(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife's words are certainly what i agree with. i am also very against smacking our toddlers as they are not out to get us. they are testing to see the limit and exploring. so i always try to control, and explain to him, repeating and repeating though he may be screaming out loud. i find that he will slowly soften and listen to me. earlier, i did use to smack him a little. but after awhile, i realised it does not work and change to use the soft method. it works.

for my hubby, he is more traditional type. he finds smacking will make the boy understand and get him to do the way daddy wants. but i totally disagree...

i guess it all goes down the the character of our kids as well. after talking to my hubby last nite about this, we concluded javier is:
Daddy(stubborn) + Mummy(stubborn)=Javier(Extremely stubborn)
hahahaaa

Blessedbaby,
Hi hi, wow, so you are going to pop ANYTIME!!! Take care and remember to keep us updated, ya.

I am sure you can cope very well with your 2 princesses. Remember not to leave out J, get her involved as much as possible, and always attend to her demand first. If she asks for something, don't say mummy is busy with meimei. Always attend to her first, even if it's just a few seconds, answer her and then get someone else to take her away (if you are nursing etc). The initial 1-2 weeks is critical. As long as she can feel the security, to think that mummy still loves me as much, and meimei is not going to take mummy away from me, she would be pretty much ok with the addition of the new member, and be her ownself again. And remember to help the 2 sisters bond.

Ya, HR is considered advanced in his speech. Forming sentences is a difficult task for them, I won't worry until they are 3 years old. Maybe we speak to him in Mandarin 95% of the time so he is able to master it faster, cos it's his mother tougue?

mandy,
OK. Will let you know. We tried it, and it's good! But still tring to getting use with it cos it's fixed len means cannot zoom in and out.

Staccato is at Horsecity, right next to Turf city. Just HR only from Jan08, and there is one (or more) Feb08 mummies, but we are in different class. Yes, got trial class, I read on their poster last saturday said "discounted trial class".

Mandy,
Sat 10.30am. We pay $300+ for 10 classes, after all the discounts. Get to sing, to dance/move, to play with music instrument, few minutes of flash cards (also on music instrument), get to play, and to learn, etc, the usual stuff.

Mylife – you are a follower of waldorf education? Me too!! But I don’t know much about the teaching. Trying hard to look for a place which advocates this but so few in SG. Got one childcare that runs this but too far for me. Hey can share with me what concept you learn?

Pixie- pm u my blog liao

Gathering with mylife - suggestion (north side) bottle tree park? or Orchid COuntry club LIttle Ozone. $7 or $8 per hour play at little ozone.

Morning, Mummies!

Kitsune,
Thanks! I also think my MIL is very gungho. She will say "Yes, tired a bit but no choice right?". I am blessed to have a good helper. So I sometimes close my eyes abt other things that she sometimes overlook abt my children, which is cleaniless issue... But once I pointed out to her, she will do but after a while, back to square one. :p

Blessedbaby,
Hang on there! Can tell very soon liao coz tummy is hardening right? JIAYOU!

Mylife,
High possibility I can't meetup on CNY week coz busy at work (need to cover and even work on CNY loh. Sian... Just because the China pple wants to celebrate their CNY. We also have CNY here leh. Sickening...) And then 20th Feb is my birthday so need to celebrate with family too.

Kam: yeah, am popping anytime. I dont know when. Hahhaa. But at night I have backache, and hard to sleep. Probably coz my bb is in optimal fetus position. ;-)

Tongtong: forgot to answer your question abt Jamie Oliver recipes, most of them are not for vegetarians. But I have been cooking the spaghetti & spinach with mascarpone cheese and my girl loves it so much. She can finish half bunch of spinach and asks for me. This one I consider is for vegetarian coz only spinach, cheese and spaghetti. If you want, I can give you the recipe to try. And it's super fast and easy to prepare and cook. Simple dish for lunch for on the day you are tired. ;-)

Today is Aussie day. Just went out with hubby and my girl and I bought some herbs to grow. My little garden is now full kind of herbs. ;-) Makes me so happy.

krystle
i also cant take leave during my bday this year cos of the stupid airshow lei. i need to be in office to support operations. so waste time....
so only can go out for dinner after work~~~...

Thanks, Mylife, blessedbaby. I'm the only one in the house encouraging RaeAnne to self feed actually. When she throws food all over, I always tell hubby never mind, the maid can clean up. But even when we let her self feed, she uses her hands and only picks what she wants to eat eg. only veg or only meat and ignore everything else in the bowl. Very often, she drops food all over cos she wants to feed us with her food. :p

Blessedbaby, I have changed my maid's schedule ever since my CL left. Told her house chores only do when the kids are sleeping or if still no time, do it on weekends. Sometimes if she has had a hard night, I let her nap with the baby in the afternoon. Only thing I ask her to still do once a week is to wash our clothes/bb clothes, clean my toilet (cos of the milk sprays) and vaccuum/mop the floor. All these are usually done on days when RaeAnne is at my MIL house. And when she needs to do housechores, I eat instant noodles or ask hubby to tapow so that she doesn't need to cook lunch/dinner.

I agree about not labelling the child but it's a lonely fight cos ILs love coming up with new labels for RaeAnne and hubby loves to join in. Their latest label for RaeAnne is 蛮牛 (stubborn ox). Now she learnt to call Ye Ye and Nai Nai 蛮牛 too. Hiaz. :p

Mandy, I second Polliwogs, heard good things about it.

pixie,
yea u r right, screaming & shouting from Z is not new to me liow. I have firmly & consistently told him that it's not allowed. I even quoted, see..papa & mama did not shout/scream when we are talking. If you wish to speak, you gotta do it in a proper manner, speak in your normal level voice. Having said that, he will still do it on/off but that's when he is happy or excited over something (like watching his favourite Hi5 monster dance etc) or when he simply wants Didi to mimic him cos whenever he shout/scream, didi sure follow suit *faint* but very cute to see didi's reaction loh:p

krystle,
i was at JP in the morning for breakfast & left at abt 11.30am so no chance to bump into u.

mylife,
thanks for sharing...yea i totally agree with you. I think Z is reassessing the world & discovering his own self at the same time. So at this stage, it becomes even more frustrating to him & us at the same time as he wanna express himself but finds it difficult (dunno how) to do so in the correct way. I am not into smacking & beating them up too but sometimes in a fit of anger, u just can't control. But still, it's much better than to use a cane IMO. If soft approach/methods don't work, we'll try the hard way out but sure will try to reason out with him 1st before any form of punishment which is inevitable & the stubborn character of Z as well.

Mascarpone cheese is actually a "triple creamy" cheese. If you can't find this in singapore, you can just buy creamy cheese to make the sauce. super yummy!! Sometimes, I dont have neither one of them, I just use normal mozzarella cheese. ;-) Taste quite yummy

blessedbaby,
hihi...wow u gonna pop anytime soon hor & you are still so active with your gardening

hey yr spaghetti & spinach with mascarpone cheese sounds yummy...can share with me the recipe too?

mylife,
Your words are really true, just sometimes we are always tested until we tend to forget this and start to throw our temper at the kid.

Meet up place?
there are places like pollywogs, explorerkid but I am not sure if we would end up chasing after them instead of chatting hahaha. These 2 places don't have anything to eat there.

Pauline: RaeAnne has been always having difficult with her eating?
Remember I used to share that my girl has 750ml of FM per day (mid morning, mid afternoon, and before bed time), and I find that she often didn't eat her main meals well. So I reduced her FM intake to 2 times per day only, and each time 300ml and only after her main meals (lunch & dinner)- after lunch & dinner, I let her rest for about 30 mins at least and feed her milk. It does work. Now she eats ALOT. when I mean, ALOT it means ALOT. My hubby comments that she only not eating when she is sleep.
Just to share schedules fyi:
8am: BF (breads/oats/yogurt/fruits)- depends on her intake, I may give her combination of food
10am: 1 serving of fruits
12noon: lunch
1300: 300ml milk
1500-1600: fruits & cheese
1800: fruits
1900: dinner
2000: milk

Maybe you can try to re-schedule her meal time?

SY & tongtong:

here is the recipe, you can try. on his book, he shares that he never has problem feeding his 2 years old daughter this dish. The reason she likes it so much is because she can suck on the spaghetti, the mascarpone and cooking water make a fantastic sauce. Thats why I give it a try. ;-)))) And my girl loves it too. She can eat alot of it.

SERVING 4
455g spaghetti ( I use #3 so that you can easily find it at super market)
Olive oil
2 teaspoon butter
2 cloves of garlic, peel and sliced
a pinch of nutmeg ground
120ml double cream
2 handful of parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper to taste (I put a little bit only)
400gr of spinach, washed and finely sliced
150g mascarpone cheese

Method:

Bring a large pan of salted water to the boil, add the pasta, and cook according to the packet instructions. Meanwhile get a frying pan or wok warm, add a drizzle of olive oil, the butter, garlic and nutmeg. When the butter melts, add the spinach. After 5 minutes it will have wilted down and will be nice and dark. A lot of the liquid will have cooked away and you'll have wonderful intensely flavoured spinach. At this point season with salt and pepper until it tastes good, then add the cream, mascarpone and a little ladle of cooking water from the pasta. Let this come to a simmer and then season again.

Drain the pasta, reserving some of the cooking water, then stir it into the spinach sauce. Add the Parmesan and toss everything together. Loosen to a nice silky consistency with some of the reserved cooking water, so it doesn't become too claggy. Check once more for seasoning and serve straight away.

Let me know if your kids like it too. ;-))) It takes me only 20 mins to cook this. The time consuming is to boil spaghetti. :)

SY: yeah, I love gardening. and now J can help me to water the garden, I dont mind to grow whole lot of it. Hehehe

<font color="0000ff">krystle,</font>
We left JP right after lunch, wouldn't bump into you also.

Enjoy your twosome world! Be "careful", don't over enjoy it......or we will hear you announce #3, kekeke!

You Jia you ok! Ya, let your hubby handle your boy and you handle your girl. At times, baby rejects daddy/mummy, don't take it hard. I know how you feel, cos my girl is rejected her daddy, and my hubby is also very sad. But my boy now glues to him, so makes him happy.

<font color="0000ff">Blessedbaby,</font>
Thanks! I will try this recipe this weekend. I love spanish!!! If HR doesn't want to eat, I will finish up for him :) Later go find the cheese at Cold Storage.

I have been so lazy in cooking. Last Sat, cook a very simple noodle for HR, and he finished 1 large bowl, I was so happy. But don't think I have time to cook often, just try my best loh.

<font color="0000ff">mylife,</font>
I realised, one day, a few months back, that very often, it's us adult who sets the limits and who applies our rules onto the kids. In a kid's world, there is no rules and no limits, their life is simple and pure, and they are exploring the world bit by bit, slowly and steadily. They laugh when they are happy and they cry when they are not. When comes to parenting, some choose to set limits/rules for the kids, some choose not to. Depends on what's their believe or what's work for them/the kids. I am certainly belongs to the latter group. And I am glad that it works very well on HR. Hope it works the same for XY.

Blessedbaby, RaeAnne is still having 3 milk feeds but she only drinks about 150-200ml each time though we always make 220-240ml of milk for her. So, her total intake of milk a day is only about 500ml leh. Here's her meal schedule:

630-7am - Milk feed
8+am - some bread or honey stars
10am - PG snack time (same as above or whatever teacher gives the class)
1130am - Lunch (porridge or rice)
1pm - Milk feed before nap
4+pm - Snacks at ILs place (pasta or pao)
6+-7pm - Dinner (porridge or rice)
9+pm - Last Milk feed before bedtime

She doesn't eat a lot lor unless it's some new food. Recently I cooked chicken porridge with diced potato and carrot. Fried the chicken thigh cube, potato and carrot first before putting into the porridge (cooked with chicken stock). Hubby said she ate a lot.

blessedbaby / kitsune,

This is HR's schedule on weekdays at school,

7-8am - Breakfast (bread/cereal/egg/etc)
11am - lunch
12noon - 240ml milk
3pm - Tea time
5.30pm - Dinner at school
7-9pm - Snack on whatever we have for dinner/fruit/cheese/nuts/etc
9.30pm - 240milk

For weekends at home,

8am - 240ml milk if I don't prepare breakfast. If have breakfast, then no milk
12-2pm (depending on if we are at home or out) - lunch
2pm (or whenever he wants to nap) - 240ml milk
7pm - dinner
(Between 1-7pm, he will ask to have fruits/other snacks if we are at home. If we are out, snack on whatever is available)
9.30pm - 240ml milk

Hmm, comparing the meal schedules of HR and Johanna, RaeAnne is taking more carbo, less fruits/cheese etc. Definitely so when she is at home cos we don't have the habit of cutting fruits to eat Maybe that's what she's always not hungry. :p

Pauline: J loves chicken/ fish porridge too. And everyday, I feed her at least 3 kinds of fruits (depends what we have in the fridge). ;-)

Kam: we love spinach. Me &amp; my hubby can eat everyday. ;-)))

Re: Notti T2
J is no better, keep throwing tantrum once or twice daily. I also dunno when i will rise my white flag &amp; quit SAHM job &amp; return to work for good, haiz!!!

He did a "clever act" on sun &amp; i doubt he dare to repeat this history again!! Hubby opened the door to throw rubbish while me attending to #2 as we were preparing to go out. Hubby has put on J's shoes &amp; asked him to wait. Who knows he happily ran towards the lift by himself &amp; he was trapped in the lift alone!! Hubby saw the lift door closed &amp; pressed the button but unable to stop the lift from going down. I can imagine how terrified J was!!! Alone in the lift &amp; seeing daddy outside with a helpless face. Luckily the lift stopped at the floor below us as we could hear him crying loud. Someone pressed the lift &amp; was shocked how come a toddler was inside alone too. Hubby hurriedly dashed down the stairs &amp; found this fearful boy.

OMG!! This really give me heart attack!!! I did not know all this until i heard very loud cries at my doorstep &amp; was told that he went into the lift alone. Think no matter where we are...once we are outside our doorstep, we muz really follow our todd closely. So scary, if the lift bring him down to other level or somebody juz carried him away...

I told J seriously that he will get lost &amp; can't find daddy &amp; mummy if he run out from the hse by himself again.

janbb
wah thats very daring of J hor, my boy also likes to dash out while we open the door etc so i always make it a point to push the padlock halfway so that he cannot swing open the doors...

kam
i agreed with you. i always read parenting books and i am always told by so many experts that we are the ones who set the limits so when kids reaches OUR limits, we get angry. but kids will never understand why they have to follow OUR limits and why they cannot do this and that. that is the purity of each kid, no matter how active or not.
so we are actually angry by our expectations lah, coz in a sense kids are too young to follow/meet our expectations

pixie,
I will always distract him by asking him to "help" me to close the gate &amp; door if I'm alone with him. Feel that men are more careless in this sense. He never expect that our boy can do such thing. For me, i veri KS. Always use legs to block him from getting away if he tries to do so while i'm locking the gate.

Btw, u r flying this thurs or fri? Me sat morning flight!!! So happy to have a short shopping break this weekend!!! BKK here we come, kekeke ;)

janbb
me sunday early morning 7am flight, check in at 5am
another weekend of rising early. last weekend oso wakie early....haiyoh seriously making my sleep go haywire
but for BKK i dont mind...
i will bring 1 normal suitcase, and stuff 2 big backpacks into the suitcase. come back sure all 3 stuff to the brim heeheeeeeeeeeee

fri my boy bday leh, so i oredi holiday mood liao now...

btw where u staying again ah this time round? u going with who? ur hb?

sometimes hor i think my boy act blur.
he was playing with different musical instruments in one go, got rattle, clappers etc etc and he was banging away on the kitchen table. as i was working there yest, i told him absent mindedly, can you go and bang on the wall instead? he understood me perfectly and switched to banging on the walls.
then i stood up and walked to the sink, he followed me and started banging at the washing machine. told him try other places, he looked at me, act blur, and continue banging at the sides of the washing machine.
kns.
yest, i was changing out of my tshirt after a shower, i threw my tshirt onto the floor and while i was changing, my boy already took the tshirt and walked from room to kitchen and threw the tshirt into laundry bin. i was still scratching my head and thinking "where the hell did my tshirt walked off to??"
hahahahaaaaaaaaaa
kids these days hor...

Blessedbaby/kam, is spinach “bo1 cai4” in Chinese? The usual spinach I saw is long long stem one is that the one? or the angmo spinach which is short n small but got sticky texture one?

Kam, you don’t set limits and rules for HR, but HR auto knows what can/cannot do?

Janbb, wah! what a drama experience!

pixie/janbb, enjoy your holiday! my ex coll is goign this weekend too but she told me that riots happening in Chiangmai now. but should be all under control. have a safe trip!

OIC, maybe we may bump into each other on sun or mon ;) Me too sat morning earliest flight. We got 8pax (Inc Hubby, PIL &amp; friends) travelling together this time round. ;)

Hubby booked another new hotel, pretty near to platinum too. And is very cheap, $93 for 2 nite. The room look quite nice. Check it out here : www.budacco.com

Janbb,
Very scary right? But toddlers are hard to control, especially like us with #2 to handle (either have to carry or managing the stroller etc..) The experience that J had also happened to my mum's neighbour girl... The granny was too late to press the button and the poor girl just went down with the lift until level 1. When the granny went down, the little girl was tearing like mad.

I normally allow my girl to run abt maybe a few metres from me. Nowadays she likes to run to the lift lobby too. So far, she will wait for us there lah. Hope she will not dash into the lift one day too.

mylife/kam/pixie,
I read alot of parenting books as well and I agree with what's written but in reality I don't think I have the ability to follow it. Most books will tell us to be patient with our tods, explain and reason with them instead of smacking, no labeling, no screaming and shouting, etc etc. I understand the concepts but when faced with 20 nasty situations in a day and multiply that by 24/7...my temper simply gets out of control.

I feel that mothers of boys have it a bit harder cos even at the tender age of 2, gals are already more mature than boys. Reasoning and explanations might work for gals but it's a bit more difficult for boys. Their testosterone makes them do things on impulse and it doesn't help that they normally lack self-control. I just told my hubby a few nights ago that I might not want #2 cos I'm afraid it'll be another hyeractive boy like B, I simply don't have the confidence to deal with 2 of them.

janbb
looks nice
wah liew ur hb seems to always find cheap but nice hotels one leh

hope we bumped into each other ok? heehee
and i hope this time the fashion is to my liking. there was 1 time the fashion "in" stuff not my taste so i didnt buy much stuff, waste my time, leave, $$ :-(

tongtong,
Not that he auto knows how things work. But it's more like for things that he still doesn't know/understand, we just let him learn/explore at his own pace rather than force him to do so.

Start teaching him the opposite words might help? For example, HR now understands that "naughty boy" is the opposite of "good boy". At times, we would ask him, do you want to be a naughty boy or a good boy. Most of the time, he would choose good boy, and we know he is willing to listen to us. At times when he said naughty boy, we know he is up for no good, or he is very stubborn of what he wants, and so we slowly distract him with something else.

Yvonne,
I agree that it's a lot more difficult for SAHMs like you, cos you are facing B 365/24/7. For HR, he kinda learns the rules at school. At home, think he knows that time with us are limited, he does appreciate the time with us, and tries be a good boy.

Pixie, Kam, Aqua, Chaye, Twinkystar.

My Japan supplier confirmed our orders liao. I will make payment to her and she will inform our parcel tracking no to me soon.

Please take note. Thanks.

pauline, ok, i post your order to the thread ok ?so that i can keep track. but spree not confirmed yet till i reach min order.

tongtong
i no order
plan to just pop down to swee heng downstairs my place and buy those 500-600g cake lah
coz only me, hb and X eat leh, order is min 1kg, how to finish?

talking about discipline and read what mylife wrote made me guilty :p

cos last nite Tate while brushing his teeth spit at the maid and then laugh it off thinking that it's fun. I told him off sternly not to do that. He nodded. Less than 2 min he did that again and I smack his mouth. Not very pain but after a while he realised it and he cried. I got angry cos this is not the 1st time I told him to stop cos other incident he spit on a glass door in a restaurant. I got to clean up when his saliva all shattered on the glass door.

So this time round I no give face le... but after reading what MyLife wrote.. sigh.. perhaps they really cannot understand much even tho they may nod their head and agree with you not to spit or not to climb and jumb on sofa but they will still continue to do it. But then how ? Keep enforcing hoping that they will stop doing it one day ? Or ignoring them helps if they do these acts ?