(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
i read a letter from single mom who wrote to ST Forum to express her views.
sigh, govt wants to encourage family nucleus. what to do. those who dun comply wun get the full benefits...

shannonbaby,
where to get all the ingredients of the bee gor? i wana try it out too, yes, homecooked food is still the best.

Wendyg,

A funny thinking gov that you have :-( Children raised by single mum might do as well as the other children, if they receive enough care (meaning needs more time = more leave) from their mum.

Ha, but my gov is not any better either :-((((

Just a word a caution for those who DIY rice cereal. Make sure you also give other food that is rich in iron (eg, spanish, red meat) to your baby, as DIY rice doesn't contain as much iron compared to the commercial iron-fortified cereal.

I heard that single mum only got 2 mths of maternity leave, only married mum are given 4 mths! quite unfair to them actually.

steph,
millet is called "xiao mi" aka small rice. u can get it in NTUC also. i usually find it under the health food section. just need to put into your blender n blend it for abt 1 min. then can use it for cooking already.

luca,
my bee gor's ingredients are supplied by my MIL cos she also use it to cook rice for us. but I know she got it from organic store / supermarket like ntuc, shop n save.
yup, i believe that homecooked food is always the best..

yup, i agree with kam, dont just give DIY rice cereal. i usually add in 1 - 2 tablespoons of vege like broccoli, carrots, toufu etc for more nutrition.

mei,
its ok to slowly intro food. so even if yr #2 is still drinking milk, no worries..

in fact, i saw in the leaflet from health promotion board that babies bet 7 to 12 mths still need at least 750ml of milk per day on top of solid food.

Shannonbaby,

I read from somewhere said at least 650ml for 6-12 mths babies.

Mei,

No harm in giving baby just milk only when they >6 mths. The main reasons for intro solid is to 1) let them "open up" their taste bud, 2) get other nutritions, eg iron, that is not sufficient in milk alone. If you don't intro solid at early stage, just prepare that you kid may not as adventure in trying out new food at their later age. But then again, every baby is different. Maybe one day he/she suddenly decides he/she has enough of milk and turn to solid without the "training". During my mum's era, the only solid she gave us is only porridge and some fruit.... all 4 of us still growing up healthily and happily and none of us is picky eater.

QQ
same here. but he eats cereal 2-3 times a day, so nvrmind la. Your TT v guai hor, go anywhere can sleep. Badminton hall, Sgp flyer, mahjong session...

remember someone saying about yogurt for babies.
Cant find it.
WHich brand is it again??? Got difference from older babies and younger babies.

Mandy_goh,

Yoplait baby yogurt. It says for babies from 6 months onwards. Guess after 1 year, they can either continue with baby yogurt or start on the normal adult yogurt? Any idea, anyone?

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

mummies who have given baby yogurt:

may i know for yoplait baby yogurt? do we feed immediately after taking it out from the fridge or shld we leave it until room temp then feed my baby? thinking of giving it to my gal next week.

shannon, how to cook that bee gor thing again? BTw, how u know the rice sun dry enough or not? Never tried that before for my gal..so now trying to do sth for my boy...haha..

thks.
cos' i see ur giving ur babies try semi-solid/solid food already but my #2 like no interest still. worried.

wendy,
so how? thus or fri? i am on fri leave.

shannonbaby
tks for the info.

just wondering, have all of u met each other before? everybody seem keen on the gathering.
Dun get me wrong, just that i hardly post on this thread, kinda shy to meet up. hee

mei
if tmr, then 12.30pm can?

ernmum
try break the biscuit & put some milk like cornflakes. will he take it?

shannonbaby
can give direct from fridge.
my aunt does that with jar food. she says cold food soothes teething gums, altho me & husband & parents think babies & young kids shouldn't take too much cold food.. get stomachache?

ernmum, i also intro solids late, when my boy ard 6mths+ old, still find it messy when feeding him, and at times when he never opens his mouth, i feel like giving up, so usually let my maid do the job.
wat a lousy mum.. sigh..

wendy,
haven heard from marriott. i called and they still checking. check what ah? check check check. check if durians ready to pluck? hahaaa

wendyg,
hehe ya dats true, but my no 1, who is 22mths + nw, still needs us 2 feed him, else he will be either playing with his food, or walking here n there, especially standing right in front of the tv. faint. wonder when is the good time to train them?

yes, im a mother of 2 boys

wendy,
DONE. ok. tmr thurs 12.30pm. marriott hotel. see you. u can recognise me hor? or i nid to bring a rose? hee.

who else want marriott mooncakes? 25% discount!! hee

mei
sorry to trouble u. actually Friday i can collect also. Husband tell me dun take leave. sigh, actually wanted to go shopping, but i think i'll just work.

shannonbaby,

I give baby cold yogurt, ie straight away from fridge. It's okay to give baby cold stuff (according to books and the info from internet), won't do any harm to baby. It's really up to your personal preference.

Luca,

I never joined any gathering so far. Only post a lot :)

wendy,
DONE. ok. tmr thurs 12.30pm. marriott hotel. see you. u can recognise me hor? or i nid to bring a rose? hee.

who else want marriott mooncakes? 25% discount!! hee

wendyg, mayb i will try today wrt biscuit into milk

luca, we introduce at 6 mths is not late leh...just right timing. I also have 2 boys. Who is taking care of your elder boy. Mine is now in CC. Sometimes he wanna eat on his own and create a mess....i have no maid...so end up quite frustrating at times. My elder one turning one in Nov. Yours still young.

Mei, you tempt me...but i still have 1 piece of durian and 2.5 of that lian rong bing pi at home leh

luca
my #1 was trained by childcare teachers... heh heh. he started half day childcare at 18m, so he'd hv lunch in sch before come home to nap. When he saw his peers self-feed, he also picked up. I bet he made a mess, but sch hv cleaning auntie.
Now, he is capable of feeding himself, just gotto focus on eating & finish his food fast. At the dinner table (esp with my parents), he will eat 1 mouth then climb down the chair & play, then after much nagging he'll take another mouthful etc. Coz my parents not strict with him. Weekends when with me and husband, we dun tolerate his nonsense and he knows it.

so kam, will u be going for the 2 gatherings?
yeah, i know u post alot, and u are so skillful in cooking nice food for ur boy.

wendy,
haha. balloon!? i see u at inside marriott lobby. mooncake collection is at level 2 while the purchase-over-counter booth is outside entrance. u still have my hp hor? 9xxx-xxxx. haha.

i think theres really a difference between children who goes childcare and those who are not.. envy leh

However, both my nephews in childcare, they can feed themselves there, but when at home, they have to be fed by maid also.

both my boys are taken care by my maid, while my mum supervises her and help her at times.

kids now are so clever, they know who they can be mischievious with, and who they cant mess with.. haha

eh ernmum, my no2 same bday s ur no2 leh. so coincidence..
was supposedly a Janbb..but just couldnt wait to come into this world. hehe

mei
hey, we hv same hp number. mine also 9xxx-xxxx. *bleah*
I meet u at level 2 la. If it's the same place as last year, i know where.

luca
yes totally. My #1 knows he can bully gong-gong and po-po. And my parents willingly let him bully. I told them "pls dun repeat same mistake with #2". In the end they are the ones that suffer coz the child doesn't heed their instruction.

luca,

no, still no chance of joining. I am FTWM, and can't take leave cos preparing for a very important meeting next week. Initially plan to go back hometown this weekend, but the trip cancelled :-(

Thanks for your complement! Sure everyone can do it, it's really not that difficult. I spend 5-10 minutes peeling skin and cutting, put it in steamer, while waiting for it being cooked (15-30min), I play with my baby, then take another few minutes to blend, and it's ready. Fruit is even easier, no steaming and blending, just peel and cut, mash and ready to eat, just take a few minutes! And better still during weekend, can make in large batches and freeze for the whole week (or more) supply.

wendy,
my parents dote on the grandchildren alot, everything also can, everything also give, while us parents want to be strict on our kids.

kam,
u really deserve it. Im also a FTWM, can tell u r hardworking in cooking.

Shannonbaby,
I also give my boy yogurt straight from the fridge. He always close his eyes real tight after the 1st mouthful becos cold mah...so cute. After that ok already and he sure enjoys his yogurt, finish will cry for more. Should be ok to take some cold stuff as long as it's not ice-cream or cold drinks. So yogurt is the only cold food he can indulge in...I don't mind if he takes lots of yogurt.

wendyg,
Totally agree...grandparents always want to spoil their grandkids then end up complain to us say they not guai. Becos the kid knows who he/she can bully and who (mummies) they should not mess around with...haha. I also told my hubby, if in-laws choose not to be firm with him, end up they suffer not me...hehe.

luca,

my hubby likes home-cook food a lot. Before I got my baby, I cooked almost everyday and we even packed lunch box for lunch (NO, I am NOT a good cook and I DON'T like cooking). But I am very use to cooking. Now, I may still able to cook, but I rather use the time to spend with/on my baby. Nowadays, breakfast, lunch and dinner also eating out, very sian leh......

thanks mummies,
I shall try giving my gal yogurt this weekend...
straight from the fridge sounds so easy, dont need to prepare..keke.

my parents n ILs also spoilt my gal, opps shld be my dad n ILs only cos my mum is quite firm with my gal n my nephew.

babe,
I used 2 tablespoon of rice (brown rice, millet, etc) with 8 - 9 tablespoon of water, with 2 tablespoon of veges (any 2 types) then keep stirring in low heat until they are cooked. shld be very sticky when it is cooked. takes abt 5min only.
my MIL will wash then use a clean cloth n wipe those rice before she suns. usually she sun them for about 2 days according to her. must be very dry else will be spoilt. then keep them in fridge, can last very long.

QQ n blessedbaby,

I think we are suppose to meet at united square (Globetrotters Restaurant) at #02-02.
am I correct? let me know if i am wrong else i will blur blur go to the wrong venue..:p