(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Can ah..Got such services one ah..No wonder I always see packages at the counter. Do you need to spend a certain amount to qualify for reservations?

Blackbatz,

Can.... We can reserved clothing 3 days advance. So on the actual day dun need to join in the croud ti try out clothes and all sizes sold out. Lter after work u can also drop by to reserve ma.

Wonder if here anyone choose to bring baby to polyclinic for the free compulsory immunization jabs instead? Why isn't this preferred over 5in1/6in1 since it's free? Appreciate any feedback. Thanks in advance!

Blackbatz,
Did u stayed at Langham Place? How was it? Me planning short trip to HK too...but dunno which hotel gd. Any gd buys?

hi wendy,

wow, maybe 3 of us can find time to meet downstairs with our babies since we stay so close. I am also working but now on no pay leave till end June.

I have a problem here. Anyone can help?? One breast has more milk than the other? Is that normal?? About a third lesser.
My baby 4 months now, still can increase milk flow??

mandy
my fren's boy is coming to 3yo liao. same as my #1.
as for your boob 'problem', try latch bb more on the boob with less milk. that worked for me.

blackbatz
yeah, any feedback on Langham Place? My previous trip i saw it fr Mongkok shopping street... *drool* Will definitely ask travel agt abt their rates if i'm brave enuf to go at year end. With my 2 boys!!!

Hi Wendyg,
RE : HK Trip
Shop until legs ached. Lots of stairs. Definitely, not a place for active 5 years old. My son found it boring even though we brought him to Disneyland and Ocean Park. He told my dad, "Must walk very, very, very long". Thankfully, some shopping mall like IFC and HabourCity provides free rental of stroller. If not, we carry him until die. Hardly can find toy shop or dept.

Went to Disneyland on the wrong day, it was their hottest day and no trees or shade. Went there, straight away rented a stroller (though for up to 3 years old only). Even Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck, Pooh Bear characters take a break every 10 minutes. The rides were fun and safe for kids. Maybe if I go again next time, will stay at the disney hotel for 1 night (for the kid's sake).

Lifestyle in HK is expensive..Simple dimsum breakfast for 3 of us is like HK$60 to $80. All the maids look very happy and clever (maybe because they draw higher salaries).

Dare not buy clothes from grandville street or arygle center. Now I'm in between sizes. Cannot buy those free size and cannot try. Ended up bought mostly from H & M. Down below my hotel is H & M, but it's crowded at any time of the day. Amazing. Ended up, I cross over to HK island to buy from H & M.

Mylife,

I cannot imagine myself travelling around with my Maclaren. No ramps, not many escalators and certainly not many comfortable nursing rooms.

As for expressing, I do it as and when I can cos toilet is too crowded (don't want to hold up the queue). I'm convinced that Avent manual pump is very reliable.

As for #2, my mum said very "kwai". No fuss when it comes to bottle feeding etc..Drank EBM (but my mum mixed with a little FM to mask the "funny" smell). But when I returned, baby gave me face, make a lot of noise and want me to carry and even want to latch on last night (scratch my T-shirt).

Work
Will return only when the new school term starts, didn't want to go back to mark exam scripts and make my "blood" boil.

blackbatz
-wud abt LANGHAM PLACE....
-we'd bring our trusty umbrella stroller there. 3yo can only walk so much.
-when my boys older, i may stay Disney hotel. Now #2 can't appreciate yet. And Disney hotel v far from the rest of HK. Husband dun like idea of Disney day-in, day-out.

where did u eat dimsum? coffeeshop or restaurant? what abt Da Jia Le foodcourt =)

Langham Place Hotel
Very clean and nice 5 star hotel. Everyday change bedsheets, clean rooms, I went with Farmosa. For 3 of us, travelling on CX and extension night, inclusive of Disneyland entry tix, paid $2100 altogether. My last trip to Perth, I chose a 3 star hotel and my boy ended up with spots and itchy rashes all over. So learnt my lesson liao. You can also try YMCA Mongkok.

Langham was strongly recommended by my friends with kids. Hubby will go up to the spa every morning to use their facilities. Ideal location, my boy would sleep at 8 plus. After that, I will continue to shop (since all closes at 11 pm). Only problem is occupancy rate is so healthy that they would only give late check out up till 1 pm only. I extended till 4 pm, so paid HK $300 which I think was necessary cos my boy must have his afternoon nap. Otherwise will go cranky all the way.

Alternatively, can always opt for Kimberly Hotel (cheaper) / Miramar, nearer to Tsim Sha Tsui.

So of the cheaper packages puts you up at hotels that are very far away, so must check properly.

Wendyg,
For food. Walk to Nathan Road. A lot of dim sum restaurants. Just look at the sigh board hanging up there. Every few steps, there will be a dim sum restaurants. They don't have coffeeshops like ours. I think their dimsum restaurants is the basic. Of course, around mongkok area got a lot of "cha cham teng". But they are very oily and cramp, how to squeeze kids.

Yes..Stroller is a must and a light weight one. It's a common sight for partent to carry the stroller down the stairs, walk a few steps, cary it up again.

Can stay at Disney for 1 night, then take your time to visit disney.

If take first flight, reach HK around noon time. Can check into disney hotel and then go theme park. Otherwise, can go to Tung Chung (factory outlet) and shop. 7 plus, go back to Disney to watch fireworks again. Next day, walk around theme park somemore and check out around noon. Anyway, Disney is losing $$. I believed they will extend the promotion (stay and play for 2 days).

Actually with babies, I prefer to go on a cruise.

mylife,

rainforest jumperoo selling at ChangChoon (the chinatown store tat sells bb stuff) at $225(with free delivery).

any good things to look out for at the isetan sale?

wendyg, diaper not wet but leak. i guess must be my boy sleep side way that cause the leak bah.

Joyce,

U try huggies. I just intro this brand to my boy. Quite comfy for him and the cutting does not create a red marking on hid tight as the cutting is higher than other brands.

Hi Blackbatz, which travel agent you went to? My friend also recommend me Langham place.
. But we wanna go HK and Macau too. But with my girl, not sure if we can managed.

dawn
yvonne was the one who asked about the jumperoo possibility of being cheaper in HK, i have no idea how much it is in Spore...so am jus letting Yvonne know lo.

Yvonne
there u go...can buy from Dawn's recommendation! No need to buy such bulky stuff from HK on your trip here!

Blackbatz
Aiyah...u shud have come over to Elements and no need to cross over to HK island to buy H&M cos here also have 2 levels of H&M, quite big and almost always not a lot of people one! HK is like dat one lo...everywhere oso staircase, dats why some expat mommies here advised me, if possible, use sling/carrier cos no need to fold, unfold, carry down and up staircases! Unless hubby is around or i know the place i'm going to got lifts/escalators, i will use sling for now...cant imagine when baby is bigger! Too bad didnt get to meet u though!
As for toys, eh, u go Harbour City never go Toys R Us? If u walk over to Ocean Terminal which is linked to Harbour City, the entire Basement Floor is kids shops. Also got a nice changing room and feeding area. But weekends si beh crowded one!

Hotels in HK
Yup, totally agree Langham Place is nice! I like their bathroom! Last time when i come to HK for leisure, i will also try to see if got promo price got their rate a bit steep. But their rooms are quite new. Personally i dont like Kimberley, not cheap yet, rooms so small and smelly. Miramar still okayish.

wendy
i have a copy of Prampushers in HK with me...if u like, can photocopy and pass to u for reference when u bring your kids, supposedly tells u where to shop, and which shopping mall is kid friendly and got nice nursing rooms, etc. A nice shopping mall would be Olympic City, which is very near Mongkok and Langham Place. Take cab less than 5mins can reach. It's located at the Tung Chung MTR line, which is somewhat like our normal North-South line and North-East line...parallel...it's near Mongkok but not wise to take MTR cos u end up making one big round, going interchange when it's actually very near. Anyway, this mall got 2 phase, one with Da Jia Le, and the other is huge with all the family friendly shops, got a dimsum restaurant, some kids shops, and even got nice changing rooms, with a lock-able nursing room on the 2nd floor.

angelsky
when ru coming to HK ah? And oh, when ru moving to Jakarta with bb?

<font color="ff0000">For mommies coming to HK, and got the time to, do meet up with me lah! Was very happy to catch up with sassy last time.
If no time to meet-up like Blackbatz (understandably cos i know must do lots of shopping with limited time in HK!) and need my help on directions and stuffs, just call my mobile 67168393 in HK yah! HK Summer Sale starting from 1July to 21Sept this year! Haha...me machiam like working for HK Tourism leh...hehe</font>

mylife, can you tell I am procrastinating about joining him. hai~~~~, I am so used to having my mum ard that the thought of being at home alone next time is kind of starting to freak me out. but then poor hubbie all alone, cannot see my girl, I also cannot bear. But my girl likes all the "re nao" and attention that grandpa and grandma gives her also. Now I take things one step at a time, wait for all her jabs finished Sept then I see if I should move over. kekeke. procrastinate, procrastinate.

BB sleeping now, so I browsing see when is a good time to go HK, wanted to go Aussie initially, but now thinking maybe next year go when she can walk and understand things more fun for her. I trying to figure out if stay Langham how much and how many days should we go, and sight see what, coz we also wanna go Macau. Confuse confuse me. :p

mylife
yeah i been to Olympic City 1 &amp; 2..
actually my objective of going HK is not for shopping. The obj is to meet my fren &amp; her family who relocated to HK (she lives One Beacon Hill) &amp; for my boy (and me!) to enjoy Disneyland. And my husband wants to go to the Mongkok area for computer stuff. If we can chio another couple friend to come with us, then it'll be more fun.
I'd like to chk out the factory outlet near Disneyland tho. Both times i went din hv the chance. And next trip we'll be sure to properly explore Ocean Park.
Husband carried my boy in the umbrella pram up &amp; down steps @ MTR stations. Even more so for 2nd trip coz i was 7m preg with #2.

i dun care much abt changing room coz i can change my boy's diaper anywhere. And i can breastfeed in public. where got time to look for nursing room.

blackbatz
eee, i dun like cruise. nothing to do/ see except eat eat eat. supposed to lose weight ley. And i can get seasick, can u believe it. In those huge cruise ships sommore.

Mylife, thanks for the dates on HK summer sale.
Great for planning cos I'm tempted to go HK in July, Aug or Sept hols. Was thinking of bringing my gal but an experienced mummy told me my gal won't enjoy Disneyland cos too young, no rides also. If very few clean nursing rooms, also very difficult to shop and Bf. Maybe it's better to go on our own for a short trip to recharge and go Causeway Bay. But don't know if I'll miss her terribly. :p

Esther Zhang,

I bring my child to polyclinic for 5 in 1 jab. Initially, i oso thot of taking the free jab, one DPT, one Hib and oral for polio. On 3rd month when i bring bb for chkup, the nurse straight away ask if i want to take 5in1 or 6in1, when i ask about the free jab, (e.g. jab left side for DPT n right side for Hib), they say normally they only give one jab at a time as it is torturing to give 2 at a time to bb. so if that's the case, take DPT n drink polio every month for 3rd, 4th n 5th month. Take Hep b in 6th month. take Hib on 7th, 8th n 9th month. one issue is the whole injection schedule will be very draggy n the other issue is oral polio, if baby dun drink the medicine well, the overall protection might not b there. so i decide to take 5in1 instead of the free jabs. hope u can understand my explanation.

angelsky
i can understand your dilemma, on one hand, everything is s familiar in Sg, with lotsa help, but on the other hand, hubby deprived of seeing baby and u everyday. But handling baby on your own is no mean feat lo...like these few days, dunno why my baby refuse to nap in the afternoon (not even in the yaolan, put in only cry like i wan to chop her) and very teh, always wan to carry, cannot leave her play alone. My helper went back to Indonesia for 2 weeks leave, actually, she was supp to start work only after she comes back but i requested for her to start immediately after she ended her contract with her previous employer so she can learn the ropes here before officially starting. Anyway, she left yday night, and my mom is away on Korea trip with my sis, so today it's supp to be me, myself and i. But i si beh useless, freaked out and ask hubby to take one day leave to help me cos baby very cranky, if no one around, i think i will end up not able to shower, eat or rest at all. 24/7 with baby...can only run to toilet for like 5mins before she starts to wail. Well, but that's just me and my difficult baby lah. I do envy babies who are so easy, can coo and ahhh on their own, and mommy jus go about do stuffs and occasionally play with them...what to do, different baby, different personality. I really wonder if i'm spoiling her by being with her all the time, and since i'm the main caregiver, whether she'll have a worse-off separation anxiety when the time hits. I cannot imagine when my mom's visa is up and she got to return to Spore...hopefully by then, Rylee is better (i doubt) and my helper is more familiar liao.

Anyway, i digress. On the other hand, it's good and heartwarming to have hubby at my side instead of doing weekends and the occasional Skype...cos i'm the type very clingy to hubby one lo. Tat time, rem after confinement i also wondering if i shud stay longer in Spore...but in the end a fellow mommy told me hubby will miss all the "firsts" of baby if i choose to stay in Sg, so, i decide to up and go. Well, at least she gave her first laugh-out-loud to hubby, so it's worth it lah!

wendy
alamak...explain so cheong hei, yuan lai u've oredi been to Olympic! kekeke. Haha, my hubby also super fan of computer stuffs in Mongkok area...he can definitely "ah ka liao" with urs! And yes, must must explore factory outlets in Tung Chung. Wahhh...u very "sud" leh...can change diapers anywhere?? *salute* I can BF, with my nursing cover, but changing diapers....ermm....still cant lah.

I have never been on a cruise! Cos there was one time back when i was working, we were invited by the cruise to go on board a stationary ship (think it was Star Pisces back then) for a party and to visit their ship...alamak, never knew for that hundreds of dollars, the basic room is so small and to have a little teeny weenie machiam like prison circle hole, i need to top up another hundred or something and consider as "Room with Window"!! But i am still curious why all my frens love cruises and mourning the upcoming departure of Star Virgo to HK. Some even say wan to fly to HK and take the cruise from HK...duh. Anyway, now with a kid, MAYBE one day i'll find the courage to try. I am scared of having the feeling of claustrophobic, like being confined in the ship out in the big ocean...cannot go ANYWHERE! Just stuck in the ship.

kitsune
yah, if and when u come, must come and look for me ok! Yup, agree with ur fren, no point taking baby to Disneyland la. if u wan, i can try copy and give u the Prampusher Guide in HK. For BF, jus use nursing covers lo...dats wat i'm doing so far...baby hungry, i jus latch...less hassle of bringing bottles and flask out.

mylife
change diaper easy ley.. pram fully recline, stuff a changing mat under bb's butt &amp; can change liao lor. Action fast o'wise bb pee b4 new diaper is on. If want super fast, dun put diaper cream lo.
i v bad ley, other people eating their meal &amp; i'm changing bb's poo diaper. ahhahahaha. But as long as bb not crying &amp; drawing attention, the rest of the restaurant may not realise.

wendy
oh...i think i have a problem cos i'm so used to changing my baby's diaper on the changing table in my home and i always stand to the baby's side instead of facing her directly like wat ur doing when ur baby is in the pram. kekeke

<font color="ff0000">Mummies going to Isetan Private Sale, check out the Gaya Bag Counter. Having 20% + 10% off sale items. My friend is the distributor and I'm helping out. Can sell at discount if you see bags that you like and buy directly from us but must collect at SengKang.

Joey
Which Evenflo Exersaucer you got for your bb? Iam about to buy 1 and they will deliver to my house on this Sat. Just to make sure I buy a good value one...hehehhee

Tks

Wendyg,

<font color="aa00aa">Like you, I also change baby's diaper when he's lying on the pram. Sometimes my hubby will say that it's not nice with so many pple watching or pple eating there but then again, I try to change him in a corner or not so obvious place. I feel it's ok mah, babies mah, not everywhere has nursing rooms or changing tables.</font>

Kistune,

<font color="aa00aa">You will be there selling? So if I go tomorrow, should I just holler "Calling for Kitsune! Please reply? LOL</font>

haha, violetIce. Yup, I'll be selling but there'll be 2 staff working plus my friend so I'll be there from 10am onwards and I intend to pump and run other errands during the quieter hours. May leave by evening time unless the crowd is overwhelming. Sms me lar if you visiting. Hee.

hi mummies ..... fimally the so call 4mth celebration for TT is over! ... hahah she is shaved hahahah yeah i am so happy

yvonne

Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Up Cross St #03-132
Phone: 6532 7816

the shop too small to display stuff, so chk out what u want in the malls &amp; call them up to compare price.

Steph; if u gg hk, can stay at Kowloon hotel, clean and gd location. i go hk once a yr, i always stay at dis hotel value for $$. Of cse cant compare to Langham place.. hehehee!

Blackbatz; last yr during May i went hk and shop at H&amp;M for 3hrs ++ ,, my hubby went to mt his hk frz while i was buzi shopping at H&amp;M.. was at e central mtr boutique. whrs e other boutique? hopefully someone will open H&amp;M here..

mylife: i planning to go hk yr end.. actually was during June but my hubby cant tak leave, if i gg hk will bring my bb over too.

blessedbaby: urs is 2packs $16.40.

Attention! wetwipes can collect anytime aft 7pm @Pasir Ris Drive 4.v those who dont hav my hp can drop mi an email [email protected]

Kitsune: will pop by during lunchtime..

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies,
ah? isetan got such pre-reserve service? sh**. i shld have gone down and reserve then cos' i no member card but my bil is. wasted leh cos' i wanna get my #2 clothes. she outgrown her #1 clothes so fast!! i can go reserve then ask him go pay for me today. so wasted. TODAY is the day. ah!!!!!!! someone pls hit me!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Trial Class Details Needed</font>
Mummies interested to join any trial class (eg. kindermusik/aquaDucks), please PM me the below details so that i can compile. kam sia.
Mummy's Name:
Mummy's Contact: HP and Email
Child's Name:
Child's DOB:

sian..thot my bb sleeping thru till 3-4am liao then who knows past 2 nights when he wakes for feeds at that time he din wanna go back sleep till 5+am..last night worse, keep waking for feed on top of this 3am syndrome...if I working then siao liao

Isetan sale
I wanna go buy shoes..can pre-reserve shoes too?

<font color="aa00aa">Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class - 1-Jun-08</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>#S/N</TD><TD>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Payment </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>mei</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>VioletIce</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Angelsky</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jerrybeanie</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Manuka_Chan</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>pm_babe</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>blessed serene</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>BlessedBaby</TD><TD>sending cheque </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>QQ</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>Y </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>AngelaYong</TD><TD>by 15/5/08 night</td></tr></table>

Each pte trial class is (min and max) 12 babies and I've already 13 babies in the class. Mummies who signed up late, i've no choice but to reject you away. Sorry. Will let u know again if one of the above mummy opt out.

What I can do is to collate again for another pte trial class (yes mummies who signed up for 1-jun class can sign up again for another trial, after u've tried 1-Jun class). meanwhile, I've interested mummies who can't join the 1-jun class are:
1. steph77
2. lynnchong
3. Bbdear
4. Shooting_star
5. mandygoh

Alternatively, you can also be put on kindermusik waiting list and they will contact u when they have a vacancy for a trial.

<font color="aa00aa">aquaDucks Free Trial Class</font>
How many? 4 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Tanglin Village (so baby only need a swimming diaper)
When? Tues 9am-12pm or Tue-Fri 2.30pm-3pm. .
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

Mummies keen to sign up, u can add ur nick below and pm me details (mummy's name/contact/child's name/dob) :
1. shooting_star
2. luvv
3. babyship
4. shorty_gal
5. kitsune_sg
6. pm_babe
7. shannonbaby
8. lyn78
9. mandygoh

<font color="aa00aa">babe, i gave (and still giving) my #2 Feb-08 milk that i kept in freezer. frozen milk can be kept for a few mths (i usually use qtr as a guage) if frozen properly.</font>