3-1 method very frequently, i cannot default on the promised timing.

icy
wah ur boy very weird ah? about throwing the toys and not tidying up, well, my trick is, limit him to a certain amount of toys. and keep them in containers that he cannot open. so eg the cooking set are all in one love letter plastic tin. and if he wants to open it up, he must keep the existing puzzle back into the plastic bag FIRST before i open the lid of the cooking set.
perhaps you can try that?
the no cry discpline solution book says, keep saying "if you can do this <FIRST>(what you want from him), then you can do this after you have finished <FIRST>(what he wants from you)"
hths

pixie,
He used to clean up his own toys.. so I not sure if his behaviour now is due to jealousy or because now the maid will clean up for him. *sigh*

Actually I very worried abt if he is dramatized somehow.. sigh. Wonder need see doc or what. Hb actually become very upset yesterday and ask me why Xavier become a good and easy boy to like that. *sigh*

icy
*hugs* no worries, our tods goes through all sorts of funny phases yah...

if u not sure about the toys picking part, then tell ur maid dont need to pick up his toys at all. coz my maid wont pickup my boy's toys. me or mil make sure he cleans up at the end of the day before heading to bedroom.

my hb oso ask me why x is like this or that sometimes, i oso dunno how to answer. anyway, u monitor a bit lor.
perhaps you can ask him, why he wants to wear the gaigai clothes. he sure have a reason for it. i doubt he will tell u straightaway but perhaps asking him issit x, issit y, issit z and see what he says...

my boy oso throw tantrum until roll onto the floor. and his signature is after the crying, he will spit out some saliva. or cough until gag (sometimes throw up). so you are really not alone

mylife
can i then mail the "promised gift" to your tampines home these few days, so that the tenant will open letterbox and pass u when you return??

Pixie
aiyoh why ru smirking at me leh? Active cos a few reason:
1) I'm planning trip back to sg mah, so I posted first last nite asking if possible can do a gathering so must follow thru rite?
2) got common topic mah ie disciplining. Usually I kept quiet cos u all talking about trial classes or happenings in Sg which I'm not a part of so I remain silent lo.

Last time voice out about breastfeeding also kena suan by Kam that whenever got bf issues I will sure appear, now ur turn to suan me....haiz

Okok, I siam back into the dark can?

pixie
sure sure! i got my letter box key from my mom liao.

icy
when u were away in hospital, what did ur MIL and other family members told him? He prob missed u a lot thus thinking he wants to go out. It's prob a phase, dont worry. And dont stress. He WILL revert back to his good and easy boy days.

Steph
Z is so sweet. Sometimes they can be soooooo sweet rite? Rylee also the other day i rammed my toes into the wall and was sooo painful i almost teared. She quickly ran to me and say sorry (her way of showing concern) and i had to tell her it's not her fault

mylife
heehee c'mon u know we all love u loads lar wont suan u too much
btw, ur mags hor, i still reading yest nite. i dun bear to read them. seow hor??

i have ur address, so will mail out tomorrow!!

anyway when u back, i sure will meet u up again.

<font color="ff0000">Jan08 mummies meet up</font>

venue suggestion: Try SOL Playground Cafe
http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/AboutUs.aspx

We've been there twice &amp; Z love it. Me &amp; hubby get to enjoy our lunch while Z play at his indoor play area &amp; we can still relax &amp; watch over him
I love their food menu for the kids too! Z loves their smiles shaped potatoes very much

3710452.jpg
3710453.jpg

tongtong,
beetroot &amp; red apple makes very nice refreshing juice indeed! The other time you were saying add in carrot izit? Tks for the recommendation

Steph
this is perfect! Exactly what i have in mind lo. Shall we set this as our venue? Is the location alrite for everyone? Next, we need to firm up the date/time yah? Hope lots of mommies can make it!

pixie
u siao eh. Read it lah...this time round i get more for u ok? hehe