(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

ernmum
every child is diffrnt hor. Yours hv buffer, not so scared. U think he will still refuse solids when he turns 3/5/7 yrs old meh... What i say is, enjoy it while it lasts.. very soon he will eat until u "pok-gai"

wendyg, eat until i pok gai better than he dun eat and i worry he dun have enough nutrient esp iron ah

sigh

ya lor, every kids so different...he is really very different from his gor gor

eRnMum,
That's what most people say, the 1st & 2nd child are usually opposites. Someone mentioned here before, if 1st child very guai, most likely 2nd one will be difficult. Come to think of it, my elder sis and my character are the exact opposites. She's the stubborn one and I'm the guai guai one....hahaha.

Yvonne,

I was the one who raised the 1st & 2nd child are usually opposites. But not always lah - in general, EVERY child is different.

eRnMum, try your best. If still no success, can ask PD for iron supplement if you worry. Nowadays a lot more easier than when our older generation.

my 1st one very good boy before one....but he is difficult when it comes to sleeping...after one he gets naughty and really cheeky

no 2 easy when it comes to sleep....eating...very difficult. playful and much more observant....his eyes sparkles....and know how to melt one's heart...go out always get a lot of attention

TongTong,
Yup, i gave him paracetemol cos his body is really burning hot last nite. My mum told me so far he is back to normal temp now. keep my finger cross *_*

Btw, which brand of millet u bot? Was thinking i can't feed multigrain cereal which is too heaty now, should I change to millet? Millet is "liang" will cause cough or not? Xian men, too heaty scare kana fever, too liang scare kana cough. Haiz, think drink milk better!!

janbb, yea i guess your boy experienced same thing as my boy leh. fever subsided once having a dose of para. so is teething fever hor?

er, i forgot what brand of millet liao but i got the organic one from organic store. initially i tot millet is heaty leh, whcih caused myson to get fever :p but shanonbb said is liang.. cuz i tot millet is iron-riched so shd be heaty? not sure though. yea you are right! drink milk forever is the best hor! haha. no need to think so hard what to cook and what to feed!

tongtong,

yup, millet is xiao mi, which is very liang. my gal just recovered from her cough and my MIL keep reminding me not to give her for the time being.

so stressful as too heaty cannot, too liang also cannot. make me so stressed these days as I have to be very careful since my husband is asthma case when he is young. n my gal just recovered from her one month of flu n cough! so my MIL keep reminding this and that. basically, I got alot of "rules" to follow..keke.

Heaty and cooling food

I do believe certain food is heaty and other is cooling. But I don't think we can/should link heaty food to fever. The only worry for heaty food is it may cause constipation, and not fever. Fever is a not an illness but it's a sign that the body is fighting with some foreign antigen, e.g., bacteria/viral infection. If fever subsided, meaning the body has successfully fight the foreign antigen and recover. If fever keeps going up, meaning the body is unable to fight the antigen and needs to take med (eg, antibiotic) to help. Cutting down solid won't help fighting the fever. And you should immediately call for doctor if you observe other signs (vomitting, diarrhae, cough, etc) besides fever.

janbb,

why dont u make yr own cereal?
for me, my MIL teach me to make bee gor. (1 tablespoon of white brown rice, 1/2 tablespoon of red long brown rice, 1/2 tablespoon of millet, together with 8 tablespoon of water) make nutritious and yummy cereals/porridge for my gal. on top of that, i will add in toufu, carrot, pumpkin etc (1 tablespoon puree) into the bee gor. My gal has been having that instead of off the shelf cereal.
i mix n match the different type of rice according to her health (whether she is heaty or cold)

shannon, i'm stressed too leh, cuz i got childhood asthma leh..

kam, well said! thanks for the good info.

shannonbaby, do you grind the red long brown rice?

tongtong,
i grind all the rice. then keep them in the fridge. usually i grind one week supply. before that, my MIL will help me wash n sun them then she pass it to me to keep.
the red long brown rice is very nutritous.

wendyg,
too bad, its only for my baby shayne..unless yr baby comes to my house..keke.

tongtong,

thanks for reading the info. I know it's hard for some mummies, as they have elderly to help out. Elderly usually said this cannot that cannot (many a time without a good reason). I send my boy to infant care, the centre don't have all these "superstitious" thingy, and I take care of my baby by myself at night and weekend. So I can implement my own "modern-ish" way (only listen to my mum if it's reasonable). Whenever I have a problem or an issue, I need to know why are the reasons behind, and what options I have to solve the problem, and don't follow blindly (of course there are times I am desperate that don't mind to try anything). My hubby always say I am too strict-minded and boring, as I have very little tolerence for unplan surprises :) I can't imagine if I live with my parent-in-law, I think I will move out the next day!

shannonbaby,
Thks, Bee Gor seem very delicious!! To be frank, i v lousy cook. Seem that it nid a lot of effort. Heehee, u grind more & sell to us leh ;)

tongtong,
i also hope is juz teething that cause that mild fever.

janbb n tongtong,

bee gor is very easy to cook. in fact, can be done within 5 min.. i do that every morning.

wow..grind n sell. i dont mind doing it cos its a easy task..haha. actually i jus pour the rice into the blender n blend..within 2 mins, all done for the week..hehe

thanks for all your well-wishes. Thank god, Rylee's temp has gone down since yday. But her diarrhoea is still here. And thats expected, said the PD. He said diarrhoea can last up to 2 weeks!
But he said she shud be able to travel, since Sg is just 4hours flight.

Am flying back home to Sg tom morning. So for the gathering, to recap:

11th Sept
4pm at Mylife's house. Pls PM me to get my add.

12th Sept
3pm at United Square. Is this still on? How many people coming?

Violetice
Is Baby Ian ok already? I hope he is. HUGZ

angelsky,blessedbaby,sassymum
I think u all shud have my Sg contacts rite? Got all your "items" liao

See u all back in Sg!

Fake measles
I had that too when I was an adult, but not many, only 6-7 on my arms and legs. No wonder my dermatologist was so surprised, not itchy at all, just looks weird so I went to see him.

Mylife, please PM me your address.

hi QQ,

i will be attending the one on 12th. see you there... who else is attending??

Lynn

Are you still keen to share the play yard?

Hope that all bb's recover soon. My boy recovered from runny nose not long ago too.

My boy is REALLY active, I just can't leave him alone. Every time i turn my head, he is up to something. Yesterday, he peeled off chipped wood from an old cupboard (which i never noticed) and chewed on it. I was shock when I saw it, as there's splinters on the wood. Some more smile at me ever so innocently when i saw him. Sigh... gotta watch him all the time. We have been constantly baby proofing our place and still he always finds something dangerous to meddle with.

Btw, I will be attending both gathering.
Mylife, I have PM-ed you.

mylife

I will see you at United Square on 12th.. can anyone help me to re-confirm the timing & place to meet/ -))

QQ, JanBB, Mandy.. thanks for your vote. ;))

re: make & sell baby food
>> oh totally not worth it for me. i was making the green pea puree at 2am... the last stage - passing the mixture thru the sieve - was the killer. But my baby can't take the skin.. he'll gag. After a loooooong time, almost the entire pkt of green peas, i only came up with 1 chinese bowl of puree, which fit into a Heinz jar (the tall one), which Cold Storage sells for under S$2. For all that effort, minus the price of the pkt of peas.... *pengsan*

hey shannonbaby
what about i leave my boy with u, then u feed him your yummy stuff while i go happening???

Sassy: regarding e playard,i let u kw by tomoro okie? becos my hb overseas and bac tonitz, he wanna see e playard b4 decide..

mylife: i hav pm u..

my FIL gav my bb cheesecake and honey wen we went to e cheesecake cafe last wk... i told him "NO" but he still giv.. dat hb juz keep quiet. FIL said " ur bb luv cheesecake juz like his mummy.."

shannonbaby,
bee gor is consider a "heaty" or "cold" food? can feed everyday?

wat u mean when u said : mix n match different type of rice according to her health (whether she is heaty or cold)

hope im not askin something stupid.. hee

oh, then i be your lightbulb =P

i was thinking to take leave on Fri, but then i hv to meet u, so no point take leave haha.

QQ
ah, no la. i collect mooncakes fr mei hv to put in freezer asap, cannot go out jalan or hi-tea. either back to offc to borrow canteen freezer, or go back home.

1230pm can. let me call marriott now to see if can change the collection date.

if can then u can take fri off. hee

hee. i can get MORE marriott mooncakes over counter!! heeee yummy!

wendy,
haha. i helping u to CLEAR ur leave. haha.

btw, u want to get more marriott mooncakes? seems able to get 25% still over counter. if yes, i gg to get another box of chocolate whisky! hee

i dun need help to clear leave la.. my leave chun chun enuf for 1 year, sommore got 6 days childcare leave.. hee hee.
no i enuf mooncakes liao. no space in freezer.

According to my HR (not official yet though), the note they got from the authority said that the additional 4 days unconditional cc leave and the additional 1 month ML is only for MARRIED mummy. While previously it said for female staff. But this new thing they esp mentioned for married staff. HR asked to provide marriage cert in order to enjoy the benefit. Funny right, wouldn't that the single mum needs more leaves to care for thier children, and don't you think this is discriminative against single mum? So sad for them.

wendyg,
i am busy enough with one baby. dont think i want another one in my house to handle, though i welcome mummy n baby to come to my house..keke

luca,
My gal eats bee gor everyday since she is 6 mths old. She has no prob with it.
for example, if she is having fever (*touchwood*), i will give her more millet instead of red long grain brown rice.
when she is down with flu n cold (*touchwood*), I will give her red long grain brown rice instead of millet, mix with the short grain brown rice.
So i just mix n match the different type of rice depending on her health. I am lucky that my MIL know alot abt diff type of rice grain n fruits etc,as she read up on it, so I will just ask her when I have doubts.
Used to stock up on commercial cereal but I seldom use them at all, so decided to sell them away since homecooked cereal (bee gor) is more nutritious than commericial one.