(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ,

Yes, that's A LOT! She drinks 330ml per feed!! So using the biggest bottle lor. That time I was planning to "upgrade" my boy to the biggest bottle, but his teachers advised me not to. They said my boy milk intake is just nice, don't increase anymore. My PD also said the same. My boy drinks a lot of water instead.

Kam sometimes she drink 330ml sometimes 260ml .... morning if time allow I will give her more .... and night before she sleep I will give her 330ml

aiyo, wana eat and yet cannot eat, is torturing man, esp for a pregnant woman. poor mylvera!

must durian feast be at kovan, can somewhere central? :p

QQ
nevermind one lah. its just a phase. my boy drink a lot of milk too. then suddenly sometimes he one whole day oso dun want to drink a single sip...

you havent seen jon & kate plus 8. all their 6kids got super super big bellies

kitsune
Normally I will put in carrot, pork and maybe some dried scallop and boil for 30mins to 1 hr. Should be quite good enough cos the soup is just like 1 bowl.

SOmetimes, when I am lazy, I will just stream egg with mince meat and let Xavier eat it with rice. He loves it too.

Milk Intake,
My boy also should be ard 750ml. 260ml each time for 3 times.. sometimes will take additional 180ml if he wakes up early.

QQ,
I think it should be fine as long as TT can take in. No uncomfortable or anything, they will know how to reject when they are full.

QQ,

You saw my boy's tummy or not. His one is BIGGGG! I asked PD 2 times, he said is prefectly normal :)

Wah, all your kids drink so much milk huh. I kinda limit him to 3 feeds per day. Othe times feed solid/snack.

Oops, Ithink mine is drinking a bit too much too.
before morning nap once,
before afternoon nap once,
before bedtime once or twice :p,
in the middle of the night once,
and in the wee mornings once.

She's definitely drinking more than 750ml! No wonder she's chubby too. But she don't eat that much nowadays.

QQ, wah.. TT can drink 330ml at one shot? Celeste maximum 180ml at one shot but that's only at night when she wakes up.

Anyway, how many times your baby napping and how long?
Mine naps twice a day. Morning 2 hrs, afternoon 1 hr.

Usually she wakes up at say 730, by 1030 will take a 2 hour nap. THen at 330 will take noon nap and go to bed at night at around 930.

But Think it's getting a bit too much coz she is waking up earlier and earlier and more difficult to get her to sleep in the afternoon. But if she doesn't sleep, she gets verrrry cranky. Dunno if should cut down to just 1 nap, or let her do it herself. Advice?

my ger drinks more milk, around 800-850ml daily, but she dun reali eat porridge or rice, usu she onli take a few mouthful and stopped! but she is smart, onli eat fish, dun eat veggie or meat. reali dunno why she so fussy! is it normal???

aqua,
mine eats almost everything. But she especially likes her food when she can self feed with her FINGERS and make a mess.

Got try letting your girl feed herself?

Anyway, I think now is the period when they are more picky about food so you must still continue to provide veggie/fish/meat for her.

mcfluffy
where are you now? still escaping? haha

nap
my boy naps 1.5 hrs in morning and afternoon. if we go out, forget it that he will take nap outside. too hyped up for him liao.

i dont think celeste's sleeping hours are too much. considering her napping schedule, my boy is sleeping as much as her leh. i feel its too little sometimes. he sleeps at 830-9pm

let her skip the afternoon nap and let her go to bed earlier at nite, how?

mcfluffy, yes she tried to self-feed but always make a big mess and spill the food on the floor.
or else, she will feed us her porridge!
i tot she dislike homecooked food coz less salty so brought her to crystal jade porridge/ japanese food, she also dunlike. so hard to please man!

qq: if TT can drink more milk and yet eat her solids well, juz let her be. kids shld be chubby... than cute mah!

aqua
i let my boy self feed 50-50. first half i feed coz he knows its very hot. 2nd half he feed. final bits left i will feed coz turned cold liao and he cant scoop up the stuff with so little left in the bowl (aka cant maneuver spoon)

Re: Milk
My boy is drinking the least...only 3 feeds of 160ml and sometimes also don't want to finish. But water he can drink alot.

Re: Mee Suah
Kitsune, my recipe similar to QQ's. I fry egg and ginger with sesame oil, add water and let it boil. Then add mee suah, fish slices and finally veg (usually xiao bai cai). Add soya suace to taste. If cooking for my boy, I will add veg stock instead of water and soya sauce.

Pixie, nowadays my boy also don't like his porridge liao, prefers rice, noodles, kway teow, etc. So I make veg stock to freeze and use it to cook noodles (i'm using this Shanghai La Mian, which I can break into shorter pieces before cooking) with minced pork and vege and add 2-3 drops of soya sauce...very nice. Dinner is whatever we're eating which is usually rice eg. fried rice, claypot rice, omelette rice, oyako don, etc

mcfluffy/pixie,

During weekdays in the infant careMy boy takes 2 naps, usually at 10am for 1 hour, then 2 or 3pm for 2 hours.

But during weekends, he automatic changes to take only 1 nap, at no fix time, as and when he needs one. We don't do anything special, but just to keep him very busy with games, toys, books etc. Until he is so tired, and decided for himself he needs a rest, he takes a long nap, 2-3 hours.

Doesn't matter 1 or 2 naps, he still sleeps at 9-930pm everyday.

Weekdays he auto wakes up at 7am. Weekends he wakes up a bit late (good for us!), usually about 8am, can be 9+am sometimes if we are lucky.

yvonne
teach me how you do the veg stock coz i oso want to do that. i always do chicken stock nia ley...
where to buy this shanghai la mian? big pkt or not? i always buy liao cannot finish those noodles (use only a bit everytime) and throw in the end, very wasteful leh

kam
my boy wakes up auto 730 everyday, be it weekday or weekend, or how early he sleeps the night before. i want later timing oso cannot grrrrrrrr
if he didnt take the afternoon nap, he can sleep as early as 730pm. still wakes up at 730am

pixel,
at home now......so bored.... celeste is ZZZZZzzz...

You find that they are sleeping too little? I also dunno too much or too little but she's been waking up SOOO early sometimes.. sometimes 6+ wakeup liao!! And she still wakes up in the middle of the night for her feeds.

aqua,
maybe she prefers other staples? Try noodles? My girl loves noodles!

Kam,
Wah.. your boy so considerate. Wake up later during weekends. I wish mine can sleep past 8am and go to sleep at 9pm. haha.. fat hope.

babies waking up at 7+ is normal right? Heh.....

I miss waking up at 9+am leh. Imagine I everyday go to work must wake up at 6am, weekends also must wake up at 7+, so sian!

mcfluffy
you mom around or not heehee?
my colleague's boy is a dec07 bb and she insist that her boy must sleep 2-3hrs per every 3hrs waking block. her boy sleeps even more ley.
sleep is good for our bb. develops brain and body neh.
maybe you can try to shift her nap to a noon nap for a good 2-3hrs, right after lunch. then she will be tired by end of the day, and hopefully sleep more = wake up later?

pixel,
my mum ard la...
yah lor.. im thinking whether to shift her naps to a noon nap, after lunch. but dunno what time is good. hehe.. duno she can survive or not.

mcfluffy,

No, he won't get cranky. But if I force him to sleep, he will protest :)

Oh yes, last Sunday, he slept till 9.45am!!! We were sooooooo happy.

At this age, they should sleep for 12-14 hours. Think it's what time they go to sleep is more important. Cos the body are tuned to a certain timing to "recharge battery". Late sleep is not advisable/encourage for toddler. Wake up early is ok.

mcfluffy
can lah. i tried before. during lunch, my boy very cranky liao. so he'll eat lunch faster (good!) in order to go to sleep, and go to sleep for 3 hrs (good!); and sleeps earlier at nite (good!)

Kam,
I don't want late sleep too coz I sleep early (during work days, I want to go sleep by 10pm!) so Celeste must deifnitely sleep before me and sleep earlier so that I have time to do my work.

So celeste is sleeping about 13hrs now.. should be enough hor.

pixel,
when my girl is cranky, she won't want to eat her food and will just cry cry cry and make my mum dulan. Then my mum will scold her.

Like today, she kept going into the room to disturb my mum who was doing I dunno what, and got scolded. So poor thing. heh.

my girl barely makes 12hrs of sleep everyday...
morning wake up 7-7.30am, only one nap of 1.5-2hrs and sleep at 9-9.30pm at night

yvonne,
my girl drinks abt the same amt as yr boy. 3 feeds of 180ml but usually one of the feed will only drink 160ml...and she definitely doesn't eat as much solids as yr boy..

aqua,
my girl went through this phase where she wouldn't eat anything on a spoon, so porridge/rice was all out...
i cooked noodles, macaroni, potato strips etc etc and everything feed with hand...
this phase lasted abt 3mths i think...

mcfluffy: i tried many food liao, pasta, spagetti, mee sua, guo tiao all dun interest her!

grumpus: 3 mths is short, she wasnt keen in solids since 6 mths, sometimes i also bochap n dun cook her meals. v discouraging esp when u spend time cooking n boiling soup and at the end, she dun eat---she is pushing my patience to limit men!

sleep early- i force my girl sleep by 8pm when she was a baby. after she turned 1 yr old, she usu sleep by 9pm, latest by 9.30pm she is in bed! and me n my huby will also pretend to sleep.

Pixoe,
Paiseh..from the mnute I stepped out of the house, I never got a chance to rest. Brought my son to have his lunch at J8. Then train ride to Orchard. Then to Taka to buy his favourite bread and he gobbled two down. After visit to the dentist, it was time to rush back to Bishan for his class..Sun was super hot..

Waiting for the 717 durians to come out in full force.

Yvonne, you sound a good cook...share some recipes ya! How to do claypot rice?

STock
Once cook muz put in freezer hot or wait for it to cook first? What kind of containers to store in and how long can it be stored? My mom kept niam me that I should cook fresh everyday...

Pixie, durians I wan but dunno can make it to kovan or not..let me know then lahz

blackbatz, enjoying hols?

Janbb, forgot to reply you, yipy ong is feb08 mum. I'm confused. sorry. :p

babe, I have my own recipe for claypot rice if you are keen. http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/search?q=claypot+rice
Stock, should wait for it to cool first to avoid 'taxing' your fridge.

re: baby sleep
>> consider this.. pre-schoolers shld nap abt 2hr after lunch, which is maybe 1-3pm. So schedule your child's nap time towards this timing, so that naps wun affect next time go pre-nursery full day or half day. Dun let the child nap 2hr from 10am. Instead, should aim to gradually drop the morning nap.

re: milk vs solids
>> save for those kids who drink lots & eat lots (good appetite!!), do u find that your child drinks lots then not keen on solids (eg for aqua?)
Or your child gets full on solids, so doesn't drink a lot of milk (eg for ylim?)

re: soup & porridge etc
i like this: http://www.homemade-chinese-soups.com
found it when i was googling how to make stock, how to make whatever..
no need to wait for here busy mummies to reply... the answer is out there.. yahoo, google.. so many ways to search.

my dear husband wants to invite lizards & cockroaches to dine with us... our dinner plates not cleared despite him waking up after the kids slept. he busy surfing & oblivious to the stuff on the dining table. This is the kind of housework that i hv to do at 3am... clear table, wash dishes, fold clothes. How to just pump and go back to sleep?! No maid wor. Me lor...
ah must qualify why i didn't clear up after dinner... coz husband said leave some soup for him! i kept bugging him to finish it while still hot then he said he wants it to cool (i drank most of it while piping hot), so be it lor. Know how to consume, dunno how to clear/ replenish.

rE: brush teeth song
>>> this works with almost anything.. "this is the way we brush our teeth (x4), early in the morning". Try it with "take a bath", "sweep the floor", "eat our lunch"... whatever.
the child gets familiar when we're repeating the words & tune all day.

Morning Mummies,

had durian on tuesday nights. hubby bought those from geylang after I kept mentioning I want to eat after reading all the cravings on this thread. Left over kept in fridge now.

Re: milk intake

Javier reduced his milk intake of 210ml to 180ml each after taking solids now. he doesnt like to drink water leh, dun like juice also.

Btw,

pls help me vote for Javier Sng.

http://www.todaysmotherhood.com/2009/06/photogenic-baby-photo-contest-votingjun-09/comment-page-3/#comments

Morning all,

my FIL bot durians yday. he claimed they were nice. but i find the "meat" abit tough. not smooth type. but anyway, at least, he bot for me! my hb complained loudly "gal gal, see lah. all becos of u, the durian feast started" ahah

wendyg,

Thanks for sharing the link for the Chinese soup. Indeed a good website. I like it too, will definitely try to cook some of the soups. My hubby loves chinese soup a lot, and my boy started to like soup now. I am running out of idea of what to cook, since I cook 2-3 type of soups every weekend. Thanks, thanks, thanks!!!

mylvera,

Eh, so every morning the first thing you do is go to the Happy Farm and steal others' crop, is it? But wendyg is the most greedy one, stole 9 of my crops at one go!!! But never mind, I stole from others already :)

Kam,

i reached office at 645-7am leh .. nothing better to do so steal lor haha u play farmtown too ar? add me leh .ahah

my crops already stolen since last nite .. i guess tt's how wendy earn lots of $$ ahah

now i need ppl to sabo other ppl so tat i can go help haha den can close application liao haha

gd morning everyone....

last nite javier woke up at 1230am and only slpt at 4am... gosh.. i am so tired now.. haiz.. got to start work again..

take care everyone

Morning, mummies!

Talking about food, my girl is also losing interest on her porridge. When I feed her, she will just keep the porridge in her mouth for minutes like very hard to swallow. But if you feed her veggies, meat etc, she will chew and eat loh. I think she must have believe that she has grown up and wants to eat "Real" solid food. Haiz... Then she also shows more interests in our adult food. No choice, slowly letting her to eat mee sua, rice and other stuff...

morning mummies

i went to those links and bought the ingredients to make vege stock. shall cook it tonight, cool down and freeze. tmr no time to make stock coz will be making chicken stock for my porridge.

anyone going pc show this weekend? i am going! singtel broadband on mobile $15.xx per mth nia, can use if i work from home at my mil place. but a bit bo liao...hmm....dilemma dilemma