(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph,
Looks good woh. It's at Turf City. Location okay for mummies?

Forgot to say, Z is so cute to say you cried when you perspired :) Show that he is a very caring tod.

steph,
They called it ABC juice - Apple, Beetroof, and Carrot. Very good nutrition! I used green apple that day, also nice. Maybe red apple gives a sweeter taste?

which reminded me...that my juicer is still in storeroom. i really must find a place to put my juicer leh. my kitchen very little cabinets only :-(

Suggest Wed so we FTWM can have a mid week break :)

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Jan08 mummies meet up</font></font>

Why meet up: Mylife is back for holiday so we have a valid reason to meet up :)
<font color="0000ff">Date: 24th March (Wednesday)
Time: 10am
Venue: SOL Playground Cafe</font>

http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/AboutUs.aspx (unless Elmo_78 offers to do it at her place. I e-mailed her liao).

Attendees:
1. Mylife
2. Kam
3. Shannonbaby
4. Jess
5. Pixie

Hi Kam,

Here is elmo reporting! Sure it will be great to meet up with all the mummies. My place is good from 23 to 26 Mar as I can book the function room for our meet up and the kids can also go for a swim at the pool. Would it be convenient for the mummies to travel to Buangkok? My place is 5 min's walk to the mrt station.

Jan08 mummies meet up

Why meet up: Mylife is back for holiday so we have a valid reason to meet up :)
Date: One weekday on 19-26th March
Time: 10am (so don't have to affect their afternoon nap, assuming most toddlers here don't take morning nap anymore)
Venue: Indoor playground? Or outdoor (a park)? Or someone's house? Open for suggestion.

Attendees:
1. Mylife
2. Kam
3. Shannonbaby
4. elmo_78

mylife, kam,

If venue is firm then gotta call to make reservation &amp; also avail of high chair for our tods (in case run out/not enuff). 22-26th Mar, i will be busy for co upcoming exhibition at SIN expo. Will see how...i miss the food there:p &amp; also wanna meet u &amp; Rylee too lah..hehe

kam,
yea red apple gives a sweeter taste

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Jan08 mummies meet up</font></font>

Date: 24th March (Wednesday)
Venue: SOL Playground Cafe
http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/AboutUs.aspx OR elmo_78 place at Buangkok?????

Attendees:
1. Mylife
2. Kam
3. Shannonbaby
4. Jess
5. Pixie
6. elmo_78

Now, got to choose a venue between the two......

Is Buangkok a bit far out for mommies? And will the pool be a "dangerous" place if our kids run around too much and we have to keep an eye on them? I'd still prefer the cafe though, no need to pack up after that! hehehehe. But ultimately will go with the majority lah.

Steph
Yah lo, i think the last i met u (and Z) was at our very first Jan08 gathering and Z was still in your tummy! hahahaha. Do try to make it, but if cannot, then bo pian lo...

Kam
i'm fine with the date, but i would imagine if i'm FTWM, i'd prefer a Friday so i can sort of have a "short working week" until Thurs, and then Friday can go gathering and then relax cos the next day is weekend liao ma... at least that's how i think back when i was still working...i always take friday leave hahaha..sorry, a bit the bo liao...side track liao.

mylife,
I choose either Wed or Fri. Wed cos for a mid week break. Fri cos like you said, for a longer weekend. Either date is good for me also :) No meeting as of now. As long as we confirm the date asap, I take leave immediately.

elmo_78,
Thank you so much for your prompt "reporting". And thanks for offering your place. Let's see mummies prefer which location.......

mylife,
Turf city not convenient for those who don't drive. But can take shuttle from Clementi.

Elmo's place is just next to the MRT, so more convenient for those taking MRT.

Again, I am okay with both venuew. Good thing with the cafe is no need to do any preparation work lor, just turn up and have fun (hopefully!)

pixie and mylife,
I hope he will go back to his ownself soon. Think now during my confinement and the hot weather, my hormone relly makes me out of control and really fierce and smack him..

BTW, congrats to the preggy mum. :D I just realise who you are. :D

Steph
Yes!!! This photo brings back fond memories. We were all comparing tummies then hor? Some more i was standing next to u leh! hehe.

Icy
I'm still blur who is the preggy mommy wor.

Kam
My vote is still the cafe based on the reason u mention. But like i said, let's see the vote bah. Elmo..no offense yah!

Come on mommies, pls confirm the date and venue yah!

Krystle, paiseh. Haven't email yet cos I replied asking u which one u usually work with but did not get your reply. Then I started bringing raeanne home everyday since last mon so nowadays busy busy lor. :p

Mylife, good to see you posting.
I thought of using my balcony as naughty corner but both raeanne n I loves the balcony. Not sure if it is a good idea to change it to something negative.

i am still blur who is the preggy mummy too

i am fine either fri or wed, hope can go elmo's house coz near me and i wouldnt have to travel so far heeheeheee

Photo from left to right (#1 baby gender): gintonic(boy),steph77(boy),mylife(gal),QQ(gal),joyce(boy),mrs piggy(evonne)(boy),valencia(gal),wildcherry(gal),babe(boy),jacelyn(boy),shooting star(gal),chaye(boy)&amp; mei(gal)

Did i get it correct?

Hi kam/mylife

Thanks for your valuable advice. I must kudos to both of you for being such patient mummies !!!! I must admit that my temper is very bad at times.

You both have a point but when my anger kicks in I am totally out of control and worst my hubby is not there to be the goody guy to help console T at all... He will also add on the scold. So I will stop the scolding cos I find it too much for a toddler with 2 adults scolding him at the same time.

Any books that I can read ? Mylife I remember you shared with us a few good books for strong-willed child before.

Icy
I think your boy misses you a lot and he is behaving this way. Hope it is just a phase and it will pass soon.

Steph
Z looks so happy in pix all the time. But hor everytime I see him he's eating fried food leh.. all these place only serve fried stuff ?? I seldom give my kids fried stuff de :p

Icy/krystle/kam, I’m not sure whether the MMRV posted on the paper is the combi of mmr+chic pox and probably it’s like what Kam said, it’s another com developing similar vaccine la. Anyway, the article is here. http://www.mypaper.sg/ebook_archives.html
Look under 8 mar, Chinese section. It says the purpose of the clinical research is to evaluate the immune response and safety of a combined MMRV vaccine. They are looking for healthy children between 11 to 21 mths.

Mylife, eh you so funny leh, to siam back to the dark. Haha. Anyway, u had a good idea of running a kid’s café. I also have this in mind, but I think I need partners to start the business leh haha. Anyway wanna partner with me??!

Steph, you made the apple and beetroot juice already? Yea should add carrots in! yea red is sweeter, kids will like it for sure. Green apple one not so sweet la.

Re: meet up
I prefer Friday!

Jan08 mummies meet up

Date: 24th March (Wednesday) - can we keep to this date? Any objection?
<font color="ff0000">VOTE - Venue: SOL Playground Cafe
http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/AboutUs.aspx OR elmo_78 place at Buangkok?????</font>

Attendees:
1. Mylife - SOL Cafe
2. Kam - Either
3. Shannonbaby
4. Jess
5. Pixie - Elmo's @ Buangkok
6. elmo_78

(for pixie) clue to the mystery mummy...(dun probe further) later the mummy shoot me:p:p
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1593664.html?1217317469

chaye,
Here's one of his unglam pic:p i have alot leh but dun dare to post...later scare u leh...hehe
3711095.jpg

Oh dun worry ah..SOL cafe also serve non-fried food for kids
For Z hor, we don't really restrict his diet cos mon-fri, he will always have home cooked food from my ILs so come wkends, we relax a little, give him abit of fried stuff...say if lunch fried stuff then dinner will go for rice/porridge, non-fried food loh

kitsune
balcony is not a good idea for notti corner cos it's not safe! The place shud be somewhere safe where u can see her cos what if she climbs up?? Doesnt have to be consistently one corner. What i did was just to simply ask her stand one side/corner, ANY corners in the house, and that she's supp to stand and NOT do anything (fiddle, sit, jump) while i meddle or rather pretend to meddle with my things. When u initially start, make sure u are nearby cos she will definitely attempt to walk over to u.

Pixie
i can give u a lift if u want cos shud be renting a car and driving around town again haha!

Chaye
Here're a few good books i read
1)Setting Limits with Your Strong-Willed Child : Eliminating Conflict by Establishing Clear, Firm, and Respectful Boundaries
2) I Brake For Meltdowns
3) The Secret Lives of Toddlers
4) The Emotional Life of the Toddler
5) Parenting a Defiant Child

All nice readings and make u understand more...often, when i read i will go..."oh, so like my child!" hahahaha

Tongtong
Eh, i'm also interested leh. But ever since i sold my nail spa away (losing money cos i wasnt in town to manage), hubby a bit sceptical of letting me invest in a biz anymore

tongtong / icy / krystle / steph,
I very kay-poh. I called and asked about the MMRV after reading the my paper. It's the SAME MMRV vaccine available in the market. The vaccine is already licensed. But now they want to find out the antibodies respond to the vaccine in the kids. Will have to go back 4 times for sampling, every 6 weekly. And will receive 2 jabs. After these 2 jabs, no need booster jab when they are at K1. Looking for kids from 11 to 21 months only.

Ok. Kay-poh finished liao. Go for meeting now.

mylife
i say aye aye aye to #2!!!

add on:
1) Setting Limits with Your Strong-Willed Child : Eliminating Conflict by Establishing Clear, Firm, and Respectful Boundaries
2) I Brake For Meltdowns
3) The Secret Lives of Toddlers
4) The Emotional Life of the Toddler
5) Parenting a Defiant Child
6) The No-Cry Discipline Solution : Gentle Ways to Encourage Good Behavior Without Whining, Tantrums and Tears
7) How to Say No to Your Toddler : Creating a Safe, Rational, and Effective Discipline Program for Your 9-Month to 3-Year Old
8) Positive Discipline : The First Three Years: From Infant to Toddler--Laying the Foundation for Raising a Capable, Confident Child

Mylife, you sold your nailspa at a loss ah? Anyway, it’s really not easy doing business. But running a kids café which serves healthy food n provide info on how to raise a healthy bb/kid is my dream! I just need somebody to rent me a space then I can start to manage the biz liao hehe. oh well, it still remain a dream leh…

Kam, you so cute leh about kaypohing. So what’s the conclusion ah?

RE: discipline books
I don’t have time to read leh, but hor I just read all the suggestion written down by mummies and apply. Safe time! Eke

Roger biologist prof Kam

Are u gg to let XY take MMRV then?
hey, how come u guess is my ah lao who piss me?haha...i am still angry "bu fu qi" leh!

tongtong,
what else can beetroot go with other fruits/veg beside carrot &amp; apple?

tongtong,
GAM XIA very muchie

gosh i am always feeling so hungry...stomach got worm! craving for steak &amp; spicy ramen!

i went to have lunch with a friend just now as there are dealing opportunies in their com. But likely i will suffer a pay cut if i take up the offer.

tongtong,

That have to depend on 2 factors:
one - how much you love your current &amp; NEW (opportunity u mentioned abv) job?
two - suffer pay cut? significant? If the diff is $500 or more, i wont want to take it up...i am sure there will be better opportunity around unless u really want that job very much!

hehe, back to food..to make u slurp &amp; drool...
3711423.jpg
3711424.jpg

Anyone tried the ramen at Tampopo at Takashimaya? verdict pls..

Hi mylife,

No worries....I m fine with either venues. But I think I will have to give turf city a miss as I will not have transport to go there.

As for the pool, it is not very near the function room and there are glass doors to the room. I thought it will be nice to have a quieter place so that the mummies can talk while the kids can play around cos the last time no chance to talk to some of the mummies.

steph
no chance to go tampopo until now, coz its always full house
another place i can recommend you (since you stay west) is kim's family food @ lor kilat. authentic korean food leh *yum*yum*

i oso very hungry, after my last post i went out to search for tidbits leh...u mummies oso da same...we all "ji muiz" (sistas) liao hahaha

bibimbap=the rice with lots of stuff on top. you stir and get mixed rice! usually served on "shi guo" aka stone pot?

Gathering at turf city: which is the nearest MRT? I also don’t have transport woh. unless any mummy who knows the direction to turf city from khatib, then can go there together, as I can drive there. Else, I will take MRT?

steph,
I tried Tampopo at Liang Court. VERY the nice lor!!! Hubby didn't like it that much, but he was still willing to go for the 2nd time, cos I like it.

Elmo,
If it's at your place, then gonna find ways to entertain the kids. How's the function room? It's an empty room, right?

pixie,
precisely loh, everytime we go tampopo...always full hse, so disappointed...maybe will try liang court branch. Tks Kam!
One more Q, are there any other food beside ramen at tampopo that is suitable for our tods?

pixie,
i will go chk out the kim's family food one day!
hey, my coll told me KOI opening another new outlet at Bishan...sianz...cos i was thinking why not in the WEST??