(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

jeelo, yup mothercare rompers not cheap, so i only buy during promo/sales, heehe! but their quality are good and prints nice wor...

yup yup, babymallonline lightweight rompers really lightweight, suit my boy cos he super scared of hot!!

dono leh, nepia and pampers new baby don't work on jovan's urine, :p, i think to play safe, i just stick to goon, huggies ultra and mamypok. :p

Oh Linda, btw Carrefour selling Huggies Ultra at $15.85, Mamy poko $16.80. IF I'M NOT WRONG.. :p Just glanced thro just now.

Wah all the good reviews on babymallonline. Make me regret I din buy it earlier. MC rompers are indeed good, but abit too thick. My baby keeps sweating! So I din buy any MC rompers this time round.

Hmm Goon have good reviews huh, think I will try it out for my baby. So if my baby is outgrowing Mamypoko S, I have to take Goon's M size rite?

Anyone wanna share delivery in the West?

bluelily, i already stock up huggies ultra tat time when ntuc having offer at $13.80 hehe.

ginger, ya it shld be M le, my boy had finished his mamypoko S, he still able to fit in Goon's S, i havent try Goon M yet. y not u request for a goon S or M for ur baby to try first?

wah eve, your boy has lots of hair. My boy's hair is few and counting. Seems very slow to grow also.

My boy's tummy time is drool time. Always have to place a towel underneath cos he will drool a lot!!

i did buy lots of mothercare rompers cos wif the mothercare card its about $6 per piece, the next cheapest to carters.

eve, ur boy hair a lot! mine going to be botak soon, ahha! aiyo, my boy hate tummy time leh! everytime tummy time, he will wail liao!

lynzi, yup yup, i oso used mothercare card to get the rompers sometimes.

bluelily, jeelomeelo
Ya... he got a lot of hair at birth. Daddy claims credit for this. Bu she de shave off. only cut a bit when it was very long when he was 1 mth old.

Slimz,
he also hates it initially. Will cry when he cant turn his head. Now he enjoys it a lot.

Linda
I'm finishing my diapers, so thought of trying out Goon. Lazy to wait for sample. Hoping my boy can still fit into S instead of M (i thght the cutting might be bigger than Pampers or Mamypoko mah), as its alot cheaper to buy S instead of M. (terrible mommy)

Think I will just get Goon rather than Nepia given all the good reviews.

Anyone keen to share in delivery? I stay near Bt Batok. Let me know!

Hi, I am here for the 1st time, want to let off some streams too! I have a bb girl born last year 21 dec. Now she is 2mths n 13days old. But she is getting very cranky all the time, doesnt want to sleep in the afternoon, wants to be carried and walk around, she cries all the time too. I am actually thinking of being a SAHM but worried I cannot handle... I feel very worthless staying at home all the time with baby, doing nothing except coaxing her, express milk.. feed her, bathe her... etc. Still not used to life being a mother. I am getting angry all the time, not with baby, but with my hubby. I am totally a changed person after given birth.... Upset.

Any SAHM here?

how much does your babies drink now? Mine drinks about 120ml within a 4 hour interval. But this afternoon she seems to want more. I wonder if I should feed her up to 150ml at such a young age. Is it too much?

My baby just had her 6in1 injection, she weighs about 5.6kg, height about 60cm.

coloring hair
I also colored my hair for CNY. Threw 2 days of EBM away cos worried of contamination.

On rompers
If you dun like the MC rompers, can buy those 5pcs in one pack (dunno whether fake or real carters, child of mine kinda brand) that some mummies organise in bp. It is cheap and the material quite thin. Good for the hot weather here.

noelle,

yup i'm a SAHM. my son was born 18 dec, just a few days before yours!

maybe you can try instilling a routine with your daughter, it will help. i had trouble with my boy too at first... like yorus he always didn't wanna sleep in the afternoon. but i've adjusted his feeding times & nap times loosely to fit the gina ford routine and he has improved tremendously although he is still waking up for feeds in the night.

now he gets up about 7 plus in the morning and takes a 45 min - 1 hr nap from 8 plus to 9 plus. then he will nap again around 11 plus - 2 plus and last short nap at 4-5pm. then i bathe him and put him to bed from 6plus.. by 7 plus he knock out liao.

Although there are days he is very naughty and skips routine, most of the time he is ok. maybe u wanna get gina ford's book or the baby whisperer and try their suggestions?

noelle,

dun feel worthless if you choose to be a SAHM! its one of the best things you can do for your baby... not everyone has the luxury to choose to stay home with their child so instead of feeling sad about it - look at it positively! its your chance to spend more time with your daughter and in time to come (once she passes 3 months plus), she will be more aware of her surroundings and wont always be fussing... then you can spend quality time with her -playing, reading, teaching her stuff.
that's when it really gets meangingful..

things to buy:

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
6. More clothes! 9-12mths? :p
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels

Mummies pls add on, ya?

speaking of play yard panels, we shld organise BP cos heard that we can get discount at that store at people's park (plus they do delivery). Maybe can even share panels cos each pack comes with 4 panels... mummies with playmat will need to get 6 panels! :)

I'm excited to be shopping again liao...

things to buy:

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels
12.Feeding stuff (bowls, spoons etc)

Hi Noelle,

Re milk consumption
How much to give your baby also depends on the baby's weight. Of course, each individual baby has his/her preference and will take as much milk as they like. My gal takes 140ml of EBM every 4 hours. She's 6+ kg, going on to 13 weeks old. I'm trying my very best to catch up with her. On days that I can't, then I'll supplement with FM lorh...

Yah, try reading the Baby Whisperer. I felt upset with looking after baby initially, till I read her book. She empowers parents and I felt so much better after that. Tried adopting her concepts and it worked so far. Have to remember though, there's no hard and fast rule as each baby is different.

Me going back to work tomorrow!! Dunno how I'll tahan being away from baby, and how I'll take to my pumping schedule...hahaha...

things to buy:

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels
13.swimsuits
14.flashcards?!?, educational dvds (eg bb signing times, bb can read, etc) (pls dun kill me.

CSI_fan & cry baby
thanks for the car seat info and link. looks like i really hv to study it soon before ahead to Taka baby fair & Robinsons sale. alamak!

linda
h5! me also buying 12-18mos clothing liao. 6-12mos is only just nice for malcolm. my baby sitter keep complaining i giving him tight clothes!! faint! talk abt thing to get, i nearly forgot bibs! alamak i am really a blur mum.. btw, can you keep me informed if you see any good deal on bumbo seat? also for all sprees/BP if you find it is interesting, i am too scare i might miss it!! hahaha... jialat, nvr stop spending one..

slimz
i pump 4x a day. every 6 hourly. one day can hv 700-800ml. just enuf to cover my son's demand. sometimes need to supplement 1-2x of FM, but not everyday

gloomybear
thank for the info! arigato! but i think i cant go le since this week is my closing period.. very busy at work.. might need to stay late at work, sien

bluelily
my boy also "long", he is hitting 70cm soon!! i just packed 2 big bags of 0-6mos clothes to store room over the weekend, woohoo!

constance
i forgot swimsuit! buy neck float but nvr think of swimsuit, so funny..

i always get to see dec mum's name in the BP that i visited! so funny!! we are everywhere!! woohoo

things to buy:

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels
13.swimsuits
14.flashcards?!?, educational dvds (eg bb signing times, bb can read, etc) (pls dun kill me. )
15. bumper playmat (hahaha..)

re: milk consumption
my son like suddenly growth spurt. he can drinks 90-110ml every 2 hourly.

re: passing motion
is that normal for a baby passing motion on every 3-5 days once??

Noelle
My baby and your baby are born on the same day!
I am a SAHM since the birth of my first baby. Yes, initial period I do feel bored cuz there isn't much things to do. But frankly, I do enjoy my time as a SAHM with my children. Like what botanist suggest, you can try putting her to a routine, you will find it easier to manage. It gets easier when they grow up!

Oh my, you girls are bad for me. Shopping! I buy practically everything and anything when I had my first child. Now, other than clothes and diapers, there isn't much things for me to buy already

Playyard
Bear in mind that its kinda huge. It sat it my storeroom for more than a year before I used it as a bed for my baby.

hahaha...

alien.. saw ur new bp liao.. the FP jungle sooooo ex!! far cry compared to the last BP.. i'm 'scolding' my mum for not letting me order the $152.. i already thought it was a good deal and the design very nice.. but kana stopped by her.. now the price is $202.. **pengzz

no $$ liao..

yupz.. i go into BPs and i also tend to see our dec muumies buying something..

i think esp linda... hehehe.. saw u quite a few times in several bps..

CSI,

need to ask u.. i'm trying to follow the gina ford schedule.. but seems like my girl can't seem to follow it..

problem #1: over sleeping in the day..

gina ford's schedule: 7am - 8am: awake
8am - 9am: sleep (45 mins)
9am - 11am: feed and awake
11.30am - 2pm: sleep
2pm - 4pm: feed and awake
4 pm - 5pm: sleep (45 mins)
6pm - 7pm: bath
7pm - 10pm: sleep
10pm - 11pm: awake
11pm - 7am: sleep

but my girl always has problems keeping awake from 7am - 8am.. she will wake up for milk.. drinks with her eyes closed then continue sleeping till 11am!!!! pengz man! so long..

then 11am bath.. drink milk.. and sleep around 1pm - 3 sometimes 4pm.. if like that.. she's sleeping more than the supposed 3.5 hours for her age group leh.. she's sleeping about 5-6 hours in the day..

i try and wake her up but she will cry non stopped (eyes closed) until i rock her to sleep then she's quiet.. tried to distract her by singing song, play with her, let her watch tv, etc.. nothing works..

how do u managed to get ur bb to adapt to the schedule??

re: passing motion
My gal pass motion once-twice a day still. But I read somewhere that it's normal for bb to pass motion ever 3-5 days once, as long as it's doesn't stretch more than 1 week.

RE: milk consumption
My gal's drinking 80-100ml every 3 hourly. This has not changed since she's 1 month old. She 3 months 5 days old liao.

bluelily
play yard panel are those heavy duty standing plastic panels which you can interlock to form an enclosure. your bb can play safely inside.

botanist, your words give me GREEEEEAAAAAT comfort hahaha! Cos my girl hitting 3 months this week. Need more responses from my baby la. Else my day can be quite brain dead at times.

Noelle, I'm also SAHM. Also like the book "the baby whisperer" a lot cos it states what to look out for in a baby's behaviour and daily pattern.

gloomybear,

my girl too.. also will pass motion once or twice a day at least..

re: milk consumption
i still cannot figure out how much milk she drinks coz suddenly she's not drinking a lot from the bottle.. she'll wait for me to come back from work then latch her on.. then she'll drink for about 15 - 20 mins then dun want already.. every time i latch her, she'll only drink around 5 - 10 mins.. then cry and want to sleep..

re: baby whisperer
is the book really good? better than gina ford?? maybe i should purchase it and read it..

petrina,

my bb finally manage to keep to gina ford routine BUT he still wakes up for all his night feeds. But i happy liao! cannot complain.

gina ford or baby whisperer does mention somewhere that some bbs need more sleep than others. So maybe yr bb is like that. so dun worry, as long as yr bb can still sleep at night and does not wake up frequently, its a sign that she's getting enough and not too much sleep

re: baby whisperer. its a good read, very easy to read and follow... she is less militant than gina ford so youwill find it easy to follow her routines.

ankh,

yah, only this week did i notice my bb starting to be more responsive! now he smiles at me every morning when he wakes up, even in the middleof the night - when I change his diapers!! so cute..

i also spend alot of time stimulating my son when he is awake - talk to him, play, sing, read, show flash cards... I try not to spend all my time doing my own stuff or surfing net... feel guilty if i do that.
hehe

Reading about gina ford's method i feel assured that my boy has fallen into the routine without me training him...haha.

Me don't need to add to list. All of u has put down all that i need. Except that i have this problem of keep buying flashcards and more flashcards for my boy. Those are on top of my self made ones. OMG!

I cannot resist... must show you gals the photo i captured today. looks like my son is really 'studying' or reading book! Hahah... very funny.

1281034.jpg

cookiemz,

paiseh hor, just saw your post for me.
re: Addison. I also check at another website, but owner said that its OOS but will let me know if she gets 1 more. damn hot this pattern!

Appletini pikkolo: Yup i got it from mamakanga too! initially i opt for free domestic shipping, was intending to send back here via VPOST but decided to do international shipping in the end. i've contacted amanda and she said it will cost USD20 only!

Regarding your question on carriers : Pikkolo is the ONLY carrier that allows you to carry baby front carry outwards, inwards, on the back etc. Butterfly does not have this function.

botanist,
your boy so cute reading like that! And so big too compared to my boy. Btw what is that float like thing that he is propping his arms on? Tot of getting something like that for my boy ah.

lynzi,

thanks - yah he is big! very tall - i think more than 63cm already.

that float thingy is something that came with my Tiny Love gym. It's inflatable (gotta blow it up to size). The purpose of the float is to aid tummy time - i think it really works, cos my son will always drool and grumble if i put him on his tummy. he keeps bumping the play mat. But when I put him on the float, he happily can look up and around...
maybe its the naturally propped up position, more comfy for him.

things to buy:

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels
13.swimsuits
14.flashcards?!?, educational dvds (eg bb signing times, bb can read, etc) (pls dun kill me. )
15) thermometer
16) safety gate

botanist! your kid is sooo cute!!! really like he's sooo hardworking! haha!
mummies, i can't wait for taka fair..now just to come up with the money for it(or drag hubby and get him to pay!haha!)

my girl these days like to squirm and sort of force her neck and head up like wanting to sit/stand up..she's at peace when she's standing but sometimes quite worrying to see her do that when she lying down...any of your babies doing the same?

and i really envy mommies whose babies drop the night feed already..my darling girl is not very consistent, sometimes drop the feed, sometimes don't..the other day she woke up every hour from 2.30a.m. onwards!!!!! please share your sleeping tips!!

anyone knows if the busybaby wraps are on the way..last i hear batch #2 was making it's way to dinut's Vpost address right? any further updates? this thread moving so fast, wonder if i missed anything!

ok thanks!

Petrina,
I dun follow Gina Ford's routine to the T. My view is that each baby will have their own routines, although more or less around the natural sleep rythm (the 7pm to 7am sleep) and the lunchtime sleep.

My gal also cannot stay awake after 7am. She will sleep until 945am - 10am, then wake up. So I'll let her play by herself. I'll prepare EBM for her at 1030am (in case she suddenly remembers that she's hungry, milk is ready). She doesn't sleep at 12 noon everyday. Sometimes 1pm then nap. But at 2pm, I'll unswaddle her or pick her up to change diaper. She'll wake up on her own. Feed her, then she'll play again. Some days, she'll nap again after her 2pm feed. I just let her be lah.

Even her 7pm sleep time...hello, it's MY dinner time...hahaha...But so far, she'll get cranky at that time (sleepy mah). And she'll sleep...but only for a while. Then she'll wake up and want to be carried. She'll finally K.O. at around 10pm - 11pm. All the way till 6am (that's when I have to leave home to go work) again lorh.

So, it does seem like my gal sleeps a lot too...haha. but as long as she's a happy, thriving baby, I'm happy too lah. I'm more concern that she sticks to the feeding routine, than the sleep routine.

Re educational dvds,
I can do a spree for BB Signing Times (our private one lah) if any of you mummies are interested, coz I know someone who is a retailer. Let me find out more about the price we can get, and I'll post it in our SMH Dec07 Groups, yah?

botanist,
Your son very KAWAII.... You all so nasty, so young already forcing him to "study"!

His 3nd mth assessment measuring 7.85kg, 65cm and 42cm(head)
1281250.jpg

I remember i got my Bumbo for my #1 thru a BP..cheap cheap..only $55 nia.

Not sure the mummy who organised the BP got it frm which distributor..

Therefore, if mummies keen on getting Bumbo..perhaps can organise a BP lor..Can save save abit..

Noelle,
Me SAHM mum too..since i preg with #1.. dun think too much..you'll begin to enjoy being SAHM soon..especially when u see your child progress over the days..

feeding..
whops! My gal seem to drink more n she is quite a small sized baby. She is 3 mths today. In fact we now up e amt to 4oz.

Pumping
I m going back to work on Mon. Sianz to think abt engorgement etc. At e moment I still wake up to pump out e milk and store. But I think once I o back to work, I will prob KO n onli wake up when e alarm rings or baby cries. Any back to work mummies still wake up to pump? N does it affect ss if u did not?

Botanist
yr boy very cute lei!! that position really looks like reading. If u put e papers there, it will look like he is reading e news! ahaha.. N he seemed very long..

Btw..any babies had flipped? Mine had turned but she dunno how to turn back.

missylan
wow, ur bb's head very strong already. Mine still wobbly leh. bumbo still in storeroom...

cry baby
mine. my bb can flip to one side, but dunno how to flip back also.

on more milk plus capsules
any mum keen to take over 2 BN unopened bottles?
I ordered from mrspiggy spree when my supply was still trying to catch up w demand 5 weeks back. Now no nid liao, cos got excess supply. items still w mrspiggy. her collection venue either at tampines or siglap.

on latching bb
any one has this prob?
My bb only like my right breast!!!
simply refuse to latch on my left one during nite feed.
I end up waking up w. one engorged breast every morning.

constance,
me too! Not sure what happened coz she was ok with both last week then over the wkend, everytime I put her on my left she'll cry and cry until i change her over. So my left is super leaky now, in the morning shirt sure wet one.

BB finally slept through the night over the last 2 nites. Hope it has become a habit and will continue...fingers crossed.

mil going japan 1st wk of sch term 2. headache over who can look after my girls and maid. Though my maid is v good with the girls, sometimes can be too busy with one and not looking after the other. Esp now that bb is starting to move more.