(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

alien, think i try abit of avocado a day too. btw hor.. it's hungry ghost fest liao leh.. this weekend. Some ppl superstitous not going swimming.. hahaha.

shryn, it's ok lah. We do tt in chalets all the time. Just tt I havent been to a chalet since donkey yrs ago liao.

haiyo alien.....my ah boy also havent start swimming yet.
Am looking forward to his full recovery 1st then bring him go swimming.
Bought all the gears liao too...but yet to use.

Haiyo bluelily, u remind me about that. Yah got to avoid 1st just in case and try to bring bb back home earlier...
dirtydirty..

everytime i fish out her swimming costume . she squeal with joy.. alamak. and at the swimming pool, she scream soo loud , people thought i struggle her.

me also c-section for my 2 deliveries & planning for no. 3 next year

swimming:
mummies, u all bring bb to public pool? has the HFMD died down yet? pretty worried.. jialat.. i'm a scarycat mum...

rachel C..
http://www.shrinkpictures.com/

my girl still refusing spoon ={
tink she is least advanced in terms on food tasting le.. avocado.. i hate leh..if she dun wan how.. i wont finish for her =P

shryn, my gyane told me its better to stop at 3 for c-section mummy. however if i decided to hv my 4th one, i hv to let him know before my delivery for my 3rd one as he said he need to check for me (he mentioned need to make some measurement) whether can i hv the 4th bb. anyway for me, i hv decided to stop at 3

oic...

my cousin just had her no. 3 and she is doing the 'tied up' (don know the correct term)
3 kids really alot leh...
i only got 1...still thinking if wanna have 2 :p

u gals were discussing on the "teeth" issue earlier. my boy has a total of 6 teeths, 4 on top & 2 below but he still don't know how to crawl. Most likely is becoz we let him sit on the walker most of the time & he prefer relying on the walker to walk instead of crawling...he is 8 mth plus now.

bb eating...
seems like my bb still dont really know how to eat leh... when feeding, her tongue will like push out the food lor...she going to be 8 mths liao..

maybe she is slow at eating stage.

Any bb like mine??

bbtree & deerdeer...
yeah...ligation

wow bbtree...6 teeth liao.....ray is so fast.

Mine's 7 months plus, only 2 lower central incisor out and still sprouting very slowly.

1598801.jpg

Krist,
maybe it is the spoon and the food texture. My did that too. I change the spoon and change the rice cereal .. then she ok. within the same week.

krist ah... i find the avent spoon good for feeding. used to feed su with the pigeon spoon and the puree will end up in her nostrils!!! avent one is neater!

deerdeer/tub
maybe i can try changing the spoon.

im using plastic kind of spoon, the one tat will change colour if the food is hot (not sure wat brand cos given by my SIL). But not sure what my MIL use.. maybe its metal kind bah..

She said always feed her with brown rice/cereal, she will eat (but as usual tongue push out the food) but after eating she will vomit out the food leh.. or maybe her stomach still cannot digest or hold the food?? but when i feed her with cereal during weekend she ok leh.. she din vomit out... wats wrong???

krist, how much did ur mum feed her? If she cant take it well.. maybe dun try feeding too much? Too full can also vomit.. esp if they lie on their tummies.. all the food squeeze out. My bb last time will like tt. Now ok le. Now he's super tam jiak!

bluelily..
not sure how much she feeding bb.. she follow the instruction from the label lor... i tell her not to mix too much and also make it more watery maybe will be better.. but i also duno... im not there to see leh...

MIL said that bb cough then vomit out... hope she will be better with her eating soon...

*irritating* my mother was feeding salmon porridge to bb last weekend then hor she said to my bb that gd food let u eat also duno how to eat.. going to be 8 mths le still duno... sickening hor... haiz...sometimes her words really prick ppl's heart....of cos diff bb diff development ma... haiz.. aunties...

btw can they eat salmon har... aiyo... hopefully can la...

wat cereals are u feeding babies now? i only feed her porridge. used to feed her nestle white rice cereal when she is younger.

My girl started on avocado. She loves it. Avocado is good for brain development. I have mixed with pear and apple. How long can we keep the baby cubes if not frozen? I made about 8 cubes and finished it within 3-4 days. Making baby cubes is fun. I m still thinking of more fruits to make this weekend....

How u know bb have cough? my girl coughing at times... i dun noe if she is choked by her saliva or jus clearing her throat? how to tell?????
she abit constipated? never poo for 3 days liao? any remedies? her stools very dry. HOW???? must see pd????

happi

just make sure your girl still eating, sleeping properly, and dun bring her to crowded places. if she starts coughing at nite, or u hear phlegm when she cough/ see mucus from her nose, must see doc already to get meds. or see doc first to get meds on standby

stools - maybe see pd would be good? cos my pd said if stool still soft but not everyday poo, it's ok. Or u can try steffietan's and jeelomeelo's methods of feeding diluted prune juice or yoplait

happi,
can try give your baby diluted prune juice.
i bought those heinz ones and dilute it before feeding him.

gerls,
where is that list for our august gathering?
most of u have not voted lei.
at this rate we will never have a gathering.
if in september, i can only help to organise but me, zu and dini cannot attend cos its fasting month.
can anyone help to find the gathering list from the archives and paste it again?
i'm still busy with my boy recovering from cough and flu and now mummy got it worse cos i got rashes on whole face, neck and arms....sighhhhhhhhhhh

happi,
fruits best served fresh - learnt from the teachers from my boy's infant care ctr... what they do is they grate fresh apple/papaya/banana/pear and serve it with the porridge (like side dish). i notice that they also increase to feed him twice daily. once is lunch (one veg/fruit with porridge) then a fruit in the afternoon snack. then when at home,

as for avocado, i asked my vegan fren, she said can keep cut ones in fridge for 1-2days , cling wrap it up if cannot finish the whole thing.

bluelily, ya, hard boiled egg served with millets/brown rice porridge. my dog would eat the remaining of the egg since my boy only eat 1/4 of the yolk.

krist, i used the playskool brand one (changes color at the edges if temp is hot). personally i feel that it's good coz it tips the food off nicely n no spills!

phy, ya, need to boil the brown rice grains for awhile, like 15min or more at least to 'open' up the grains. then pour into the thermal jar. that day i boiled only for 5min, i tot i can take short cut but in the evening the grains were still tiny n din open up. still hard hard by the end of the day

anyone try making beef/chicken broth n add into porridge yet? tink i'll start this when he's 9mths

lynzi, what happened?! i tot it's faiq who got the rashes, instead it's you?! o dear... better go see doc. might be food related. take care

about poo, i ever seen a SOLID poo (half the size of the dbs IB token) that my baby 'manufactured'! only that one time... that was when i just started brown rice cereal on him.

ankh,
wat's yoplait? she dun like to drink water. have to coax her to drink. will bring her to pd soon.
so far no phlegm, no coughing at night.

ya ya.... i m looking forward to our gathering. committee members must start working soon... hee

jeelomeelo,
they serve plain porridge?

my mom boiled dried small silver fish liked ikan bilis with water before adding white rice.

seems all intro quite a no of vaieties to ur bb diet... wad other things can intro??

me a bit slow lah.... only intro
pumpkin,
brocolli,
fish,
sweet potato,
carrot,
potato,
silver fish water o ikan billi water - use it to cook wif porridge

my ger keeps scratching her ear till it bleeds, any idea y???

lynzi, i tot it ur son got the rashes? **blur liao, heee**

paiseh har, i mia from the gathering and gymboree planning *busybee at work and bps, hehee* if want to organise, end aug will be bttr, maybe set the date as either 30 aug or 1 sept?

shld we have unformal gathering on national day noon?

hentang, how ur check on the gymboree class? i think most of us will want vivo, hehee!

happi, so nice to see u ytd! paiseh, don mean to be "fierce" to u hehe, just joking with u only, u don look like a mummy leh, *so envy*

deerdeer/ bbtree
my gynae told me he c sect up to 5 max!

We let didi tried a bit of durian last nite. He liked the first taste. But after 2 tastes, he gave me the "wanna puke" face. so we stopped. :p

jas,

is it your girl suck her hand then smear her saliva over ears? this was the cause of my girl's eczema. realised it happens also when her saliva gets onto her face. doc gave me steroid cream to use on her ear then, but i only used it once. itching lessened and i just pulled my girl's hand away from her ears whenever i see her scratching them

bengma the one at mrt yesterday that one is happi ar?!

ysty hb told me that he might go biz trip for 2good wks mid aug.. i want to flip liao... hopefully my mum can come by sg. otherwise i'd go bongkuz

Morning mummies...

Gabby's mum
Really cannot eat salmon har... she ate oni very little bit...heehee... my mum insist of feeding her.. bopian la... haiz

btw.. any mommies want isomil stage 2 FM (lactose free)? I have 1 tin, opened, my bb take a few scoops oni. Dun want to waste it. Please let me know ya.

I brought my gal for a swim yesterday! Heehee...was able to get off work early yesterday (lucky...) so decided to bring gal down for a swim in her new thermal swimwear and try out the new neck float. It was so fun! (I also realised, that the float and her swimming costume colour matches! hahahaha).

At first she dun dare to move. She was very stiff and didn't move at all. Then after a while, she got the hang of it...then she started swinging her arms around and splashing the water everywhere. Then she started kicking and swimming backstroke! hahaha...really very cute.

jeelo
my hubby gg on biz trip end of this mth too...to US, abt 10 days.....will throw my #1 at mil's place and take care of #2 at nite only...otherwise sure go bonkas one..

SAME! My girl ear.. esp the inside got scratch marks and bleed also. Is it teething? heard that when they start teething they will keep tugging their ear.

hihi mummies,
i have been to the doc.
apparently i got rashes not due to food allergy but allergic to dust, cement particles, etc.
as u gerls know my pil's place have been doing reno and on tues i had a nap on the bed in 1 of the rooms there.
doc told me not to spend so much time there until all the reno is done and the dust has been cleared up.
faiq has normal heat rash so i'm not very worried.
all these sickness comes 1 after another.
in a span of 1 week, my doc has seen us 4 times!!!!!!
can u imagine that?
hopefully both me and him will be free of sickness soon.
so bored being cooped up at home...sianz

i have not started porridge lei.
tot i wana start when he's 8 mths and after he has recovered.
faiq will be 8 mths tomorrow.
now he knows how to sit unsupported, crawl forward and backwards.
how time flies....
when i looked at my cousins' newborns i miss holding and smelling faiq as a newborn.

anyone can give me tips on how to cook brown rice porridge?
do i wash the grains before grinding or dont need to wash, just grind then cook it?

mummies who feed their babies with avocado,
I've read that we cannot freeze avocado. Most foods can be frozen, but avocado and banana cannot.
Also, avocado isn't easily digestible, so be careful not to give to much.

just to share some info i've gotten on cough remedy cos my twins are coughing now.

Confirm this can be taken by babies even earlier than 8 months because this is very mild Chinese herbs.

南杏 – 1 handful
北杏 - 1 handful
薄荷叶 – 5 片
川贝粉 – 1 teaspoon
无花果 – 3 粒

Cook with 2 bowls of water (slow cooker)

I heard some Chinese medicine shop also sell pre-packed version of this, just have to ask.

lynzi,
remember I asked that same question before? heehee...to wash or not to wash before grinding...end up, like nobody has the answer. haha.

Anyway, what I tried (once only) was I washed the rice, then I spread them out onto a paper towel on a plate and let them dry before grinding. Otherwse, very difficult to grind leh, I find...and instead of a fine powder, will end up with clumpy paste after grinding when still wet (u know, like u milk powder but kenna a bit of water...it becomes sticky paste...).

Yah, that's what I did lah.

brown rice: What my grandma did for me is wash. Then lay to air/sun dry. Then grind. If not grind to powder liao how to wash??