(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB, AngelSky,
I'm the other way round. Hee, it's me who's very protective of my gal. I will tell my hubby to lower the tv volume or face her away from the TV. He always get very irritated with me cos he can't enjoy his favourite shows. I dun wish to let my baby watch too much TV for now. Of course, I understand that sometimes bo bian, cos my PIL always have the living room TV on. My gal also likes to watch TV and will tilt her head towards the TV.

babe,
My gal have the tendency to turn her head towards to one side. The PD said its normal for bb to do that but my MIL asked me to check with the PD again during her 4th mth checkup just to be safe. She mentioned that my hubby had this problem when he was a baby. They found out that he had a lump at his neck area, that's why keep turning to one side. He had to go thru physio as a baby, and apparently, it's rather painful cos he cried and cried during the physio sessions. Think you can check with your PD the next time you visit.

Jayden’s mummies,
Yeah, after naming my boy Jayden, I later found out some friend’s friends who name their babies Jayden too. I know about 6 to date liao. It must be the new Michael or David!

Mandy,
I just went to KL not long ago. My boy slept most of the way to KL, as he can sleep well in cars. We stopped mid-way for a feed and nappy change in the car.
Shopping - Mid Valley (they have a new section/building), 1 Utama, Jalan Imbi area also has a lot of shopping. The latest shopping centre in KL is called Pavillion, lots of individual boutiques, but I find them pricier than Sg’s. Check out the Kenko there, u can see pple trying out the Fish Spa. Looks interesting. It’s only RM38 for 30mins. I was tempted, but my boy was making a bit of noise so I had to pass. We brought along our own stroller to KL, but some of the shopping centres do provide them (eg. Pavillion provides MacLaren strollers, I saw someone wheeling it around and it said “Property of Pavillion” or something like that). As for nappies, it seems that for the same brands, Sg’s is cheaper, but they have a lot more other brands there which I didn’t really compare.

Babe,
My boy seems to look more towards one side too, that’s why one side is flatter than the other. PD said that it’s normal and said that his head is alright compared to a lot of other pple, but I am still not convinced. I have tried to turn his head the other way countless of times when he’s sleeping to balance them, but he turns back in less than 5 mins. During the day, u can place toys or things of interest on the side which he turns less to assist him in turning the other side.

Btw, when is it alright for our babies to watch TV? My boy keeps tilting his head to the TV too, but like precious_moments, I will tell my hubby to lower the TV volume or face him away. But he likes to make my son accompany him watch soccer. Any one subscribe to Baby TV?

shooting star, same as u, turn his head he turn back n he sleeps on tummy somemore. haha, I place all toys on the less favored side, he dunno how he wiggle till he turn ard to haf the toys on his favoured side....

precious moments, thks..will chk out wif pd at 5m

Babe,

Yup, that was me. Actually, I was surprised to see the maid suddenly appeared in front of me. I asked her if she queued, she pointed behind but think her employer was behind too. Then I told her, I queued and she mumbled something and walked off. So weird lor. Where were you? Don't tell me that was your maid hor. =p

Kitsune,

I went to look for you but your friend said you were not around. =(

here's my girl at 4 mths in the bumbo - so much more 'steady' now.

she's sick too even tho on 100% BM. havin cold n cough for almost 2 wks liao

1423881.jpg

Just brought my boy for the injection. He now weighs 7.5kg. Only put on 0.5kg. He refused to drink milk since Sat. So sian when coming to bottle feed him. Keep on crying.

My elder boy was also on TBF also kana bronchatitis twice. BF at least their immuse system is stronger as compare to my elder girl.

michelle
Emma is soooo cute! *hugz*

blackbatz
aiyah, from Central, no need to take train to Lai Chi Kok, just cross over to Hong Kong station of the Tung Chung line and take to Kowloon (jus one stop away) And from Mongkok, dont take to Lai Chi Kok, u're making one big round, just take cab/bus, 5mins away only.

babe
my gal also used to look left side, so much so, i also scared, then sleep also tilt left, so PD asked me to roll towel and tilt her to the right, we did it, now, her head more balance liao...but i think her preference is still left.

I totally agree on the sling...dat day i went PD i also carry my gal using sling, she BF and then slept inside it. Somehow i tot her positioning like a bit odd.

shooting star
i subscribe to Baby TV. guess it's the same in Sg and Hk also bah.

Babe, nice to see you too. Hot babe? No one ever called me that before. You made my day man...

VioletIce, sorry I missed you. Did you call? Aiyah, too busy shopping lar (babe can vouch for that). Plus the handle of plastic shopping bag Isetan gave me broke so I very 'pek chek' when shopping cos had to leave the spoilt plastic bag (with the barang I've chosen)near the cashier at Level 4 then keep depositing my stuff there as I shop. Even had to to queue without my stuff. So scared the security guard clear my 'unguarded' bags away. The queue was so long... that I ended chatting with a 30+40 lady in front of me who bought so many Endo pots for herself and her colleagues. Finished shopping at 2pm, quickly rushed to pump cos was supposed to pump at 11:30am. :p

I bought so much, exceed $500. :p Lucky got $250 Isetan vouchers that my hubby's colleagues gave him.

So, did anyone of you buy Gaya bags? ;)

Mandy, I bought swim diapers for my gal at the Isetan private sale just now. Usual $24.90, now less 15%. Can wear until 3 years old cos got adjustable velcro waistband.

violetice...haha that's not my maid and I no maid...haha or I should say I'm the maid. I was slinging my boy and before the employer...midway in queue and kinda glance say ur face! U look likd u've regained ur figure and all...pretty mommy ya!

Kitsune, me too! Burst budget and wonder if I'm buying on impulse. Finally got 2 pairs of shoes to replace my old ones which all gave way after preggy and not wearing them.

Babe, I forgot your real name. Paiseh, can PM me? I bought 2 pairs of shoes too, one from sole lovers, one from Crocs. Very happy with my sole lovers shoes cos I 'beow' for long time liao but waiting for Private sale to buy. Now got 30% off. Hee.

Kitsune,

Nope, I didn't called bec your friend said you're probably shopping around and I didn't want to bother you since you're busy spending money. LOL! Why you don't get an extra plastic carrier from them? $500! Wow, lucky got vouchers or else quite heavy expenditure hor. Though I can understand very well!! Isetan sale is worth going!

Babe,
Were you carrying your boy in an aqua blue sling? Thought I saw someone familiar but can't placed names. I did not regained my figure lor. It's the black attire. Hide all my fatty body!

I asked Isetan for another plastic bag cos initially I only had one, they took so long just to come back with the 2nd bag. Then, my original bag broke, by then I 'sian' to hang around and wait for another plastic bag lor. :p Ya, bought lots of stuff, got the Fisher Price Baby Grand Piano for my gal (UP$139.90, less 30% so $97.93) including birthday presents for my cousin's kids since got sale. Bought so much, asked for free delivery so can only admire my stuff next Sat.

I am disturbed. I just put my girl to sleep and I should be sleeping, but I am disturbed.

My gf just told me that she enrolled her boy for pre nursery and he is not even a year old. pengsan. she say there is a long waiting list for some schools and childcare becoz her boy was born last year, which is the golden pig year. I mean waiting list! O, did I mentioned its for 2010, we are not even halfway through 2008.

Anyway now thinking about it, I abit she bu de my girl go school, I am such a weird mama right, I am thinking rather than she cry first day of school, maybe end up I am the one crying. :D

Do you gals think 3 is too young to be sending them to school? Or would 4 be better? But then keep them at home for so long, like mountain tortoise le. But to send them to school so young (or is 3 still consider young?) also like not very good le.

Hehehe, dont mind me being so bo leow, ask such silly questions at this time of the night.

violetice, I was in purple sling...the aquablue one I think is the employer..keke...ok lah, I had to buy new bigger size clothes coz waist n tum n bum juz can't make it.

kitsune, the crowd at shoes was terrible..bought from litto Otto and URS. Saw sole lovers but too many ppl to squeeze in to beow. Next time Think will go a day earlier to try and juz take on actual day. Think can't pre-reserve shoes right?

Angelsky
ur not bo liao AT ALL lo..I was equally disturbed and in a dilemma. When I gave birth, my hubby's boss in HK told him he shud start looking for a good school so my hubby tot he's talkg abt primary school but then realises tat he's talkg abt nursery! He said the good ones normally get full and parents are registering earlier and earlier...some even from birth!! So not Sporeans kiasu only lah! Now me like dilemma cos we dunno how long we r going to be in HK one ma...register HK also must pay money one ma, debentures here si beh expensive! Wat if register liao by then go back Sg? And even worse go back no nursery to send my gal to cos all full liao? Don't say nursery, kindergartens and primary also same! I'm not even sure if I wan her to be educated in sg cos altho very good system but si beh stressful so yah I think I will also cry instead of my gal when the time comes! Anyway even if we kiasu register her both sides we also dunno how to choose a good nursery and we can't really visit them to chk their facilities etc..so yah ur not alone I'm thinking so far away...kiasu societies are forcing us to think earlier and earlier...sometimes I'd think MY GOD! My gal is jus FOUR mths leh!!? My hubby's boss told us not to procastinate anymore some more..bb jus turn 4mths and I'm considered as procastinating?? *stress*

Hi, JanBB, Angelsky & QQ.

Re: Similac

Thanks for the info about sample tin. It will be useful for me later... But for now, I don't think will give stage 2 to my girl yet. You see, her diarrhea is still there & not getting much better even taking PD's medicine. It has been the 5th day liao.. Poor girl, buttocks red red... Very 心痛!!! Somemore, yesterday when I fetch her home from ILs place, she was having fever!!! 38 degrees!!! And, my MIL did not even notice about it! ... I immediately felt the fever when I carried her... Wish she could have been more alert... No wonder when I was there, she told me that baby kept crying...

Think today I will go & buy Insomil milk for my girl... Coz just can't let her diarrhea continues... she is getting skinner each day... Sob sob...

Hi Krystle,

Poor mummy, <hugz>.. ya, u shld stop the similac first, hurry go &amp; buy Isomil.. Dun worry, the soy protein will help your ger to grow too. Muz also let your ger drink more water, if not she will get dehydrated with too much diarrhea.

Btw, are u the one using the same gynae (dr tan, glene) as me?

Angelsky,

U make me stress.. my boy arrived early in dec 2007 leh. That mean i need to get him enrol now ah??
Wow so fast.. baby dun even know how to walk &amp; talk.. now muz enrol him to classes..
OMG!!!

Mylife,
had a good laugh..At least S'pore ones just put name down on waitlist. No need to put up $$ yet..Your hubby boss is a hongkonger ah?? "Cross the bridge when you reach"..Since people mention, just take time to do some "research" (sounds like graduating project hor).

Sometimes, people put their names down cos they want a good time slot for their kids (example 8.00am). For some enrichment classes, weekend class tend to get filled up quickly especially in the morning.

Elements 5 mins taxi ride..Should have told me earlier..The good thing in HK is that taxi ride are much cheaper than Singapore. You don't get heart attack each time the meter jumps.

babe
the PD confirmed it. I was referring to my #1 hor. He kena twice just b4 he hit 2YO.

michelle
awwwwwwww, emma cutie pie

krystle
baby lao sai 5 days... what did the doc say?

mylife,
I also in dilemma about whether to enrol her in jakarta now, coz I still not sure if I wanna go over and join my hubbie now. given that play is so important as well as having peers of the same age, going over would mean depriving her of that too, since its only going to be the 3 of us. the whole night I was thinking. i was talking to hubbie the other day about school fees of schools, omg, a check reveal that popular schools near my area, per term as much as 900 and the price is for 2009 and 2010 pre nursery, so nursery is cheaper but nursery only starts 2012, thats going to be even more kua zhang to enrol for 2012, thats 4 years away. i am not even sure if we wanna pay so much for kindergarten, not that i am being stingy, but so early everything already so ex, but then schools also important to nurture her love for school too. hia~~~~~, this is really "mei shi zhao shi fan".

JannBB,
pai seh la, dont mean to make you stress, but no one to talk to about such stuff, so I also very stress, ask my mum, she say i bo leow, even have such a thought to send my girl to such expensive preschools, ask me to find a cheaper one, but its just a neighbourhood church kindergarten I enquiry, cant imagine those better ones. I say my mum sua ku, but she say I bo leow. kekeke.

krystle,
*hugs*, is bb better now? like JanBB says, stop similac and see how? and I tot similac will cause constipation.

blackbatz
when I was first told we shd be lookg at nurseries choices by the boss I also had a good laugh...then realized he's not joking.
I also do research abit, discovered even the Spore Intl School here needs debentures for the kindergarten and mind u, the debentures is in the range of hkd100,000 AND if I read correctly, partial refund or was it no refund if cancel leh! Siao rite??!! Here ah, u got money u win lo! Some more to get into a good school, got to fight with those filthy rich ang mohs with disgustingly fat paycheck! Even rentals also all ganna push up by them lo cos all paid by companies expat package, they dont even need to bargain, people quote a price, they jus agree...sorry lamentng abit here! But I agree on the taxi ride lah...at least the 1st jump is not so soon. Haha, yah actually Elements is jus round the corner of where ur stayg (langham plc).

blackbatz
Yup, his boss born in HK but grew up in the States.

Angelsky
how long is ur hubby gonna be in Jakarta? Jakarta school fees also do expensive one ah??

angelsky/mylife,
wah already looking at schools! i'm not even thinking about it, *stress* now, our babies only 4 months, seems like even if we don't want to think about it, the problem come knocking on your doors already. mylife, hkd100,000 debentures?! how come need to buy their bonds as a deposit? and it's so much...*faint*

re: isetan pte sale
it was an eye opener for me! my 1st time at the pte sale..haha..ok didn't really buy much for myself but swore that it'll be a different case the next time round. bought most of my stuff from the baby section...quite good discounts..mostly min 20% - 35%, bought feeding bowls, avent cup holders, pacifier for 6-18 mths, powder holders, teethers....etc.etc.. oh and bought a skirt for myself...quite a good trip i would say, definitely go again...hehe

Angelsky,
Think is good for me to know the "situation" outside too.. Is juz that i didn't expect so fast i muz recce pre-school..heehee.. Somemore I intend to shift hse by early next yr.. now muz also add this factor into the area of my selection liao.

Mylife,
Heard that HK living standard &amp; expenses is higher than S'pore ah, is it true? Are you staying in HK for gd?

I just received a call from Dumex and they will be sending me the Mamil Gold step 2 formula sample. I have decided to let my boy continue with Friso since he's doing very well on it (8.9kg at 4 months!!). If anyone is interested can let me know, they will send it in the next 2 weeks.

mei,
still looking around.. my area is too noisy with the irritating jets.. and i was so lucky staying juz beside a "crazy" neighbour.. That family like seeing us "buay siong" ever since we tell them nicely to keep their broom away as is facing our door directly as wat our fengshui master advise us... Then the next time they see us at our gate &amp; they at the lift..they will hurry go down w/o having the courtesy of waiting.. And they will close their door when see us coming back home.. Haiz..

yvonne..
wow wow 8.9kg!!

mei
we shld do a list update or showing their pix.. see which baby is champion in size..heehee ; p

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

Mummies keen to sign up, u can add ur nick below and pm me details (mummy's name/contact/child's name/dob) :
1. shooting_star
2. luvv
3. babyship
4. shorty_gal
5. kitsune_sg
6. pm_babe
7. shannonbaby
8. lyn78
9. mandygoh
10. mom2nat
11. dawn (x2)
12. yen
13.becky_ cat

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial Class</font>
Age? 6 months onwards

Mummies keen to sign up, u can add ur nick below and pm me details (mummy's full name/contact/child's full name/dob) :
1. mei
2. Shooting_star
3. Luvv
4. babe (babyship)
5. Jacelyn (shorty_gal)
6. kitsune_sg
7. pm_babe
8. shannonbaby
9. Lynn Chong (lyn78)
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy (dawn) x2
13. yen2007
14. sg_audrey
15. becky_cat

Hi, JanBB, angelsky, wendyg.

I wanted to let her drink soy-based milk since she started LS... But that HB of mine, kept saying dun want. Dun know what he is thinking... Now after 5 days, then LL agreed...

PD said the LS may continue up to 1 week. But she asked us to bring back baby if her poos got blood or she vomit or she got fever. But since her fever is just a while &amp; I already gave her the medicine (got from GP previously when doing 6-in-1 jab), her fever subsided.

But I don't feel like going back to the PD. Coz that day, she came to clinic at 10am when her clinic is supposed to start at 9am!! YOu know making so many mummies &amp; babies waiting for her. Her whole clinic is flooded &amp; some poor parents got to wait outside under the sun. Then when she came, she used super-sonic speed to see all the patients. Feel like she just want to hurry us away... Not happy about this.

Yes, JanBB. We had the same gynae (Dr. Tan, Gleneagles).

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
Age? 6 months onwards

Mummies keen to sign up, u can add ur nick below and pm me details (mummy's full name/contact/child's full name/dob) :
1. mei
2. Shooting_star
3. Luvv
4. babe (babyship)
5. Jacelyn (shorty_gal)
6. kitsune_sg
7. pm_babe
8. shannonbaby
9. Lynn Chong (lyn78)
10. mandygoh
11. mom2nat
12. Tansy (dawn) x2
13. yen2007
14. sg_audrey
15. becky_cat
16. Joyce (Lj2)

mei, i have pm u my details.

dear mummies, i need help. my boy have not been poo poo for 3days(including today). he having problem pooing cos he tried very hard to push but cannot and end up crying and screaming. how how how? what can i do?

Babe, have u tried putting ur boy to sleep on the opposite side of his bed (i.e. where his feet used to be)? I have been doing that, I think it helps a bit, coz at least when he wakes up, he will turn towards our side where all the noise is, which is his opposite side. The problem is my boy still turns to his favoured side to sleep the rest of the time.

Michelle, Emma is sooo cute.. she looks so sturdy in the bumbo seat, my boy's head is still a bit wobbly when he is sitting in it.

MyLife, is Baby TV good?

Re: Schools
Seems like everywhere is the same, must register early these days. I was told in Perth a lot of pple register for private schools the day their baby is born. Even pple who aren’t kiasu are forced to be kiasu! I have also been wondering if I should enrol now tho it seems very early to me too. I have not even bothered to check out which schools are good around my area. The worse thing is that if I register now and we have to move, it will be so much of a hassle to send my boy to school if we move far far away. Our apartment is intending to try for en bloc, so we may have to move in the future, must we really enrol so early?
Angelsky &amp; My Life, how long are u planning to be away from Sg for?

Shooting star, mylife

Re: Schools

Supposedly we should be away for the next 2 years, but by then to plan will be quite last minute, so I now contemplating if I should go back to work. But I feel quite confused also. We sold our place before we left Sg, so we are also looking ard for a new place, so my concern also if we were to enrol now, end up we move away from the area, then its another headache.

Similac Stage 2

Abbott called me just now, telling me that they will be sending Similac Stage 2 to my boy. I asked how to switch when he reaches 6th month and the lady said, one feed infant formula, next feed Stage 2 and a few days is good enough liao.

Schools

My god, our babies only 4 months old and we're discussing schools? I realized I must be quite laid back when you gals go on about the research you have done. Shucks, do we really have to start so early? What are the good nursery in SG? Julia Gabriels? Growing Up Gifted?

shooting star, I thot weird to let him sleep where his feet is lehz...heehee..if it helps I'll try...

Schools
Wa, u all talking about schools for the little ones. My #1 is 2yo and I haven't even look for nursery. So competitive ah...I sending her to cc though this june coz go back work so that #2 can be taken care by my mom. I think I dun wan to overstress my kid. Prob juz look for a nearby church kindergarten.

Something to share with the Mummies here!

Want to keep your man happy? Treat him like a dog!

Can animals teach us how to keep our relationships happy?

In the May issue of Her World, psychologist Dr Judith Meyerowitz believes that women should start treating their husbands like their pet dogs if it's a happier marriage they are after.

The clinical supervisor of America's National Institute of Psychotherapists believe that pet owners can learn a trick or two from their dog's obedience training classes.

Keep a loose leash
Don't keep your partner caged up, just like you would not keep your dog confined in a cage all day. Spouses also need their own friends, hobbies and time away from their partners.

Give lots of praise
If your pet dog does something you want, you would reward it immediately. Same logic applies for the husband - say "I appreciate that" the moment he does something considerate for you.

Let him make a mess
Dogs like to have their own space to scatter their toys around or mess their blankets just so. Likewise, husbands should be given leeway to mess the place up a little without having their wives jump down their throats. It's better to have a messy house but a comfortable and happy husband.

Show me the love
Most pet dogs have a favourite place to be scratched or touched. Dr Meyerowitz said: "If you haven't already done so, then you should learn where and how your mate likes to be touched."

Keep him well fed
Many women have dinner cooking when their husbands come home, but delay serving the meal. Feed your husband at the same time each day. But if you can't do that, at least don't keep him waiting. After all, you would not keep withhold a treat from your dog after holding it out to him. In the same way, have dinner at the same time each night, so he knows when to expect dinner.

For the full story, grab your latest copy of Her World at all newsstands now.

janbb
we dunno how long we r going to be in HK, which is definitely got a hgher living expenses than Sg. Hubby's job offer is nor a contract based so he'll work here for as long as he's hired lah...he seems quite happy and work well with his colleagues so my guess is..prob quite long...dunno la...

Shootingstar
I subscribed to both BabyTV and one more British based CeBe or BeBe...sometimes I let my gal watch, but my hubby commented say my gal looks bored and watch the program like its abit bo liao cos sometimes abit slow also hahaha

Violetice
I had the EXACT same sentiments as u...our babies only 4mths!! But as shootingstar said, non kiasu parents also forced to be kiasu lo!

My hubby is thinkng maybe let my gal hv her preschool here so die-die by primary 1, we will move bk to Sg bah?

wanna check with those experience mummies, normally how long does it take for a baby to recover from the fever? Xavier's fever goes up and now, he cant finish his milk and fuss a lot, I am not even sure where he is uncomfortable with.. see already very heart pain.

He is due to his injection soon, on this rate, I had to change the appt date.

yen

Thanks. But i dont seem to be able to get to the page to request for samples. How do u do it?

shooting star

Thanks for your advice.

Angelsky, me also thinking of going back to work... but new problems will arise if i do that. Sigh..

Babe, I thot it weird too when a midwife suggested it to me. But anything is worth a try. You can also try those pillow with a ‘hole’ (just a piece of cloth with no filling) in the centre. Actually my boy’s head is still sort of the same, but at least it doesn’t seem to be getting worse.

Icy, my boy usually gets a fever after his injections, but it only lasts about 1.5 days before subsiding.