(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca,

really...our babies same birth date

the mummy who stay in melbourne also have her baby on boxing day...but she long long no post liao...mayb busy.

mine was borned at 36 weeks...considered slightly premature.

my friend whose niece also boxing day baby also dun like solid food

Sian ah, after this weekend hubby will be gone for 3 weeks reservist. Can only come home on & off. So I have to look after my boy alone...I told my boy: "Must be co-operative with mummy ok otherwise see who torture who"...hahaha.

kam, at least u make an effort to cook.
sometimes eating too much of outside food, will make u appreciate more when u cook, isnt it?

ernmum, mine was 37th weeks, really hope for a Jan bb, coz yr end children tend to lose out to their peers when in school, s in considering the youngest in the class..

luca, me too....but i know he will be out early...what to do

some like yr end baby, some dun like...i wannt him to be a jan baby

Sigh, my boy just slept... his first nap. Any one's baby don't sleep much in the day?

Yvonne, my hubby is also going for reservist next month... thinking how i'm gonna cope with him alone at night too. Sob sob...

Shannonbaby, QQ, blessedbaby and others who are joining,
Yes, think we are meeting at united square (Globetrotters Restaurant) at #02-02 at 3pm this Friday.
http://www.globetrotters.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=14&Itemid=28

Btw, has any one booked? How many pple joining Mylife's gathering? Shall I make a booking... just in case?

Jan bb born in the first week of the year

I heard from someone a couple of years ago that in Singapore, babies who were born in the first week of Jan may be able to get a place in school 1 year earlier, is this true? Anyone knows? Mummies working in the education line?

hello mummies!
a lot of babies sick so hope all babies recover soon!
just came back from lunch...its already 5pm...1 hr more to knock off

ernmum, same feelings too. guess sometimes things dun always go our way..

read michelle's blog, both her child's age difference is close too, her is 13mths and mine 14mths.
wendy, just curious, whats the age difference for ur 2 kids?

shooting star, my boy also dun sleep much in the day, very most an hr, twice a day only.
sometimes i'll worry if his food intake is low and dun rest much, will he lose wgt in long term, s he gt rather good wgt nw, so dun wan him to end up like korkor, so skinny nw.

shooting star,
yah lor, an extra pair of hands or eyes sure comes in handy when we need to make milk, prepare dinner, go for shower, etc. So got to do everything after bb sleeps else have to put him inside the cot.

wendy, ic, so planning to strike gold again with #3? hee

we wanted 2 kids, never planned the timing, thats y struck gold easily.

Luca, at least urs sleep up to an 1hr... mine rarely and he sometimes naps 20mins in 1 nap.

Yvonne, definitely welcome the extra pair of hands. And my boy needs awhile to go to sleep too, and my hubby is better at that.

shooting star,
u've my empathies.
Besides letting him crawl around the "safe" area of the house, or let him play some musical instruments..I find it hard to "entertain" my son if he doesnt sleeps... sighs..

can anybody share how you spend time with ur kids at home?

Luca, at least urs sleep up to an 1hr... mine rarely and he sometimes naps 20mins in 1 nap.

Yvonne, definitely welcome the extra pair of hands. And my boy needs awhile to go to sleep too, and my hubby is better at that.

luca
no thanks... close shop liao...

at home... TV?!?!
i shift him between the exercauser or cot if i need to complete some tasks. my baby cot is in the living room.
once i act hero & slung him for abt 15min. fwah, my back was aching the rest of the day. he's only 8kg!

dunno how come i double post?? i only clicked the refresh button.... ignore the previous post.

Luca, i let my boy play by himself a few times in a day, but that only works for approx 15mins. Then I let him watch Your Baby Can read, also lasts for about 15mins, the rest of the time I spend playing with him. Takes a lot of motivation.
I find that if I bring him out, it is much easier as there are more distractions. So i bring him out almost everyday or every 2nd day.

yes, forgot to add... i let him watch tv a lot... a bit guilty of that. keke.. But he can only stay focus for a short while again, so I end up watching with him.

seems like alot of babies are sick too. Baby Javier is down with running nose and slight fever. My hubby caught the cold virus too. whenever bb sneezes, the pacifier flies out from his mouth and we all laugh including the bb. hee hee.

take care mummies and babies.

shooting star,
u mean u bring him out everyday alone?
I always wonder how some mummies can bring their kids out singlehandedly, i mean wat if need to go to the toilet, bring the child along too?
Thou i agree that bringin them out is much easier than at home s time passes by faster.

my boy doesnt like watching tv, he's those active type, rather crawl than sit..

IRON

Been going through the "First Food" book last night and read of the nutrient baby needs. Baby needs, well, everything, carbo, protein, fats, vitamines, and minerals.

I only focus on the minerals here. The key minerals baby needs at this stage are IRON, CALCIUM, ZINC, and IODINE.

FM (reference: Enfapro) contains calcium, zinc, and iodine, but NO iron (think there are iron-fortified FM in the market?)

Breastmilk should contains almost all the minerals, but would still need extra iron.

Rice cereal (reference: Nestle plain and brown rice) contains iron, iodine, and calcium (if mix cereal with milk), but NO ZINC.

For your information, below are the food with the highest iron content (reference: "First Food" book):

Iron-fortified rice cereal - 0.1mg per 1 teaspoon (tsp)
Spanish puree - 1.1mg per 1 tsp
Green pea puree - 0.3mg per 1 tsp
Avocado puree - 0.27 mg per 1 tsp
Honeydew or rock melon puree - 0.2mg per 1 tsp
Chicken puree - 0.2mg per 1 tsp
Carrot + potato puree - 0.13mg per 1 tsp
Fish + spanish porridge - 0.8mg per 1/2 cup

The rest of the vege/fruit has <0.1mg iron per 1 tsp, but high in other minerals/vitamines. So should give a variety of vege/fruit and meat, also egg and tofu.

And I just read you should avoid giving iron supplement if not absolutely necessary as it may cause some side effects. Best to get everything baby needs from natural food.

Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA) for Iron

Infants 7-12 months - 11mg per day.

luca
re: bring baby out on my own
1) i dun go out entire day... just a few hours to run some errands. So can hold pee.
2) if really need to go, will look for handicapped toilet which is large enuf for me to push the pram in.

wendy, i do the same as u when i'm out with bb...haha..drink less water loh..

Shooting star, jia you. My hb will be ending his reservist this fri. Been rather tired the past few days when he's in camp. Have a playpen to leave bb to play while u do some stuff. That's what I do with my boy. Just put some toys in for him and on music.

Gathering
Gals, enjoy urselves. Can't be there coz working as there's event this sat!

hi blessedbaby,

Nice trip to HCM. But did not manage to get the rice crackers cos the shop was selling mooncakes for the period i am there. So sad.

But we tried all the restaurants that u recommended and we love them. Especially the one opp the reunification palace. Went there twice in fact.

Sorry, i wont be able to join the gathering tomorrow cos last minute some thing crop up.
Enjoy guys.

Question??
Can i blend spinach and freeze them so that i can use them for porridge the next day??? Or must i blend them everyday???

wendy,
the yoplait yogurt, punggol plaza ntuc got sell???

hi, anyone meeting up with Mylife today? I don't have her address yet, think she got no time to PM me.
Can someone please PM to me? Thanks a lot.

me back, hubbie went back to jakarta again. Got to catch up on all the posts.

eRnMum, my girl learnt to swipe the our hands away when we feed her, but strangely I gave her banana yesterday she likes it, but same thing, ate 3 teaspoon then she tore her bib. This ,morning my mum ask me if I planning to cook porridge today, I was like let me think about it, its so tiring to prepare and then waste.

kitsune, pm you already on the address. Those going mylife's place, I may not be able to make it in time if my sis decides to choose her flat at HDB, the block she wants only left 2 units, and her appointment is at 415. Else see ya tomo at globetrotters.

luca, I also bring my girl out alone, initially it can be quite daunting, need to plan routes and what to bring and imagine in my mind if the place I am going has got lifts and ramps or not. So I totally dont dare to go from wisma unless its necessary, but after a times of trying with my hubbie that stretch I also got use to it. As long as there are no stairs its fine. I always tell myself, thickskin be thickskin, baby cry,I just talk to her and try and calm her, if I walk into a shop and she starts crawling, I will just walk out again. Just sometimes when I push the stroller, I will accidently hit things on the shelf when I walk through, but bo bian lo. I find sometimes when I bring her out, time passes faster and she enjoys it as well.

wendyg, tks for the tips, never tot of that.. hee

well done mummies for bringin kids out alone. im not good at strollers, esp going up and down the escalator, just dun have the guts to do it, afraid that i might end up "throwing" my kid dwn.. :p

hello mummies!

re: bringing out babies
i have been slinging my boy since day 1...stroller is too cumbersome for me, i take buses if im out with baby alone so stroller is no no...
if urgent, i go to normal toilet, because bb slinged on, still can pee pee...

mandy, the yoplait yogurt, rivervale mall NTUC got a lot, now they say offer, 1 pack (6pcs) is $4.x5, sorry dont know x is how much liao, i bought 2 packs the past weekend, i think sure have coz it was packed to the brim...

Re: Bringing bb out alone
I've done that a couple of times but usually have to go to places I'm familiar with so I know where the lifts are and how to avoid the stairs. I find that my boy is usually very guai when I bring him out alone and he will sit in his stroller throughout the trip, won't protest at all. Probably he knows mummy doesn't an extra pair to hands to help so he better co-operate

the yoplait baby yoghurt is in pack of 4...banana and vanilla flavour ma...think $4 plus or $5 plus.

got six meh...the small small one, is not right?

strange, looks like we are getting different version...haha

mummies! i have enfapro stage 2 (400g) expiring Sep or Nov 2009 ( cant rememb). Anyone wanna exchange with me?I want similac stage 2. thanks

luca, no no, I dont dare to go up and down the escalator too. Only lift up and down, can be quite troublesome but I dont dare to attempt the escalators. If really wanna be quick, like what pixiepixel does, I will sling and walk, faster, but then when I do this way, got to buy less stuff, else shoulders and arms can break.

Yoplait baby yoghurt, mine is also pack of 4, u mean got 6 packs and smaller? I dont mind getting those instead, my girl always waste, only take half a pack each time. I saw another brand at jason's before, its 6 packs, but the flavours sounds more yummy, i think peach and 2 other flavours, but it never states from how old, just from weaning, so I dont dare to buy.

eRnMum,

The one I got same like yours. pack of 4, 2x banana and 2x vanilla. I didn't see the pack of 6 one leh.

Luca,

DO NOT use escalator if your baby is sitting in the stroller. It's very dangerous esp if 1) you are alone; 2) you are not strong enough to lift up the stroller. Sometime the stroller may get stuck and you have to lift it up immediately or you and baby fall, also it's quite steep, so you need to be strong enough to lift up the stroller. Always use lift. But you go out with another adult, then may be okay, but still be careful.

i've done that many times.. practise makes perfect &amp; builds confidence. same as bfg in public (?!)
When #1 was a baby, not many MRT stations hv lifts equipped. It was either the stairs or escalator.
so far no one has stopped me yet, altho i see signs that pushchairs must be folded before boarding escalator.
and so far i haven't seen any reports of accidents happening with babies in prams on escalators. I guess those mums/ dads must be real "zhai"...

angelsky, hehe.. u r funny, i agree shoulders and arms can break. every now and then, my arms will ache when carryin my boy just for awhile..

yes, stroller has its good and bad ways..Im not so skillful in slings too.. aiyo, lousy me..

tks kam, point noted, which is why till now i still dun hv the courage to use escalator when using stroller.

wendyg, u r 1 of those "zhai" mummy lor.