(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

aqua
havent toilet train leh, i oso jialat
ask him sit potty he just stands up immediately
my mil says he understands/more grown up liao then can start potty train him. eg.18mths
i read some books and ang moh recommend 18months and over then potty train. coz they still too young to vocalize their urge to poo or pee

about porridge lor. cook to less water, so it wont drip so much kind lah heehee...i let him self feed the rice wih soup too...he is ok with it, but i always guide his hands on how to scoop

aqua,

I haven't started toilet training. Like when we tried to intro solid food, first look for the signs of thier readiness to be toilet trained. I read from a magazine that it's usual recommended to start at ~18 months, of course some earlier some later.

Signs of readiness for toilet training include:

1. Able to stay dry for long periods of time
2. Bowel movements at regular timing
3. Able to pull up and down shorts or pants by himself / herself
4. Can understand and follow simple instructions
5. Shows interest in toilet
6. Able to play quietly for extended period of time
7. Seeks to imitate behaviour.
8. Able to express verbally urine and bowel movement like pee pee, poo poo
9. Able to urinate a good amount at one time.
10. Likes to be in clean attire
11. Likes to be in control
12. Shows readiness through body languages like squatting, facial expressions

I feel my boy is half ready. I would probably start when he turns 18 months, or when he shows more signs of readiness.

My girl still can't stand and walk properly yet. Let alone toilet train....

krystle,

The healthbook says by 15-18months, toddler should be able to stand/walk. Give your girl another 2 months time. Or if you are worry, consult your PD.

for mummies who cannot stand the mess yr child makes when self feeding.....get a dog! hehe
my dog is my auto vacuum cleaner :p

Sigh,
My girl sleeps at 8,9+ depending. Will wake up without fail at 1,2+am for milk and then again at 5,6+am for milk. Conditioned by my mum......SIGH. Dunno how to get rid of that habit of waking up.

Grumpus, My gal acts like a boy I think. Running here and there and everywhere. Can never sit still for one second. Including meal times. Make me VERY frustrated!

And yeah, I think it's good to have a dog at home to clean up the floor. When I go to my MIL's place, i let my girl self feed a bit and don't need to worry coz the doggie will clean up for me. Haha. At home, my gal is not allowed to self feed coz my mum is a neat freak.

I really ought to let my mum read all these that you all have written. I've been telling her one thousand and one times to let my gal self feed at home, but she still refuses. Prefering to feed her instead. SIGH.

the dilemma of staying with mum.

mcfluffy,
my girl very tomboy too...cannot sit still also...now not just running everywhere, climbing everywhere too...her latest favourite is climbing on stools, books, her toy car, tricycle etc etc...

my girl hasn't sat down for her meals since like 10 months? i always have to chase her around...

We've been letting my gal sit on high chair whenever it's her mealtime. Before we feed her, we always make sure she's sitting. So dis has became a habit, she knows she gotta sit n eat.

Mcfluffy,
Perhaps u can try replacing one feed wif just water. Dats water we did n she'll realized no pt waking up drinking water???!

godsent,
hahha, we tried that from day 1 of introducing solid food...must sit in high chair when mealtime..prob is she would rather climb out of her high chair than eat...so if i impose the no sitting means no eating rule, she will simply not eat lor..

Sorry, busy day for me, no time to check forum at all cos got to look after my gal. Can't get ILs to help cos hubby said don't bring over until we know if their spat is resolved. Went over after dinner and thankfully peace has resumed. They were very happy to see RaeAnne, even wanted to shower her. But since, they have to boil water, told them no need, we'll bring her back to shower.

Pixie, KKH's Pureen shop is at its Retail Mall quite near to the foodcourt. I always stock up on laundry detergent when I'm there. Then go browse at First Few Years, Mothercare, the Gift/toy shop (helium for balloons only $1). There are so many shops at KK. Will definitely miss it if I switch to TMC. :p

Kam, I let her fill up 2 small pails before putting a stop to it. Yes, I did try to distract her but my gal is getting more and more wilful with one track mind. Very often, she'll throw things on the floor when I tell her don't do this or don't do that. If I try to distract her if something that she doesn't fancy, she'll shake her head and protest loudly or take from me to throw away. Not too many interesting items in the bathroom that I can use for impromptu distraction also. Today, my mum came over to help me and commented more than once that her temper very bad. :p

mei,
though robinson sale and isetan sale are on the same day 14 Feb.. I prefer Isetan Pte Sale. :D

Self-feed
I only let Xavier self-feed with fruits like apple or biscuit.. havnt let him try food which need spoon yet.

kam, oic.. i tot we shld start after 1 y/o. my fren already trained her daughter 1 yr old to sit on potty every day many times. i tot i was slow...luckily, it is nt me. she is KIASU...HAHA

Back from my holiday. Think Genting Theme Park is a good place to bring our toddler to explore & have fun. Though the rides were sort of too slow to us but it look interesting to them ;)

Re: Bathing
Pauline - u still boil water to bathe your gal?
My hubby & I hv been using the water heater & spray directly to my boy in the bathroom. Hubby will support him to stand & i will do the spraying & shampooing. Is so fast & easy ; )

Re: nap
My boy also slp at abt 9pm+ & wake up at abt 7am+, so total abt 10hrs. One afternoon nap at abt 12pm - 2pm. Is it enuff? Thot at their age, they need a total of 12-14hrs?

mylvera,
so u got a boy or gal?? So many posts the last few days, dunno where to start also. Heehee, update me leh ;)

<font color="aa00aa">Kam, Mylife, Angelskyz</font>

Thanks for your words. I know they are just toddlers and doesn't know what they are doing but sometimes it does get on my nerves. When I looked at other people's kids, they seemed so much easier to handle. Of course, having said that, Ian can be angelic at times too! Like when I walked out of the bathroom after a shower, he will shrieked in delight and run towards me to hug my legs! These are the moments I try to recall whenever he's being difficult. *sighs*

re:self feed
yea yesterday let him eat rice his own, and ended up he picked up those rice on the floor and eat.

toilet train: tough, dunno how.

grumpus, wah haha, dog=vacuum cleaner

violetice: you are not alone, my son likes to throw tanthrum and difficult to handle at times too. but just bear with them now la,since they still dont understand why they cant do this or that.

Janbb, where did you stay over there? Planning to go up in jun.

Babies should be sleeping through now. Mine sleeps from 9pm to 6+ am. Last night so funny, ask him wan to sleep, he nods his head and I put him in the cot and he went to sleep after awhile.
Naps should be about 2x a day, total about 2-3hrs.

Think my mom put him on potty v early, now apparently he will poo and wee when she sits him there.Recently if he poo in his diapers, he will pull his pants and asked to be changed.

violetice,
Long time no see!!! Ian is so sweet to hug u ;)
Jayden not only got bad temper, he also got itchy hands!!! He has attempt to open the door in his car seat many times &amp; caught by me. So scary.

kam,
OIC, dunno gender yet ah.
Btw, read that u gave a link to a photoshoot. Can share again? Thinking to bring my boy for a shoot when he is 18mth. Thks.

babe,
We went during last weekend &amp; stayed at FirstWorld Hotel cos' In laws got points from casino &amp; the rooms are free ;). It was a nice trip though the journey was pretty tired, abt 5 hrs driving all the way to Genting.

JanBB,

Here you go! The photographer is Joyce, she runs a home studio. 1.5 hr photo session, with unlimited shooting, 3-4 outfits change, can be up to 5 persons max, at the end you get to choose 100 copies for touch up and get them on a DVD, no print out. All for $88 only.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2029748.html?1239844895

Cheryl,

Haha, Hao Re does the same. I will ask him you want milk milk, he will nod his head. If I make the milk before getting his "permission", he will reject the milk, then drag me to kitchen to make another bottle, so must get his permission first before I make milk.

wendy,
LOL typo should be 14 May.. I deprive of Valentine Day these days.. lol

My Anniversary coming, but doubt we can do much.

<font color="aa00aa">Tongtong,</font>
True that they may not be able to understand the right from wrong but as parents, we are responsible to teach and educate. I believe in educating from young. Sometimes, even my mum will tell me off, saying he doesn’t understand this or that despite me explaining many times but I still continue to because I believe they do understand to a certain extent. Maybe I believe in discipline from young bah. But tough lor.

<font color="aa00aa">JanBB,</font>
HEY! Sweet ar? Yes but he’s like an angel and monster all rolled in one! *shakes her head* Ian also has itchy hands, like to touch this, touch that but they’re exploring, say no also no use. Makes him more motivated to touch! Drives me crazy sometimes! I wonder if I ever will have the courage to want No.2
Jayden can sit for 5 hrs in a car? So guai!

violetIce,

Saw so many nice photos and sweet time you spend with Ian on your blog. Your Ian Ian is so handsome, and looks like a sweetheart to me leh :)

Just to share - I also believe in early childhood education also, but that's different from discipline. My principle is to learn through play for toddler this age. Discipline can come in later, maybe after 3 years old, not sure when, but I will know when the time arrives.

kam,
thanks. wow that's cheap!!
When are u booking her?

violetice
Cos' our journey started at 9pm+ which was his sleeping time, haha ;) He woke up abt 12 midnite for his feed &amp; i put him back to his seat again. But he stayed awake until we arrived at the hotel at abt 1-2am. Thot was well planned but problem came when we reached our room as he veri "suan gu", first time camp outside &amp; he refused to slp until 3-4am. Kept walking &amp; standing on the bed &amp; play!! Tired me gave up &amp; asked my hubby kept him accompany &amp; pat him to slp. SWEAT!!

morning mummies

kitsune
ok will buy when i go there

cheryl
yes, my boy nods his head when ask him want milk or not

mcfluffy
sit in high chair, got straps rite? strapped your gal down, shouldnt got the chance to climb out mah. mealtimes for my boy at my place and mil place, both strapped to high chair or the designated meal stroller. cannot move kind...

today lousy day at work...haiz

JanBB,

Ya, it's THAT CHEAP :) I booked mine on end July so that can capture my big tummy then, and Hao Re will be 18+ months. She said no problem to do some shootings for my tummy, for the 3 of us as a family, but main focus of course on Hao Re. So it's REALLY cheap. And I like her photography style also. You know the mummy by the name Dewi (on your blog list), I get to know this photographer through reading Dewi's blog. Dewi highly recommended this photographer also.

Self Feed
I try to encourage self-feeding but I think the older generations have this mindset that they must feed the baby. It seems they can't stand the mess, even when I"m feeding my baby, one little bit of porridge at the side of the mouth they will take the hankie to wipe her. Hiaz... I guess sometimes they send mix signals to her as well cos when she self feeds, they will say things like eeee, so messy and give her disapproving look. So discouraging rite...

Sleep Through
My gal still don't sleep through.. Wakes at at 3am and 6am and look for 'Mama'. After that will ask to go to our bed, and then ask for milk. Hiaz, I think I have multiple problems to solve, the co-sleeping one, and the comfort drinking one.. I still hoping for her to miracally sleep through on her own. Not sure if it will still happen at this stage, afraid that it has become a habit for her.

Opening Car doors
My gal likes to do that too, like to meddle with the car door when in hare car seat, so it is important to activate the child lock feature so that they can't open from inside. Not sure issit all cars have this feature tho.

RE: Self-feed
Guess I am one of the mummy who started self-feed very early. I let my gal self-feed since she is 10mth old. never mind that she forever mess up the high chair, her face, her hair, her clothes and food is everywhere on the floor. I realised that she is able to feed herself independently after trying for a few mth. Nowadays she can scoop up porridge / rice independently without difficulties. usually i will prepare a small portion inside a small bowl for her to self-feed while i feed her lunch/dinner. When outside in the restaurant, she will try to self-feed with some food while my hb n i eat our meals. this keep her entertain although i agree that she often mess up the restaurant floor too..keke.
I am lucky that my mum is supporting me in this area. in fact, she is the one who encourage me to let my gal self-feed.

Any mummies going for isetan private sale?
I shld be going. thinking of going there is get my gal a school bag since she is starting childcare next mth.

shannonbaby
I wanted to go as well. :D Need to see how I can leave my boy at home. I remember bring him alonge last yr, it was horrible to push ard the pram with so many people.

babe: wah your boy so clever!

nod head: yea think our kids now know how to nod head and shake head. but i think sometime when i ask him whether he wants something, he will nod his head and after i give it to him he throws it away, just wonder whether he understands what i ask or not..

kam: wah must get permission so cute! but my aunt told me not to ask them "want or not", just give them the food or whatever. if not they will learn to be "picky" and "choosy". anyway i tend to forget her advice everytime and always ask my son you want milk? you want bread? you want mum mum? cuz very cute to see them nod head hahha

violetice: yea, hard to discipline them now, but let's work hard together la! like what kam said, just try to be cool and not get angry over their tantrum hor.also, my friend also told me that they will understand what we say by age of 3, so it's time to discipline them around this age. as for now,just let them learn thru exploring.

shannonbaby: same like u, S also mess up resturant floor and high chair everytime. so i got to do clean up, if not so paiseh man!

Mandy
No, the rides are all accompany by adults &amp; think is safer with us. There's a height chart &amp; age limit for diff rides to gauge whether is suitable for them to play.

U also change to Stream ah? Nope, we didn't bring along stroller. Sad to say, my stroller only used less than 5 times since newborn until now. Yes, Stream boot got limited space. Unless no one is taking the last row of the seat, the seat can be adjusted flat down &amp; shld be no problem for your stroller.

Kam,
Oh is it, recommend by dewi ah. She also preggie leh.. heehee. Oki, will find out more. I dunno whether i got the courage to take my preggie shoot or not. Now oredi put on 12kg, faint. Face so chubby, arms so flabby plus the big bum!!! OMG, see already want to puke...heehee ;)

Janbb,

No lar.....have not changed to stream. Just weighing the pros and cons for getting a MPV or stick to a sedan. My stroller is in my car boot all the time.

JanBB, no I don't boil water for RaeAnne, never did in fact. My ILs are the ones who do that cos they DO NOT have a water heater in their house, one of FIL's idiosyncracies that I will never understand. He said "shui wo bu xiang rong". Another idiosyncracy is asking me not to let RaeAnne play with battery operated toys during a thunderstorm. Duh.... ;P Anyway, nonetheless, I'm glad things are back to normal cos I can't carry my gal without pulling pains and with both MS and gastric symptoms, I really have a hard time looking after her alone. I just caught a cold yesterday and poor RaeAnne also has running nose today. Sigh.

Kam, the photographer looks good. But sigh must go to Telok Blangah Way, very out of the way for us. Well, guess that's why it's so cheap mah. I'm tempted to do bloom shots that Steph did but that one much more exp. :p

Icy, babyshannon, if anyone else going to Isetan Private Sale, can I 'tok pang' to buy the First Few years bedrail (coupon $30)? I think I need to upgrade RaeAnne to sleep on bed when no. 2 arrives. I want to buy 2 but only have 1 coupon. Too tired to go for the sale now.

Mandy
Read your blog &amp; rem your car is Honda integra rite? Wow fr integra to Stream muz think twice cos' can't speed up with that heavy stream. Vroom Vroom ;p

Pauline
Wah, so traditional thinking. So they also dun allow you to use the phone during thunderstorm too lor??
U take care &amp; rest well!! Hope MS goes away soon &amp; u will feel better in 2nd tri.

kitsune,
I also want to buy that bed rail. Can 1 person buy more than 1?

BTW, who is interested to go for the Enfrapro Bonding event - organised by Mediacorp? http://bonding.mediacorptv.sg/

I am interested but my hb got work to do that day.
Wonder if I can handle xavier alone, that includes going there on my own.

Shannonbaby,

Same. I started to let my boy self-feed about that age also. Same as when we are at a restaurant. Ask for a bowl and spoon/fprk, and left with him to play/eat while we eat. Work well for us too :) I never mind the mess cos I don't have to face him 365/24/7 mah, only at nights and weekends, easy bissy :)

Tongtong,

I only ask for his "permission" for the last milk feed at night, cos it's bedtime right after that. The rest of the meal/milk time, don't ask him, just give him and he will take.

JanBB,

Ya, Dewi is pregnant also, about the same time as me. That's why we "clicked" :) BTW, I got to know her through your blog list, thanks! Aiyoh, you look forever pretty, always a hot-mama. Sure you look fabulous with your tum-tum!

Kistune,

Telok Blangah good for me leh. I rather go TB than go to the city :) Not because of the location that's why it's cheap, but because there is no print out at all.

RE: HIGH CHAIR

Since the 1st time we intro solid when my boy was ~6 months, he ALWAYS eats when sitting in his high chair. Without fail, be it at home or outside. Now when he sees me bring the food out from the kitchen, he automactially walks to the high chair and ask us to put him on. Don't have to strap him, never strapped him in fact, but just have to keep him busy all the while.

The only "problem" we have now is this high chair is supposed to be able to convert to a study table and chair, but don't seem we can do it now cos he still needs the high chair. So probably will need to get a new study table for him cos he loves to sit on the study chair/table while at my brother's place a couple of week before. But we haven't figured out where to put the table/chair.

JanBB, funny thing is, he still picks up the phone during thunderstorm lor. :p

Icy, by right, for Isetan's coupon items, can only buy 1 per customer but sometimes they don't care cos not all with coupons want to buy mah. But I really don't know how strict they will be for the bedrail.

Kam, I meant, since it's a home studio, she doesn't need to pay rent, she can keep her overheads low and charge cheaper. ;)

Cheryl, RaeAnne will also nod her head when I ask her you want Milk milk or not? The funny thing is we also ask "did you da bian?" and sometimes, she'll start pulling at her diapers cos uncomfortable mah. Sometimes, she'll say "Boh! (teochew/hokkien for no) loudly in denial, hubby has been conned by her before cos his sense of smell not very good. I always take her answer with a pinch of salt and do a smell test to make sure. Hee. ;)

Icy,

Thanks for the link. I am interested to go, but must ask my hubby first. If you are going, let me know.

Grumpus,

Yes, probably that's the main factor. Partly also we have to enforce this "rule" since young. But at the same time, he develops a bad habit, i.e., if the tv is on during meal time, his head will turn to the tv most of the time while eating, no matter what program is on. And hubby is not willing to switch off the tv, cos hubby himself is an tv addict.

Kam,
Okie. I need to arrange and discuss with HB.. he got some volunteer work to do at pulau ubin. lol So I must think about how to make the whole thing work on my own.

kistune,
Let me see if any of my friends wanna come along. But I only have 1 coupon.