(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg: my ger drink more milk, less solids. sometimes i know she purposely starve herself, refuse porridge. coz she knows later i will make milk for her later.

krystle
nowadays my maid cooks fried rice, tone-down version of claypot rice, pineapple rice, fried noodles/bee hoon for my boy to eat liao. he oso dun like runny porridge

mylvera,

Yes, the other game I am playing is Farm Town. All because of my nephew lor. He asked me to play so he can add me, and he taught me how to play. And this is the only way that he is willing to talk to me on the phone, so I obidently playing the game :) I love this nephew of mine very very much, until my hubby got jealous, haha!

pixiepixel,
Seems like you already got the answer
. Anyway, my veg stock is just throw in onion (uncut), a few stalks of celery (roughly cut), carrots, corn and whatever leftover veg I have. Let it boil then simmer over low heat for 1-2hrs, cool and transfer to ice cube tray to freeze. I bought those super big ice cube trays from daiso (1 tray of 6 ice cubes) which is useful for freezing stock.

The shanghai la mian can be found in the pasta/mee suah section of supermarkets. It's dry goods so I just store it like pasta. It's a small packet which consists of 2 adult portions only. Quite tasty and easy to feed cos it's flat, looks like the thinner form of ban mian.

Re: Claypot rice
Babe, seems like you also got your answer but here's my recipe for 2 adults:-
1) Cook 1 cup rice
2) Pre-marinate 6-8 chicken wings/drumlets with oyster sauce, dark soya sauce, sesame oil and pepper.
3) Cut a few shiitake mushrooms into strips or use chinese sausage if you prefer.
4) Fry ginger in pan until fragrant, add chicken and finally mushrooms. Transfer into rice cooker when chicken is about 70-80 cooked. The tricky part is to get the timing right. The ingredients have to be transfered into the rice cooker when it's "steaming" ie. no visible water and rice is about to be cooked. So you gotta know how long your rice cooker takes to cook the rice

You can also place some washed and cut xiao bai cai on top of the ingredients and let the rice cooker do the rest.

fyi, for mummies who planned on making meat/vege stock:-

-Always drop your stock quickly
“Dropping” stock doesn’t mean making a big mess on the floor. Rather, it is the culinary industry’s term for cooling your stock down as quickly as possible prior to putting it in the fridge or freezer. The easiest way to do this in a home kitchen with a large stock pot is to put the pot in your sink and fill the space around it with as much ice and ice water as you have. Putting your stock pot up on something that raises it above the bottom of the sink so water can get under it (”venting”) makes this even more effective.

The reason for going to this trouble? Sanitation. Stock is a potential bacterial playground, and you need it to get it cooler than 41 degrees F as quickly as possible to protect against bacterial growth. Dumping it in your fridge or freezer right off the stove will not only work too slowly, but it will also raise your refrigerator’s internal temperature enough to put other foods at risk.

yvonne
do you have the brand of shanghai la mian that you bought?

btw, re: your claypot rice recipe, if you steam #2 for a good 13-15mins, you get a very very tasty dish. i cooked that once before for my colleagues and pantry aunties and all of them loved it. they never tried before, which is weird!

i cant make claypot rice in my rice cooker. i always thought i do it wrongly, but when my mom came over for my confinement, she did my fav claypot rice (her version), and it turned out the same way as i tried too - the rice got all soggy, sticky and runny. my rice cooker is those oval shaped japanese brand. sianzzzzzzzzzzz

pixie,
Oh, forgot to mention...have to use less water when cooking claypot rice in rice cooker cos the chicken will have a bit of sauce/gravy when cooked so if the normal amount of water is used, the rice will turn soggy.

RE: Cooling of stock

The method that pixie shared is a good one.

No matter what method you use to cool down the stock - take note of this - ALWAYS COVER THE STOCK, DON'T LEAVE THE COVER OPENED AND LET IT EXPOSE TO THE AIR. Very easy to get contaminated if you expose it. When you heat up the frozen stock, either in the microwave or in a pot, make sure you bring it to boiling temperature for a few minutes to kill all germs.

In my personal opinion, if kept in fridge, use within 3-5 days. In kept in the freezer compartment, 1 month.

morning mummies. I always feel nausea this time. No appetite at all. I am sacred of all food smell. Wonder how long will it last. ;( I only eat bake at home bread plainly and a lot of fruits.

Yesterday hubby asked me to go and get refunded for his jumpers, so I spent 4 hours in shopping mall and back with tiredness and mood swings.

Soup recipe: thanks to wendgy. I also run out of idea what to cook soup for my girl. Your info just come in time.

Brush teeth: I don't sing any songs at all. All I do is to ask my girl to come to toilet when I brush my teeth and I tell her this is how mummy brush her teeth and give her a tooth brush. Now become her habit, every morning I change her diaper, she will brush her teeth happily. ;)

Tummy wrap: I just bought a tummy warp Belly Bandit online which I have been eyeing long time ago before I am pregnant #2.
My BIL helps me to bring it back.. Yeeeahhh, I think this is a treat for me since I have no appetite for food. Hohohoho

blessedbaby,

dun wori too much. nausea is a good sign tat bb is growing. (saw yr posting in jan 10 thread)

re:cooking

guess i lost the mood to cook. nowadays always think of tabao-ing back haha

mylvera: yeah.. sometimes I get worried for nothing coz I dont feel my tummy is bigger or hardening. ;( But after yesterday shopping, i can feel it already.

Claypot long bean rice

This is my mum recipe. Cooking method similar to the claypot chicken rice that Yvonne has just shared (and I do exactly the same as Yvonne for the claypot chickeen rice, the only different is I don't use oyster sauce). Only ingredients are different.

1. Cut the long bean into 1 inch.
2. Brown garlic and dried shrimp
3. Add in slice lean pork and stir fried for a while
4. Add in long bean and fried until the beans are almost cooked (changing colour and become soften).
5. Add soy sauce and sesame oil to taste.
6. Transfer all these into the rice cooker with the rice 70-80% cook.
7. Stir the veg+meat into the rice after the rice is cooked.
8. Ready to serve.

If you want to share this with your kid, don't add dried shrimp.

Kam: thanks for your reminding. ;) Yup, we do take care of ourselves here. Thanks for your thoughts.

Thanks for the clay pot rice recipe too. I have to try this for my hubby. He loves clay pot rice.

Aiyoh, I am so tempted to go for sashimi here. Hubby kept say no coz still early to eat those things.
We are going to have our dinner at Hyatt Hotel here so it is wasted if we don't go for buffet

blessedbaby,

my gynae actually encourages me to eat sashimi (have to be from reputation restaurants), so I happily follow her recommendation :)

blessedbaby,

think should be ok if from hyatt hotel bah. furthermore, u not like my colleague. she stuff her stomach with all the RAW food first b4 she eats other thing so as not to LUGI! faint.. den eat alot till immed go puke out. waste of food but to her, not a waste leh..

Kam & mylvera: actually I ate many prohibited things when I preg #1 without me knowing anything. ;) I ate pineapple EVERYDAY, watermelon, mandarin, orange and coconuts and durians. My colleagues warned me not to eat these things when I brought them back to office but I didn't care. I think the more we know I more fear we have.

I also ate sashimi w/o my hubby knowing when I preg #1. Hohohoho. But now, I am here with him, so I have no choice must inform him first so his answer was I didn't eat it during my 1st preg, I should not do it in this preg too.

blessedbaby,

It's perfectly okay. I eat all the stuff you mentioned almost everyday also :) It's more of the old wives believe with no scientific proof. The rule is still - IN MODERATION! My hubby brings me to eat sashimi :)

Luca: sorry, didnt see your post earlier. My eyes must play trick on me.

I will PM you the maid agency. I am not working for them in anyway so this RECOMMENDATION is based on own judgement and observation from the maids which the agent has been providing for my friends. I will not take any risk or be blamed if the maid does not satisfy your needs. LOL
But I must say, so far, all the maid I know form this agent is really GOOD. thump up for their selection!

blessedbaby, I contacted Melise, her staff sent me 3 bios but all not very suitable. Ask the staff some question re 1 maid but she did not reply me. I'm waiting for her next batch of recruits. By the way, how much did you pay for the agency fee? I forgot to ask. I may be going to another maid agency at Katong today. Better to have more choices to choose from.

Yvonne, any reason why the onion must be uncut? I cooked chickent stock again today but I cut the onion leh cos I'm left with half an onion from previous attempt anyway.

Blessedbaby, 2 days ago when I cooked chicken stock, it smelt so nice. Today, it made me wanna puke. Sigh, I'm already 14 weeks okie? :p Hope your MS go away soon.

blessedbaby,
thanks, u finally c me :p

Kitsune,
how come not suitable? are u going homekeepers maid agency at katong?

Kitsune_sg: really ah? what i heard is that they will do recommendation for maids based on your family background and needs. So what my friends did last time was to go with their recommendation. It turned out very good.
I agree, do go to several agencies and make your choice wisely.

MS: hope your MS go away soon too. I don't know if I have a boy this time coz the symptom is different to my 1st preg. ;) Talked to hubby few days ago and he said he still want another girl but I want a boy this time to shut my MIL up.
My hubby said if this time is a boy, we will need to have one more boy at least coz he is the only boy in the family and he always wanted to have another brother to talk and play with. He wants the same for his son because he understands the feeling when his son grows up

The bottom line is: we want a healthy, full term and easy to take care baby like baby #1. ;)

went for my detailed scan this morning. its a boy this time round..
actually whether boy or gal is fine with me, although my husband prefers another gal. guess the most happy person is my FIL n MIL.

blessedbaby, I also have totally different symptom this time round as compared to my 1st preg. This time round my MS goes away exactly at 12th week while previously it last until 6th months.

mylvera, can cook but can puke out what I cooked lor. Hiaz...

Anyway, tried cooking mee sua just now and it was a failure. Maybe I don't know the proper way of soaking mee sua but it was too mushy and clumpy, not the type me and hubby like. Plus it 'ate up' most of the chicken stock I made this morning. Next time, I'm going to make mee sua my usual way, boil everything and dump in the mee suah last. Just don't put seasoning, since mee suah is salty. :p

Blessedbaby, Melise is quite nice over the phone but her staff Annie or Anne not as responsive lor. :p

Luca, no, I'm thinking of going to United Channel which specialises in Myanmar maids but they also have Indo and Filipino cos a forum mummy got her maid on 1 June and she said the maid is good, 2 forum mummies said the agency is not bad so I'm giving it a shot. Also, the agency that blessedbaby recommended in at River valley, very far from my house, the thought of going down there if I got problem with the maid makes me very sian. :p

blessedbaby,
Just pour the ingredients on top of the rice. Stir and serve when it's cooked. Can also add some fried shallots to the cooked rice to increase the fragrance.

Kitsune,
I can't remember but I read it from some cookbook to leave the onion un-cut. I also saw from your post that you keep half a cut onion?? Actually it's better to throw away leftovers once the onion is cut as bacteria will start to multiply. Can get food poisoning leh.

shannonbaby,

kitsune,

u can try my mother's way of cooking mee sua. soup n mee sua cooked seperately n put seperately. when time to makan, den add the soup to the mee sua ;)

Wendy, my gal's nap time is around 1+/2 - 4+pm, looks like got to slowly move it forward slightly.

Yvonne, hah? Really ah but I kept the unpeeled half of the cut onion in the fridge in the tupperware container, should be ok bah? If use uncut onion, I guess must cook longer? But then, it's faster to take out the soup since the onion is whole.

Mylvera, ya, Icy also uses this method but I'm lazy to wash another pot. Everytime, after I cook I got so many pots, pans, utensils to wash, it aggravates my backache. Hubby can't help cos he has to jaga RaeAnne while I wash up. And I can't stand seeing the dirty pots and pans lying in the kitchen until RaeAnne takes her nap. :p

My own 'teochew' way of cooking Mee Sua is to use ikan bilis stock, when boiling, add the meat, followed by veg and mee sua at the same time. Very fast, haha. I like my mee sua chewy with texture. Sometimes, once it boils, I off fire liao cos the mee sua will continue to soften while I scoop it out into bowls. Think hubby prefers this type of chewy mee sua too cos he didn't finish his mee sua today.

Shannonbaby,

CONGRATES!

Already delivered:
1. Yunbb_____________#3 BOY 12Dec08
2. Steph77___________#2 BOY 08Feb09
3. Joyce_____________#2 BOY 11Feb09

MTBs:
1. Superbee__________#2 GIRL EDD 20June09
2. Janbb_____________#2 GIRL EDD July09
3. Angelsky__________#2 GIRL EDD July09
4. Kam______________#2 GIRL EDD 07Sep09
5. Krystle ___________#2 BOY EDD EndSeo09
6. Mylvera___________#3 <font color="ff0000">GIRL</font> EDD 16Oct09
7. Jacelyn___________#2 TBC EDD 26Oct09
8. Shannonbaby______#2 <font color="0000ff">BOY</font> EDD 04Nov09
9. Pinkstars__________#2 TBC EDD endNov09
10. Precious_moments #2 TBC EDD 09Dec09
11. Kitsune__________#2 TBC EDD 10Dec09
12. Yvonne(gerger66)__#2 TBC EDD Dec09
13. Mystery mum
14. Lynn_____________#2 TBC EDD Jan 10?
15. Blessedbaby______#2 TBC EDD Jan 10?

Wonder if Jacelyn} has done her detail scan already or not?

Shannonbaby: Congrats! itz nice to hav a girl and a boy..

hope my no.2 is a girl cos my no.1 is boy..

blessedbaby: can u send mi e maid agency contact? i may need to get a maid but not now maybe 2mths lata.. cos now i also hav ms and tired easily. no time to teach e maid.

yvonne
yup i know claypot rice must have lesser water so no matter how lesser water i put, the rice is soggy. my mom uses the exact same method she uses at her own home at mine (with my rice cooker) but turns out soggy too.
i think my cooker is more for rice/porridge coz got porridge function hurhur

congrats shannonbaby!!

pixie,
Mine also has porridge function but when i use less water, the rice is "li li fen ming" and will not become soggy even if I leave it inside for a long time. Maybe your really spoilt liao.

pixie,

Yesterday first day the lady came to help me with the house work. She is pretty good leh, I am happy with her way/style of doing the housework. My hubby is very satisfied with the outcome also, plus he can have a more relaxing weekend coming, sure he is happy. So will continue to engage her service. Thanks again for the recommendation!

yvonne
no matter how i try cannot make claypot rice. my mom's rice cooker at her place can one leh...nevermind. i use real claypot to cook claypot rice liao. gave up on my rice cooker

kam
ok thats good to hear. she played me out yesterday. supposed to come yest nite, i called her tue afternoon to arrange timing for wed nite, she say cannot coz she need to send her son at airport. what the!! if you know you cant make it, tell me wat. her excuse was "i was going to tell u tonite" huh!! so last min....tulan her.
not for flying my aeroplane but tulan her for last min never tell me....

thanks mummies. I am ok with having boy or gal. most impt is the baby is healthy n normal.

steph, dont think i will go for #3. 2 is enough and just nice...

pixie,

Ops, she came to my house yesterday night, so I "stole" her from you :p Could be that my place is nearer and easier for her to come?

Mylvera,

No, nothing. Got lots of hands me down from a dear friend. May buy a few pieces of new dresses when we see some, and that's about it. No need to buy anything, really.

REALLY???????????????

FUMING liao
i told her the date 2 weeks ago for this date and time, and she said OKOK.
CB!! (need to curse here)