(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

thanks mummies for your advice on millets! will try cooking longer then with more water

csi_fan,
i also thought my son will never crawl or able to sit down by himself...he used to move about on his tummy.then one fine day suddenly able to stand up,then cruise holding on to something...after that the crawling and sitting down came heehee

phy,
where did you stay in batam? had chance to go spa-ing? kekeke

jeelomeelo,
u're training jr to go to sleep without nursing? i'd like to train my son too...in fact already tried several times and always fail miserably...and the nite time comfort feeding is a big fat problem for me...advice,anyone?

but the good thing is my son can drink from straw already since he was 6+ month old so maybe i should just let him drink that way before going to sleep? but how about midnite time when he's thirsty? i dun want to use bottle anymore (he rarely did anyway) and he doesn't know how to drink from sippy cups hahaha

RE: walking vs talking
heard that babies who walk first will acquire talking skills later?

RE: baby poo
errr...my baby's poo often the 'condensed' kind but i always rule out constipation...i just think that happens when baby eats porridge? (just like adult's? hahaha)

dinut
re walking vs talking. i think it's a bit true for my boy's case. until now, he hasn't really mumble any words like the others here. but realised his motor skills r developing much faster. i suspect he may start talking a bit later.

eve,
at first i thought it's only old wives' tale but then it is also mentioned in some baby development books...apparently babies who are too busy exploring his environment and moving about sort of 'forget' to learn how to talk coz too busy developing their muscles...my son is also the same,apart from mamamama (and only when he's not feeling well or upset!) i can get nothing much out of him verbally kekeke

Must let my sil know about the fruits thing. Her son will be 2 in Oct, but he gets constipation easily. She said gets so bad, they've to use bb oil to rub the butt and dig the sai out. Gross, but v painful for him and mummy too. Last sat heard him crying and crying becoz constipated.

dinut / eve
heard that bois will start to talk much later than gals..not sure if its true..but my boi seems to be a bit slower than his jie jie in areas of sitting and crawling etc. Till now, he is a bit unstable when seated..also cant crawl yet..but blabber a lot though

jasmine,
my gal has been like that for a few months ler. hehs. I just put her in (dun care), add some toys inside to distract her and quick quick bather her. All in 5 mins. Miss the window, then she'll start to cry liaoz. coz she'll be bored with the toys then. I had thot it's coz she's just a non-water baby...hehs. coz even swimming, put her in the pool, she'll also cry and cling to me...

re babies talking etc. My younger brother was slower than my sister and me. He only started talking at 18 mths plus. Whereas my sis and I, according to my parents, before 1 we were yakking so much they had to tell us to "shhhh....". Think gals lah, we just love to yak. heehee...

jr is the opp of constipation. Everytime I give him vegy.. he poo big time.. 2x a day. I'm thinking of giving food tt cause constipation instead.. besides brown rice, banana, wat else? lol

claire, hotmail recently upgraded lah.. then become v slow. toopid. Try upgrading ur browser to latest version.. or use firefox.. seems to work faster for me.

What's wrong with ikan billis? If we wash n soak many times.. ok? My grandma just grounded ikan billis for me.. i tot gd mah.. got calcium.. since jr drinks little milk.

My boy gets 1-2 small cubes of fruits everyday - usually papaya or apples - 1-2 hours before/after his meals. He doesn't like bananas. I know citrus fruits must be avoided. Can give watermelon? I stopped the maid from feeding him watermelon last week but couldn't give her a reason why not. She gave me a funny look. Bleh.

Jasmine
My boys is a water baby but recently, he is getting less and less interested in taking his bath. Need to distract him and do a very quick wash and get him out.

my boy simply loves his bathtime! Sometimes he'll cry when we carry him up after bathing cos he hasn't played enough. He'll splash water everywhere... try to climb here climb there.. need to wear raincoat when bathing him. Think all depends in ur bbs character ba..

jeelo,
thanks for the advice.....i tried some papaya but she doesn't seem to like it.....but will try again
.....i love papaya

tub,
.....ya, pear is good & i think banana does cause constipation (at least that is what I heard from my doctor), so i let her have very little banana, juz for the taste
.....ya, also try to give more vege.....her porridge is always all greeny :p

Claire,
for constipation, can try to take more fruits with "p" like pear, prunes, papaya etc.....from the info on this forum, avocado seems to work too
.....er, must be quite painful to dig the poo out.....poor thing....

dinut,
as long as the poo that comes out is not dry hard pellets, then it's not constipation

Re: walking vs talking
my girl has always been quite slow with her motor skills.....took quite a while for her to sit up unassisted.....but now she crawls (leopard crawl) & sit.....

so steffi, dun worry abt ur boy, he will eventually be able to sit & crawl

my girl loves to stand up when we hold her, though she can't cruise yet.....i also noticed that her feet is flat when she stands, no longer tiptoeing

but she blabbers alot.....sometimes, she will try to talk to strangers when i bring her out but saying eh, eh.....apart from all the ba, pa, da etc, sometimes i think i heard "da....ddy"

wa... den how to bath her within 5 mins... seow liaoz....

regarding ikan billis... eeh... me has been using it to cook as a soup based for my ger ever since she start eating porridge leh... thought a lot calcium.. gd for her... me same like bluelily... wash n soak a few times b4 using it to cook porridge...

haha... yesterday brought her to chinese garden to c lanterns... dis time round the lanterns a bit boring... not much to c... but, my ger simply luves it... sooooooooooo happy...

haiz... me flying to bkk this wkend... not bringing my ger along... need to chill out... kind of miss her... now, bkk a bit messy... wonder whehter issit safe anot... agency say i cant postphoned o refund the tickets as i bought it during natas fair... is a promotion package... how ah???

phy,

glad to know u had a gd trip at Batam.....we are thinking of bringing my girl to Bintan in Oct, so was wondering wat food did u give Ryan when u were in Batam? jarred food & instant cereal? thanks!

jasmine the chinese garden lantern fest.. how much ah? Feel like going.. but maybe wait till after Mid-autuum liao.. hb on reservice.. sianzz.. re : bkk, those tourism place.. shd be ok ba?

bluelily,
think is $3 per person ba... haha... me not e 1 footing... haha. so, don't koe... do rmb to bring a portable mini fan... s is soooooooooooooo hot.

regards to bkk... hopefully is ok lol... haiz...

my baby poo = pasty dough (like those wet dough you achieve when making bread), sticky gluely stinky

ya dinut, trying to do so. so far he's been able to sleep by himself after nursing, i try to make sure he's awake, play a bit roll here n there, he'll singsong by himself, then zzz (got to stay on there to make sure he doens't roll off the bed as he still co sleeps with us). if he dozes off, i'll nudge him n kinda wake him up/play a bit and let him fall asleep again by himself. he typically sleep at about 9.30pm to 10pm noawadays.. he was sleeping thru last whole week. tot my nightmare was over. then he woke up past 2 nites, at about 2.30/3.30am, cry n cry n cry with his eyes wide open, pulled my hair n my pjs. try to coax him n pat pat a bit, then let him cry until he fall asleep by himself. took himn about 15min from the point he started crying until he falls asleep again.

jaz,my girl's bathtime alwys takes as long as 1/2 hr de.. haa.. she luv water.. i throw in alot of toys and i will use a small cup and pour water down her head, coz i wana train her for swimming in future ..
mabbe u wanna consider giving toys??

latern fest: my daddy wanted bring shirui there last wkend.. end up we couldn't make it so he went with my mummy.. verdict: NOT NICE at all..
haa.. dun bother gg ??

dinut, tink the talk vs walk tingy i ever heard old pple mentioned.. but duno how true..
my girl pulled herself frm sitting to standing position and walked with support agst sofa or table or wall.. for i tink the past 2-3weeks le..
but she oni mastered the skills of TRUE CRAWLING on fours a week ago .. all the while she's been doing leopard crawl..
and oso learnt to push herself frm zz-ing to sitting position ..
but her 'talking' skills oni limited to "mummum", "dada", "baba", "mama"
and she oni waves bye bye when she's the one outside the door.. i.e she's gg out =P
she clap hands and haa.. and dances to music ..

jeelo - self zzz:
dat's someting my PD asked me to do wich i haven .. jialat.. tmr bring shirui go c PD sure kenna asked again.. i'm still her walking pacificer .. everynite she will dig herself into my breasts to zzz..
and if she wakes in the middle, (we co-zz) .. she wont b able zzz back until i 'flash' my B to her again..

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

<font color="aa00aa">afternoon mummies!!!

wow kim, mal is always the fastest here.
u think he can walk before his 1st bday???

steffietan,
so cute the tutu!!!
A is a very lucky gal.

re: lentils
those who wana start cooking lentils, wat i did is i will boil the lentils just like how we cook porridge then i add in veg puree and chicken puree.
lentils doesnt seem so nice to add with fish though.
tried it the other day and even to me it tasted weird and yucky.

eve,
my boy also still prefers cereal to porridge.
though now he has taken to eating porrdge, he sems to take longer to finish it as compared to cereal.
with cereal even 8 tablespoons dont seem enuf...hahaha.
oh, and he loves bananas..hehe</font>

slimz really ah.. then i dun bother to go chi garden liao. bring jr go playground go see children carry lantern can liao. Wanted to buy a lantern for him.. but i find the music all too loud.. scared damage his ears.

zzzzzzzzz......... so sleepy......

slimz,
hahahahaha....I couldn't help laugh at ur sentence..."wont b able zzz back until i 'flash' my B to her again". hahaha...so funny...what a way to put it...but true lorh. My gal also the same! hahaha

no nid leh, i just paste a masking tape over. there are some lanterns, can adjust the sound volume one, but more exp

hmmm... just realised all the bbs do not have much hair... wonder when will the hair grow more ferociously. Mine still botak still.

Eve, Ethan can walk well.
Very fast.

tub:

i ordered e tutu fr LePink Daisy. let me know if u want e contact. ya, i also think A doesnt suit a tutu look (since 10 out of 10 ppl tink she's a he) but wat e heck..haha..at least sumana has a more girlish look..

slimz,

err dylan also cannot self-zzz. actually my PD give me conflicting advice. At first he told me to let dylan cry it out..

recently dylan has been crying so much I asked my PD if anything is wrong - he said no but ask me to carry dylan as much as possible. Even take him out of the car seat if he is screaming alot! (that day he scream and cried in car seat until vomit on himself/carseat).

So how to let him cry it out!?!? alamak...

re: self-sleep
mal also cannot make it. unless he is super tired. usually got to pat him for abt 10mins or maybe lesser, depends on his mood. but those middle night feeds got no prob. he will fall asleep after the milk.

re: walking vs talking
i would think he will be able to walk before turning 1yo but not talking. this morning i just discovered he is able to "point" with hands, not finger/s when we were playing cards game. i have record down his moves this AM but no time to upload into youtube yet. maybe tonite..

My #1(boy) walks during his 11th mth, talk meaning? first word? His first word is 1 year old "Daddy".

Since last week, PuiPui has been walking ard on his own supporting on my furnitures/wall/gorgor's toy ride. #1 did an Mickey handicraft, we sticked it onto the mirror. I told him Mickey, then not long I heard him saying "Mic... key" and eyes looking at the mirror where Mickey is pasted. MIL asked Pui Pui,"Where is mummy?" when I am not ard. He will look towards my main door. When his toys drop onto the ground or wants anything, he will point and make that "arrgh" sound. Now he still have no special liking on cartoon characters. Dunno is Elmo or Mickey or Thomas.... clueless...

Me feeding brown rice, millets and pearl rice onli... will try out the rest soon. =)

missylan
wow! puipui can say mickey!! wonder wat will be his reaction when he sees mal's mickey wall covering &amp; playmat?? all mickey.. keke..

lynzi
can give 8 tablespoons? i only max to 5 tablespoons which is 1 full servings as stated on the box. he also finish up the cereal very fast compared to porridge which he took ages to finish.

re: walking and talking
my no 1 and 2, althou from the same factory, are very different in devt. No 1 started walking only at 16th month old, and said his first word at 10 mth old . No 2 started walking by 11mth old, same as missylan's no 1, and first word at 8mth old.
now, didi still not showing any sign of talking. He can't really crawl well yet too.
different baby really diff progress. :p

had not been in this thread for a while.
hee...our babies have really progress. Seems just yday when we were talking abt their flip, now, its walking n talking.

my gal had started blabbering.. but mainly those few words like "mmum..da.chia.." dunno wat she's talking abt. n i dun think any of it is mama or papa. sigh~ cant wait to hear her say mama to mi.

she had also started to walk with support sometimes. its cute to c her walking sideway as she holds on to e play yard.

btw, anyone has any suggestion of how to celebrate e 1 yr old bday?

yalor.. i agree different bb different progress.. so long dey progress good le..
act its quite a headache wen dey progress.. haa.. juz now trying to put her to bed.. and she was so energtic lar..kept flipping, pushing herself to seating position n den stand.. urgh!!

pretty,
ur ger is so pretty... same s ur nick.... she realli look adorable...

wah... seems like most of e bb here r progressing well... haiz.. mine seem a bit slow... till now, she still refuse to hold hew own bttles, not crawling much (as MIL refuse to let her crawl, scare she knock her head), not babbling much yet.

jasmine
get a playmat or those abc mats so if bb crawls and knocks her head, not so sim tia. Must practise mah, otherwise how to learn?

missy, wah puipui is smart leh. Can say whole word now? And sounds like he cant walk quite well too.

alien, mal's leg is v strong now! Jr still wobbly.. think Mal will be the 1st to walk among here.

pretty, ur really know now to dress up ur gal! Really princess leh!

jasmine, mine dun wanna hold his own bottle too. If u let him hold, he'll twist n turn his bottle.. play with the teats.. anything but drink from it. hai...

pretty
wow, can i place ping jing first??? hiak hiak hiak!! must faster than jovan cos i know they meet quite often, keke!!

jasmine
dun worry too much. my towkay also dunno how to drink fr straw properly. one mouthful of water in, 2/3 came out. hahaha.. we hv to let them try/learn, if not forever dunno liao.

constance
i agree every baby has their own path of development. i always remind myself not to compare. his has a classmate 3 months older than him can walk, point (1 finger) and pay full concentration during the class. really very very advanced wor

bluelily
walk faster or later doesn't matter. as long as they are healthy and happy. he is slow in some area like holding own bottle, drink from straw or sippy cup, ect.

Tub,
Ya, I'm also kinda worried about sodium..

Any other ways to cook porridge to give it taste? Thanks for any advice given

Dinut,

We stayed in Holiday Inn
Spa included in the package. Well, I went with a group of friends so they helped out in babysitting. Hubby and I took turns to go spa though