(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

ya, dunno why babies like to dig their ear.. mine oso. dig dig the mouth, then pop in the ear and then pop in the mouth so n and so forth. got to catch him quick quick otherwise all the dirt transferred from ear to mouth to ear... gross

crystalz,

good! yes when you desperate and need to pump.. anywhere also can! hahah..

jeelo, claire

i ask my PD abt why bb likes to pull and dig ear... he said that its because the weather hot so inside is comfortable. he also said that its a behaviourial problem, i.e., some kids like to dig ear, some kids like to pull hair.. haha

cocoangel,

wow kyrell is fast!
he will speak soon i'm sure. Dylan is now very fussy and will show preference for me whenever he has a chance. But i'm not sure if he is shouting mama yet... sometimes i suspect but not obvious leh.

my friend's bb is 3 weeks older than dylan and he can say mama, papa, kaka (that's what he calls the maid), hello... *wow* haha

mummies who've tried giving millet to baby,
is it normal that millet porridge or mixed grain porridge with millet turns up rather lumpy? does it mean still not cooked? at first i thought didn't grind fine enough...then i realized even it's already super fine and i was stirring like mad,turned up still very lumpy...any advice?

millet cooks quite fast wor, tink about 20min or so... it'd be lumpy n starchy. shawn now hates it, if it's eaten by itself as the main grain.

mine dig ear n pull hair, seems to be like habit.. especially when he's sleepy

dinut, maybe u didn't add enuf water. try adding more h2o and see how. i cook millet over night and add more water so it doesn't become lumpy. i'm also trying out quinoa today. dunno if susu will like it. jeelo, su also doesn't take millet alone. need to add threadfin and vege.

anyone tried lentils yet? need to soak before cooking? for how long? din check out the book yet.. so wanted to know if anyone can give me a quick answer...

my baby will rub her eyes and pull hair... she din dig ear heehee

my baby ok with FM, creal, porridge and brown rice. she will pretend to vomit if she is full/dun wan to eat...

Crystalz.. welcome back.. glad u enjoy yourself...

I've tried lentils. I didn't soak worh. I just rinsed and dump into the pot to boil. Tried to freeze lentils also. The frozen ones were rubbery. hahaha.

tub, jeelo,
when u gals buy the millet, quinoa, lentils etc...each time we dun use so much right? Then how? Coz I think my kitchen cupboard is beginning to look like I'm stocking up for some major event. hahaha. air tight containers filled with brown rice, millet, lentils, cereals...........and not even half used.

yalo, use a bit onli everytime... i keep all in fridge. save the containers... use ikea clips. also got share some with my colgs coz they got kids are just slightly older than mine.

<font color="aa00aa">dinut,
millets need longer time and more water to cook thoroughly for it to be soft.

lentils need to be soak first.
usually i will soak it in a bowl the nite before.
if u want it to be faster, can soak in hot water for about 30 mins.
then u can cook it liao.
HTH!</font>

jeelo,
oh yah...ikea clips! *smack head*. didn't think of those...good idea. hehs...thanks for the tip...

bluelily,
I use red lentils. after cooking, it's yellow. hahaha.

bluelily, quinoa is an ancient grain that is easily digestible, like millet. i'm trying out today. hope su likes it. millet is called xiao mi in chinese and quinoa is called xiao xiao mi.

red lentils can buy from organic food store. i buy from the yong xu organic store in yishun.

lynzi, thanks for the tip. will try lentils after quinoa.

csi, i'll keep in fridge too. but i'll only have 2 types of grains at one time.

tub thks for the explanation! Btw, anyone's bb stop eating commercial baby cereals already? Mine prefers porridge now.. but I'm afraid will be lack of nutrients like iron.. etc.

Kim
Very timely question. 2 weeks ago, I had spotting plus super bad headache. I thought menses coming but the spotting stopped after 2 days. Then on Sunday, menses started but very light. Then by end of the day, it stopped. I don't know how to read this. Luckily supply didn't drop. Still pumping 3 times a day - close to 1 litre - plus latch on during the night.

Bluelily
Agree that our babies are no long baby anymore. They are growing up so fast!! Sometime I wish he will slow down but yet want him to grow grow grow. Haiz ... contradictory hor?

Since last month, QJ can clap and wave goodbye. He knows the fan, flower, Austin (the dog), ball, Ah Gong, Ah Ma, Papa, Mommy, Ipah (the maid). When I say "I'm going to catch you" he will start crawling away from me very fast and giggle. Very playful. At the end of 'twinkle twinkle little star'

He doesn't poo everyday but when he does, it is one kind of stinko!!

hi valeriet, my girl also doesn't poo everyday.....ur boy's poo, is it dry &amp; lumpy? my girl abit constipated, so trying to give fruits after every meal.....

Steffietan,
Wow, so fast planning the 1-year-old party already? Gosh, guess I'm still in dreamland.. ya hor, our babies gonna be one soon.. so soon

Valeriet,
I share the same sentiments as you. On one hand wish that my boy will grow up faster, but on the other hand, hope that he can slow down a bit

So fast, seems like just yesterday when we were all complaining about the wait/delivery late last year

Bluelily,
My boy also doesn't like commerical cereals anymore.. what I do is to feed him one spoonful of cereal than one spoonful of apple puree.. haha, bluff him into finishing the cereal.. I'm afraid he will not take bland food in future so still insisting that he eats cereals..

everytime when i hold mal's hand to wave bye bye, he will shunbian put his fingers into his mouth. faint... when i want him to clap hands, he will put his hands on top of my hands and clap. another faint.. he knows quite a number of objects but not pointing yet. the only word he can say it loud and clearly is NEH NEH NEH NEH when he is hungry

wah alien...hahaha so cute! mal can say neh neh when he is hungry...he knows where milk comes from...hahaha. my gal just cries. but she makes baby sign for milk.

Serena
My boy's poo is gooey, like whipped potato. Hahaha ... apologies to those who like to eat whipped potato. Btw, welcome to the forum!

Phy
I remember you were the one who wanted to wear make-up during labour so that can take photo and still look sui sui.

My boy just tilts his head, opens his mouth and aim towards my chest for the 'source' of his milk. Sometimes quite embarrassing when we are outside.

Valeriet,
Haha, ya hor :p

QJ looks so cheerful. Good to have a happy boy.

Ok, my turn to share some recent photos of Ryan when hubby and I took him to Batam recently. First time took boy out of Singapore, was very nervous...After the trip, think dare to venture further already

1701480.jpg
1701481.jpg

Porridge cooking,
Is it not good to add ikan bilis(for the taste only) to cook porridge?

Valeriet,
Haha, ya hor :p

QJ looks so cheerful. Good to have a happy boy.

Ok, my turn to share some recent photos of Ryan when hubby and I took him to Batam recently. First time took boy out of Singapore, was very nervous...After the trip, think dare to venture further already

Porridge cooking,
Is it not good to add ikan bilis(for the taste only) to cook porridge?

valeriet
preggy!!?? hahahahaa..

phy &amp; CSI
he will neh neh neh neh......... all the way until i stuff bottle in to shut his mouth. it can be very annoying at times when the milk is not heat up yet.

phy,
my gal can't say anything yet leh. at most only "yah yah yah ba ba ba ba ba". But then, the only baby sign she knows is milk lorh. coz I keep showing her. hehs. But that's all lah...haha. she not fast lah.

alien,

At least he knows what 'neh neh' stands for.. Food is one of the basic needs mah.

So towkay now started walking? He's always one of the kids here who moves on to new milestones rather quickly

CSI,
My boy only knows how to protest when I give me cereal or make noise when he doesn't get his way.. Most friends commented that he's pretty quiet leh.. I'm a bit worried about that though.

phy
towkay not walking yet but has showing sign on getting ready to move his 1st step. i noticed his both feet are flat on the floor no longer tip toes when he stands on his own (of cos holding on something lah). he can walk from one end to the other end now when holding on something. we were amazed he able to sit down on his own when he is tired.

this is a technical internet question (to me lah!)

Is it normal for hotmail to go kuku? recently like cannot load properly, must wait forever one. Even when other sites load with no problem. Anything I can do other than switch to a different email server?

re walking, my gal took her first forward step last weekend (while one hand holding onto the jumperoo). But horh, she skipped the crawling stage lah. She went straight from sitting down to standing up. So we sort of made her go back to learn how to crawl. haha. Coz I think it's impt to know how to crawl too...left and right coordination mah. so now, she can crawl also...but not very fast. Her progression a bit jumbled up. haha.

val, REALLY not pregnant? haha pulling your leg

steffie! NICE ONESIE! where did u order from?
but i think su will look kindda weird in a tutu. haha

serena, it's not recommended to give fruits right after a meal. may not digest well. give it a few hours earlier or later.
i tried avocado and my bb poos everyday or twice a day. can give smoothie also. avo+banana or avo+apple or banana+apple all very nice. her poo poo nice texture and colour. :p

tub, thanks for the advice.....yes, i will wait a while before giving the fruits

btw, how many times do u give fruits per day and how big is your portion?

seems like a lot of yr babies prefer porridge to cereal now. My boy is still rejecting porridge no matter how sweet/fragrant I cook it to. Still prefer the bland cereal and can finish 1 big bowl.

Caught Ethan taking his first steps last sat while supporting himself on the table.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_4gyCXzCNA

serena, i try to limit to this 3/4 of a small banana or 3/4 a kiwi, or 3/4 of avocado or 3/4 slice of those papaya sold at food court. scared he eat too much laosai...

hehee mine still tiptoe even when he holds on something to stand. still doesn't know how to separate his legs when he stands up (need to help him to do so)

speaking of ikan bilis, my mum wanted to try her luck again asking me whether she can add to baby's porridge, saying that it's high in calcium bla bla bla. The type she bought is the small one whitish type, not the bigger anchovy looking ones. i said a big nono and ask her not to ask me anymore. think she heart pain

claire, what i know about hotmail is that all the mails i got subscribed to some mailing groups are all jumbled up, not chronologically arranged

tonite, i wanted shawn to go on mag mag for his last feed. he took 100mls on the mag mag, played and flipped and munched some books. then he started to bury himself into my breast. ok lor.. so i thought time to sleep coz i usually lights off then he'll want to zzz liao. then i put him in my arms, told him drink from the cup ok? he kept looking at my breast, waiting. when i tried to shove magmag into his mouth, he started screaming and waving his hands everywhere pushing the magmag away. bo pian, need to go on breast tonite. try my luck again tomolo.
tomolo i'll get the school to use mag mag for his milk feed (nowadays they have to spoonfeed him his milk coz he anyhow drink from the bottle usually doesn't finish if he's served from his bottle).

i give her once a day. either half an avocado or an apple. going to try pear, apricot and banana next but cannot give too much banana cos it will cause constipation. hehheh. can give more vege also? sumana has oni tried threadfin plus vege. dun intend to give her any meat. seems like she'll be a vegequarian!