(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

ankh,
my boy also wont sleep in cot too. wants to b carried to sleep. i wld let him do so until he deep sleep then put him back to cot. sometimes it works,sometimes it doesn't. no choice, he got pampered in this manner liao. otherwise no way he'll sleep & will keep crying. like what u said, practically whole day carrying him, no need to do anything. even now, i'm typing w 1 hand & carrying him in another.

bluelily,
pacifier doesnt work for him

now thinking if shd try yao lan. anyone knows if they can sleep in one now?

do u all use a lot of breast pads? i changed twice a day. already used up 2 boxes fr medela. wonder if got any cheaper alternatives that u all r using?

eve,
my mom bought a yao lan for bb, claiming that it can help him sleep better in the afternoon. But it didn't work as supposed. My boy just enjoys the rocking motion with his eyes wide open. Even when he does fall asleep, as he performs his 'sleeping kung fu' the yao lan will shake around, and this will wake him up and he gets so angry!

RE: BB's weight
Just to check, how heavy are your bbs at 4-8 weeks? At 6 weeks, my boy is 5.4kg. He gained 2.5kg since birth.

pierced,

yup, i took the KKH package. the 1st jab is usually at 2 mths, but coz my boy had neonatal appt last week, the PD said okay to take the jab 2 wks early. is your appt at the Childrens private clinic or the normal clinics? my #1 was done at the childrens private clinic (jabs administered by the PD), #2 is at Clinic K (assessment done by PD, jabs given by staff nurse)

hi phy maybe u can put liner on the pamper..i did that cuz my boy poo very little a time and especially during food, he poo abit den he demand for a change so i just clean his butt and change the liner inside the pamper if it's still dry..

eve,
Hahaha... We forgot to take the picture of the cake. The opera cake with my son's name on it and 4 small cakes by the sides. I chose Prince, the digit "1", the lady bug and the duckie. Nice lah... many high praises! The 4 pieces of petites are for chocolate lovers like me, cos very thick!

I layed my son on his tummy, he is able to lift up his head u know... lift up stay a while then turn to rest another side... his neck power is super! Win win my #1! Carrying him on my one side shoulder, meaning he facing my back. Got to be very careful!

eve,

i have used both brands befoer and pigeon breastpads have better absorbency than medela ones and less likely to leak. Taka and NTUC were selling the pigeon pads at sale px of $8 a box of 36+6.

eve, I also use a lot. heehee...I'm onto my 3rd box of Pigeon brand breast pads. How you find the medela ones? I used up 1 box liaoz. Not used to only having 1 adhesive...still can shift ard leh.

my bb farts a lot, very loud and very smelly (so not like a gal lorh)! hahaha. There was once, HB was carrying her, and she farted. So smelly, that HB thot she did super big business. Rushed into the room to want to change her...open up diapers...eh, clean leh..hahaha. Dunno if it's my diet or what...coz I'm BF mah. heehee...

eve
i am also using pigeon. Cheap & Good. I stock up 10 boxes when kiddy palace selling at $8 per pack. Yeah, i just opened my 3rd box of pigeon too.

For mummies who like to watch tv dramas, you can go to the following website to download shows.

www.ttkds.com

enjoy watching.

Higgledy,
Really? I told my friends abt my boy's sleeping problem. They all suggest i give it a try. Yours is electric or manual one? Thinking of having to buy 1 and waste the $$ spent on the cot a bit heart ache. later if he's like yours, also dont want to sleep in that, even more heart ache.

Missylan,
sounds v yummy. Is it ex? planning to order cakes for my colleagues instead of giving the usual package type. saw the CupCake Divinity. Like that idea. Is Gobi's similar?

Cookiemz & CSI,
I have been using the medela ones. like what u said, only 1 adhesive. sometimes, the whole pad just got crumpled up when i keep folding up & down to breastfeed. A bit ex to use medela. Just bought pigeon, will be trying them soon. Much cheaper.

anyone on exclusive pumping and no latching on? how do you cope with the pumping schedule and bb's feeding times? I am currently on exclusive pumping cos bb cldnt latch on properly and will always cry for more milk even though he has been sulking for 1 hour...me gave up on latching liao...confinement will be ending next week, just wondering how to cope with both feeding and pumping...

hi steffi,

i'm pumping exclusively at the moment... usually i pump every 2-3 hours, or if busy, 4 at most. Sometimes, its hard to meet bb's feeding schedule but I try to be relaxed about meeting bb's schedule.

I try to pump enough for him but if really cannot, i do supplement with formula feed (especially at night, as advised by my PD). My bb is feeding about 120ml every 2-3 hours.. I find that i can monitor better when pumping cos when he latch on, i have no idea how much he feeds.. and always end up crying for more within the hour.

Just try to take it easy, dont be too stressed cos that will affect your supply. Remember to take lots of fluid and rest after each pumping session so you can have good supply in the next round. And if you dont mind, can consider supplementing with formula if supply not enough, cos the most impt thing is to make sure bb is well fed.

botanist
huh? wah! ur bb feeding 120ml? How old is he? Mine is feeding abt 80ml every 1.5 to 2 hr...yup, am already supplementing his night feeds.....can only pump abt 100ml - 120ml each time....how cum u are not latching on ?/

Dinut - I also didn't eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. My labour was 22hrs! I took about 45 mins to push before my baby was out. That was tiring!!

Sleep patterns
My baby is also usually cranky in the evenings. Wants to be held and would wake up once he is put down in his cot. His cries are especially loud when he wants to feed ... can cry the whole house down. Thought I was the only one going through this, glad that it is apparently 'normal'.

Farting
My baby also farts alot and loudly too
PD said that that is normal because air needs to be expelled somehow ... so baby will either burp or fart.

yah, my son really quite greedy. I checked with PD when we went to check for jaundice, and PD said its normal amt so no need to worry.

He is about 3 weeks old, turning full month next Friday. His routine is abt 3 hourly, he wakes up for feed every 2 - 2.5 hours, and sometimes does feed abit less but usually around 100- 125ml.

I had really sore nipples and even bled at the beginning so started pumping exclusively. After that, kenna mastitis... so couldn't breastfeed, so now have been continuing to pump lor. Actually even tho its more troublesome (cos got to sterilize pump etc), I prefer knowing how much my son is feeding so I can manage his routine better.

Am also like u, can only pump 100 - 120ml each time. So its abit hard to meet the demand lor! My supply also dropped quite a bit ever since i was on anti biotics for mastitis, so even worse lor. At one point, I could pump 160ml on one side, i was damn happy lor!!
Now, only 100 - 120 ml per pumping session...sigh!

steffi,
my baby was totally latching for 1st month. i started pumping more consistently sometime last wk when my CL about to leave. when i 1st started it's pump btw feed. painful la, coz got to be dilligently doing it. anyway, it works for me. i was pumping about 60ml max when it's btw feed pump. now, i'm pumping around the same time as my bb's feeding time, about 90-160ml in total. my breasts would kinda full/engorge when it's abt time n no i'd auto wake up. my baby is feeding ard 100-120ml. i'm taking gnc fenugreek twice aday. it sure does help increasing my supply as i want to stock up the fridge. right now it's hand to mouth situation for me. my boy sometimes feed more often in the day. so no stock

valeriet, yah, my mum was saying, well, it either comes out from the top (mouth) or the bottom. but it has to come out...hahaha.

steffi,
i'm on exclusively EBM since day1 coz of flat nipples .. cant latch ..
ve been sticking to a 3hrly pump.. but am a low supply 'cow' oni 60ml -80ml per breast each session.. and my girl feeding 120ml/3hr.. so FM comes along lor.. 3hr session is real tiring and really no time 2 carry my gal..coz i'm alwys bz squeezing milk wen she feeds..

and i've been having sore nipples for the past 2 days..haizz .. pain pain .. LC says use hand expression for a couple of days to rest nipple..duno issit i duno how 2 do it ... the milk from hand expression .. pathetic milk drops oni..

oso asked LC abt the effectiveness of fenugreek for a full EBM mom like me.. she says if bb latches, fenugreek will b more effective ..
so i made an appt 2 c LC on monday aftnon..wanna try latching my girl again..aft 5weeks..duno can anot..haizz..

eve,
Hmm, to me is already pretty expensive liao. I chose their Package T. Comes in a rectangular Opera cake and 4 chocolate petites. Min. order 25 boxes(think so) and cost $20 per box. Yes, it is very yummy. Much much better than Choz...

Constance,
Wa lao... I don't need to take care of baby liao loh after accessing to that free drama webby. Siao liao lor...

Me leaving to Japan with hubby and #1 tonight... coming back on Monday... Hubby asks us to go... accompany him! Last min lah, now #2 with my mummy. =)
See ya!

Split,

thanks for the advice on using nappy liner.. trying out now
My BB also quite fussy abt soiled diaper... a bit soiled he will make noise already... Now using pampers so quite heartache to keep changing...thinking of buying nepia already... Tried out drypers but the adhesive doesn't work well..

phy,

i have same problem as you. my son is so fussy about his wet diaper! everytime he pees or poops, he will scream and cry until we change his diaper... then he will coo happily to us. I already give up just using pampers... am only using pampers at night cos i find that pampers absorbs best! Then, in the day we stick to nepia...

botanist

I let my bb use pampers at nite too, daytime using cloth nappies. I find pampers cutting very big leh. His clothes always get wet from urine, yet the pampers is not full. No matter how tightly we wrap, it is still the same. Do you have this problem?

eve,
I ordered Package T for my office pple. 4 boxes. Coz I think they can cut the Opera cake and distribute ard...then at least I dun have to count the number of pple and risk missing someone out if I give those individual cakes etc...heehee...

missylan...you're so lucky! n hubby so nice to ask you accompany him (i think you deserve a break!)...my hubby wld say it's nt wise to leave our newborn alone.

slimz,
dun worry,i'm more 'pathetic' sometime can pump only 40 ml both breasts! i wonder how most mummies here can pump so much 100 ml and up even just one breast...does it have to do with the kind of pump you use? coz i only use a manual one and pump only to give my boy a 'top up' since he can be quite playful during feeding time,suck only for a while or falls into deep sleep after 5 minutes n i can't wake him up!
but i think no need to worry,i read from kellymom.com (breastfeeding site) that we shldn't worry with the amount we can pump out coz it doesn't indicate whether we have enough supply.as long as baby's gaining weight,has wet n soiled diapers of certain amount shld be ok.

i also think drypers nt so gd...leaks easily n so far found about 3 diapers in a 28 pieces-pack i purchased with adhesive that doesn't stick!
now trying huggies ultra...seems to absorb n fit my baby well.

hi, like to know if any of you have a milk duct that is blocked and doesnt seems able to unblock it? and red patch appears?? no method can remove this lump leh..i tried cold, hot compress doesnt work..any advice?

Botanist,

At first I used drypers in the day and pampers at night... but tired of the adhesive and leaking problem that Drypers give me... now solely on pampers... I'm trying out putting a nappy liner on the pampers to let it absorb any bit of poo then wait till big business then changed..

Read some good reviews abt Nepia so intend to order on-line soon...

Constance,
For cloth nappies, after putting the nappy liner, if BB urinates or passes motion, does the nappy get wet too and leak? I kena this afternoon...first time using and don't know if I'm doing the right thing..I only used 1 pc of nappy liner (pigeon).

Breast pad
About this, haha, I go braless at home...
Only if I have 2 go out then I use... at home if I realise I'm leaking I'll go pump it out..

Baby's laundry

About this, how har? Can share how you ladies handle it? Like hand wash any soiled clothings daily for accumulate then dump in washing machine?

Finger joint pain
Anyway suffering from this? Realise my fingers joint pain didn't go away after childbirth..got it in late pregnacy...now can feel my finger joints pretty stiff and hurts when I have to bend them ...

split

im using nepia for my bb during daytime and mamy poko for nightime. pampers newborn are relatively big in size as compared to other brands. Nepia does delivery service, min. order 4 packs. $15 per pack of 60's for newborn.

phy
yeah, using cloth nappies are more troublesome. Gotta change the nappy cover and his pants (sometimes shirt also!) every time bb urinates or poos. But more friendlier on his bottom lor.

My maid accumulates bb's soiled clothings and throw in washing machine at the end of the day.

hi ladies, wat time is your first feed in the morning? do u wake bb up or let her zzz till shw wakes up and want 2 makan?

Constance,

i dont have this problem with Pampers. For my boy, the fit is quite good.. actually I find Nepia's cutting abit weird, like very squarish! In fact, the fit also not that good for my boy,... but its half the price of Pampers and he goes through diapers like they are free, so no choice lor.

I think for each baby, must trial & error lor. Must keep looking until u find diapers with best fit! I have encountered leakage a few times also, with Pampers & Nepia but dunno issit because we never wear properly or what... But 85% of the time so figured its more like my error than diaper leaks! haha

Dinut,

I used to pump using Avent manual... must admit that the yield for a single pump cannot rival a dual electric pump because of the let down from both breasts once you start pumping. But i think it can differ from person to person, so u would have to try out dual pump before investing, cos so expensive!

Phy,

I considered putting nappy liner on pampers but HB thinks i'm nuts! Haha he said "why interfere with the absorbancy of the diapers by putting stuff on it...". In the end, I lost the battle so we dont use the nappy liners lor!!

Nepia is cheap & good lah. But honestly, its also thicker and puffier than pampers. if money was growing on trees, i will use only pampers! But Nepia is value for money - i think abt 20 something cents per piece compared to pampers, which is at least double! So definitely worth buying.

Think can't order online, must call their office personally. Delivery is fast too.. I called on Tues and they delivered on Weds. Had to order minimum 4 packs but can exchange size (if pack is unopened & BB outgrows diaper size liao) at next purchase.

jasmine, i dun feed the gripe water all the time though. now std practice is to bathe her and rub some ruyi oil on her tummy to warm it. den feed her some gripe water mixed with water.
in the evening, we will feed her a little too coz that's when she starts havin the colicky symptoms.

dinut, same as u, mi bb can latch on and suckle well, but when comes to pumping out, itz different story, like 50 ml a breast only. so pathetic, maybe coz we really cant achieve the let down like they say. but so far i only let bb latch and everything seems normal.

phy,
Re cloth nappies: itz normal that cloth nappies will soak thru and wet ur clothes. I use only one pc. the liner instead will leave the butt dry coz it lets the liquid absorb by the cloth instead. but itz really better for my baby.

RE baby clothes:
so far mi mum's practice for washing bb clothes is to soak them all thruout the day in a pail mixed with pigeon detergent.
she will only wash them altog once at nite and hang it so that the next day its dried.

phy

i also still have the finger joint pain, plus pain in my left wrist. Mine started about week 36. gynae said it was due to water retention. now the pain still present, but increase to both hands and wrists!

but i think the continuing pain is partly due to my hands tensed up when holding onto the bb's head and body during feeding. have been relaxing my hands during her feeds for the past week, and i feel the finger joints have less pain now. but wrist pain still as bad. i have to be careful not to drop my girl when i carry her!

nepia
newborn is no good, the absorbent is little. leaked on my bb almost 8 out of 10 times. size s onwards is fine though.

phy/ ankh
i also have finger joint pain, but i think more likely due to using Avent Manual Pump. haha. Been pumping non-stop to meet bb's supply.

Botanist
When my boy use pampers, the leak comes from the side of the leg openings. I think mayb cos his legs still very tiny, hence got lobang there.

I changed to Nepia NB for him during nite time. Sometimes still got leakage, but much better now.

Tub
I feed bb only when he wakes up leh. Based on his demand, no routine timetable.

pierced,
how much wter u mixed wif the gripe water?

for expressing of milk, me no diff la... now, finally breast into production again, got about 60 mls for each breast...

wah, all ur bb drinking so much ah... my bb still onli drinking about 80mls each time.... how ah??

anyone went out shopping yet? CNY rond e corner, haven buy new yr clothes yet...

oh, anyone resume back their sex life? find hubby poor thing, gotto b monk for 10mths le

hi pretty
After using the warm compress, you have to massage your breasts from outside towards the nipple. Also try to latch on your baby or pump more frequently.

jasmine, i mixed only half tsp with 1 oz water coz bb not 1 mth yet. if 1 mth liao can use 1 tsp with the water. got instructions on the box but i dun feed frequently. i read some forum that some mums feed after milk feed to help, while some use aft bath.

aiyo, shopping! cant imagine gg shopping leh. and weight now havent lose so nothing to wear!

tub,
my baby has no feeding routine now. I latch her when I think she is hungry. but I observed that she will try to tank up for the night from 7-11pm and then she will wake up at 4am and her first feed in the morning is about 7am. she doesn't empty both my breasts at the 4am feed so I will pump and feed her at the 7am feed.

hi kat,

does it work? initially, I used to have alot of milk. but over a few weeks, there is a drop in the milk production. is it common?

hi jasmine,
for my case, i havent resume back sex life. too tired and no mood.

is there any good method to go back to normal figure?

nepia
where can i get nepia diapers?

pretty,

i also had red bumps appear on the blocked area on my breasts. i used very hot compress, and massage my breasts while lying down (cos can feel out the lumps better). Then, massage (very hard, if need be) until lump soften, then massage towards nipple and then hand express out the milk.

Milk will be wasted (but no choice la)... keep doing this until entire area/breast softens. GOod luck...

I kenna masitis the last time those bumps appeared so be careful...