(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

naf,

there is a local distributor or rather, agent which sells the replacement parts for ameda. I had the address but lost it... it was given to me by the sales girl at Isetan! hmm i will search for it again, if i find it, will pass it to u... you could have gone to them for the replacement valve, no need to order from overseas.

latch on mommies,
i've been latching my bb for her feeds from early morning 2am till now..
its my first time .. duno how to gauge she drinking enuf anot n duno if correct latch on .. can latch-on mommies advise?

and do u all stick to a schedule? i.e. fix bb's feeding times .. i used to pump EBM every 3hr.. but my bb feeding times veri irregular.. so if i dun pump, it means BM does not gets release every 3hr..

wen i fed her with FM aft latching she takes..and the EBM pumped out aft latching is much lesser compared to instances whereby i oni pump, no latch.. so does tis means she did drink but not full?

veri headache, duno she eating well anot..and she farts alot wen i BF her .. is tis norm?

naf,

i did a search on the forum and manage to find the address of the local agent. u can try calling them directly to see if they will sell u the parts...

InfanTree Pte Ltd.
23 Tagore Lane, 03-04
Tagore 23 Warehouse
Singapore 787601
Phone: +65 6454 1867
Fax: +65 6454 7784
Email: [email protected]
Web Site: http://www.infantree.net

tub,
I believe u cannot use that melted part already, but me will also be as worried as you whether will the toxin be "stick" onto the rest of the item. Alamak... maybe you go buy 3 bottles of bfree bottles lor, use bfree safer. Now bfree cannot be easily purchased cos kiddy palace not carrying anymore cos they said too x, sales not good.

jeelomeelo,
6in1 jab is impossible to be that cheap! Maybe you misunderstand, your price $115 might be ONE vaccine jab but might include consultation. Like Paediatric Centre quoted me $660(after discount) for 6in1 excluding each consultation. There is a top package which includes rotavirus and pneumococcal jabs, a total of $1.4k after discount. Mild eczema might be the cause of milk formula, clothes detergent(cannot have clothes softener inside), the clothings not 100% cotton, dust mite, dust(air-con), weather, one of parent having sensitive nose or asthma... me going to be a pro in eczema liao cos #1 visited 2 skin specialist liao! XD *so proud like that!

Elaine,
Ya... I meant did eyebrow embriodery before. =) cos planning to do, though I got thick brows, dun wish to draw whenever go out and naturally shape not even. Where you did it? Can show me yr eyebrow photo? Was thinking to go Erabelle.

hen,
Me too, after CL left, not much rest and time to express. Express halfway bb cries... so my bm auto stopped liao. Bbs get cranky sometimes, you know when he got cranky, I will try different feeding position trying to coax him. Sometimes, he like me to cuddle him when drinking and the most tedious position is carrying him while drinking.

mongs,
I uhmm uhmm for him everyday after bath cos I feel that he is warm and sticky then there uhmm uhmm very uncomfortable. For 1 week liao, he will uhmm uhmm everytime I uhmm for him. I think it is ok when we made it a habit. Like every morning or at desired routine. Some adults like I known of, will sure to poo every morning during bath time.

T&P,
Me thinking of going to steam room and swim yesterfay night!

Naf,
Your NB on FBM? If yes, no harm introducing FM at night. Adults can have better rest though FBM is best. These few days, bb has been waking up once or twice for feed. Like yesterday night drank at 10pm and woke up at 4am for feed. Think his system is re-booting liao. Hahaha...

tub (re: avent parts melted)
hi tub, i dun ve such problems with my avent manual pump wor.. i boil all the parts like the funnel, bottles etc.. except the rubber parts ..
sounds pretty serious to ve melted plastic..

<font size="+1">Constance</font>,
He wasn't crying throughout the session, he stopped when I left. I spot check for 2 days liao. He will stay with the assistant throughout. The thing is, he will repeat saying he don't want to go to school every night(before bedtime) and early in the morning. He refused to come out if his room(sleeping with grandma) and telling us that it is not yet morning, he is tired, his tummyache! Starts crying when sees the uniform. Then after schooling, his diet really drop! He slim down quite alot. He is already skinny, now worst!

just a personal thought...
so many people been telling me not to carry my son when he cries because he'll get used to it n then i'll be in trouble and i'll spoil him.
i've been reading up lots on this and apparently according to many experts and researches,comforting baby won't spoil them
(be it carrying,giving pacifier,etc etc) it will in turn,give them sense of security which they need badly.

after all my little darling is still getting used to this world outside womb so he needs a lot of assurance.
when baby cries because of whatever reasons: wet nappy,pain or just plain cranky at this tender age,
many experts suggest that we try to attend to our babies' needs asap,constantly.

this will signal to them that they can depend on their parents whenever they need them and in the long run this will make them grow into
confident and independent children because they're assured that their parents are there for them,whatever happens...they feel secure in this world.

of course it's tiring to carry baby all the time,especially when you're doing it alone...i know,cause i'm doing it alone too...
but i guess i'm learning everyday,adapting myself to baby instead of the other way around,making him confirm to my schedule/need.
i feel it's worth the trouble,cos he's too precious to me.
i figure i'll be mostly tired and insane for at least one long year before my-now-dependent little boy starts walking,running and insist on doing things on his own as a toddler

mongs,
m doing the ummmm thing wif my ger too.. she is pretty ok wif it...

wah... u all so good ah... bb start sleeping throughout the night... my bb still 3hrly feeds... xiong ah

hen,
u r not the onli one... both me n my hubby haven been having gd night rest... once my ger wakes up for milk... is difficult to pacify her to sleep... we gotto coaz her for about an hr to sleep...

hmmm....my baby is now coming to 7 weeks. She's 5.15kg, and she's still drinking 90ml - 100ml each time! How to get her to drink more? I express out BM for her, pour 120ml into her bottle, but there will always be left over (very sayang leh...). I dunno how she managed to get so heavy in such a short period. hahaha. She's been drinking 90ml - 100ml every 2 hours. I can hardly get enough rest...haiz. Dunno how also.

dinut,
Me dun mind carrying bb when they cries etc... I just do not like to shake them. My SIL was training her dd cos dd needs lots of attention. So poor thing!

jeelo,
when yr bb drinks 120ml now, does he demands for it every 2hr or 3hrs? I'm hoping he can stretch his feeding intervals to 3hrs.

Missylan
I tried feeding my bb FM for his last feed. But he still wakes up 2hr later for milk. No difference leh. Increase the amt?

T&amp;P,
yours was natural or csec? me also wondering when can start exercising. had csect, not sure when can start doing crunches. got to wait for next gynae visit then ask. but seems like got to delay check up again cos my lochia never seems to end. already a mth, yet still have some discharge on and off.

Dinut,
I'm also having confusing thoughts like u. People has been advising me against carrying my son when he cries. Had advised me to leave him to cry and he will stop eventually. Tried to do so last night, but hearing him cry and seeing his face turn so red really makes me heartache. But I'm also really worried it becomes a bad habit as he grows older. Just the other day when we bring out shopping, he refused to sleep in the cot. Wants to be carried and rocked. Really spoil our shopping mood. Even having a meal outside is difficult, got to walk around the restaurant. Luckily at that time, no other people in the restaurant.

On the other hand, when i read all those books, they say to attend to them asap to give them a sense of security.

Sometimes, really feel lost what should or should not do. Tried to let him cry out to self soothe. but my MIL and hubby will all refused to do so. They will all come and want to carry bb away to end his cries. End up he wants to be carried all the time.

Now my MIL wants bb to sleep in sarong since he does not like to sleep in cot. I'm a bit hesistant cos hear of the shaking syndrome n also worried he get addicted to the rocking motion. Dont want to impart another bad habit if it is going to be one soon.

I am going crazy too because my baby has been like super glue the last few days. He wants to be carried so much, I'm so tired and there're so many things that I cannot do. BM supply also dropped as a result (not enought rest, not pumping regularly).

This morning after a few hours of carring and coaxing, I decided to let him cry, thinking once he's tired, he'll fall asleep ... but the cries just got louder and his face all red, hands and legs all stiff ... see already heart pain ... no choice had to pick him up again.

Sigh.

The elders say naughty babies will grow out of it once confinement is over. I really hope there's 100% truth in this saying.

T&amp;P
If you're the active type pre-pregnancy and during pregnancy, you can start mild exercises. But best to wait 6 weeks before you resume exercising. As for crunches, you should only do so after 6 weeks because our abdominal muscles take that long to return to its original position. Exert them before that and you risk displacing them from its original position permanently. This is what I've read and also been warned by my massage therapist.

eve,
i think you've got to insist what you think is right for your baby...i mean,if you don't want to use the sarong i think better turn down your MIL's idea politely..i know it's hard sometime depends what kind of MIL you've got also...eventhough as the mothers it's up to us how we want to bring up our children but often very hard to get the message across.

when my mom/MIL make remarks like 'dont keep rocking the baby/carry...let him be' i just turn deaf ears,i'll still rock/carry my baby and say 'its ok mom/MIL...i think he needs it now'...after a while they get the message.
luckily my hubby also supportive,he told me to just follow my heart n intuition n what i think is best for baby.

sometime i also have the fear that it'll be hard to kick the habit eventually...but i just cling to my belief that yes,old habits die hard but doesn't mean can't be stopped.i just keep positive thoughts that i'll be able to find a way to help my son kicks a habit,if he develops any.
i also plan to 'train' him a bit but slowly...as he grows bigger,i just think now he's not even 1 month so my priority now is different.at the moment i practically left with little choices but to follow baby's lead...he also refuses to sleep in his cot most of the time.i let him sleep anywhere he wants at the moment:eek:n our bed,guest room's bed,on the sofa.but whenever i think he's in a better mood or sleep soundly i still put him in cot to see whether he likes it.sometime he does n stay in cot,sometime he doesn't so i'd pick him up again.

Haha, I gave bb sarong, Amby hammock, it is not as springy as traditional hammock. Unable to spring like traditional cos the spring is hard and thick. Can only slightly swing. Said to best for restless sleeper, for babies with colic or gastro esophageal reflux. It is designed to allow babies to sleep at a slightly upright angle which decreases acid irritation during sleep. In the middle of the night, I will switch to bed. I don't want him to get used to certain means of bed/sarong. Keke...
My SIL was training her dd and she cries pretty badly and think kenna colic.

steffietan,
breast milk will coagulate if stand too long or overheat..I also feed ing BM to my son and I do notice it will coagulate if he suck too slow..

happi,

normally, i will will pour the desired amt into the bottle by opening the "ziplock" thing, the rest i put back into fridge...My boy drinks between 120 to 150ml now..

ah bie,

if u use the pigeon warmer and turn to 40 deg, it will take ard 15 to 20 minutes. The nurses told me that as long as the milk doesnit feel cool from chiller, its ok to feed..But if u use the tolly joy and lucky baby brand which I use at my mum's place, less than 10nminutes, the milk already very warm liao...but that one u must keep watching cos it warms up very fast..

CSI_Fan, my gal used to drink a lot, but these 2 days, cut down to abt 100ml each feed, n feed every 2hrs or less. I supplement wz FM cos no choice, I'm too tired to be able to meet the demand.

Eve, I give FM for nite feeds. BB still wakes up every 2-3hrs for feed, no difference wz EBM. Increase amt no use leh, she won't finish the milk. She'll just stop ard 100-120ml.

slimz,

if u are warming breast milk, turn the knob to 40 degrees..The red dot is a thermosat..meaning that one the water reach the desired temp, it will not light up..

Hmm.. like my #1 and #2, I see many differences...

#1 drink every 2-3 hours, even night feeds...

#2 auto re-boot system with no training or replacing milk to water(training)

So think up to individual baby.

My bb seems to be more demanding aft confinement, esp now when HB went back to work, left me alone wz 2 kids. Choose to be tough on me n bully me. Sigh...

jasmine,

Maybe u can try feeding her when she is still in her "drownsy" mode.. For my boy, cos he seems to have an "alarm clock" so i will normally wake up before him and if I start to see his mouth moving or he start fidgeting, I will feed him before he opens his eyes or start crying, then he will normally go back to sleep after milk..But if u let him starts his crying then u feed him, the chances are he will stay awake after feed..

My boy also doen't like to sleep in his playpen, and I realise he prefer to sleep in the car seat due to its inclined position..and if I let him sleep in the car seat, he doesn't vomit so much now. so maybe for those babies with colic, this might work..dun immediately put them down in the playpen after feeding..else they will feel uncomfortable..

jeelomeelo, the price quoted for polyclinic is 1 time payment only, so its for all 3 shots. Yours is prob for 1 shot only, right?

please advise...
been feeding my bb with spoon when i give him EBM cos lactation consultant said better offer bottle after at least 4 weeks otherwise bb will prefer bottle cos easier to get milk out.
how true you found this? n is there really such thing as 'nipple confusion'?

hello..talking about baby's poopoo..for my girl, she poo every two days, quite consistent..can tell when she pooing because the fart like very loud and wet..i help her by opening the pampers, wipe the poo away and put wet wipes on the poo to "clear" the area for her to make more poo! so far she will poo a LOT when i do this..and i know she is done because she will cry..my mom say this is because they are tired from all the pushing! haha! also, when she pooing, i massage her left inner thigh slowly..so far this method works and she poos to her heart's content!

and yes, my baby farts when breastfeeding also..maybe it's because they are pressed up against us so the wind in tummy also comes out..but that's good lah!

i also sometimes feel so very tired, especially in the day..then i just say..please lah..work with mummy..please cooperate lah..mummy is sooo tired..and sometimes it works..sometimes it doesn't..i guess i just do it to preserve my own sanity!

dinut..
i think our babies are very clever lah..our nipple and bottle nipple is like SO DIFFERENT and surely they can tell the difference..so i don't believe in nipple confusion..my girl has been feeding on EBM from bottle from like 2 weeks..she latches on direct with no problem, EBM from bottle also no problem, feed FM also no problem..so really..i think our little ones are very clever and adaptable lah..

missylan,
ya my bb got my hubby's sensitive nose. wake up every morning nose grunting.

hen, yup, only one shot. so sotong...

CSI, i believe in baby poo/pee regularly everyday. as long as bb is hydrated, she'd be alright. different babies would drink different amount i would think. i found this calculator thing online. tink it's the same concept as what hazel mentioned b4.
http://www.fourfriends.com/cgi-bin/milk.pl

eve, yup he's drinking 3hr interval. usually 7times a day. sometimes siao siao go demand for 9feed a day. i notice that he'd ask for more feed especially when i'm out. probably to hydrate himself.

T&amp;P,
i was shocked when i looked n touched my tummy post delivery hahaha didn't expect it to be so flabby n soft...desperate to regain its tightness i tried applying mustella's post-partum body restructuring gel and also wear corset.

i never believed in such creams before but at least i saw some evidence coz i used mustella's stretch mark double action cream during pregnancy n i don't get any stretch marks!

so i thought i'd give it a try n i must say my tummy not so soft anymore even my MIL noticed and asked how come my tummy still looks tight n got no stretch marks after delivery?

well maybe it depends on individual's skin structure as well but i'm convinced the products work heeheehee

Check someting with you..I'm quite a sotong mum.. how to let BB do "tummy time"? He's 4 weeks old now.. so I tot better let him train his neck muscles.. But I have no clue how to put him on his back and lift him up after a while...

someone here wanted to buy avent's petal to be used with ameda pump...found out from babytown that it can be bought from avent's head office for $8

dinut,

both my kids were bottle fed in the early days of their life coz #1 was in hospital for jaundice and #2 bottlefed most of the time when he was in special care. after they came home, i latch them on abt couple of times a day and both have no problem switching between bottle and breast, formula and EBM. but they do have preferences over the type of bottle teats though.. keke.. dun worry la..

dinut,
Notice that my frens they all only feed babies with bottle after 4 weeks, and in the end they all refuse to suck from bottle, so baby will have hard time cos they refuse to suck from bottle after mummy return to work..

For my boy, he even cuter, I bottle feed him with EBM since he is 2 weeks old..then one fine day i try to latch him to see whether he still remember, to my surprise he still can suckle..after that i offer him the bottle, then he suddenly like forget how to suck from bottle liao even its only for a few hours..haha..

Slimz,

Yen peng contact is 67301630. U can ask for yen ping or cynthia.

Alternatively can call 62934044, the call centre will help u to contact them..

yah, I know my gal is doing ok. Pees and poohs quite a bit. Just that it's getting tiring to be still latching her on every 2 hrs. Then I'm wondering how when I get back to work. Hehs...hopefully by then she'll stretch the timing in between feeds. kekeke...

crystalz, I tried liaoz...she still stop at 3 ounces. Sometimes 3.5 ounces. End up always waste a bit of my BM...hahaha...

hi missylan and slimz, u threw the melted parts away liao... so careless of me... sigh...

anyway i called avent. they said the rest of the unaffected parts can use. should b no problem. but the lady said dun boil the parts. instead, boil water then turn off gas and place accesories in covered pot for 5 min can liao.