(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Ya, I'm bioing the two primary school near us. Poi Ching is less than 5 mins walk while St Hilda must take shuttle bus.

Aqua, my English was ok. I majored in Comm studies, Electronic Broadcast Media (ie. TV/radio etc).

Wendy, Where got lucrative? TV/radio production all driven by ads, the year I graduated, 'hang qing pai', end up very few advertising revenue, even Mediacorp freeze headcount. So I joined NLB instead and became a librarian.

oh my sis majored in events or smthg... from Mass Comm Ngee Ann Poly. She was always involved in organising events like exhibitions.. before the event hv to liaise with contractors to put up the booth, hv to work weekends during the exhibitions etc. Then she switched jobs & wrote speeches for CEOs. Then now she SAHM at 37yo coz kena laid off & she wants to look after her kids anyway..

hey how was being a librarian? i thought hv to study Librarian course in order to be a librarian.

Kitsune,
You eyeing Poi Ching ah? Is it very good? My dad wants me to put my boy in Poi Ching...it's affiliated to our dialect group/clan aka Fu Qing Hui Kuan. My dad's in the Board of Directors and so is the principal...they buddy buddy mah so my dad says can enrol my boy there since I'm a member of the clan too. Although Tampines not that far from Hougang but still have to travel. I would prefer to enrol him somewhere near my place so still considering...

Hey!

Seems so fun you guys askin questions to each other..

My question:

1) Which Primary school you intend send your darling?

2)How you define romance with your hubby? ALso. do you guys still spend vday? Or should it be replaced by wedding anniversary like most married couples?

Heeheee!

wah... so fast thinking about primary sch ah... i also started to think about kindergarten lei..>!!.. heehee...

hmm... i would choose Temasek primary school cos near my parents place. i hope in future they can take care of Javier.

If u could do it all over again, would u go to the same schools, take the same modules, apply for the same jobs, marry the same man
Pretty happy with my 10 years of convent education. It thought me a lot of important moral values. All thanks to my mum - although my mum not very educated but heng she didn't throw us in the gangster school downstairs. She had to ballot to get my sister into the convent school. Poly wasn't fantastic but I don't like to study anyway so just endure 3 years anywhere to get my diploma...hahaha.

Will still apply for the same jobs cos most of my bosses are very nice...all took care of me and taught me a lot of stuff...priceless!

Marry the same man? Okay lah, no complains...haha! Although it would be nice if I could find a richer man who can afford to let me become a tai tai!

QUESTINON: will you pull your kids out from national schools and home-tutor them at home yourself/private tutor?

To national school. cos other than studying, our kids still need to learn what is team work, leadership and socialise

Haha!

Only one reply? Oh dear so pathtic.

Keke. I'll send to Henry Park pri sch since its hubby pri school and its a rather gd school?

Nursery? Intending to send to playschool to build foundation for nursery? where to?

Me thinking of Kinderland or Tumble tots at 2 years plus? heh

Ya, I wrote speeches for CEO too when I was at Comms dept. To be full fledge librarian you need but usually NLB will sponsor the course (bonded) after 1-2 years. What I don't like about the job is the shift duties, Sat/Sun and weekday nights must work. Very sian...

Fern
When I read your qns, for a moment, I was thinking... Errr... when is my wedding anni, did i miss it this yr again??? HAhahahah...

Kitsune
Cresent girls quite good wat. My cousin from there, went SMU, now doing well oso.

QUESTINON: will you pull your kids out from national schools and home-tutor them at home yourself/private tutor?
No, unless I'm a trained teacher. Don't think we have the skills to tutor them on our own.

Just side-track a little. I'm toying with the idea of taking up a Dip in Early Childhood Education or Pre-school Teaching. Researched a bit and got a shock that it'll take about 24-30 mths to complete the diploma on part-time basis and it will cost about $13k!!

wow...one morn gt so many posts..:p

luca, thanks...the ulcer has caused my bb to be quite cranky plus hot weather...aiyo even worst....nw the ulcer is subsiding...hopefully will recover soon

primary sch? hmm...nw only thking of childcare centre...so far only shortlisted 2 centres...the rest, cant make it ...one of the centres asking me to visit the centre again when my bb turns 18 mths..as currently they only take in yr2007 babies....aiyo so inflexible...

Yvonne,
I am considering that too. Cos there is a intake in APr but i never research so much, din know will take so long. I need a job which dun need to work during the school holidays.

Yvonne/Icy, one of the Feb Mummies is taking the course. Her nick is Eliaw, maybe you can see if she is willing to share more about the course.

Icy, can also consider teaching for MOE but primary school. Still relevant for our darlings' education but pay definitely higher. haha.

Fern, I was thinking of hubby's alma mater too, Ngee Ann Pri School but that one at Marine Parade, very far. Unless hubby still teaching in the east, and he's willing to drop her off.
But coming home will be a problem, too far for ILs to bring her home. :p

Icy,
Actually it's personal interest and I want to learn more about kids and how to "deal" with them...hehe. Can consider a mid-life career change too...hahaha. Can work part-time in kindergartens/cc mah...

Kitsune,
I'll drop the idea since it's takes too long to complete the course on part-time basis...will take up 3 evenings during weekdays...then my boy how?? Hehe...prefer to spend my time with him. Maybe wait until I get retrenched then I do on full-time basis

Pixel,
answer ur question on coach.
Coach.com does not ship to address out of US or the vpost/cgw address. Even if buy from macy.com, also won't ship. That's why got to buy from BP organisers.

savings about 40% to 50%.

Wendyg,
SK still building new schools ah?.like that must boi them liao..Which preccint are u staying in?

kitsune
wah, one of my secret ambition oso work as lib leh...in NLB...
and also, what i wanted to study now is lit and its sub, like mythology, anthropology, classics, and all the bullcrap. but hor, need time and $$ leh, to study for a degree now. and your hb takes english language! *envy*

mei
im inspired by your fix-your-own-lunch-week. hope you are carrying it out?
i am doing this for the next 4 days. see if i can save any $$ or not. mus compare. and most importantly, healthy diet. i a bit fatter liao. pants all very tight. bot quite a number of vege, yay!

Mei's LUNCH MENU FOR WEEK 4:
<strike>mon - bread with tuna</strike>
tue - beehoon soup with dumplings
wed - fish porridge
thurs - bread with luncheon meat
fri - dried mee with luncheon meat

mei, i plan to steam the vege, egg, meat dishes in my multi steamer in the morning, then trf to keep-it-warm thingy (whats you call that). then no need heat up. if cannot squeeze into my warming-thingy, then separate 1 dish out, microwave it during lunch

pixie's LUNCH MENU for WEEK 4:
tue: chap chye with oyster sauce (lantern chilli, mini corn, brocolli, chicken breast meat, carrot, long pea etc), steam egg
wed: chap chye, steam meat patty
thur: chap chye, steam egg
fri: chap chye, steam meat patty

haha!!
gosh...tell me how to tweak the raw materials i have on hand...

Pixie, the course NLB sponsor is Masters cos no library degree course here. Eh, why envy pp who study Eng Lang? I prefer he studied Medicine, then I can be a tai tai with maid. I very bad hor, put my hubby down. If he's really a doctor, I don't think I got chance to know him liao. Kenna 'chope' by another fellow dr even before he graduate. hoho.

kitsune
always like english. wanted to take up a degree in english and literature. maybe specialise in asian literature. but really, these kind of degree, no $$ to earn kind, after completion

hurhur, u thinking too much. all is fate, dont you agree?
i always tell my hb, if i never joined shipping industry last time, wouldn't have met him.

mylvera
my chap chye i plan to just cut them all into right-sized pieces, and dump them into a big bowl. refrigerate. then each day, i scoop up a portion. so i will get a mixture of everything. daily surprise??!

Haha, Pixie, I work in a hospital for almost 8 years but never get to know any young drs. Those I know are very old, married with 3 kids type. Ya lor, definitely it's fate to marry my hubby.

mei
nono
i mean 1 dish is chap chye. maybe im giving it wrong name?
its just a dish with all sorts of vege. steam it and a dash of oyster sauce.

kitsune
weird hor. and i always think sure can grab some golden tortoise in hosp

blackbatz
punggol punggol... i live in punggol... i'm a punggolian... punggolite...
look out of my window &amp; see cranes cranes everywhere... wonder where got recession, so much building going on!!!
Why u keen on SK/Pg schs?! U wanna come teach or send your bois? I thought u recently sold Florida.

mei
i miss my husband! =( And he misses me too!

pixie,

Some friendly comment on your lunch menu - pre-cut vege lost quite a lots of vit and minerals. Oyster sause NO GOOD!

Yvonne,

I wanted to study the Diploma in Early Childhood Education also. But agreed with you, the course fee is ex and don't have time now to study. My intention was to set up a child care centre thus need to certificate. Then I was thinking can I just be the boss without the education background :) If you just want to learn more about children, why not read from books? I have studied so much until a point that I don't wish to use my brain anymore..... so out of my office hour time, I like to do things that need no brain power :p

Kam
i think to be principal, need educational qualification. But to be the Board of Directors, just need $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ hahaha.

Is dark sauce better than oyster sauce?

chap chye
>> i always think of cabbage, carrots, black jews ears, baby corn etc.. cooked until very soft &amp; mushy. yummmm.

Lantern chilli = capsicum? First time i heard of Lantern chilli

kam
i lurrvvvee oyster sauce. no oyster sauce, chap chye very bland.
yes, i KNOW that pre-cut vege no good. but bo bian, every morning is rushing leh...settle for 2nd best lor

wendy
yes, capsicum. its a direct translation from mandarin. "deng long jiao". shitz. my english is backsliding like crazy. or rather, i have the words but cannot recall. so what is the word for the food warmer thingy?

oh, i was thinking Tupperware. haha, help mei to promote a bit.

"my english is backsliding like crazy"
... English teacher, pls correct this sentence.

wendy
i was thinking about tupperware too. then i automatically tot about mei...

sorry, very blur. who is english teacher here?

kam
no worries, i dont like too much oyster sauce in my dishes. makes everything salty.
hey thanks for the health concern anyway

blackbatz
then when the time comes u going to move back? or the tenant going off soon?

pixie
can u just correct your own sentence since u like English so much

I've been a silent reader since last year - but never made an effort to post or say HI...I made this big move because my husband made a sarcastic remark last week abt me not having any like-minded friends here in SG - I am from msia but been here for almost 4 yrs now. My daughter Amelia is 6+ mths - b'day 11th Aug '08. I hope to make new friends here especially now since I have a kid - we both wud need to expand our social circle..BTW I am a FTWM living in Tampines.
Please kindly include my name for the Aug B'day bash - wud love to join and make friends!

Hello melmal12

>>> wrong thread!! We won't hv any bday celebration in August.

But Kam's fr M'sia... maybe she'll make frens with u &amp; intro her prize-winning boy to your girl =)))