(2007/11) November MTBs

hi S@l and weishy,
wow.. gals really has so many patterns to play with. So cute and nice.

hi Cactusnah,
We will on the aircon to temperature of 25degree and 1 fan speed. The weather been really warm for the past few days and my dad said its the norm for lunar 7th month wo. Anyway, Kiros will be in his normal short sleeves tshirt, and a 3/4 length shorts. I will cover his tummy with a folded nappy. But moment he turned, the nappy will be out of place. Anyhow, we will only on the aircon say till 3am and then switched on the fan. By then the room temp will be jus nice. We realised that kiros will yeeek yeeek aik aik if too cold.

If you are worried about the room being too cold, you can actually keep the room door ajar though not too environmentally friendly. But i will do that to allow the aircon to escape.

Also, there is this sleep body suit. I think mummies would have heard of though i don't remember the exact name for it. You can buy those sleevless type, wear over his normal clothes and let him sleep in it. At least there is no worry that he will kick his blanket or blanket covering his face and at same time can be kept comfortable in it when in air con room.

But i imagine the only inconvenience will be when changing diapers in middle of night if you are doing so.

Hi Crystalz,

we will use slow cooker to cook the porridge for kiros. And usually its pretty soft and smooth and not too watery.

How about the quantity you are feeding? is it too much hence she is gagging? or too watery? or too liap4 (hokkien)?

todate, kiros will still merlion through mouth and nostrils when drinking milk. so far he is ok with porridge.

wow....didn't check the thread for 2 days and have to read until my eyes tired... lol. DD would wake up and cry nowadays, which is weird. This is new, so, will see how long it lasts. Good thing she will just nurse and go back to sleep!

Poissons,
You make me laugh... hahaha. Love you see the brighter side of floor licking! I would freak out as my boys are always messing the house... and I see bits of food, water colour paints, bits of broken toys, pieces of paper, bits of eraser (those after you rub on paper).... so I won't let DD on the floor unless its just mopped!

S@L,
Misha getting prettier by the day! DD is now into pulling all the hair clips from her hair. Her fringe is soo long, I'm tempted to cut it. It keeps poking into her eyes!
BTW, did you send me your bank details? I can't remember liao... getting old!

Woke up sooo early this morning, made breakfast. Banana & date bread.. . but looks more like cake... hahaha.
1604569.jpg
1604570.jpg

weishy
Ms November is sooooo cute and she doesn't look lean as to what you hv described her. She looks chubby and adorable in the picture.

Yany
I just bought a bread maker from Courts at a ridiculously cheap price but have not done opening ceremony yet. Dunno how to use it and too busy to read the menu. Can you pls advise since you are so good at it?

weishy, hehe the Miss Nov sash is cute!

Yany, yes i did...hehee...the clips are ready by the way - FINALLY! sorry to keep u waiting. i dropped u an email.

Yany, could it be separation anxiety? Then once got ur smell (when u nurse her), then willing to go back to sleep?

Weishy, very cute!! Mabbe i shd be one Ms Oct for Claire!

NewMummy:Aiya in real she's lean le

S@l:hahha i tot so too so happy whne i bought it but b4 i can let her wear for "any" occasion....she out grown liao

K@ye:Ya CAn DIY mah hehehhehhehe
MAybe a plain T then use those spongy pens(arts and craft)

Nvr check for 3 days and so many posts. I just got back from a 3 days trip to Nanjing with my hubby, my mum and Matt. It was definitely a challenge to travel with him. So much things to pack for him. My back's dying from baby carriering him, even though I have my Beco. So much walking, but it was fun.

Ueno, I remember reading about u announcing ur return of menses. Haha Talk about the devil. I got mine back too. So untimely, in the middle of my trip to Nanjing. I kinda forget what's it like to have menses. After all, 9 months of preg and another 8.5 months after Matt was delivered.

S@L: Mischa in her tutu is so cute. So nice to dress up a girl...

how's ur weekend??

SQL,
Mischa is soooo pretty...

Yany,
I like your cake leh, suddenly this morning for craving for cake..hahaha

can share your experiences of bringing babies overseas??? I juz booked a package to US, still considering if i shld bring Aaron along..*sighz*

tinkabel,
welcome to the club! hehe..

zzz,
i brought L to melbourne when he was 2.5mths n 4.5mths. i really enjoyed it n im looking forward to my US trip this mth. Btw.. my tickets r confirmed! yippee...

haha congrats ueno and tinkabel. heheh

s@l and weishy:: soo cute both your little girls! hahah!!

yany:: u need to find some way to make your cakes 3D so they pop out of the comp screen! ahha!

ueno:: so u gg to have a made in US bb 2? AHHA! all the best ha!

Hi Tinkabel and Ueno,

Can start 'running' again liao..

I suspect Kiros is teething. And he merlion-ed his milk once on saturday and once on sunday. Any idea if they are related?

Pig, by right babies reached 6 mths will stop hvg reflux problem unless Kiros kena stomach virus?

Also, usually the more common teething symptoms will be LS, fever, drooling or lack of appetite.

Either that merlion coz too full. Claire will also vomit out all her food if she s too full or got something sticking to her throat.

Any mummies encounter drop in diaper size on their babies? I happily stock up L size but realise she can fit M now - cos she slims down - both waist and thighs..

So difficult to follow the threads. haha! Moved in with my in laws last wk. So need to adjust. hehe! Not used to it so sometimes walk a lot ard e hse to get 1 task done. The new maid also gives quite some problems too. Not happy show black face and sometimes doesnt respond even when u call her name a few times. Will also bang things when she does her chores. My mil so headache. I also headache. haha! Anyone has such encounters? What do u do in such situations?

Can I ask abt teething? Will teething cause babies to take shorter naps too? Jaydyn has been only taking abt half hour naps in e afternoon. After she wakes up, another 2h or so. She has also been drooling a lot and lately doesnt wanna eat much. Porridge or cereal, also doesnt wanna eat much. Milk also.

Hi Lazykat,

the drop in weight or waist hasnt happen to kiros yet, but i think its not uncommon. Especially if they have more activities like on walkers, or crawling.. this is the time when they will shed some fats and probably not gaining much weight also.

Hi Kaye,
Stomach virus? oh my. then i better monitor. it could also be that his meals are packed too closely. Will hve to observe for one more day.

Teething so far is that he is showing lack of interest in things. Like he will make noises and like uncomfy and will get 'irritated' easily. plus he keep pursing his lips and places his fingers in his mouth. Then i will let him have either his teether, which he is not interested, or his pacifier which he will suckle unusually long.

hmm, i'm still waiting for my gal to sprout her little tooth... still w.a.i.t.i.n.g ahh.... she drool lots and now seems to like bite her own fist! ahahaa...

and quite sayang the other day i wt her, she lost another 200g... now she's like featherwt at 6.9kg only. milk intake also slowing down a little and wkend congee intake too; has reduced.

hopefully this is sign that she's finally going to sprout! :D

oh ya, brought her to Istana open house yesterday and wah piang, she's even SCARED to stand/sit on the grass patches leh... aiyoh, carry her all the way until both me and hb back ache... 1 carry baby, the other (maid = me) carry all the baby barag barang and daddy&mommy stuffs. so tiring...

oh ueno please give me bravies... You are excited but i'm scared to go US with my son leh... sacred i V tired from handling him. My boy us V fussy and dosen't take bottled food so i think i'll have to give him his frisocrem during the flight or until i go to a place where i can cook his porridge. Worse thing is, i can't just mash it up cos he still likes his porridge pureed so i am slowly introducing mashed food by mixing it into the porridge now. Hopefully he'll be able to take mashed food by the time i go off.

Kaye you brought 4-6 diapers for a 4hr trip, which that means I have to bring like 16-20! gosh that's v bulky but i guess I don't have a choice. Plus the pram and my laptop gosh... it's going to be heavy. Can i oso check, when you left claire at HK with your mum the last time, when she saw you did she like forget you or anything like that? I'll be flying off this friday to LA for a 14day trip dunno how my son will react to me when i get back 2 wks later.

Hi Jay,

regarding maid hor... i feel must 'tame' them from start. This is my own personal experience. Not to bully or ill treat them, but must let them know who is the boss at home.

My mil's maid is stepping all over her simply cos my mil fear that the maid will do black magic on her la blah blah blah. My mil didnt even dare to ask her to do things at times. At times the maid will bang things also la.. and talked back. in such cases, i will ask them 'nicely', if they are unhappy working for us? if so, tell them that they can pack and go to agent and ask for replacement. Tell them that either they behave and be nice, or they can go to another family. All this may sound harsh, but many times, most maids will take advantage if you are too nice to them. but there are exceptions as well la. so gotta act appropriately.

i have seen cases when employers are too nice to maids and regarded them as sister that they maid will then have no respect for the employers.

Basic still have to adhere. Maybe a bit awkward. but we insisted that our maids will address my parents as ah gong and ah ma, and us as sir and mom. We let them have a certain degree of freedom but same time let them who is the boss. We are stil nice to them like during their children's bday or what, we will give them extra money to send home for the husbands to bring the kids out for meals.. and xmas we will buy gifts for them to send home.. small acts like tat they are appreciative.

Hi Pig07,

I agree abt taming them at e beginning. Can u imagine? She's here for a wk only. 2nd day throw knife in the kitchen liao lor. My mil so scared cos e maid is quite big, 70kg while she's feather weight and petite. My mil scared e maid will harm her. So far I hv been talking to her n she also talks to me a lot. But she doesnt seem to follow instructions properly. Today saw her washing Jaydyn's bowl and spoon with the oily sponge used to wash the adults' stuff leh. So far I hv been handling Jaydyn's food and milk preparations. My mil's previous maid purposely banged things and showed black face to irritate my mil to send her bk to agency leh. So if we 'threaten' this one, she might pull a fast one too. My mil is so sian abt maids oredi...Now tt I see for myself, I also feel sian.

Jaydyn. yes thats the reason why i decided nt to hv any when we sent back our maid during my confinement last yr
very sian handling their emotions....

but now i m deciding to get another one..cos really busy with housechores end up nt spending much time with kiddos...and also need a cleaner pl for them to roam ard...but really must tame her lo...the previous one my entire family treated her so nicely...think she climbed over our heads.

Suzanne, I KS that's y bring more disposable diapers just in case.

Hehe, Claire did "forget" abt me. She refused to let me carry her but once i sung her exclusive song. She "eh" me and gave me a big bright smile. I was so heartbroken when she refused to let me carry her.

lazykat,
ur girl slim down ah? i think like wat pig mentioned, the 'exercises' will slim them down... hehe...

kittybride,
ya, mayb ur girl starting to sprout teeth liao... my girl only has two at the bottom, nothing else... and the teeth like half grown like that, very short only... kekeke

jay,
wa, ur MIL's maid sounds horrible... i will not be able to tolerate such behaviour leh... it's indeed quite scary to have someone who's bigger in size than you, will look so threatening...
er, did you talk to the maid, tell her not to use the sponge to wash Jaydyn's bowl/spoon? if me, i will straight tell her off and i will spot-check every now and then...
kpo ah, why u move back to ur mil place? u were originally staying on ur own?

lazykat, i just stock up XL diapers yesterday, the L size now fit just nice so far DD's size is up up up.

pig, plim, kittybride, DD is finally teething, the bottom right tooth is spouting 1st and there's a oval shape opening. When I put my finger there, can feel it
Other then this, her behaviour is usual. She still drool, sleep & eat normally.

jay, your maid sounds scary leh throw knife. I think i would have freaked out and send her back straight away. My maid V V V blur but no matter what, at least she's still v kind hearted that's why I'm still keeping her. I can repeat 10 times and she can still forget kind. No choice lah it's her nature lor... just can't remember things. Youshould observe for a few more days if she really continue again then send her back to the agency. No point putting yourself and your family under stress.

Kaye i oso KS one! So surely will pack a lot!

hi jay,

the maid so fast show her temper liao ah? dont care la.. just get her changed. plus like you say, she is 70kg and yr mil petite.. if your mil ended up like my mil's then jiat lat liao. If they jus arrived in singapore and appear timid and dont understand our language is still understandable.. but hers is totally opposite.. so i forsee that she wont be easy to tame in time to come. Plus you have a kid at home.. you wont want to be at her mercy..

its totally true that its so difficult to handle maid's emotions. very tiring. That why when i got my maid, i sent her to my sister's house for taining. She is the cousin to my sister's maid. Then now i am employing a second maid (friend to my sister's maid), same thing, i will send her training at my sister's house. i cant stand having to train them the housework etc.. very bo4 bui3 (hokkien)..

but hor, when a maid gets so used to our style, and when we can rely on them for housework or help with kids, then it can really get easy.

langlao.

kiros also has a small whitish thing at the bottom centre.. i tink that is it liao..

weishy, the tutu so cute! I wanna make one for baby arielle too! Heeee...

Any mummies experiencing baby waking up every 1.5hrs at night? Baby arielle did that last night.... so sleepy now... don't know what's happening leh.. she has slept through the night since 2nd week of birth.. now then torture me..

Baby Sleeping in A/C Rm: Thanks everyone for yr input. Yup, i used to clad Eagan in short sleeve+long sleeve pj, long pants and socks. But thot we feel cold even with thick quilt over us, so decided to try wearing long sleeve+sweater for him. Only then he starts to sleep thru. We used to make milk for him in the middle of the nite but he usually cldnt finish it. Perhaps he was cold and the milk warms him. Hence i felt guilty and thot he cld be feeling cold all these while so checking with mummies here. But seems like many here are clad in long sleeve only too.

zzz: Nice meeting u last Sat. So, u booked yr tickets to US already? So when are u departing? We booked ours too

Gloomybear,
any idea if there is any gd buy? I rem last time Taka selling the bumbo seat w/tray really cheap!

plim, pig, langlao,
her weight is 8.7kg, so not considered light bah, but L size seems a bit big suddenly.. she is quite active, cruising or crawling around whenever she is awake. Dunno shld be happy or not..

kittybride,
mine still bo gay leh..

very long never post liao... my boy still bo-gay and still bo-hair... but very active.

wonder if i am over feeding him, coz today we went to the doc, he's 9.8kg. i got a shock when i saw the scales... coz last month he was only 9.2kg. now ah, i never clean his folds properly, his skin stuck together then when i pry them open, he cries, when he's usually quite brave / doesn't cry usually... not even for any of his injections lor. sigh.

he also doesn't drink water in the day and poos only every 5-6 days with the help of a suppository. my paediatrician showed me a book which states that this is normal for breastfed babies, but i still worry. supposedly up to 12 days then poo also ok, but i wun dare risk it.. hahaha...

diapers wise, he's been on XL for damn long, coz of thunder thighs he inherited from me, now worried coz pampers doesn't have anything bigger than XL...

oh yeah, me still struggling with breastfeeding... always a battle to see if i have enough for him. he's still drinking 700-800ml a day...

so ironic ah, i want him to eat and drink his milk but yet worry about him putting on weight. then when he doesn't, worry again... think all mothers also poor thing ah. hahaha.

my menses back for quite a few months liao... guess is due to low supply. but dun want a second one. think i'm in the minority here. hubby traumatised coz of our naughty boy liao, and i'm also tired liao. hahaha

hi pig07,
and our boys are still so young lor. long way to go till they don't need pampers. and he doesn't quite like the other brands. in the day he needs the diaper pants, if use the normal tape type, he'll get red marks from the tape.
his thighs really like mine... damn huge!

s@l, Plim, Pig07, Suzanne

Thks for yr input. My mil has not been having much luck getting a reasonable maid so far. Get fresh young ones or experienced ones, all give problems to her. So she's really sian abt it. So we talked abt it and decided to see her progress these 2-3mths. Cos she's a transfer maid. So mil wanna at least recover the loan amt 1st even if she wanna change one. When she came, I did tell her which sponge to use for baby stuff. It's at another separate side of the sink area. Usually I'll settle jaydyn's stuff unless need to attend to jaydyn, then she'll help to wash. Then told her to wipe jaydyn's high chair twice after each meal cos it will be still sticky after only 1 wipe. She also turned a deaf ear to tt. I still can see food stains on the chair. Wat am I to do? Tell her nicely leh. Remind her nicely too lor.

Re: Meals
Can I check with u mummies? How many solid meals do u give yr kiddos now? Cos currently I'm only giving her porridge for lunch and dinner leh. Doesnt really like it leh tis gal. Hv u introduced chicken/ pork/ beef? How do u make finger food for them?

Langlao, Claire passed the 9th mths mark liao... Still hv not bring her to the PD yet but the PD did remind us to bring her when she is 1 yr old!

Tinkabel, Matt looks like a big boy in that outfit! So cute!!!

Jay, i had introduced fish to Claire. Chicken & pork are usually used as porridge stock.

langlao,
during my 7th mth visit to PD, I also asked the same qn, since the next jab is at 1 yr old. But as my DD can crawl and even start to stand with support at that time, so she says no need for a 9th month check. You shld know how well yr baby has progressed, so really not necessary for a 9th mth check, but if u can afford and prefer a peace of mind, then go ahead bah.

Jay,
I am still giving only 2 meals lunch & dinner, and yes I have started fish + meats, but very small portion, she eats more vege. Besides porridge, you can try macaroni soup/ pasta for variety.. Finger foods can be bread or baby biscuits tho i find them messy so i still feed her bit by bit.. ha

tinkabel,
little Matt is still so cute! I hv a similar hat too, but still very big cos can fit 53cm! So u still aiming Yunnan? I like Li Jiang best during my last trip.. a lot of old streets.

morning mummies

gloomybear,
wow din know bb arielle slept thru since 2nd week. u r so fortunate! bb Jovan (now almost 9 months old) is still waking up at least 2x every nite! is bb arielle teething? tat's y she keep waking up due to the discomfort? Jo also did tat when his bottom 2 teeth started to sprout just b4 he turned 7 months old.

cactusnah,
Eagan can sleep thru now? so good. i v tempted to switch on the air-con in bb Jovan's room. dunno if i should...

Nov1mom,
u are not alone. i also dun wan a second bb so soon. sometimes i even wonder if i should stop at one. actually bb Jovan is quite a well-behaved bb. it's just tat his nite wakings is tearing me apart. even my fren commented tat she'll have post-natal blues if she were in my shoes. so i told myself, for my next bb, i must be stone-hearted & train him/her to sleep thru from young. hahaha

tinkabel,
Matt is so handsome! and he looks like a little toddler now. can i give him a kiss? *muah*

Jay,
jovan took fish - ikan billis, threadfin & salmon. no other meat. he's taking 3 meals of solids - bf cereal, lunch porridge, dinner cereal/porridge. the bf cereal is like for fun only, coz it's only 2 scoops. hehehe

my girl had a great fell from the bed on sun nite.. bad mummy.. didnt watch her closely and she had a bad cried.. sobsob
.. she had a bumb on her right forehead and a small cut on her right eye.. i have been reading here BBs fell and I wanted to make sure I wont let that happen, but was too stick on the tv liao.. sobsob.. so heartpain when she cried like that..

ever since she fell on sun, she had been waking up for feed on 3am.. which she is able to sleep thru the nite already.. is it related? and the moment she woke up, she looked scare.. is it due to the fall?

cailyn still bo gay but she has been saying 'da-da-da' for the past few days.

Poor Cailyn,
*sayang sayang* - mambobb, could be just a phase she is going thru, hope she recovers fr the scare soon. My DD after her fall will actually hesitate when she goes near the edge of bed now, but of course we dun dare to even leave her there a moment, cos they will forget and history may repeat right? So better keep a watchful eye at all times..

Mine also like to say da-da & mum-mum nowadays..

And she learns a new trick too, to descend from the sofa, with the legs first. Amazing how babies grow isnt it.

k@ye, lazykat, when we brought DD for 3rd jab, the doc (not PD) also said come back at 1 yr old. Recenlty DD's cousin went for 9 mth assessment so now I am wondering if we shd also bring her for assessment.

Mambobb, hugs for Cailyn. Lucky mine so far not interested in the bed edge, she will head for the bed headboard, stand up and one by one throw the things we put on the headboard panel.

yest I took one day leave just to monitor her, make sure she is ok. didnt bring her to see doc. She didnt finish the milk feeding, always leave 75ml.

when the whole day at home with her, i carry her wherever i go, even going for toilet to ease myself.. cannot leave her out of my sight now.. sigh..

suzzanne:wah 2 weeks along time le to leave ur boi......me one day misses her already but she always happy to see me when i'm back,when i go off she stil blur blur :p

tinkabel:matt so cute in his outfit!!!!!so japanese :p

Gloomybear:sometimes my girlw ill wake up to PLAY!!!!!!!esp when my hubby travels to HK to meet us during weekends......funny she can sense that he's here kekkekekekek,anyway she liek to torture dady more hhoohohohooh

Jay:huh ur helper sounds scary le,mine more "kan cheong" than me towards my girl :p

I love my bumbo chair hehehehehhe can trap her there long time(30mins at least)

mambobb:hee me too,hayley fell that day whilst my helper not around.......guilty but she's too fast!!!!!!i jus turn to get her diapers and she fell already.......