(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam,
Our family's CNY tradition is totally opposite. My dad only has an elder bro whereas my mum has 7 other siblings so since young, we will always go to my maternal grandma's house on CNY 1st day. It was fun cos all my aunties/uncles/cousins are there and we will play mj and cards. After my grandma passed away, the kampung will all go to my mum's place on CNY 1st day. So we have always been closer to my mother's side of the family

Kitsune,
I laughed when I saw Macs "Notice" in the straits times this morning...so hilarious!

Mandy,
I have 2 types of Ikea drawers. The cheap cheap $89 one is ok but cannot put too much heavy stuff lah. The expensive one (can't remember if it's $299 or $399) is solid wood and very good! I bought 3 of those and never regret at all.

Mummies, I have some "technical" questions on potty-training for BOYS. Do you use potty (which type) or just a child-seat on the adult toilet? Boys are so difficult to train cos they tend to pee and poo at the same time and if they're seated on the normal potty, the pee will shoot outwards...know wat I mean? Hahaha...am I the only one whith this problem? I taught my boy to point his "didi" downwards into the potty and he does it but he will move about and when he actually pees, his didi would have shifted position and his pee is all over the place again. Is there any potty meant for boys only...hahaha?

hehhe, I am still around, no sign to pop anytime soon. Wonder how long I have to carry this heavy tummy for? Looks like I have another one on EDD again??

i am so tired of cooking last few days, but really, follow Jamie Oliver' recipes has inspired me alot. I love to cook for my family. Hubby saw me so tired and busy with cooking everyday, suggests that we should eat out until I give birth... but in the end we still come home and cook coz we don't like eating outside.

Dont know how to cook with 2 kids???

Yvonne,
Guess so, since your mum's side is so "dominant". When my grandparents were still around, have to follow the traditions strictly. But after they were gone, no more "rules" to follow already :)

blessedbaby,
I love Jamie Oliver! I have many of his cookbooks, but have yet to try out a recipe :) My hub always tease me buy cookbook for display only, keke.

You take good care ya. Can still cook, but don't tire yourself out. Cook simple one lo.

mylvera,
hello, you are here! How's your pretty little gal? Is she doing ok?

yovnne
i have the same query too and my failed attempts at getting X to sit on potty hor, i was the one who was holding the didi downwards coz i doubt he understands what i want him to do (to hold didi downwards). maybe now can understand my instructions liao but still he dont want to sit on potty leh

btw, my potty is quite high curved up on front and back so even if the spray hits the potty it will trickle down bah

Kam: yeah, I am head over heels with his recipes. Every dish I try, it turn out very nicely. Taste yummy and I really love the combination in his cooking. So wonderful.
my hubby used to think whats the big deal abt this Jamie Oliver (coz so many people likes his cooking), until I cook and he tries. He has no say but nods his head to agree. ;-)))

pixel & mylvera: I don't mind the cooking part, but the preparation part would be tiring. ;-)
We are so used to home cooked so now asking us to go out and eat something outside, we are very reluctant too. Or at least, I THINK we are wasting money if eat outside. So have to cook some simple dishes when #2 popped. Hubby will be my great help. ;-0)

Potty train:
My girl can call us when she is abt to do her biz, takes off her diaper and goes to toilet by herself. Then only me is allowed to bring her to toilet and she refused to wear training pants. One time, my hubby tried to put her on the throne, she refused and from that one, she doesn't want to toilet train anymore. So now, I have to stop for the time being. ;-(

kam,

she still under observation period. her lips are still red n her platelet count still high. we became the regular customers of our PD till she has to give discount. imagine my dad (he has to ferry all his grandchildren to PD) reports there almost every day, if not every week. was told by PD to bf as long as possible cos of #2's case. #2 in/out kkh A&E so often but PD refuse to diagnose him as asthma. she hope the prob will be gone when he grows older. tt's y u gals see me posting less n less often even tho i m online in fb.

blessedbaby,
I love to watch him cook on tv also. He is a great guy, besides being a great cook.

Just go 1 step by 1 step. See how well you can cope with 2 kids, then only you see if you can still cook or not. It's not easy, as many mummies here have shared. Don't push yourself too hard, k, just try your best. I do cook during weekends now, but not regular.

pixie,
Boys are so tricky right? I tried putting him to the toilet with child seat but his pee went all over the toilet seat, etc...such a mess. The potty I have was passed down from my niece and it's more of a girls potty since there's a divider in the front which will "knock" into my boy's didi. Guess I'll have to make a trip to kiddy palace and find a boy's potty.

blessedbaby
yes i have finished the book long time ago.
i have already incorporate a few tricks that i've gotten from the book in daily life.
but most of the tips n tricks are really common sense. but some are real life savers

kam,

closely monitored by hb n me only haha not by anyone else wor. my uncle say anything jz tell him den he will try to contact the ex HOD of kkh.

going back next tues to spread my virus to my colleagues n boss haha my whole family sick for few weeks liao. all coughing like mad. den i down with fever yday evening. but the notti gal still wana sleep with me only. the moment we put her in the living room's cot, she will cry. when i put her back to the single bed tat i m sharing with her, she smiled n sleep almost immediately. notti gal who goes round electrifying others. even the PD, staff of the clinic, some of kkh's nurses, ex HOD of kkh kena electrified!

Kam: agree with you. Thats why I am quite happy if #2 "delay" the bomb a bit.

Since so many mummies with 2 kids at close age sharing the toughness of looking after a toddler and a baby, I will take step per step first. Dare not commit. ;-))

I would love watching him cook on TV too but we have no TV in the house. ;-)

Yvonne, my boy doesn’t want to sit on potty, he pee and poo in standing position one.

Blessedbaby, understand, my son is so clingy that I had so much difficulty cooking too. Unless I give him some veg and he does the cutting on the floor. But still, it’s dangerous. He likes to cut veg and fruits, probably he sees me do this all the time

Kam/blessedbaby, I don’t have any Jamie oliver’s book leh. Sshare with me some vegetarian one if he has any? Hehe. issit all western food?

Mylvera, not sure whether I missed ur post, what happened to your gal?>>?? Eh so tiring dealing with ur kids who fall sick hor, pity u leh. Hopefully the asthma can outgrow. Me myself hs asthma too , but already outgrown. Only the sinus and sensitive skin is stuck with me till now.

Pixie, share with is the 531 thingy

just to share with u gals on 1 doc in clementi. i told my aunt to boycott him liao haha

i went there to see my uncle for my cough n my aunt brot me to that clinic for medical check up as i bot a insurance plan fr her. this is wat happened when the doc tried to take blood out from me. he poke my right hand with needle, turned the needle up/down/left/right just to get some blood. give up. changed hand. poked again n turned the needle up/down/left/right again! no blood again! angry! told me this "when u deliver, the staff in the hospital must had a nitemare!" i asked him y, he replied "cos it is so difficult to find a vein to poke!" turn to my right hand again. this time use the vein at my wrist. poked again n needle turned left/right/up/down AGAIN! n this time managed to draw some blood out. thank goodness man! but he only give me 1 plaster for the right wrist. went out, told my aunt abt it. she furious. demanded for 2 more plasters fr the asst to paste on the other areas where he poked. suddenly she asked me "why is my right wrist SWOLLEN?" quickly showed the asst n the asst told us to wait for doc. went to show doc. he said not swollen mah. faint. then he touched n say "ya, a little swollen." saw the plasters n asked me immediately "do u hv blood disorder?" i told him "nope, i dun hv any blood disorder" he told me off "if no blood disorder, why u nid plaster on the other areas?" WTF??? he anyhow poke n den classify me as blood disorder cos i use his plasters?

during the checkup, he asked me abt my wt, and if it stagnant for these few yrs? i told him, my wt stablised for recent yrs. asked me to weigh on the scale. increased by 1 kg! shouted at me n say "u increased by 1 kg wat!" i replied him "eh, i jz DELIVERED HOR! u expect the wt to come down so soon?" idiotic doc who is a lawyer too!

tongtong,

my gal was diagnosed with kawasaki.

tongtong: my girl not that clingy. She only comes to disturb me when I am cooking when she is tired or need to eat something. Why you let your boy using knife?? It's so dangerous.

Kam: If I don't remember wrongly, was it you that share the blog of how to make Play-doh at home? My girl loves to play with it. She can recognize few colors like white, black, blue, green, purple, pink. But the problem is the play doh dry very fast under the AU weather so I am thinking if I can make by myself for her to play. ;-)

tongtong
its actually very simple, but only for tods who understands the essence of "time".
if you do not wish for a screaming/crying child when you wish him/her to stop doing a particular activity, u use the 5min/3min/1min warning.

eg i want my boy to get out from his bath, i will say u got 5mins more.
then after 2mins, i will tell him he got 3mins more.
then after 2mins, i will tell him that he got 1min more, afterwhich he needs to get up.
1min later, i will request that he gets up.

even if my boy dun understand time hor, if i keep repeating the 5-3-1 thingy, he will know after 3 short interval warnings, he is expected to finish up his current activity and move on to the next.
without crying/fussing/refusing to leave the current activity.

Chaye,
I replied to your email. Please check.

Pixie,
My supplier said the masks is no longer available. So sorry, I will tt back money to you.

krystle,
Forgot to thank you for your thoughtful suggestion. I have talked to hubby over the lunch. And we both agreed yao lan is not the solution for us. Meanwhile I will just bear with the night wakings. Thanks for your suggestion all the same!

Kam,
No lah, so ke qi. You are a very strong-will and determined mummy. I am sure you know what is best for you and your family. You choose the hard way and go with it. If it was me, I would have sucuumb to the easy way out liao. You can do it! JIAYOU!!!

Steph, thanks for consoling me. I feel much better now. Celebrating RaeAnne's birthday at PG today. She ate so much of her Barney cake. Haha.
After that, we spend almost 3 hrs at ICA to collect Raelynn's passport (yeah! can buy her airticket to Penang liao ;)) and process RaeAnne's Chinese name change. Had to pay $110 to change 2 characters including $30 for birth extract. :p

Aqua
haha... thanks ah. i dun look young la. my hair nw like grass like tat

but next time i cannt chat so much in forum liao la.. wait u catch me. heheee..

Mylvera
do take gd care hor. if still not well.. extend ur leave lor.... health is more impt.

Pauline
changed raeanne's name? change to wat?

today we also brought Javier to CC to celebrate his bday. he enjoys its so much. once the bday song singing was finished.. he blew off the candles so fast tat we had no time to snap it!!... haha.. and he almost had 3rd serving of the cake and we stopped him. hahaa

Jess, changed her chinese name from 祺慧 to 旗芮. Stroke count is better and fits her dialect name Kay Ris more. ;)

Eh, Javier same birthday as RaeAnne meh? 22 Jan 08?

Pixie, we finally went to Rivervale Mall to shop at Daiso just now. Bought the bonito flakes and packet seaweed/sesame seeds for rice.

But hor, we were quite pek chek that it being a shopping centre, there is not even 1 diaper changing area no even in the toilets. Hubby had to bring RaeAnne into the male toilet and clean her upright. Tough cos she happened to be wearing Pet Pet open diapers when we went out. And he said the toilet was very dirty. :p

Mandy,
Paiseh, bo eng to take photo and upload but it's the MALM series of drawers. The Ikea catalogue was handy so I checked
. Mine is 4 drawers costing $199 (cheaper than I remembered) and they have 6 drawers, 3 drawers, etc. But this series quite difficult to self-assemble cos it's so damn heavy. We had the ikea recommended contractors do the assembly for us since we also bought a single bed for my boy. Their service is good and reliable.

kitsune
got ur message on the doraemon's thing. Ru sure u dont want me to get it for u first? After all, Sg only releasing it in April leh.

Jacelyn
I FEEL for u. I truly do becos i went thru post natal depression itself. It's really no joke. In fact, i think i still do have it, but the thing that gets me thru is my baby herself. Actually, i'm a little angry with u for being so impulsive...imagine if u had drank more or worse things that cud kill u instantly...u'd be dead now. And what will happen to ur babies?? I know it's beyond ur control then, but even with PND, u CAN control ur emotions. Try doing a lot of self talks to yourself (not to extend of being crazy lah). Remind urself again they're ur flesh n blood. Join some online chats of REAL moms who have had gone thru the same thing. It'll help, TRUST me. To get some me time, get help. What happened to ur maid? Get a babysitter if ur maid issues not resolved yet. Get away for 1hour and read or drink something by urself to gather ur tots. Even if it's jus going down to the coffee stall down ur block.
U can email me if u want to talk to. Can recommend some books to u. There was one book i read, i was laughing and crying (literally) when i was reading it and it felt good to know i'm not going crazy and i'm not alone (even though these women are like halfway across the globe from me)

Kam
For ur baby girl, it the night wakings sounds so AWFUL! 30x??? Sure or not? U mean u all were counting? hehehehehe. Sorry, dont mean to be laughing. But, perhaps u can try swaddling her? Maybe it cud help? Sometimes the babies Moro reflex will wake them involuntarily. And since u said u nurse her to sleep, then try pulling away BEFORE she's fast asleep, like maybe a little groggy. Cos imagine being snuggled close to Mommy's boobs and falling asleep...aaahhhhh, then waking up to the cold and empty crib, definitely will feel bad!
I used to swaddle Rylee until she's around 6months old. Tats when she got too active for swaddling. BUT, Rylee wasnt so bad in the night wakings, she only woke to feed maybe around 2-3x a night. See if it can help u.

CNY Gathering with Mylife
Haha...starting this....AGAIN. Any venues and dates suggestions or not?

Btw, does anyone knows where i can buy the Foogoo thermos jars and bottles? My fren want to buy but i cant find any BP threads on it anymore.

morning mummies
what a weekend!
my slow cook stew was well received, all wiped out within the day.
the wedding was crazy, and i am sooooooooooo tired...
after that, my boy came down with running nose n cough. and i came down with my same ole allergic nose too, at the same time. so have to take care of him + battle the itchy nose on sunday....

tongtong
can i check with u what is a good chinese-remedy for just heaty phlegm cough + running nose?
i gave him lots of barley liao leh...but dun want to go to ling yang that extreme lah
thanks ah, i know u sure got these tips on standby heehee

mylife,
Thanks for your suggestions. I didn't count literally, but she woke up between 2 to 4x every hour :-( I tried swaddling. It helped her to sleep better for the first hour, but when she wanted to move her hands and to find out she was swaddled, that got her very angry and wailed loudly. And I observed that she didn't have any moro reflex already, so I dropped the swaddling option. Now I usually unlatched her after she turns to comfort sucking and then carry/pat her to sleep. Most of the time she is ok with it, thankfully. This helps cos when she wakes up, she doesn't demand for my breast every time, just a bit of patting will do. So much better than last time when she was literally abusing my boobs :)

She has been sleeping pretty well the past 3 nights. Only woke up 3x a night. Pretty good liao. Hope can continue to be like that, if not better. I think most likely she suffered from the teething uncomfort the previous week. I touched her gum and can feel the harden gum, but can't see the teeth yet. Or she could have got a the flu bugs from either me or HR, and her body was fighting with the bugs.

Thanks again.

Steph,
Hehe! So nice to bump into you at JP yesterday! My hubby said R is like a photocopy of your hub :) You ordered the birthday cake for R already? Had a good day? We spent a lot of $$$ yesterday, retail therapy :)

Mandy,
Oh, I spot Thomas on the cake! NICE!!

Yesterday bought a new lense for our DSLR camera. Bought a Thomas train set for HR, and another set for his little friend who is going to turn 2 this Friday. Bought many different variety of nuts. Some misc items, and a lunch! Totaly damage was about $500 :p

mandy,
love the thomas cake! where did u get it from? my girl loves thomas too!

kam,
lexie used to be like XY when she was a baby, she would wake up every 2 hrs, at one pt even every hr! i tried everything, swaddling, checking too hot/cold, hungry etc etc. nothing worked. we also suspected teething and sure enough lexie cut her 1st tooth at exactly 6mths old. funny thing was everytime she fussed, i picked her up and she would go right back to sleep. i put her back in the cot and she'll wake up again and the cycle starts again.
in the end i let her co sleep with me and it was better. but even today she still wakes up 3 times a night. once 2 hrs after she goes to sleep, next at 3am and the last at 6am....

just wanted to share that u're not alone! sorry i can't help u with what's bothering XY but i'm sure u'll figure it out!!

grumpus,
Thanks for sharing! Yes, that's exacly what happened - when I pick her up, she falls back to sleep the very minute! And wake up the next minute when I put her back to cot.

I hope teething is the reason. I also tried almost everything. Sometimes I co-sleep with her also, it helps a little bit, how I wish co-sleeping can solve this problem :)

Why is Lexie still wakes up now? For night feed? HR used to do that (most likely due to his eczema), though no fixed timing, but now he can usually sleep soundly till next morning (all thanks to the wonderful CB cream!).