(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong,

I am the odd one out. I don't like OZ (Sydney, to be precise) at all. I was counting day by day to get out of the country. Once I found my dream job in Sg, so happy that all my ex-colleagues at Sydney can see the change of me. Luckily didn't apply for PR before I went, if not wasted my $$$.

Wendy and Kam your boy so fast ah, can speak liao? How did you teach him? Mine still babbling gibberish..

QQ have a good trip to Tokyo. It's a place I want to go to. Your gal so lucky can get to go to such places. Update us ya!

wendy
thanks for checking ah!

kitsune
issit!! in KK?? hmmm which part ah? i only been to KK once, to visit my fren who gave birth. i never navigate much. issit the row of shops there? you mean the bottle liquid detergent only 2 for $11? hmmm yah considered cheap liao...do let me know the location yah

mei
i watched snippets of it coz i was preparing to go out. her 1st gown is fab. i saw a glimpse of the 2nd gown and the 3rd tux. not a bad idea. she is so thin!! she slimmed down quite a bit for this wedding.

tongtong
cheaper in malaysia ah? i dunno leh. if malaysia can beat the SG price of 2 for $11, then i will get someone to buy for me lor...
yah i buying for myself, maybe buy some for my sis. sponsorship haha

Pixie,
Will go KP tomorrow to look see look see for the harness. Actually it's more useful now as compared to older toddlers right? Now they don't know how to control where they want to go and simply dash everywhere without looking out for other people or objects blocking their way. When they're older, should have better self-control so no need to use the harness liao.

tongtong,
My boy LOVES to scream in restaurants. Firstly, he's impatient and wants food NOW! Secondly, he screams out of excitment. Thirdly, he screams to get attention from the waitresses....sigh! He's behaving more and more like "La Bi Xiao Xin" these days, go everywhere also smile and wave at girls...busy with "pao niu" all the time...hahaha. Men - he's not interested at all.

Yah, not drinking enough water while travelling so having runny nose.

Kitsune,
Now they're already having those terrible 2s tantrums liao. Mine also same lah, always doing things to annoy me, like standing inside his bathtub and urinating into the clean water once I remove his diaper....did it on purpose for 2 days in a row and smile at me while doing it somemore *sigh*. I also thinking of ways and means to distract him but sometimes patience running low, so I'll end up scolding and smacking his hands, especially when he's playing with the TV or fishtank switch after being stopped and warned for the 100th time!

yvonne
my boy is very naughty too, but i realised he likes me to praise him so i always praise him a lot and he always auto do things for me if i ask him...see your child likes the "hard" or "soft" way.
btw, i have a cane liao leh haha...terrible mom rite...its a thick satay stick. i just wave infront of him he will smile and cling onto my legs, coz he knows that i will smack his hands if he still touches the remote for the 100th time...the cane works...hurhur
ask him to keep his toys, he will throw it in, but take it out the next instant. wave the cane liao he picks up all the blocks and put into the bin...yay...
geesh...i sounded very fierce
i use a mixture of hard and soft lah

Mummies who are driving stream or wish,

How to fit more pple in the above and where to put the stroller? Just wondering how to fit more ppl??

Pixel,
Pureen stuff in JB not cheaper. Tollyjoy is cheaper over there.

hOw do u feed medicine?? My hubby had a hard time feeding Jayden medicine. Jayden keeps biting him on his finger. *ouch* I cant bear to see Jayden cry everytime so hubby ask me to go to another room ...

pixie,
I also think it's time for me to get a cane liao...hahaha! But I'm trying to control my temper and see if the soft approach is more effective on my boy. I tell myself to smack him only when he does something dangerous or something which is a definite no-no for me after I've warned him for the 100th time. Nowadays, he will help me to pick up toys and return them to the toy box.

Mandy,
So far I don't have any problems feeding medicine. Just show him the syringe and he will automatically open his mouth to drink the medicine.

mandy,
i use syringe to feed med, just push into the side of the mouth, aim into the cheek and squirt.
Must be very fast

so far all the mothers complaining abt terrible 2's tantrums have boys ah....
any mummies girl's doing the same?
mine is, every day in the house is lots of high pitch screeching....if she want something, or get frustrated etc she will just screech.
that day we went to courts and she was running up and down the aisle screeching...even the salewoman cringed and called her chilli padi

Yvonne,

Good for you....Jayden runs when he sees the syringe now!!! Think he got a phobia for it....*sign*

grumpus,
Jayden will clamp his mouth shut. So no chance. And he knows how to keep the medicine in his mouth and spit it out when he gets the chance. He wont swallow it. *sign*

lynn, when do you want #2? i planning too,but next year hehe.

kam, were you long in oz? why you hate oz hehe. i stayed there for 1+ years, but i dont like oz too, although travelling is good. but for a long stay there, it's a no for me too.

pixie, the detergent can use very long one lei, need to stock up meh? i think 2 for $11 very cheap lei

yvonne, my son also la, ask him not to do something he will purposely do. i think i no strength to shout at him liao and hubby still ask, "why did u let him do this and that? or why you let him hold this and that?", that really annoys me.

mandy,
i don't catch my girl for med. i let her run around and play then when she's distracted i just sneak up and shoot into her mouth.
but usually she's ok, she doesn't mind the taste and will just swallow.

lyn,
oops i made a mistake. They only have playgroup. I dun think will put my boy into CC, I consider playgroup only when he 2 yo.

mom2nat
I had better sleep these days. Xavier will normally sleep at 10-11pm, then wake up at ard 7-8am for milk. maybe in the middle of the night, he will just wake up and join us on the bed..

kitsune, remember u mention yu guo before. Is it really good? Can help to get rid of phelgm?

Talking about discipline. My son too is screaming when he doesn't get what he wants. Throw toys on the floor and all over the place. How to train? Didn't find my gal so tough to train on this...

babe,

I don't have any specific techniques to teach my boy to speak. Like any other development, when it's time, it's time. Every toddler different. Maybe I am talkative, so my boy tends to pick up more words from me :)

Tongtong,

I worked in Sydney for 1.5 years. The main thing I don't like Sydney is because there are far too many immigrants. I felt that it's lacking its own identity and culture. It's no doubt a great place for immigrants to settle in very fast. And the weather sucks.

Yvonne,

Ya, my boy sometimes also screaming if I don't let him do what he wants to do. But luckily this doesn't happen very often and so my patience is still with me, never scold or beat my son for a long long time already :)

qn for today: what time your bb sleep at night nowadays? still wake up for milk?

My son sleeps at 9 pm. Yes, still wakes up asking for milk.....

qn for today: what time your bb sleep at night nowadays? still wake up for milk?

my girl sleeps between 9-9.30am, wakes up at 7-7.30am, doesn't wake up for milk

qn for today : my boy sleeps between 9-9.30am, wakes up at before 7am on weekdays, 8am on weekends, doesn't wake up for milk anymore.

New Question in related to the question above:
How many naps does ur Toddler takes? Roughly how many hours? DO they have eye bags or swollen eyes when they do not have enough sleep?

How many naps does ur Toddler takes?
> 2 naps for weekdays, 1 nap for weekends.

Roughly how many hours?
> Total 2-3 hours per day.

DO they have eye bags or swollen eyes when they do not have enough sleep?
> Yes, my boy has eye bags when he is tired or when about to take a nap/sleep.

my gal nap twice a day...but she slept late and its not fixed...between 9 plus to 10 plus and still wake up 2 times for milk...

My girl sleeps at 9~10pm every night and only wakes up for milk sometimes. Normally she will wake up next morning around 7~7.30am. But in middle of the night, she will still stir and make noises but we tried our best to ignore her unless she cries.

As for nap, she will take nap 10~11am for 1 hour and 2~3pm for 2 or 3 hours.

My girl will have slight dark circles if not enough sleep but very seldom this will happen lah.

My boy nap 1-2 times a day.. total time around 2 hrs to 3 hrs.. sometimes 4 hrs if I am around with him.

my girl onli nap once, usually 1-2 hrs..

she is also having terrible2s, will scream loudly if she cant get wat she wans. when she feel frustrated, sometimes, she will bang her head or hit her head..v violent

My girl will cry until the walls come down if I don't give her what she wants. But if outside, she will not cry that loud. I think she knows that it will be very embarassing. So far bringing her out is still ok lah. She is more curious about what is happening around her.

1) I have 2 adult tickets to the Bird Park for sale. U.P $18 a pax, now gg for $28 a pair. Expires 30th June 2009.

2) Also have a BINB Beddie Bye Zip Around Blanket for sale, "Replaces loose blankets for safe comfotable sleep" U.P $34, now gg for $28. Color: Light Yellow, Size: L, for up to 31" in length.

2447486.jpg
2447487.jpg

3) Lastly, I have a BN Mustela Specific Support Bust Cream for sale. U.P is $38.50, now gg for $27. http://www.mustelausa.com/specific_support_bust.html

Do pm me if interested!! Thanks!!

wow all your babies sleep normal ... 9+ 10 ... my baby sleep at 12+ sometimes 1+!!!! all along she never wake up for milk from 2nd mth onwards .... last week she did cos she have bad dreams ... LOL

aqua
wah...sounds...terrible lol
my boy gets frustrated but he pulls us to the place he wants and point coz he couldnt vocalize this wants. wont bang head or wat...keeping fingers crossed.
yesterday didnt gave him what he wanted (ping pong bat), he cried and i let him be. 10mins of intense crying, then soothe him a bit...then his attention to other things liao.
kids super short memory ley...

tongtong,
Exactly, they will purposely do what we tell them not to do. If it's nothing serious I'll just let him do it but things like switching the TV on and off, and turning off the power of the fishtank is a definite no-no for me. But he'll find ways and means to reach those things.

And talking about hubby...mine was enjoying himself on the plane watching movies while I entertain/handle my boy alone (except for diaper changing when he pooed). I was quite fed up so the last 2 hours I purposely give black face and let him handle him. End up he started smacking him in less than 20 mins and leave him to sit on the floor picking up rubbish to put inside his mouth! So he understands what a tough job it is to be a SAHM facing the kid 24/7.

What time bb sleep at night?
9pm until 7am. No milk feeds in between.

How many naps does ur Toddler takes? Roughly how many hours?
2 naps. 1 hr from 10am to 11am and 2 hrs from 3-pm. Sometimes can nap 4 hrs combined.

Do they have eye bags or swollen eyes when they do not have enough sleep?
My boy has inherited my panda eyebags...it's there no matter whether he gets enough sleep or not.

pixie, ya. i think she abit' bian tai', like to abuse herself...i am also crossing my fingers, hoping they pass this stage soon. then we can plan to have another child... lol

Kam,
Actually it's good that Hao Re is in infant care. I believe he gets to do all the "naughty things" in school so he doesn't need to do it at home...haha! And he gets to learn self-feeding there so you don't have to clean up the mess. These are the advantages of cc I guess. I tried to let my boy self-feed yogurt just now and it was so messy...I really can't stand the mess leh. Don't know how to train him cos I sian already when I think of the cleaning up.

aqua
nolah, she frustrated, thats why
its very common. they cant tell you properly wat. yup i hope i will never encounter this stage man...

yvonne
let him wear a raincoat type bib? haha
you know those very big plastic bibs...then you just clean the bib after the meal, plus his face, and hands...
as for the floor, got sell those mess mats rite? i think seen sold in sprees before or wts...cannot remember
in this way, less mess mah. our bb needs to learn how to feed themselves. only we adults hating the mess will stop their development. super nanny say one

yvonne,

True, there are definitely some "benefits" for Hao Re to spend half of his day at the infant care. But the environemnt at school very different leh, no naughty thing for him to do, eg. no tv, no power socket, cos the centre has to be made safe for the kids what. They don't teach him self-feed, that's only for toddler class (>18 months). I let him self-feed at home. Yesterday night I also let him self-feed a pot of yogurt. Ya, it's messy, maybe only 2/3 of the yogurt gone into his mouth. I am okay with the mess leh, no big deal what, just clean up after that loh (but of course I can say this because I am not a SAHM :))

pixie,
Exactly, I think I'm slowing down his development cos I hate to clean up the mess. Guilty, guilty! I even thought of leting him eat in the toilet so at least don't have to clean the floor...just spray with water can liao! Hahaha...lazy mum.

yvonne
aiyoh, eat in toilet...winner ley you hahahahaha
i admit i hate the mess but i tell myself cleaning up takes at most 5mins, wont hurt me, its good for my boy. so i let him be messy lah.
eat dirty, grow up dirty lor
btw, my boy gets very frustrated if he cant scoop up his porridge so it gets flung onto walls, sofas etc etc, and sometimes he takes the spoon to bang onto the table, bits of porridge flies around...pengsan...but i more scared of him being frustrated than worrying about the mess. i over worry sometimes

Kam,
Oh, they have yet to learn self-feeding? Yah lor, clean up but we have to clean up 3 times a day leh....hahaha! Maybe I should learn to close my eyes when he self-feed and don't look at the food that has dropped all over the place.

Yvonne,

hahaha.... you very creative leh, eat in toilet! Or make him naked, eat on the floor sitting on a piece of newspaper, so after the mess, just bring him to toilet to shower him clean, then just throw away the newspaper.

pixie,
You power leh...let him self-feed porridge. I don't think I can watch porridge flying all over the place...sure to grab the spoon and feed him instead. So far I only let him self-feed fruits with a fork which he can do pretty well. Using spoon is only yogurt.

my ger also like to self-feed. she stained her clothes and dirty the floor...giv me so much work...but she made a big mess and i reali hope she can get over this stage asap