(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

blessed,

Me hv been SAHM for more than a year now. I can't believe it myself that I gave up my job for the kids.

I din realised that taking care of kids can be so tough till nbr 2 came along. I went back to work when my nbr 1 was about 3 mths old. I stopped work when my nbr 1 is in Nursery 2 n got pregnant last year. I'm feeling quite stressed taking care of nbr 2 alone now. It makes me really grateful to my sis who helped me wz nbr 1 back then.

There's a lot of sacrifice to make if you choose to be SAHM. Like what Constance wrote, the "only me" time is during work. That is something I miss. When working, still got social life cos you go out wz colleagues for lunch, n sometimes still can afford to sneak a few dinner appointments. Now, if I meet my friends, usually is wz the kids in tow.

Another is spending power. Now I can't shop n buy freely like I used to when I was working. I'm conscious of how much am I spending cos now depend solely on hb's income. Thatz why I have not been able to join in the many lobangs though I very very very much want to.

Like Steffietan, I do feel jealous when I chat wz my working friends. I also cried a few times, asking myself if I'm doing the right thing. At the end of the day, seeing my nbr 1 now closer to me n nbr 2 smiling at me, I guess I have no regrets.

Recently, I got a few job opportunities but after questioning myself n reviewing the current state, I decided I can't go back to work for now. So its SAHM till dunno when for me...

Noticed that mine went missing from the list, so am adding in again.

North Mummies
Linda - Sembawang
Bluelily - Woodlands
Lynzi - Woodlands
Alien - Toa Payoh
Dinut - Toa Payoh
Slimz - Ang Mo Kio
Elaine - Ang Mo Kio
jubeck - Ang Mo Kio
ankh - Whampoa
tub - Yishun
fairylander - Yishun
split - Yishun st 81

North East Mummies
Missylan - Rivervale Link
Cocoangel - Hougang
Stary78 - Punggol
Petrina - Seletar now (Buangkok in June 08)
Constancet - Punggol
ankh - Whampoa
joanne - Hougang
Slimz - Buangkok
Baby12 - Sengkang
Jaz23 - Serangoon north

East Mummies
Hazel - Bedok
Jeelomeelo - Tampines
Noelle - Kambangan
Steffietan - Katong
Belle_08 - Tampines Ave 8
Idah - Tampines St 21
ah_bie - Bedok
Baby12 - Simei (currently staying in parent's hse)
Witty - Tampines St 91

West Mummies
CSI - hume park
ginger - hillview
zu - teckwhye
etelle - Jurong West
BBnGG - CCK
cloverluv - Jurong West
claire_liu - West Coast
T&P - Jurong West
kokopooh - Ghim Moh
Happi - Bt Batok
CryStaLZ - Bukit Panjang
hentang - Toh Yi Drive

Central Mummies
Botanist - Farrer Park Road
Fanny - Farrer Park Road Blk 15

Moms of Moms
CSI - clementi ave 2
ginger - clementi ave 2
Linda - Clementi ave 3
missylan - Jurong East St. 31
Constancet - Tampines St 22
tub - Yishun St 81
fairylander - Yishun St 22
CryStaLZ - CCK Ave 4
Fanny - Circuit Road

thanks botanist!

hello girls! can please advice on the following matter:
1) insurance: what insurance do you guys take up for your kids? i need an easy hassle free one.

2) monitoring onset of fever: so far after the jab, baby's temperature still ok at 36.5..should i wake up tonight, in the wee hours of the morning,every hour to take her temperature or not necessary?
thanks girls!

cookiemz(Baby JunRui) 14 Nov - 6.8kg, 64 cm
steffietan(Baby Alexis) 16 Nov - 5.3kg, 60cm
rach11(Baby Isaac) 18 Nov - 6.4kg, 61cm
fanny(Baby cayenne) 22 nov - 6kg, 63 cm
Elaine(Baby Gabrielle) 23 Nov - 6.4kg
CryStaLZ(Baby Amberly) 23 Nov - 5.58kg, 63cm
Witty(baby Dwayne) 26 Nov - 6.6kg, 64cm
Etelle(Baby Evan) 27 Nov - 8.6kg, 63cm
Gloomybear(Baby Arielle) 28 Nov - 5.2kg, 56cm
Missylan(Baby Jia Kai) 30 Nov - 7.8kg, 65cm
tub(Baby Sumana) 02 Dec - 6.2kg
lynzi(Baby Faiq) 02 Dec - 5.8kg, 60cm
Idah(Baby Adlan) 05 Dec - 6.3kg
Cry Baby(Baby Kate) 05 Dec - 4.4kg, 55cm
bluelily(Baby Jerrell) 05 Dec - 5.7kg
hentang(baby Kaylen) 05 Dec - 7kg, 60cm
jeelomeelo(Baby Shawn) 05 Dec - 7kg, 62cm
slimz(Baby shirui) 06 Dec - 6.1kg, 60cm
Tricianbt(Baby Shania) 06 Dec - 5.8kg, 61cm
Linda(Baby Jovan) 07 Dec - 7kg, 61cm
alien(Baby Malcolm) 07 Dec - 6.9kg, 67cm
CSI_Fan(Baby Louisa) 08 Dec - 6kg, 61cm
jaz23(Baby jazzell) 10 Dec - 5.46kg, 58cm
Baby12(Baby Clarence) 12 Dec - 6.2kg, 67cm
Momo32(Baby Chloe) 12 Dec - 5.6kg, 60cm
ankh(Baby Emma) 13 Dec - 5.9kg
Petrina(Baby Mikaela) 14 Dec - 6.1kg, 60cm
belle_08(Baby Xenden) 18 Dec - 7kg, 64cm
BBnGG(Baby Joshua) 18 Dec - 6.2kg
Botanist(Baby Dylan) 18 Dec - 7kg, 63cm
constancet(Rhaines) 18 Dec - 5.3kg, 63cm
eve(Baby Ethan) 20 Dec - 5.7kg, 64cm
Noelle(Baby Natalie) 21 Dec - 5.6kg, 63cm
Ginger(Baby Andre) 21 Dec – 5.66kg
leejo(Baby Ethan) 23 Dec - 6.23kg, 62cm
Phy(Baby Ryan) 24 Dec - 7.1kg, 66cm
valeriet(Baby Qai Jinn) 28 Dec - 6kg, 59cm
claire_liu(Baby Yu Ru) 29 Dec - 7kg, 61cm
fairylander(Baby Cathrina) 15 Nov - 5.3kg, 63cm

steffietan
i've started work liao.. let me know when u want to meet me at cityhall to collect the nappy liners. sms me k?

Have voted for the lovely babies!

blessed
I am a SAHM and have been once since the birth of my elder daughter who is now 2. I went back to work when she was 6 months old and I called it quits in less than 3 months.

No regrets for me even though its pretty obvious I can never go back to work, unless its to NTUC stacking shelves!

I feel that before you become a SAHM, you must be pretty sure that this is what you want to do. There will be people who put you down, or think very lowly of you because they think we watch TV and nap all day long or are just aunties who dunno better. You need to be confident and believe in what you are doing. Of cuz you must enjoy what you do, that's most important.

Oh I always share this with people when they ask me why I wanna be a SAHM (cuz its obviously the last thing on my mind!) I read a parenting magazine about this high flyer lawyer who gave up her career to be a SAHM. She choose to be a SAHM cuz she feels that after studying so much, won't she be the best person to teach and impart knowledge, skills and values to her children rather than a employed maid who prob have a much lower education than her? She also mentioned that she would want her children by her death bed remembering the things she had done for them. No matter how much she slog for her boss, he def won't be there weeping at her death bed. Her words kinda affirm my decision to be a SAHM.

I dun envy my working friends and I know I can never go back to work again. Won't be able to tune into working life and I won't be able to give up looking at my children all day long

Rem, no matter what decision you make at the end of the day, there is no right or wrong, most importantly, you must be happy with your choice.

botanist
wow so fun to have your parents there and you can go there and have free lodging!! next time i wanna go must ask you where are the must go places and most importantly where to go shopping!!!

quinny buzz n zapp for diff ah? alamak i m so blur. I think a good light weight stroller would be the combi. I have a cheap capella pram as a light weight stroller. love it to bits cuz its light n easy to use!

thanks again for the votes!

botanist
me opp from U. weekends r the only time I remember to flash. haha.

eve
I hv access in ofis, but dun dare to log in too often, cos ofis quite open concept.

ginger,

yes yes its super fun to always visit taipei. no problem just ask me where to go and where to eat... YUM YUM! I cant wait to go back there again later this year.

Yah Quinny Buzz is the heavier one. Zapp is supposed to be lightweight but its only more appropriate to use when baby is 6 months old cos the seat can't recline.

I personally dun like lightweight stroller hehe only becos my diaper bag always so heavy and i like to hang on my stroller!! :p I'm considering MacClaren also but my HB dun like how it folds up. Sigh - looks like i only can consider zapp cos he really loves how it can fold up into this small thing.. haha

Constance,

I'm so happy with his response I can't wiat to start on the english reading kit. But scared leh... already do maths I all over the place... if gotta juggle with English or Chinese, I dunno if I can do it. Hahah later Dylan get bored after seeing mummy fumble around with the cards instead of flashing to him quickly...

blessed,

thanks! i'm a christian too and was told by some pple that the "ceremony" includes some rites, like bai bai kind of thing, as steffietan mentioned, so am very concerned.
So urs confrimed nothing religious at all ya.

thanks steffietan for the input again!

Botanist
I told hb just now i wanna go expo bb fair this weekend.
He went "U already went taka fair 2x. What's there to buy again?" Oops!

hi botanist,
you are amazing! able to plan activities for yr son and yet have time to post on the thread frequently. i am also a sahm but i don semed to be able to cope even with a helper. do you mind sharing with me your routine! i am feeling quite hopeless at times like no time for myself. guess partly also because my helper is blur like sotong!

constance
Daiso selling the thumb holder? do you know which section is it in? me want to get some! thanks!

botanist
Maclaren is a no no if you like to hang ur diaper bag. i've seen it topple backwards a few times! hmm taiwan! i was supposed to go last dec, who knows, got a BIG suprise! hehehe!

ginger
it's usually at the stationery section.
Got 3 diff types i think. Transparent, orange and green ones. I am using the orange type.

wow, one day only and i hv 2 threads to catch up! *faint* all mummies here besides BP queens but also jia zua queens.. hehahah..

re: holiday
we are planning to go on starcruise with baby this Apr/May. anyone wanna join?

dodo, i sell bumper mat nia lah, i dun sell panel.. haha..

hi, I dunno how to upload the pic below in Yahoo. ;p

anyway, JTS Giordano Friends & Family Day Private Sale (17 Mar - 20 Mar'08)‏

1303516.jpg

Happy Shopping!

glenn goman

i am also trying to flash cards to my bb but gd cards are so expensive so i diy. i found a website that can download eng, chinese and maths dot cards for free. i have printed some on A4 paper but need to paste onto blank flash cards. any mummies interested to share the blank flash cards? plan to get fr hiap moh. will get the info and post here tomorrow.

constance
thanks will go n hunt for it. was at IMM today. what a waste!

miraclebaby
GD cards are much bigger right? I have Maths dots card that are big. Thinking of letting go cuz I find it hard to flash. prefer the smaller ones from shichida actually.

hi ginger,

ya, the gd maths dots card which i printed from the website are almost A4 size but i am not too sure if can resize. i saved the website add in my other laptop, will post here tomorrow.

constance,

what thumb holder??? alamak, wish i knew abt this earlier... was at Plaza Sing yesterday, cld have bought it from Daiso!! what does it look like?? If it can help with my fumbling.. then yes i wanna buy it!!

what's happening at expo bb fair?? i dun think i have anything to buy now.. hahah except I'm contemplating (aside from the stroller) a diaper backpack which my HB can use. Already eyeing a few that looks quite rugged (not ladies backpack) but haven't decided on which one yet. Maybe buy next month, this month done too much damage liao!

Ginger,

yup i know that macclaren can topple. I witness it a few times myself.. sigh, all lightweight strollers have their problem also. sianz

Miracle,

I'm also keen to get blank flash cards from Hiap Moh. But which size u getting?? I wanna get BIG BIG ones to make books for my son.
Hehe

Hmm my routine? not set in stone lah.. cos my son quite riot... sometimes refuse to sleep but roughly its like that

wake up at 7am - 730am: First feed of the day
7.30am - 8/830am: Play time/flash cards/take pictures of him

830am - 9.15am/930am: Morning nap (this is when I check my emails and quickly reply impt stuff, or check out BP section in SMH hahaha)

930am -10am: Playtime with son/ more flashcards!
10-1030am: 2nd feed

1030-12nn: playtime again/flashcards/reading books/singing songs

12nn - 2plus: nap time (sometimes he dun nap or he naps later.. but definitely will have 1 long nap a day.. that's when I can surf internet!)

2plus: 3rd feed
2plus - 3.30pm: play time.

He usually takes a 30 min snooze until 4pm. No more naps from here onwards... I entertain him until bath time at 530pm, then bedtime story at 6pm and lights out by 7pm.

Did you read baby whisperer or gina ford? both books were helpful in helping me introduce a routine for the baby.

hi botanist,

thanks for sharing!
wow! you must be very discipline! i am reading gina ford's book now, hopefully can settle into a routine soon! must learn from you.
i am also planning to get the big big cards, i am staying quite near you so we can share. hiap moh is providing free delivery with $200 purchase.

constance,

tell your hb you meeting up with your mummy frens at the baby expo lor!!

re : thumb holder
is it the same as the shichida one?? cover only part of the thumb? i wan to get those cover the whole thumb kind.. like the shichida sensei type

botanist,

your routine is really impressive.. i feel so guilty for not spending more time with my boy.. but when i do flash cards with my #1, i will flash to him at the same time.. keke.. and he seems to like it also!! but i dunno if it is good to flash hundreds of flashcards at him everyday.. too much??

miracle,

thks!! maybe i can share some of your blank cards too.. else my printer never put to good use

eve78:

if you read this msg, just bring e liners wif u cos my hb will b at cityhall tmr. if not, will sms u to arrange again.

many thanks!! =)

missed so much activities!!
i juz went back to work last week..find it so tiring n hardly any time to read e forum. Basically, rushing fr work to pick my baby fr MIL place. then reach home pacify baby n pump milk. n time to sleep soon.... everyday like tis.
i juz managed to finished reading all e threads..
would love to share my MIL / baby / pumping stories but too tired to type... dun even talk abt e S.E.X.........

Cookiemz
I missed yr toy lobang!! so sad...

alien
haha ur bb very cute sitting like dat.
U got the britax carseat from taka fair?

cookiemz
yup, it covers the whole thumb, same as what the sensai r using. shichida one so ex. I got from daiso very cheap.

botanist
thumb holder looks like this "hard rubber condom wrapped around ur thumb" only thing is it's colorful. haha. provides friction bet thumb n cards so u can flash faster n cards wont drop.

blankcards
haha, i wont join u gers for this liao. I had some excess from last time and just managed to offload to other mummies.

botanist
my no 1 very funny last nite.
He asked for a few pcs of blank a4 paper from me and started writing on it. after done, he passed to me n tell me to flash to didi. On it were all numbers, from 1 to 20. He say didi very poor thing, only got dot cards, so he write no for him to c. haha, somemore in red color, cos he ever asked how come i m not showing his n meimei's cards to didi, n i told him didi can only c red n black better. so sweet.

my hubby already complained when he see me showing some picture cards to my baby...he'll surely complain even more if i used flashcards heeheehee he always tells me to play with baby in other ways,not with flashcards like bring him for a walk and introduce him the world...
sometime i feel i want my baby to learn as much as he can while he's still young...but i guess hubby is right too,some kids get very bored later on as they know everything already,so end up being disruptive in class.

i decided to stop working for my baby as well...i dun miss the socializing so much coz i can still squeeze time for that but the spending power...yes ! heeheehee although hubby doesn't nag if i spent monies for baby...i dun feel goodlah...feels like i shld save up for his future instead.
maybe when he's bigger can consider doing part-time job but the problem is i dun trust childcare leh! hahaha i know some inside-stuffs of what's going on in childcare...even a school with such a high fee and curriculum that looks good can be a bull...must be careful in choosing one...

btw...constance,was it you who has super baby food book? when does the book suggest baby shld start on solid?
botanist,
i need emailmequicklyEMQ hp no...hasn't transferred me the shipping monies...can e-mail me her nos please? sori got to post here...no time to e-mail liao...baby is up and calling me :D
happi,
thanks i've got your payment

dinut
heehee, not me. I can't cook at all!!! Only know how to eat. haha
All my bbies eat porridge prepared by my mum during weekdays, and survive on canned bb food during weekends when only me around. haha

but hor, i can help you with when to start bb on solid.
Mine started ard 5-6 mths. Some pple say can start with cereal by 4 mth old.

Hi alien, botanist ( both of you ae nearby my place) n cookiemz,

I'm gonna buy some BLANK flash cards from Hiap Moh.
Would like to have the free delivery with order of above S$200.
Whenever i hit S$200, i will place the order.

The minimum order is 1 category = S$46.01 (inclusive of GST).
The paper type is 280gsm one side glossy/matt.

CAT A - 1800 pcs A5 (6" x 8") [for pix]
CAT B - 1800 pcs 4" x 12" [for words]
CAT C - 1800 pcs 4" x 18" [for words/couplets/sentences]
CAT D - 600 pcs 12" x 12" [for maths/encyclopedia]

CAT E
- 960 pcs 4" x 18"
- 120 pcs 12" x 12"

CAT F
- 540 pcs A5 (6" x 8")
- 540 pcs 4" x 12"
- 360 pcs 4" x 18"
- 120 pcs 12" x 12"

mummies, do you think 280gsm is ok or should we go for 300gsm. my fren is using 280gsm and feedback its ok.

steffietan, where are you staying?

for other mummies who are interested, u may call alice of hiap moh @62798336