(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i dun put salt when i cook soup oso .... kekek ... i think i use less than 10times a year for my salt

tongtong,
Actually no need to use stock, porridge can also tasty. Usually I will add 1-2 piece of lean meat (pork or chicken) or fish plus one vege (butternut squash, sweet potato, pumpkin, carrot etc) and double-boil for 1 hr plus and it's done. Fish can be mashed up and added to porridge but I will eat the meat lor unless you have time to blend it and add it in.

Yvonne,

True. We see it from the real life examples and keep reminding ourselves. I only want my baby to be a healthy and happy baby! Vege puree bland meh, I like it leh, I think it taste pretty good :)

QQ,

Okay lah, I admit, sometime I naughty also. I also let Hao Re has a bit of taste of something, like whipped potato, and let him lick on the ice cream.

Ha, the 2 faces of me, one side says have to follow strictly, another side wants to be naughty :)

janbb,luca
ok will try later if she still got fever. If no fever shud I still do the egg thingy?

Yvonne
jialat lo like tat..me 辛辛苦苦 establishing her routines this past few weeks to prepare her for this trip home all down the drain liao

Luvv
not possible to postpone entire trip cos tics issued liao. And it doesn't involve me alone. .

kam
errr...actually a lot of people think soya sauce is the lesser of two evil as compared to salt...but do u all know soya safe contains MORE salt in it than salt itself? I know cos my uncle owns a soya sauce factory in msia so last time during holidays, I used to go and visit them. Therefore people who use soya sauce instead of salt for seasoning thinking they're choosing a "heathier" option doesn't realize that they're choosing a worse option. Just for your info lah

QQ, yup was there with my mom,hubby and my bb(she was wearing a yellow polka dot jumper). Too many babies...
Porridge:-
My mom put scallops with fish and some vegetable puree into the porridge. My girl eats alot. Think she finds it yummy...(i also think its yummy...cos i always take 1 or 2 spoon...:p)

wendyg
yah my bb lighter sleeper. if cry bo pian half time check on him hahaa...

mylife
roll egg check for mo dan is if got fever.

violetice
how's bb ian?

QQ

thank you. are you going to the 12th sep gathering?

mylife

pls take care of yourself. its must be hard on you but dun worry, im sure Rylee will recover soon. hugz

violetice

wish that bb ian will recover soon. take care of yourself too.
hugz

lynn

sent u an email with my contact. we can meet at the kiddy palace to buy the play yard.

fake measles
My boy start to have rash on forehead abit on back. Dunno izzit heat rash coz he perspire alot or is it fake measles. Need to see doc for that?

long time din post ... got to catch up.. hehe

speedy recovery for all the darlings that has fallen sick. weather is siao siao recently so pls do take care of them. Mine is having abit of nose block last nite. Hope it wun turn up to anything serious.

Re: food that MIL introduces ...
my MIL got a scolding from PD when she followed me to see PD for my #1 (when he was younger) cos she intro the whole egg to my #1 when he was barely 9 mths!! Since then, she doesn't like the PD and will not dare to intro anything to my kids. mayb we should include MILs to our PD's visit

Re: MSG
Can u believe it that my PILs actually told me this "MSG is a good thing!" faint lah ... this one no matter how i tried, can't change. they even thot my maid to cook every dishes with oyster sauce !! susa!! my #1 has been taking oyster sauce for a long long time liao.

On weekends, I try to cook "new" dishes for my #1. I even tried making my own tomato sauce for my spagetti
easy to make n much more healthier

mylife,

thanks for the info. Yes, I know soy sauce is equally (or more?) salty. But my point is don't put any salt or any other seasoning in the soup or dishes. Then, whoever (those prefers a stronger taste) needs more seasoning, can use soy sauce to "supplement" the taste. Me and my hubby more often don't need soy sauce, but some of my family members like can't live without soy sauce!

Baby waking up in the middle of the night

Have been 2 nights, baby Hao Re woke up at 3.30pm (exactly the time for both days!), not for feeding, but he was like telling me - I can't sleep anymore, I want to wake up. He looked at me and smiled to me. But I have to be hard-hearted, so I carried him to minimize his activity, closed my eyes, and didn't smile/talk/play with him. He entertained himself. First night, he only went back to sleep after 45min. Last night better, only took 20min then go back to sleep. Really don't know why (over-stimulation cos spent almost full day at zoo on Sunday?), he has been sleeping pretty well for the past 2 weeks, and now all of a sudden, waking up again. But I am still okay, though almost drained at the end of the day :-( See what will happen tonight.

babe,
The fake measles will start with fever first. Is your boy having a fever or only the rashes? Is he behaving normally or feeling uncomfortable? If he's ok except for the mild rashes then probably you can monitor first.

<font color="0077aa">Kam,</font>
Same here. Jayden also woke up at 3am for the past few nite. And is not milk time either. I really "Gong" ah cos' if he didn't sleep, i can't sleep too. He kept doing baby talking &amp; sing his "baba" songs...wow...his "concert" lasted for 1hr+... u lucky only 20 &amp; 45min...

Sad to share, my boy also kana fever last evening. Think due to teething, plus over the weekend i still gave him teething biscuit, multigrain cereal which are all very heaty stuff. Going to confiscate these stuff liao.

Any babies teething &amp; got fever also? Really exhausted last nite, i woke up every few hrly to monitor his temp. This morning fever subsided &amp; pray hard fever dun come again! Today really no mood to work..very Zzzz

<font color="0077aa">Steph</font>
Zander is cute &amp; so smart to close his eyes to protect himself..heehee... I also bot the same floral Fox pant for Jayden leh ; )

<font color="0077aa">mylife</font>
How's Rylee now? Fever Subsided?If fever is high then try the hard boil egg method, it will reduce the body heatiness. My fnd told me that if u look at the egg carefully after rubbing, you can find something like "standing hair" all over the egg.. very scary, machiam the toxic is absorbed by the egg.

<font color="0077aa">Blessedbaby</font>
Voted for your princess Johanna ; )
Wah, she steady ah!! Can ride bike liao ah!!

<font color="0077aa">violetice</font>
U oki or not? A bit worried leh..msg u &amp; u no reply. I hope u are fine.

angelsky, ya lor...they super smart....i also very patient liao leh....give him biscuit, he will just eat...and when i give cereal everything...he will 'blow' out.

here's a pic of my naughty boy
1699791.jpg

Back from my trip to HCM.
Had spend a day reading all the past posts and still have not finished reading ehhehe....

Have not started making porridge for my baby. Can someone teach me how to make a nice porridge to start with? What is double boil.

QQ
i tried nestle instant porridge 2yrs back for my #1. very convenient. Smells good too, but taste bland!!! So i suppose it's good for babies la.

babe
wa your girl didn't kena all these things hor. how nice.

eRuMum,

Wah, your boy is a big baby liao........ nice pix!

This is my boy, enjoying his puree while watching the elephant show at the zoo (looked a bit tired though)
1699884.jpg

i also tried the nestle before...usually i will add egg and vege in to make it even more nutritous. And yes, it does smell nice.

Kam, my boy is rather big size. But he dun eat solid.....

Guess what i brought the two boys to watch thomas and friends and he paid full attention to the show till 15 mins before the show end...he dozed off. Quite amazing cos usually their attention span is super short.

QQ,
nope me not joining on the 12th. very rush for me &amp; i need to fetch my boy from in-law side.
I also bought a box of nestle instant porridge but haven try yet

janbb: my boy also kena fever one evening , think due to teething! cuz i intro him teethign biscuit and millet porrridge . too heaty. but i gave paracetemol wor, cuz first time my son got fever. so very scared.. did you give any med to your boy? or the fever auto subside?
i afraid he might catch more fever cuz he got 6 teeth liao! looks like more teething wanna pop out like dat.. now i wonder whether i did the correct thing for giving para!! afraid got side effect leh.

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Our Village - Sun 10am class</font>
was informed that if we can get min 6 babies who are confirmed to sign up, we can start a new class on Sun 10am by Teacher Doreen.

any mummies keen?

yup...the egg i mean i give it to my number one when he exceeded one year old.....sorry for not making it clear...heehee

tong tong, paracetamol no side effect la...unless he is allergy to it. Paracetamol is like panadol. Just dun take in exceeding the suggested dosage should be fine

long time didnt login. looking forward to see all mummies on 12th sept..

tongtong,
my MIL told me millet is very "liang" not heaty le. she ask me not to give if my gal is down with flu. millet is good for breaking fever virus. my hubby always have millet porridge when he is down with high fever.

tongtong, hmm, think up to you. But no harm giving paracetamol.
Just like sometimes, when we dun feel well, we also just pop panadol right?

my GP usually says that after injection, if we are worried that they will get fever, just give paracetamol in advance. Pretty harmless medicine i guess.

eRnMum,

You don't give solid to your boy? Still your boy very good size leh..... you give him your super breatmilk or have super FM brand :) But do make sure your boy has enough iron and calcium intake since you don't give solid......

kam....i give but he dun eat....a few mouthful each time...not even a meal....he total bm till 8 months plus, i give one feed of FM a day.

I also worry abt iron...so hopefully FM and biscuits iron can help a bit

he is slightly over 10kg

Wendyg,

I forgot the title of the article. It's after the interview with Annabel Karmel. It's not really the "cure" for fussy eater, but it's a mummy sharing her experience.

Taken from Annabel Karmel's website:

Weaning Advice - Top Tips

1) Sucking is a natural reflex, but swallowing solids is something babies need to learn. When a baby sucks, she pushes her tongue forward, so it’s normal for food to be spat out.

2) The muscles used to chew are the same muscles used for speech, so chewing small lumps will help with your baby’s speech development.

3) In the first week of weaning, give babies solids at lunchtime, as in the morning they may be too hungry and in the evening too tired.

4) It’s a good idea to give a little milk before introducing solids so that your baby’s not frantically hungry.

5) Cows’ milk contains very little iron or vitamins C and D and shouldn’t be given as your baby’s main drink in the first year. From 6 months you can use it in cooking or in your baby’s cereal.

6) One in 5 babies aged 10-12 months has a daily intake of iron and essential fatty acids below the desired level. Include red meat and oily fish, such as salmon, in your baby’s diet.

7) Honey shouldn’t be given to babies under 12 months, as in very rare cases it can cause infant botulism.

8) Eggs can be given from 6 months but must be thoroughly cooked until both the white and yolk are solid.

9) No salt should be added to food for babies under 12 months – their kidneys are too immature to cope.

10) Do not refreeze meals that have previously been frozen. The exception is raw frozen food, which can be returned to the freezer once cooked,for example, cooked frozen peas.

thanks kam, i read that on her website...no cure...

sigh

anyway, i think i shared my experience with one PD before...he says can add salt and sugar (not excessive) to baby's food cos they are like us.

I check with another paed, she also say true but minimal la

eRnMum,

Have you tried on changing feeding environment, like put on music, bring him to playground and feed him? Or try changing the utensil, like change to soft tip spoon or colourful utensil? You just need to introduce the iron-fortified cereal, and you don't have to worry about the iron intake.

Also read that baby after 6 months should change to follow-on FM, as follow-on has more iron and calcium. Suppose you have change that?

i gave him mamex gold step 1....cos step 2 is meant for those who is taking solid...step 1 got more nutrient. ...also step 1 is i bought it when he was born.....since he took only one meal a day...still a long way to finish the milk...after that then see whether should change to step 2

yup, gave iron fortified cereal...different type, he all dun wan

wendyg, yes ...i on his favourite show...but he is still very stubborn...after a few mouthful....he will boo boo out...angry

this boy is really difficult when it comes to food

his gor gor...everything also eat

Wendyg,

My son doesn't like to watch tv. We don't ban tv at anytime, but he is not interested in the tv at all. He continues to play, play, play, like the tv doesn't exist. Good for me, so I can watch tv and play with him at the same time :)

But I always put him at his high chair in the dinning room for his meal time. No exeption, so that knows play is play, eat is eat.